頂級酒店

新潟的下榻之選

從適合一家大小的滑雪度假酒店,到傳統日式旅館及時尚的精品酒店,為你介紹新潟的理想住宿地點

新潟縣以山巒起伏的冬季度假村,以及多風的日本海海岸、稻田和清酒而聞名,距離國際大都會東京以南數百公里,兩地景致大相逕庭,包括住宿環境。新潟沒有國際連鎖的五星級酒店,卻可以找到很多獨具特色的住宿地點,不乏舒適的旅館、精品酒店和適合家庭的滑雪度假村。以下是其中一些最佳選擇。

妙高高原赤倉觀光飯店

赤倉觀光飯店於1937年在妙高高原的山區溫泉區開業,是日本其中一間最早成立的歐式滑雪度假村。發展至今,現在已有21架滑雪纜車,連接適合各種程度的滑雪者和單板滑雪者的雪道,其中一條更長達四公里,保證令你腎上腺飆升。

赤倉觀光飯店位於海拔1,000米高處,坐擁一覽無遺的山景,提供公共的溫泉露天風呂和52間剛翻新的西式和日式客房,前者以現代感十足的深色木材裝潢,後者則採用日式榻榻米佈置。若要享受更奢華的體驗,記得預訂豪華棟的客房和套房,其中有些附設私人的溫泉露天風呂。

現在的赤倉已不單是冬季的度假勝地,這裡一年四季都有溫泉。12月下旬至4月中旬的滑雪季結束之後,春季及夏季活動陸續登場,從遠足到騎越野單車,還可以在赤倉的18洞高爾夫球場一展身手。

佐渡島浦島飯店

佐渡島嶙石密佈、崎嶇不平,但以寧靜的港口、原始的海岸線和梯田吸引遊客,眾多日式旅館和民宿應運而生,而浦島飯店則是佐渡島上較少見的精品酒店。

浦島飯店設有20間客房,從簡單的歐洲風格到簡約的日式客房,採用榻榻米和淺色木材裝潢,營造出日式北歐的格調。飯店以兩幢分別由建築師北山恒和內藤廣設計的建築組成,其建築元素包括玻璃磚牆和毫無修飾的水泥空間,呈現出時尚的工業風。

飯店位於離兩津港約30分鐘車程的寧靜港口村莊,遊客可從兩津港乘搭渡輪前往新潟市,這樣,賓客不只可以沿途欣賞海景,也能得享寧靜祥和的時光。

大島上越市Ushidaya屋

若想完全投入到當地的文化生活,則可選擇田麥鄉間地帶的農家住宿Ushidaya屋。民宿夫婦於2016年搬到這裡,專心種植有機稻米。他們的優雅古宅為深色的木樑結構,屋頂特高,兩人把農舍部分改裝為民宿,設有兩間榻榻米式客房,讓賓客安睡於蒲團床墊上,還可在公共空間享受烹調之樂,或在開放的壁爐圍爐暢談。

農舍四周充滿大自然的田園景致,稻田遍野。夫婦兩人在4月插秧後,到了夏初便一片翠綠,待至10月,則是金黃色的秋收時節,盡攬四時景象。民宿內只有簡單的現代生活設備,甚至整幢房舍也沒有電視,保持清幽簡樸的環境。但主人特別放有鋼琴、結他和小結他,讓住客發揮音樂才華。

湯澤雙葉酒店

共有78間客房的雙葉酒店位於湯澤的滑雪度假勝地,雖然不像傳統日式旅館精巧親密,但客房齊備和室的傳統裝潢佈置元素,包括榻榻米、中央的矮小桌子,酒店會放上迎賓綠茶供享用,還有紙敞門、放有掛畫的壁龕,以及棉質浴衣供旅客入住時穿著。

酒店約三分一的客房也設有私人溫泉浴池,也有分開男女的公共室外浴池,可一邊浸浴,一邊飽覽谷川岳山脈的雄偉景致。餐膳選擇亦與所有出色旅館不遑多讓,其懷石料理均以本地的時令食材入饌烹調,呈奉精緻而滋味的餐點體驗。

新潟市的魅力

新潟市內不乏觀光勝地,甚為值得在此逗留一宵。精選行程包括參加清酒廠今代司酒造的導賞團、越後酒水博物館日本酒館的清酒品味環節、懷舊的古町花街和舊齊藤家別邸,不勝枚舉。一直以來,新潟都主要接待本土商務旅客,因此口碑眾譽的四星酒店林立,如日航ANA皇冠假日大倉等。大倉更毗鄰當地重點文物地標萬代橋,位置優越,但客房設計則略嫌古舊。三星級的商務連鎖酒店則有多美INNSunroute東橫INN,全部都有品質保證,尤其多美INN設有公共溫泉浴池,更受旅客歡迎。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Where to Stay in Niigata

