國泰航空

國泰航空對我的意義

國泰航空剛推出全新的全球品牌理念,我們趁此機會訪問六位因選乘國泰航班而改變人生的香港人

也許因為香港長期與外國接觸交流,或者由於這座城市面積細小,又或者因為有很多公眾假期,令香港人成為全球最常乘搭飛機的飛行常客。根據世界銀行及世界旅遊組織的數字顯示,香港人平均每人每年乘搭飛機11.4次,比屈居次席的盧森堡人多四倍。位於赤鱲角的機場,在全球最繁忙機場榜上名列第八位,每年接載超過7,400萬名乘客,其中部分航線的乘客數目更屬全球數一數二。機場不單是一個由跑道和建築物組成的地方,更是香港人生活中一個重要的部分,而香港的旗艦航空公司國泰航空,亦是如此。

credit: Andrew Haimerl/Unsplash

自從70多年前創業以來,國泰航空(一般人親切地稱為「國泰」)一直塑造香港的身份認同,為香港帶來各種利益;它促進不同的社群之間彼此了解、令家庭團聚、鞏固商機並讓全球各地旅客體驗香港的地方特色。每位國泰乘客都有一個故事,包括我自己(當我於離港16年後再回「家」時,國泰是我的不二之選)。以下的六個故事,反映了國泰航空帶動香港人,在他們的人生旅途上一路前行。

劉綺雯

酒店業傳訊總監

即使經過逾四分一世紀之後,傳訊總監劉綺雯依然難忘童年時乘搭國泰航空客機的印象。她清楚地記得〈Love’s Theme〉這首登機音樂。這首管弦樂曲的旋律慷慨激昂,由綽號「Walrus of Love」的Barry White創作,很多香港人至今印象猶新。1990年代初,國泰航空推出第一條香港不停站飛往倫敦的航線,對於劉綺雯來說,這首歌成了陪伴她多次獨自往返英國寄宿學校的主題曲。她回憶道:「我14歲時首次乘搭飛機,當時仍是從啟德機場起飛。我記得機上總是坐無虛席,但是機艙服務員態度親切,而且會對小孩子特別關心,他們經常來看看我們情況如何,並且會給我們各種小食。」即使到現在,她表示:「一踏進國泰航空客機的機艙內,仍然會令我有已經回家的感覺。」

MICHELLE LAU

郭志怡

企業家、作者與時尚達人

英文「international jetsetter」一詞指經常乘飛機周遊列國的富裕人士,用來形容郭志怡可說恰當不過。她在求學時期就已經常往來香港老家以及歐美兩地的學校,在出任Chanel的亞太區傳訊總監期間,更不時要多次踏上長短不一的旅程,前往中國各地,或者到巴黎、倫敦、紐約及米蘭公幹。後來她開設了站在香港潮流尖端的時尚酒吧及餐廳Sevva,以及高級西餅連鎖店Ms B’s CakeryC’est La B。由於頻繁的公務及私人旅程,令郭志怡成為馬可孛羅會金卡會員,她對最近的一次旅程有深刻印象。

她說:「我乘搭頭等客艙前往紐約,推出我的第二本書《Weddings, Butterflies and the Sweetest Dreams》。」那是一本大型精裝畫冊,裡面有很多製作複雜精緻、令人歎為觀止的蛋糕和來自世界各地的婚禮照片,非常悅目。「我知道這趟旅程是我的重要里程碑,因此我要令它與別不同。我記得我躺在床上,蓋上羽絨被,一面飲Krug香檳,一面用銀匙舀魚子醬來吃。新書發佈會在我的好朋友Vera Wang位於麥迪遜大道上的婚紗店內舉行,因此必需有充足的睡眠。

Billy Semple

前職業足球員

Billy Semple是前職業足球員,於1974年移居香港,加入香港流浪足球會。他說:「我們經一位華人旅遊代理購買機票。他在格拉斯哥Sauchiehall Street街上的Lucky Star中菜館樓上辦公。」那時國泰航空還未開設從倫敦出發的直航班機,要到1991年才推出,因此乘客必須在巴林或杜拜轉機。從蘇格蘭起飛計起,全程接近24小時。Semple說:「我還記得降落後我們走下飛機扶梯,越過停機坪朝客運大樓走去,接受本地傳媒的訪問和拍照。」

