國泰航空

沒有吃過的飛機餐到哪裡去了?

國泰航空將機艙上多餘的食物與大眾共享。撰文:PHIL HEARD

雖然名為國泰航空飲食服務(香港)有限公司(CPCS),但CPCS服務的對象並不只限於國泰航空。事實上,CPCS要應付超過45家從香港國際機場啟航的航空公司在餐飲方面的需求。

有關機上餐飲的數字相當驚人。單在2016年,CPCS的香港廠房就供應了3,000萬份膳食,平均每天超過82,000份。

儘管我們都盡可能減少食物浪費,但這確是個必須正視的問題;尤其是當航班因惡劣天氣而取消時,這個問題就變得更嚴重。

你如何應付浪費食物的問題?答案就是不浪費食物。

針對這個問題,國泰航空一直與本地的志願機構合作,尋求解決之道。目前全港700多萬居民當中,約有90多萬人生活在貧窮線以下,其中三分之一是老人家。他們當中有許多人只勉強得到最基本的營養需要,貧困兒童有四分之一每天三餐不繼。

2014年以來,CPCS一直與食物銀行樂餉社合作,將食物送贈予有需要的人士。

Credit: Courtesy of Feeding Hong Kong

CPCS的助理環保及衛生經理何志輝表示:「餐車甫從抵達香港的班機卸下,就會立刻運回我們公司的廠房。樂餉社有工作人員駐守廠房,他們會在那裡收取所有密封的盒裝飲品和穀類食物。」

許多跟航空業有關的事物都必須受非常嚴格的法例規管,剩餘的食物亦不例外。在某些國家,所有未經食用的食物都必須清除並銷毀,或深埋於地下;對於已經煮熟並放置多個小時的食物,這種做法亦合理。但對於密封和不易腐壞的食品,這種做法又似乎太嚴苛了。

Credit: Courtesy of Food Angel

國泰航空還與另一個香港組織惜食堂合作。他們的工作人員從全港的合作夥伴公司收集未食用和剩餘的食物,然後按照嚴格的衛生指引在惜食堂的廚房內烹煮,製成午餐盒送給有需要的長者。這些食物必須在一個半小時內完成製作,隨即派送給長者。惜食堂平均每天製作約6,000份熱餐。

何志輝說:「如果我們有符合惜食堂嚴格指引的剩餘食物,例如我們自己烘烤的牛角包,還有已經煮好的飯菜等,我們就會送給他們。這些剩餘食物的數量並不多,基於衛生理由,我們不能使用抵港航班上未經食用的食物。」

但那些不能再利用的食物怎麼辦?對於空間有限的香港來說,垃圾堆填區是稀有資源,政府亦不斷推出鼓勵循環再用的方案。對國泰航空來說,重點在於填補食物鏈,為未來的膳食作儲備,何志輝解釋道:「我們將所有餐前廚餘送到廚餘再生公司將廚餘轉化為魚糧供本地魚場使用。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

What happens to all those uneaten inflight meals?

How Cathay Pacific is sharing its food beyond the aircraft cabin. By PHIL HEARD

Despite the name, Cathay Pacific Catering Services (CPCS) doesn’t just work with Cathay Pacific. In fact, CPCS handles the catering requirements of more than 45 airlines that fly from Hong Kong.

The numbers are boggling. In 2016, it supplied 30 million meal trays from its base at Hong Kong – that’s more than 82,000 a day.

Try as you might to mitigate the problem, food waste is an issue. When bad weather leads to flight cancellations, the issue gets worse.

How do you deal with food waste? By not wasting food.

Cathay Pacific has been working with local NGOs to that end. More than 900,000 of Hong Kong’s seven million inhabitants live below the poverty line – including one in three of its old people. Many of them struggle to meet their nutritional needs and one in four deprived children do not eat three meals a day.

Since 2014, CPCS has been working with an organisation called Feeding Hong Kong, which supplies a network of food banks.

Feeding Hong Kong
Credit: Courtesy of Feeding Hong Kong

Henry Ho is assistant environmental and hygiene manager at CPCS. ‘When the meal carts are unloaded from aircraft arriving in Hong Kong they are delivered back to our facility,’ he says. ‘Feeding Hong Kong has staff based there who remove all the sealed drinks cartons and cereals.’

As with so many things linked to aviation, food waste is governed by very strict regulations. In some countries, all unused food has to be removed and destroyed or buried deep – which makes sense for food cooked many hours previously. But for sealed and nonperishable goods, this seems excessive.

Courtesy of Food Angel
Credit: Courtesy of Food Angel

The company also works with another Hong Kong organisation, Food Angel. Staff collect unused and surplus food from partner companies across the city, acting within rigorous hygiene guidelines, and prepare lunchboxes in its kitchens for the city’s senior citizens. The food is delivered and consumed within one and a half hours of preparation. The organisation prepares around 6,000 hot meals a day.

‘When we have surplus food that meets Food Angel’s strict guidelines, such as unused croissants from our bakery, we will supply them, and some prepared meals,’ says Ho. ‘This doesn’t happen in big quantities, and for hygiene reasons we cannot use unused food from incoming flights.’

But what of the food that cannot be reused? Landfill is a scarce resource in space-constrained Hong Kong, and there are many initiatives to encourage recycling. For Cathay Pacific, it’s about replenishing the food chain so that there are supplies to stock future meal trays, as Ho explains: ‘We send all of our pre-consumed food waste from our kitchens to a food waste recovery company so it can be turned into fish feed for local fish farms.’

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book