餐飲美食

Amber的下一步

Amber餐廳為香港的高級餐飲業添上幾許魅力,也曾惹起爭議。據說這家著名食府即將關門大吉。到底傳言是否屬實?撰文:MARK JONES

在香港,餐廳開幕或結業是尋常事,但是當你告訴別人Amber餐廳將要關門,肯定會令他們大感意外。

本地飲食業是一個競爭激烈的行業,然而由名廚Richard Ekkebus主理的Amber餐廳,卻一致公認是城中最具代表性的高級餐飲體驗。餐廳位於中環的香港置地文華東方酒店七樓,是米芝蓮二星食府,在SanPellegrino全球最佳餐廳排行榜中的名次更是逐年上升(目前位列第24名,另一間入選的香港餐廳則排名第60)。

但這間星級名店卻將於明年7月結束。

或者應該說是舊的Amber關門。然後Ekkebus會以同一個名稱在同一地點再開一家新餐廳,但是很多東西都會跟以前不同。單點菜單會消失。這裡將有更寬闊的空間、更大的廚房(可供你參觀),以及更多兩人及三人檯(他告訴我:「有很多三人同行前來用膳的顧客。」)

Amber at Mandarin Oriental Landmark
Amber at Mandarin Oriental Landmark

為何要如此大刀闊斧改革?簡單來說,就是不希望餐廳一成不變,不思進取。他雖是年屆半百的空巢族,仍希望展現自己充沛的創作力。對他而言,廚師的白色制服就像足球員的一身裝備,穿上制服就表示準備上場較量一番,「如果你是球員,你一定想贏。」

Amber與香港置地文華東方酒店同於2005年開幕,餐廳在一個令人耳目一新的空間內烹調出口味獨特、別具一格的菜式。

但是香港人並不欣賞。

Ekkebus費煞苦心才得到文華東方酒店一班忠實擁躉的認同。(這班忠實擁躉都是收入達到某個高度的香港富裕階層。)他們不喜歡非傳統的醬汁和亞洲食材,也不喜歡那盞以4,320根銅枝製成的大吊燈。他們不喜歡餐廳內坐著一些「身有刺青的男人和留著雷鬼頭髮型的女生」。

不過大家慢慢地察覺到,在被Ekkebus形容為「古板、僵化,非常守舊」的香港高級餐飲界中,這家餐廳帶著一股清新的氣息。無論過去或現在,Amber都是典型的「現代歐式」餐廳,不過他從一開始就積極加入法國的Paul Bocuse及西班牙的Ferran Adrìa等好友的行列,將亞洲風味融入餐廳的菜式之中。

他知道,五、六年後將會聽到人們這麼說:「Richard,我們很慶幸香港有你,因為說真的,這間餐廳的創辦人⋯⋯」這位創辦人,當然就是Ekkebus他自己。

Amber at Mandarin Oriental Landmark

現在他碰到了一個新難題。當他決定取消供應一些備受歡迎的招牌菜時,這群後來的忠實顧客簡直氣瘋了(「香港人對食物真是充滿感情」)。不過Ekkebus要嘗試新東西,好讓工作團隊保持專注。
解決的辦法,就是推出剛面世的Amber經典菜單,裡面匯聚餐廳這些年來最受歡迎的菜式,將會供應至「舊」Amber停業為止。所以,如果你因為2006年推出的「北海道海膽龍蝦果凍配椰菜花、鱘魚子及脆窩夫」在菜單上消失而深感惋惜的話,現在有機會再一嚐美味了。

你也許聽過他的同行或對手這樣說:「Richard當然可以這樣做,因為他不必擔心租金。」但他有其他顧慮:通貨膨脹、成本,以及面對如何令城中最昂貴的餐廳經常客似雲來的壓力。就像許多創意人才一樣,他必須學會投資回報酬率。

儘管許多人邀他到其他地方發展,但他並不打算離開香港。Amber就是香港,而Ekkebus就是Amber。他不會在亞洲區內廣開Amber分店,也不會像恩師Pierre Gagnaire或老友Gordon Ramsay那樣,成立以個人為號召的連鎖餐廳品牌。

