巴黎

在巴黎尋覓美食

巴黎不止有外脆內軟的麵包、香濃芝士和精緻的糕餅小點,這裡近日還捲起一股美食新浪潮

我們到訪巴黎時可謂衝著體驗那份了無新意的浪漫感覺而來。我們不但希望能在塞納河畔細嚐酥香的牛角包,更想前往坐擁艾菲爾鐵塔美景的咖啡室,品嚐美味無窮的芝士拼盤。不過巴黎過去一年間卻捲起了一個飲食新浪潮,當地年輕一代渴望餐飲界推陳出新,靈活多變。以下是你不可不知的飲食潮流,以及巴黎老饕的覓食心得。

法式小吃

巴黎小吃新風潮幾年前由Inaki Aizpitarte掀起。他開設的Le Dauphin餐廳摒棄了傳統的「前菜、主菜、甜品」模式,並追捧前衛的小巧菜式,為法式美食注入亞洲特色,例如厚切醃洋蔥及豬肉丸配榛子和檸檬皮,或者薄切和牛配大白菜等。去年,多間以數人分享多道菜的形式為招徠的餐廳陸續開張,當中不少每晚均座無虛席。其實這也不難理解,因為輕巧的份量不但讓你能夠嚐遍大廚的拿手好菜外,更無需大灑金錢單點菜式。這些餐廳風格各有不同:有些是簡單的caves à manger,即介乎休閒餐廳和酒吧之間的菜館,其他則主打不太傳統的高級美饌,而它們幾乎全都開設於巴黎遠離遊客路線的地方。

覓食推介

Au Passage

這間走輕鬆格調的餐廳位於第11區,每晚擠滿年輕有型的巴黎時尚潮人(建議穿黑色衣服前往),又是一個貌似普通的美食酒吧卻深得老饕歡心的經典例子。這家餐廳的拿手好菜包括嫩滑的肉類菜式,以及堪稱巴黎最鮮嫩多汁的羊肉。所有小吃菜式價錢由5至13歐元不等(約45至115港元),是城中其中一個最划算之選。

restaurant-aupassage.fr

L’Entrée des Artistes Pigalle

Pigalle以往是巴黎一個較為髒亂的地區,但如果你是當地人,就會知道那裡有美味無窮的晚餐。該區不少餐廳老闆將廢棄的妓寨改裝成時尚的覓食熱點,而這家屬首選之一的餐廳更專門炮製大膽創新的菜式,當中就包括了蟹肉釀燈籠椒及蘆筍配柚子忌廉。

lentreedesartistespigalle.com

星級甜點

世上沒有幾種食物能像玫瑰馬卡龍、咖啡閃電泡芙、紅桑子撻和藍莓拿破崙這些糕點般洋溢著濃厚的法國氣息。以往全球最著名的糕點師傅只會於五星級酒店及米芝蓮星級餐廳工作,為少數的尊貴客人製作精緻甜食,但現在不可同日而語,多名大師開始以自己的名義開設獨立甜品店。從前市面只有Ladurée的馬卡龍,如今專營法式閃電泡芙、Chantilly忌廉布丁、瑪德蓮蛋糕、泡芙和拿破崙的糕點店可謂應有盡有。

他們當中更創造了一些精細得聞所未聞的糕點,例如大廚Cyril Lignac的baba au rhum(注滿鮮忌廉和烈酒的小蛋糕)、Hugues Pouget創造的financier(這並非指銀行家,而是以杏仁碎製成的小海綿蛋糕),還有Christophe Michalak創作的焦糖religieuse(兩個填滿添加味道的忌廉的糖漿泡芙),令來往巴黎的長途旅程變得值回票價。