BILLY SEMPLE

那正是香港足球壇步入黃金時代的一刻,當時有新的班主投資,引入外援,整個足球界一片欣欣向榮,每周在香港大球場舉行賽事,可以吸引多達28,000名球迷進場觀看。此外,一些星級名將如1966年世界盃得主英格蘭隊隊長Bobby Moore,他亦是Semple效力San Antonio Thunder隊時的前隊友,以及曼聯主將George Best等,亦曾前來作賽。對於當年剛成家立室不久的Semple來說,帶同家人移居世界的另一端,有如一場賭博,但最終卻為他帶來回報。他說:「我在啟德機場下機後,從未回頭,這是我一生中作出最好的決定。」

Tom Chadwick

業務風險及持續性管理經理

TOM CHADWICK

Tom Chadwick說:「我星期四拿到銀行貸款,星期五訂機票,星期六登機,然後在1998年7月5日星期日抵達香港,數小時後啟德機場就永久關閉了。」國泰航空原來的總部位於啟德機場,這個機場從簡陋的軍用臨時飛機跑道,到供波音314水上飛機和銀光閃閃的de Havilland飛機升降的海濱小型機場,再發展成世界上第三繁忙的航空樞紐,每年接載3,000萬名乘客及處理150萬噸貨物,發展驚人,因此永久關閉的一刻令全球關注。

當Tom Chadwick聽到啟德機場即將關閉的消息時,他才18歲,而且從未去過香港。「當我在報紙上看到機場將在下個星期關閉時,就決定要來一趟香港。」那是Tom第一次來香港,卻不是最後一次。在接下來十年期間,他每年都會造訪香港,直到與妻子結婚後,更在這座城市落地生根。「我在那一天愛上了香港,我會永遠將這分愛與我第一次乘搭國泰航空客機聯繫起來。從那時起,我曾多次前來香港,但之後的赤鱲角機場卻從未令我感到如此興奮。」

Dilip Badlani

投資專業人士

當國泰航空於2004年開通香港不停站飛往紐約甘迺迪國際機場的定期服務時,Dilip Badlani正在有「大蘋果」之稱的紐約工作。他說:「國泰航空不停站直飛紐約的航班,對我的工作或個人生活都有重大的影響。」Badlani的旅程只是日益頻繁的港美貿易中的一個統計數字,自從航線開通以來,有數以百萬計的人因這條航線而受惠,他是其中一人。「我在香港長大,我很高興能夠乘搭家鄉航空公司的飛機。國泰航空提供世界級的服務、水準一流的食物,以及頂級的視聽娛樂節目,機場貴賓室也非常出色。從工作的角度來看,這條航線讓我更有效地安排行程。

DILIP BADLANI

我經常乘搭星期日凌晨1點的航班,來香港參加星期一早上的會議,然後星期五飛回美國跟家人度周末。當我需要到東南亞公幹時,我也喜歡乘搭國泰的航班在香港轉機。對我來說,即使時間倉卒,但我知道我總能登上一班客機,然後很快就能與家人見面,令我感到安心。不停站的直飛服務,令我更放心帶著年幼的女兒同行。我在一年前搬回香港居住,但仍然需要經常前往紐約;到現在為止,我大概已經飛這條航線不下50次了。」

Jasmine Smith

中學英文教師

JASMINE SMITH

不少海外專業人士前來香港工作,並讓子女在本地接受教育,在本地外籍圈中,這些小朋友有時會被人戲稱為「外籍頑童」,或者暱稱為「香港小孩」。無論在香港生活的時間多麼短暫,這些小朋友長大後似乎總是會不由自主地回到這個五光十色的海岸城市。Jasmine Smith說:「我們全家搬來香港時,我只有八歲。我記得家人事先告訴我們許多關於香港的事情,我們都非常興奮,很期待前來香港。我是第一次坐飛機,所以我更加興奮,我還清楚記得我們是乘搭國泰航空前來香港的。」

