美國

觀看2017年8月日全食的上佳地點

懷俄明州Wind River Range是8月21日觀看日全食其中一個上佳位置

沒有什麼地方比懷俄明州的Wind River Range山脈更宜於觀看8月21日的日全食。這是美國自1979年以來首次見到這種天文現象。

當天從上午11時37分開始出現日全食,這個地區會有約兩分鐘天色變黑。若想找個僻靜的地點,同時又可見到Fremont Peak與Jackson Peak(上圖)這兩座山峰的壯麗山景,不妨帶個帳幕到Titcomb Basin盆地露營。

不過有一點要特別留意:Wind River Range山脈一帶經常有熊出沒,可能會有不速之客陪你一起看日食。

正如greatamericaneclipse.com網站表示(前往這個網站可以看到日食掠過美國境內的路線,從西北部的奧勒岡州起到東南部的南卡羅來納州),觀賞日食的關鍵在於天氣。

網站資料「美國西半部,特別是奧勒岡州的威拉麥狄谷到內布拉斯加州的沙丘一帶,當地有最適合觀賞日食的天氣狀況。」

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

USA

Where to see the August 2017 eclipse

The Wind River Range in Wyoming will be one of the best places to watch the total solar eclipse when it hits on 21 August

There are few better places to see the total solar eclipse on 21 August – the first in the United States since 1979 – than the Wind River Range in Wyoming. From 11:37am, the area will be thrown into darkness for roughly two minutes by the total eclipse.

For a secluded viewing point – complete with panoramas of the Fremont and Jackson Peaks (pictured) – pack a tent and schlep over to Titcomb Basin.

Warning: the Wind River Range is also grizzly country, so you could be sharing the blackout with a bear.

As the website greatamericaneclipse.com points out, the most important factor when watching an eclipse is the weather. “The western half of the United States, especially from the Willamette Valley of Oregon to the Nebraska Sandhills, will enjoy the very best weather odds,” the site says.

Press play on the video below to see the path of the eclipse as it traverses the United States, from Oregon in the northwest to South Carolina in the southeast.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book