覓食推介

Acide Macaron

Jonathan Blot在這間美輪美奐的店舖中盡情發揮其製作糕點的才華。他的伯爵茶朱古力撻和注滿果仁糖忌廉的Paris-Brest甜圈餅均為大師級作品。如果擔心自己患上選擇困難症,Acide備有精選拼盤,讓你一次過品嚐六款迷你尺寸的首本名點。

acidemacaron.com

Maison de la Chantilly

法國糕點師傅一向喜歡將雲呢拿味鮮忌廉Chantilly加入他們的甜點中。如今Domaine de Chantilly的堡主(也只有法國的乳製品生產商才能擁有一座城堡)更創立了專賣這種忌廉的自家糕點店。你可以盡情享受Chantilly法式閃電泡芙、拿破崙、泡芙及熱朱古力,不過最好還是不要一次過統統品嚐吧。

maisondelachantilly.com

天台大改造

雖然香港人幾十年來一直善用鬧市 天台飲酒用餐和談情,但原來巴黎人現在才開始發掘屋頂空間的強大潛力。傳統的巴黎奧斯曼時期的斜屋頂建築的確無法締造摩天大樓上的露天用餐體驗,然而藉著市中心落成全新大廈以及將現有建築進行大改造,最近開業的全新酒吧及餐廳無不開放了天台,讓食客能在觥籌交錯之間,俯瞰巴黎壯麗的無敵鬧市景色。

對於曾經體驗花都悶熱夏季的人而言,這股潮流可謂相當吸引。倫敦和紐約擁有供人享受陽光的公園,而巴黎的杜樂麗花園和盧森堡公園卻嚴禁踐踏草地,實在有點破壞了野餐的雅興。雖然我們早就接受了公園管理員不會捨棄哨子執行職務的現實,但幸好現在的巴黎人終於可以人望高處,在陽台上呷一口玫瑰紅酒,呼吸清新空氣。

覓食推介

Nüba

巴黎La Cité de la Mode et du Design時裝及設計學院的天台酒吧不負眾人期望,型格非凡。偌大的天台飽覽巴黎風光,在盛夏裡更能享受這個城市在輕鬆的樂韻、特色雞尾酒和淺棕色地板映襯下的獨特風貌,與一貫的巴黎形象完全截然不同。

lenuba.com

Bar le Perchoir

巴黎的傳媒都以「hyper branché」(無比型格)來形容這家坐擁美景的酒吧。在和暖的晚上,酒吧總是客似雲來。這裡不但盡享首都360度的壯觀景致,美酒的選擇更是一應俱全,而酒吧的顧客群亦不外乎俊男美女。能夠一邊欣賞巴黎夕陽西下一邊品嚐勃艮第美酒,夫復何求。

leperchoir.fr

國泰航空每用有10班從香港飛往巴黎的航班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Paris

What to eat in Paris

There's more to Parisian dining than crusty bread, rich cheeses and delicate pastries. Here are some new trends taking hold in the French capital. Words by MELISSA TWIGG, photography by CASPAR MISKIN

When we visit Paris we want the romantic cliché. We want to eat buttery croissants on the banks of the Seine and plates of cheese in cafés overlooking the Eiffel Tower. But in the past year, a flood of new eating and drinking trends has arrived, suggesting that young Parisians yearn for a less stuffy, more fluid approach to dining. Here are the trends you should know about – and insider tips on where to find them.

French-style tapas

Paris’ neo tapas movement started a few years ago with Inaki Aizpitarte, whose Le Dauphin restaurant dispensed with the traditional ‘entrée, plat, dessert’ in favour of a bold menu of small plates. He gives French food an Asian twist – think pickled onions and pork meatballs with hazelnuts and lemon zest, or sliced wagyu beef with Chinese cabbage.

A number of new sharing-plate restaurants have opened their doors in the past year, most of which are packed every night. And it makes sense: small plates let you sample the best of what great chefs have to offer without having to pay through the nose for an entire à la carte meal. These restaurants vary widely – some are simple caves à manger, spots that are somewhere between a relaxed restaurant and a wine bar. Others offer haute cuisine in a less traditional way, but nearly all of them are found in parts of the city that are off the tourist trail.