From family-friendly ski resorts to traditional ryokan and hip boutique hotels, find the perfect hotel for your holiday in Niigata – Cathay Dragon’s newest destination in Japan

Known for its mountainous winter resorts and windswept Japan Sea coastline, its rice fields and sake, Niigata prefecture is a complete break from the urban sprawl of Tokyo a few hundred kilometres to the south. That includes the accommodation. You won’t find international five-star brands in Niigata, but you will get places to stay with lots of character, including cosy inns, boutique hotels and family-friendly ski resorts. Read on for the best.

Akakura Kanko Hotel, Myoko Kogen

When the Akakura Kanko Hotel opened its doors in the mountainous hot-spring area of Myoko Kogen in 1937, it was one of the first European-style ski resorts in Japan. Today, there are 21 area ski lifts (six specifically at Akakura Kanko) connecting slopes suitable for all levels of skiers and snowboarders – including one marauding four-kilometre run.

At an elevation of 1,000 metres, there are sweeping mountains views from the Akakura’s open-air communal hot-spring baths and its 52 recently renovated Western- and Japanese-style rooms – the former featuring contemporary dark woods and the latter tatami mat floors. For an added touch of indulgence book one of the premium rooms and suites, some of which have private open-air hot-spring tubs.

These days, Akakura isn’t just a winter resort. The hot-spring bathing is year-round. Once the late December to mid-April ski season is over, spring and summer activities come to the fore: hiking, mountain biking and rounds of golf on the Akakura’s 18-hole course.

Urashima, Sado Island

Sado Island has no shortage of ryokan (traditional Japanese inns) and minshuku (rustic B&Bs) – not surprising given how this rugged island is defined by sleepy ports, untamed coastline and terraced rice fields. But with Urashima, Sado also ticks the hip boutique hotel box.

The 20 rooms here range from simple European-inspired affairs to minimally furnished Japanese-style rooms that blend tatami and light woods for a Nippon-Nordic vibe. Packaged in a pair of buildings, designed by architects Koh Kitayama and Hiroshi Naito, the rooms incorporate touches like glass-brick walls and stark concrete spaces for an industrial-chic feel.

The setting in a quiet port village about a 30-minute drive from the larger Ryotsu Port, from where ferries run to Niigata City, means that you also get ocean views and peace and quiet.

Ushidaya, Joetsu-Oshima

For travellers who want to immerse themselves in local culture, Ushidaya offers just that in the farming hamlet of Tamugi. The owners moved here in 2016 to grow organic rice and have turned part of their farmhouse – a lovely old building with dark wooden beams and high ceilings – into an inn, with two tatami-mat guestrooms where guests sleep on futon bedding and common areas where you can enjoy home cooking and chat around an open hearth.

The setting is as bucolic as it gets, surrounded by rice paddies that after planting in April will be a fresh green in early summer and then a ripe-for-harvest yellow by October. And there are minimal mod cons here to disturb the peace – there’s not even a TV in the entire farmhouse, although there is a piano, guitar and ukulele for the musically minded.

Hotel Futaba, Yuzawa

The 78-room Futaba in the ski resort area of Yuzawa isn’t as small and intimate as some traditional inns, but it is still a wonderful example of how a ryokan should be, with guestrooms that combine all the classic elements: tatami mat flooring, low-central table where staff serve a welcoming cup of green tea, sliding paper-screen panels, tokonoma alcove complete with hanging scroll, and yukata cotton gowns for guests to wear during their stay.

About a third of the rooms have attached private onsen (hot-spring baths), while the ryokan also has a collection of gender-separated communal outdoor baths with views into the Tanigawa mountain range. Like all good ryokan, the food is another key part of the experience – the kaiseki dinner features a succession of intricately presented dishes using local, seasonal produce.

And in Niigata City…

There’s enough to do in the city to make it well worth a night’s stay – the sake brewery tour at Imayo Tsukasa and sake tastings at the Ponshukan Sake Museum, the old Furumachi entertainment district and the Saito family house and garden, to call out just some of the attractions. Niigata City is geared far more toward domestic business travellers than tourists. With that, there are well-regarded four-star hotel brands like the Hotel NikkoANA Crowne Plaza and Hotel Okura here. The latter is in a great location by the landmark Bandai Bridge, although design-wise the rooms are a little dated. In the three-star range, business hotel chains like Dormy Inn, Sunroute and Toyoko Inn are equally dependable, and the Dormy Inn scores extra points for its public hot-spring baths.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book