餐廳另一件會消失的事物是那盞銅枝吊燈。這裡的常客後來終於開始喜歡這盞燈了,Ekkebus說:「風水大師說吊燈看來就像頭上灑下如雨一般的黃金,是幸運的象徵。」

這4,320根銅條將會被鋸成一節一節,可能拿來出售,那麼人人都可擁有一點包含了美食記憶的黃金雨。

amberhongkong.com

本月隆重登場的「香港盛宴11月」匯聚精緻美食與佳釀,還有市集、節慶及美酒佳餚品嚐會等。discoverhongkong.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Amber restaurant to close … for a while

Amber brought magic and controversy to Hong Kong’s fine dining scene. But what will its new, refurbished incarnation bring? By MARK JONES

It’s Hong Kong. Restaurants come and go. But when you tell people Amber is closing they register genuine shock.

It’s a highly competitive food scene here. But no one seriously argues that Richard Ekkebus’ Amber, the restaurant on the seventh floor of The Landmark Mandarin Oriental in Central, isn’t the signature fine dining experience. It’s got the Michelin stars (two) and continues to rise in the San Pellegrino list of the world’s best restaurants (24th – the next highest placed Hong Kong establishment is 60th).

But next July, this Hong Kong culinary institution will close.

Or the old Amber will. A year later, Ekkebus will unveil a new one. Same name, same space: but much will change. Out goes à la carte. There’ll be more space, a bigger kitchen (that you can visit), more tables for two or three (‘A lot of people
eat in threes’).

Amber at Mandarin Oriental Landmark
Amber at Mandarin Oriental Landmark

And why the radical refurb? In short, because he doesn’t want this culinary institution to become, well, institutionalised. As a 50-year-old empty nester, he’s ready to show he’s still got bags of disruptive, creative energy. For him, the chef’s whites are like a football kit. Once he puts them on, he’s out to compete: ‘If you’re a player, you want to win the cup.’

Amber opened with The Landmark Mandarin Oriental hotel in 2005. This was experimental, bold cooking in an experimental, bold space.

And Hong Kong hated it.

Ekkebus endured a tough time getting accepted by the Mandarin loyalists (that’s just about everyone above a certain income bracket in Hong Kong). They hated the untraditional sauces, the Asian ingredients. They hated the chandelier – made of 4,320 bronze rods. They hated that there were ‘guys with tattoos and girls with dreadlocks’ among the clientele.

But slowly, everyone came to realise that this was something refreshing and new in a fine dining scene that was, as Ekkebus puts it, ‘dusty, stuffy and very old school’.

Amber was, and is, classed as ‘modern European’, but at the beginning he eagerly joined the movement pioneered by his friends, France’s Paul Bocuse and Spain’s Ferran Adrìa, to incorporate Asian flavours.

He knew he’d arrived after five or six years when people said, ‘Richard, we’re so glad you’re here because, seriously, the guy who launched this place…’ That guy was, of course, Ekkebus himself.

Amber at Mandarin Oriental Landmark

Now he faced a new problem. His new loyal customers went crazy when he took their favourite dishes off the menu (‘people get really emotional about food here’). But Ekkebus wanted to try new things, keep the team on their toes.

The solution is the Amber Classics Menu: a kind of a greatest hits package, available until ‘old’ Amber closes. So if you got emotional because 2006’s Hokkaido sea urchin in a lobster jelly with cauliflower schrencki-dauricus caviar and crispy waffles disappeared from the menu – it’s back.

You hear fellow/rival chefs say ‘it’s alright for Richard – he doesn’t have to worry about the rent’. But he has had his worries: inflation, costs and the pressure to fill the priciest tables in town. Like lots of creative people he’s had to learn the language of ROI (return on investment).

But despite numerous offers, he’s not going anywhere. Amber is Hong Kong and Ekkebus is Amber – they aren’t going to sprout up all over the region and he’s not going to become a brand like his mentor Pierre Gagnaire or his friend Gordon Ramsay.

One thing that is going is the chandelier that the regulars eventually got to like. ‘The feng shui master said it’s lucky – like sitting under raining gold,’ says Ekkebus.

But the 4,320 bronze rods will be chopped up and sold off – so anyone can own a bit of raining culinary gold.

amberhongkong.com

This month, Hong Kong hosts the Great November Feast, a festival of fine food and wine with markets, festivals and tastings. discoverhongkong.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book