Paris-Cuisine-5

Where to go

Au Passage

This laid-back restaurant in the 11th arrondissement is packed every night with hip, young Parisians in intimidatingly cool clothes (tip: wear black), a classic example of a restaurant that looks like a simple bistrot à vin but has some serious foodie clout behind it. It’s particularly famous for its tender meat options and serves what must be the juiciest lamb in Paris. With all tapas dishes ranging from €5 to €13 (HK$45 to HK$115), it’s one of the best deals in town.

restaurant-aupassage.fr

L’Entrée des Artistes Pigalle

Pigalle was once associated with a seedier side of Paris. But if you’re Parisian, you’ll just think: yum, dinner. That’s because a number of restaurateurs have taken over defunct brothels and turned them into trendy dining spots. And this is one of the best out there, with an ambitious, innovative menu that includes dishes such as crab-stuffed pimento peppers and asparagus with yuzu cream.

lentreedesartistespigalle.com

L'Entrée des Artistes Pigalle Paris restaurant

Star-worthy pastry

There are few foods as French as patisseries like rose-flavoured macarons, coffee éclairs, raspberry tarts and blueberry millefeuille. Until recently, the world’s most famous pastry chefs exclusively worked in five-star hotels and Michelin-starred restaurants, making their complex confections for the rarified few. But now many of them have opened eponymous, stand-alone dessert shops. Where there was once just Ladurée’s macarons, now there are places specialising in éclairs, Chantilly cream-based puddings, madeleines, chous and millefeuilles.

And some of these patisseries are so complex you might not have heard of them. There’s chef Cyril Lignac’s baba au rhums (small cakes filled with whipped cream and liquor); Hugues Pouget’s financiers – not banker types but small sponge cakes made with crushed almonds; and Christophe Michalak’s caramel religieuse, two glazed puff balls filled with flavoured cream that make a long-haul flight to Paris worthwhile.

Paris-Cuisine-4

Where to go

Acide Macaron

Jonathan Blot has poured his patisserie-making talent into a photogenic shop. His Earl Grey and chocolate tart is a masterpiece, as is his Paris-Brest, a fluffy pastry filled with praline cream. And if you’re worried about decision paralysis, Acide offers a tasting plate with six of its most popular desserts in miniature.

acidemacaron.com

Maison de la Chantilly

Chantilly is a vanilla flavoured whipped cream French pâtissiers love to add into their confections. And now the owners of Domaine de Chantilly (only in France would dairy producers also own a castle) have created their own patisserie shop dedicated to the famous cream. You can eat Chantilly-based éclairs, millefeuilles, chous and hot chocolates – although perhaps not all four at once…

maisondelachantilly.com

Macarons from Paris' Acide Macron

Reinventing rooftops

While Hongkongers have been drinking, eating and flirting on city roofs for decades, Parisians have only just started realising the great potential above their heads. True, traditional Haussmann buildings don’t lend themselves to sky-high alfresco dining, but as new blocks are being constructed and current buildings are altered in the city centre, a host of new bars and restaurants have recently opened up their roofs. The result is spectacular city views of Paris’ beautiful skyline, with delicious food and good wine included.

This trend makes sense to anyone who has lived in the French capital in the stifling summer months. Whereas London and New York have parks to enjoy the sun, the strict rules about not touching the grass at Paris’ Tuileries and Luxembourg Gardens slightly ruin the whole picnic thing. And while we accept that the park wardens are never going to relinquish their whistles, Parisians can now head upwards to get a breath of fresh air and sip their rosé.

Paris-Cuisine-6

Where to go

Nüba

The rooftop bar at La Cité de la Mode et du Design is as intimidatingly cool as you’d expect the drinking hole of a Parisian fashion school to be. The vast rooftop terrace offers an incredible view over the city, and in midsummer you get the slightly incongruous contrast of the distinctive Parisian skyline combined with chill-out music, exotic cocktails and sandy floors.

lenuba.com

Bar le Perchoir

This view-heavy bar has been called hyper branché (massively cool) by the Parisian press. Very popular on warm evenings, it has a 360-degree view of the capital, a good wine list and a clientele that seems to keep getting better looking. Watch the sun set over the city, a glass of burgundy in hand, and life will seem good.

leperchoir.fr

Bar le Perchoir Paris rooftop bar

Cathay Pacific flies to Paris from Hong Kong 10 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book