就像許多在香港居住和工作的外籍專業人士一樣,她們一家的居港時間受到合約限制,不過她在香港度過了五年的快樂時光。她回憶道:「雖然我回到英國後很開心,但卻從來沒有真正的歸屬感。所以大學畢業後我決定搬回來。經過差不多十年之後,我再次登上國泰的航機時,勾起了童年時的興奮感受。當飛機在香港的機場降落時,我以為自己會很激動,有一種『嘩,我回來了』的感覺。不過,坦白說,我只感到一切很順理成章,好像我從未離開過,只是回家一樣。」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

What Cathay Means to Me

As Cathay Pacific launches its new global brand concept, we ask six Hongkongers to choose the flights that changed their lives

Maybe it’s because of Hong Kong’s rich international history, or the diminutive size of the territory, or all those public holidays, but Hongkongers are the world’s most frequent travellers. According to data from the World Bank and the World Tourism Organisation, they average 11.4 trips per year – four times more than their nearest airborne rivals, the Luxembourgers. The airport at Chek Lap Kok ranks eighth busiest in the world: it transports over 74 million passengers a year on some of the world’s most crowded routes. More than just a collection of runways and buildings, it forms an important part of the fabric of the city – as does the city’s flag carrier, Cathay Pacific.

credit: Andrew Haimerl/Unsplash

Since its beginnings some 70 years ago, ‘Cathay’, as it’s affectionately known, has shaped Hong Kong’s identity and interests, bringing diverse communities together, reuniting families, cementing business opportunities and creating a sense of place across the globe. Every passenger has a story (when I returned to Hong Kong after a 16-year absence there wasn’t any other airline I was going to fly ‘home’ with). Here are six such tales, reflecting how Cathay Pacific has helped Hongkongers to move beyond.

Michelle Lau

Hospitality communications director

 It may be more than a quarter of a century ago, but communications director Michelle Lau still has one particularly nostalgic memory of her childhood flights with Cathay Pacific – ‘The Barry White boarding music,’ she emphatically recalls. Love’s Theme, a soaring orchestral piece written by the Walrus of Love, is a memory that still chimes with thousands of Hongkongers. For Lau, it was the soundtrack that accompanied solo journeys to and from boarding school in the UK in the early 1990s, after Cathay Pacific launched the first non-stop flights from Hong Kong to London.

‘I was 14 years old the first time I made the trip,’ recalls Lau. ‘The flights were still from Kai Tak then and I remember that they were jam-packed every time, but the crew were always so nice and would pay extra attention to the kids, always checking on us and bringing us treats.’ Even now, ‘stepping onboard a Cathay Pacific flight still gives me the sense that I’m already home’.

Bonnae Gokson

Entrepreneur, author and fashion maven

The term ‘international jetsetter’ could have been coined for Bonnae Gokson, who spent her youth travelling between her home in Hong Kong and schools in Europe and the US. Next came a stint as the Asia-Pacific communications director for Chanel and with it a series of short-haul sprints around China and long-haul hikes to Paris, London, New York and Milan. Later, she established Sevva, one of Hong Kong’s most glamorous bars and restaurants; Ms B’s Cakery; and C’est La B, a chain of high-end cake shops.

Unsurprisingly, her work and personal travels have earned her Marco Polo Club gold status. Gokson’s most notable flight is a recent one: ‘It was when I flew first class to New York for the launch of my second book, Weddings, Butterflies and the Sweetest Dreams,’ a glossy coffee table tome featuring wildly elaborate cakes and eye-catching wedding imagery from around the world. ‘I knew it was going to be a milestone flight for me so wanted to make it a special one. I remember tucking in under the duvet of my bed, drinking Krug champagne and eating silver spoons of caviar. The launch party was being held at my dear friend Vera Wang’s wedding boutique on Madison Avenue, so a good sleep was essential.’

Billy Semple

Former professional football player

‘We booked our tickets through a Chinese travel agent who worked above the Lucky Star Chinese restaurant on Sauchiehall Street in Glasgow,’ says former professional football player Billy Semple, who moved to Hong Kong in 1974 to join Hong Kong Rangers Football Club. Back then, Cathay Pacific didn’t have direct flights from London (they wouldn’t arrive until 1991), so passengers had to connect via Bahrain or Dubai. The total journey time from Scotland was nearly 24 hours.

