紐約

葛咸城與樂園相遇之地

前往以新面貌示人的總督島一遊

離開曼克頓下城區,由金屬和玻璃堆砌的大都會景色逐漸消退。在你剛開始享受在渡輪的航程時,航程已經結束了。渡輪泊岸的時間幾乎和航程一樣長。但前往曼克頓南端的總督島,就如一趟時光之旅,短短的航程,將你帶到數十、甚至數百年前。

這趟旅程將我們帶回1637年,當時一位精明的荷蘭人Woutervan Twiller從美國原住民手上買下了這個島嶼。島嶼易手後,英國人將此處劃為曼克頓總督專用的土地。

小島其後在美國獨立戰爭扮演著重要的角色,先為革命軍用作駐防用地,之後於1776年8月再次落入英國人的手中。20世紀時,此處被美軍徵用。歌手Frank Sinatra曾經前來這裡驗身,準備入伍,但因耳膜破損而被拒。

後來,美國海岸防衛隊於1996年將島上的基地關閉,總統克林頓宣佈將基地的九公頃土地劃為國家紀念區。六年後,喬治布殊總統和紐約市長彭博宣佈將島上其餘70公頃土地開放給紐約市民。

然後,時光機停在2017年,我們踏出時光機後,見到的是對都市空間的再思考,其中充滿21世紀的歷奇氣息。

Governor's Island beach
圖片:DiogoSalles/Moment RM/Getty Images

現在,總督島上經常舉行洋溢爵士時代風格的派對,還有不少藝術及雕塑展覽。

島上風光旖旎,最近建成的多個人工山丘令此處風景更加動人。島上的景觀富有當代氣息,由總督島早期住民的後代——荷蘭景觀設計公司West 8設計。其他地方則有如常春藤校園,有數十年歷史的紅磚建築星羅棋佈,只是沒有學生漫步其間。遊人可騎單車或乘坐三輪車周遊總督島。不少藝術家埋首研究雕塑,令人誤以為置身大型的藝術夏令營。

在島上,我看見不少似乎是向著名雕塑家Alexander Calder致敬的雕塑作品。在這樣的環境裡,即使是鮮紅色的公園長椅,看起來都像是裝置藝術。我來到一座經常舉辦巡迴展覽的黃白相間的小屋前,坐在門廊的搖椅上小休;我開始幻想自己在氣候怡人的南方擁有一個農場,只是手下並非採棉花的工人,而是辛勤創作的藝術家。在平日遊人較少的時候前來,更別有一番樂趣。

我在島上發著白日夢,目光不住在Castle Williams監獄、壯觀的海軍上將官邸等曼克頓歷史建築和新景點The Hills之間游移。The Hills到處遍佈吊床,保安員經常要喚醒無意中在吊床上睡著的遊客。別忘了,這裡是紐約。The Hills其中一座「山」設有非常長的滑梯,必能讓小孩滑個不亦樂乎,另一座則堆滿圓石,讓遊人來一場越野賽跑。山邊有一座由藝術家Rachel Whiteread設計的古怪小屋,看上去似乎搖搖欲墜,有如易卜生的舞台劇佈景一樣。

在Outlook Hill,遊人可將自由神像的宏偉景致盡收眼底。走近觀看的話,自由神像就如身軀龐大的鄰居,從圍欄探頭張望,跟我們一樣,被曼克頓平靜卻壯麗的景色懾住。

總督島每年5月底至9月底對外開放

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

New York

Where Gotham meets Wonderland

Hammocks, art and pedicabs: Governors Island revamped, by RAHUL JACOB

You leave the chrome and glass skyscrapers of Lower Manhattan. The ride is over almost before you savour the sensation of being afloat; it takes almost as long to tether the ferry to its moorings as it does to make the trip. But the ferry to Governors Island at the southern tip of Manhattan is a kind of time-travel machine. That short voyage transports you across the decades – centuries, even.

It transports us back to 1637, when a canny Dutchman named Wouter van Twiller bought the island from Native Americans. When it changed hands, the British reserved the land for the exclusive use of the governors of Manhattan.

The island played a role in the US’ War of Independence, first fortified by the American revolutionaries, then retaken by the British in August 1776. In the 20th century, it was used by the US Army (Frank Sinatra came here for his army medical: he was turned down because of a perforated eardrum).

When the Coast Guard closed its base in 1996, President Bill Clinton declared that nine hectares of the island should become a national monument. Six years later, President George W Bush and Mayor Michael Bloomberg announced that the rest of the 70 hectare island would be bequeathed to the people of New York.

Then the machine stops in 2017. We emerge to see a very 21st century adventure in rethinking urban space.

Governors Island is now home to jazz age-style parties and exhibitions of art and sculpture.

Governors Island has a beach and bucolic hills
Credit: Diogo Salles/Moment RM/Getty Images

It’s a beguiling scene, recently enhanced by manmade hills, erected and landscaped in a very contemporary style by descendants of those early inhabitants – Dutch architects West 8. Otherwise, the island most resembles an Ivy League campus, dotted with red-brick buildings of several decades ago – minus the students. There are bicycles and pedicabs to make your way around. Artists beaver away on sculptures in a place that more than occasionally seems like a giant summer art school.

I encountered sculptures that looked like an homage to artist Alexander Calder. In that setting, even the bright red park benches seemed like installation art. As I took a break on a rocking chair on the porch of the yellow and white house, usually home to touring exhibitions, I imagined myself the owner of a benign Southern plantation with toiling artists, not cotton pickers. The relative solitude of a weekday visit has much to be said for it.

I spent my time on Governors Island in a daydream, caught between the view of historical sights such as the prison of Castle Williams, the Admiral’s magnificent residence and the new attraction, The Hills. The island’s security personnel often have to wake up visitors who have fallen asleep in the hammocks scattered around The Hills. Reminder: this is New York. One hill has very long slides guaranteed to delight children, another has boulders that can be used to race up the hillside. A bizarre cabin by the artist Rachel Whiteread is perched precariously on the hillside like the stage set for an Ibsen play.

At Outlook Hill, there are priceless views of the Statue of Liberty. Close up, it appears to be a giant neighbour looking over the fence, awestruck as the rest of us by an incongruously peaceful yet spectacular Manhattan.

Governors Island is open to the public from late May to late September. govisland.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book