日本

四國特色景點

在日本四個主要島嶼中面積最小的四國,體驗傳統的阿波舞、品嚐當地馳名烏冬及享受溫泉等活動。

德島 阿波舞會館

會館內的阿波舞蹈表演寓教於樂,除了有日語介紹外,更特別為海外旅客投影外語翻譯。舞蹈表演期間,舞者還會邀請觀眾一同手舞足蹈,傳揚歡樂氣氛。

Getty Images

鳴門(距離德島30分鐘車程)Hotel Ridge溫泉旅館

鳴門以海峽上的天然漩渦見稱,而當地偌大的藝術博物館更以陶瓷板重現舉世知名的畫作,不過若論城中的最佳景點則非Hotel Ridge莫屬。這間風格簡約的旅館精心炮製出一系列創意晚餐,面海的溫泉更是一絕。

高松(距離德島一小時車程)讚岐烏冬

雖然香川縣只有100萬人口,烏冬專門店卻多達800間,全部供應讚岐烏冬。香川縣的首府高松是品嚐這道馳名麵食的首選,也是通往直島及其他「藝術之島」的港口城市。

Getty Images

祖谷溪谷(距離德島1.5小時車程)祖谷溫泉

和之宿祖谷溫泉酒店可遠眺祖谷溪谷,更以河畔的溫泉而出名,旅客可從酒店大樓乘索道纜車直抵170米下的溫泉。

大步危(距離德島1.5小時車程)大步危峽

顧名思義,大步危峽地勢險要、水流湍急,但景色壯麗,你可沿著崎嶇不平的山路隔岸觀「水」,或乘坐漂筏親身體驗激流滋味。人們大多會乘搭觀光船飽覽景色,船程為半小時。

海部郡(距離德島兩小時車程)滑浪

天氣好時,海部郡總會擠滿一眾滑浪好手。此地與竹島海底公園相距不遠,划獨木舟、浮潛及潛水皆宜。

高知縣(距離德島2.5小時車程)桂濱灘

桂濱是一處岸邊長滿茂盛松樹的海邊休閒勝地。當地雖然不能游泳或進行其他水上活動,但單是欣賞風光已是一大享受。自古時起,這裡已是夜賞明月的著名景點。

松山(距離德島四小時車程)松山城

這座位處山上的龐大城堡建於17世紀,保養完善、歷久常新,更可將城市美景盡收眼底。到訪的最佳時節非初春莫屬,屆時200株櫻花樹的花蕾同時綻放,美不勝收。

TopPhotoImages/ Getty Images

從2018年12月19日至2019年3月30日,國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往德島的航班,每周有兩班;國泰航空設有由香港飛往大阪的航班,每周有42班

Japan

What to Do in Shikoku, Japan

Where to experience traditional Awa dance, sample the famed local udon, soak in an onsen and more recommendations for Shikoku, the smallest of Japan's four main islands

Tokushima: Awa Odori Hall

The dance show here is both informative and entertaining. Amid short demonstrations of the beautiful Awa dance, historical facts are explained in Japanese with translations projected onto the wall. Organisers get the audience on their feet, so it’s a fun affair.

Tokushima, Shikoku, Japan, North-East Asia, Asia
Getty Images

Naruto (30 minutes from Tokushima): Hotel Ridge

Naruto boasts natural whirlpools in its seas and a huge art museum of nothing but reproductions of world-famous art printed on ceramic slabs. But the town’s top highlight is this minimalist ryokan hotel, where the set dinner is innovative and the onsen faces the sea.

Takamatsu (one hour from Tokushima): Sanuki udon

Kagawa prefecture, population about one million, has 800 udon joints. The area specialises in the famed Sanuki udon, and the prefectural capital, Takamatsu, is a sure bet to find this dish. This is also the port city to get to Naoshima and other ‘art islands’.

Tokushima, Sanuki Udon
Getty Images

Iya Valley (1.5 hours from Tokushima): Iya Onsen

Sitting on a lookout over Iya Valley, Iya Onsen Hotel is notable for its hot spring bath right by the river. Visitors take a funicular cable car from the main property to the onsen 170 metres below.

Oboke (1.5 hours from Tokushima): Oboke Gorge

Meaning ‘gorge of big danger’, Oboke Gorge features a scenic and fast-moving river. You can simply gaze at it or hike on its rocky shores and go whitewater rafting. Thirty-minute sightseeing boat rides are popular.

Tokushima, Japan

Kaifu Point (two hours from Tokushima): Surfing

When wave conditions are good, surfers rush to Kaifu Point. It’s also not far from Takegashima Marine Park, where kayaking, snorkelling and diving are available.

Kochi (2.5 hours from Tokushima): Katsurahama Beach

Edged by a pine forest, Katsurahama Beach is a seaside escape that’s not for swimming (it’s prohibited) or sports, but simply taking in the scenery. Since ancient times, this site has been known as a great place for moon gazing.

Tokushima, Japan

Matsuyama (four hours from Tokushima): Matsuyama Castle

Located high on a hill, this large castle complex dating to the 1600s is impeccably maintained and offers panoramic views of the city. The best time to visit is early spring, when the 200 cherry trees on the grounds are in bloom.

Tokushima, Japan, temple
TopPhotoImages/ Getty Images

Cathay Dragon flies to Tokushima from Hong Kong twice a week from 19 December 2018 to 30 March 2019; Cathay Pacific flies to Osaka from Hong Kong 42 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book