‘I remember when we landed, walking down the aircraft stairs and across the tarmac to the terminal building to be introduced and photographed by the local press,’ says Semple. It was a snapshot that would capture the beginning of a golden age of domestic football in Hong Kong, as new investment and fresh foreign blood drew capacity crowds of up to 28,000 to Hong Kong Stadium on a weekly basis. There were even star turns from the likes of England 1966 World Cup captain and Semple’s former San Antonio Thunder teammate Bobby Moore, and Manchester United hero George Best. Moving to the other side of the world with his young family was a gamble for Semple, but it was one that paid off. ‘I stepped off that flight at Kai Tak and never looked back. Best decision I ever made.’

Tom Chadwick

Manager of business risk and continuity

‘I got a bank loan on Thursday, booked a ticket on Friday, flew on Saturday and arrived in Hong Kong on Sunday 5 July 1998, a few hours before Kai Tak Airport closed forever,’ says Tom Chadwick. From a humble military airstrip to a waterfront aerodrome welcoming Boeing 314 sea boats and silvery de Havillands to the third busiest hub in the world handling 30 million passengers and 1.5 million tonnes of cargo a year, Cathay Pacific’s original home base captured the world’s imagination for the best part of a century.

Chadwick was just 18 years old and had never been to Hong Kong when he learned of Kai Tak’s impending closure. ‘When I read that the airport was going to be closing the following week, I knew I had to go.’ It was his first trip to Hong Kong, but it was not to be his last, with annual visits over the next decade before meeting his wife and moving permanently to the city. ‘I fell in love with Hong Kong that day and I’ll always associate that love with my first flight on Cathay Pacific. I’ve landed in Hong Kong many times since, but the newer Chek Lap Kok airport has never been quite as exciting.’

Dilip Badlani

Investment professional

‘Cathay Pacific’s non-stop flights to New York have made a big difference to me both professionally and personally,’ says Dilip Badlani, who was working in the Big Apple when the non-stop flight from HKG to JFK was established as a regular service in 2004. Badlani’s journeys are just one statistic in the flourishing of US-Hong Kong trade, and he’s among the millions of passengers who have benefited from the route in the years since.

‘As someone who grew up in Hong Kong, I was thrilled to be able to fly with my home carrier. The service on Cathay Pacific is world-class, the food is great, the entertainment is top-notch and the lounges are excellent, too. From a work perspective, it allowed me to manage my schedule more efficiently. I’d often take the 1am Sunday flight to arrive in Hong Kong for Monday morning meetings and fly back Friday in time for the weekend. Cathay’s flight to Hong Kong was also my preference for connections when travelling on to South East Asia for work. Personally, it was great to know I could hop on a flight any time to be with my folks even at short notice – and the non-stop service made it less daunting to bring my young daughters along. I moved back to Hong Kong a year ago but continue to visit New York; I’ve probably flown that route 50 times now.’

Jasmine Smith

Secondary school teacher

Teasingly called ‘expat brats’, more affectionately known as ‘HK kids’, foreign professionals’ children who were schooled in the city – however briefly – seem to be magnetically drawn back to its neon-lit shores in adulthood. ‘My family moved to Hong Kong when I was eight years old,’ says Jasmine Smith. ‘I remember them telling us all about it beforehand and we were very excited to go. It was my first time on a plane, so that was exciting, too, and I vividly remember we flew out there on Cathay Pacific.’

Like a large number of foreign professionals who live and have lived in Hong Kong, her family’s time was limited to a set contract: five very happy years in Smith’s case. ‘While I was initially happy back in the UK, I never really had a full sense of belonging. So after university I decided to move back. Climbing aboard my Cathay Pacific flight almost 10 years later brought back those same childlike feelings of excitement,’ she recalls. ‘When I landed at Hong Kong International Airport I expected to feel a huge sense of “oh my god, I’m back” – but, honestly, it just felt so normal, like I’d never been away. It felt like home.’

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book