美國

美國西岸101公路任我行

兩位家長帶著兩個小女兒沿著101公路由三藩市駕車前往西雅圖,沿途不斷以優美的風景和美食補給來逗她們歡喜,讓這個一家四口自駕遊更為圓滿

時值炎夏某個星期五,早上10時,我們從滿眼翠綠的三藩市近郊Lafayette駕車出發。雖然較原定計劃延誤了半小時,但我們的表現並不算太差。畢竟外子Dilip和我需要將三個行李箱和三件手提行李逐一搬入車廂,把嬰兒手推車摺好再放在後座地板,還要擺好一大袋裝得滿滿的零食,並為五歲半的Sonia和一歲半的Mira放置安全座椅。

我們一星期前從香港飛到三藩市,先探訪Dilip的家人,再到西雅圖與我的親屬聚首。我們取道比較冷門的路線,由三藩市沿101號公路蜿蜒地向著西雅圖進發,穿梭加州北部及俄勒岡州海濱,遠征1,678公里,這是我們一家四口首趟公路自駕遊。

Pennyroyal Farm. Credit: Kate Appleton

坦白說,慣了在香港生活確實令我們疏於「備戰」,皆因在這片彈丸之地,大部分車程最多亦不過45分鐘,但或許正因如此,我們對這次公路旅程格外期待,更急不及待地向兩個小寶貝預告精采行程:「你們會看到世上最高的樹、海灘上壯觀的海蝕柱、海獅,還有免下車餐廳!」

第一天早上,艷陽高掛,我們的SUV旅行車在高乘載車道上通行無阻,大家都視之為好兆頭。

Boonville. Credit: Kate Appleton

我們一路向北,兩個半小時的車程途經納帕市和索諾瑪市,藍天下連綿的葡萄園和起伏的翠綠山丘逐漸褪去。取而代之是漫山遍野的紅杉樹,提示我們
已抵達Anderson Valley區域。這裡以原始森林、蘋果園及pinot noir葡萄見稱,而同樣常見的淡紫色野生薄荷花,更啟發了Pennyroyal Farm農場的命名(Pennyroyal解作薄荷花),它亦是我們第一個目的地,不過我們先在規模只有一條街的小鎮Boonville上的Paysanne雪糕店「補給」後,才抵達農場,我們參加了農場的導賞團,團員就只有我們四人。

Mira因看到山羊、羔羊和看守其他動物的羊駝而大呼小叫,而Sonia則在葡萄園中跑來跑去,興奮地朝著一串串懸下的葡萄「指指點點」。我們嚐過多款佐以不同佳釀的藍帶得獎芝士,並選購了其中一瓶帶到西雅圖當手信。

之後我們重返101號公路,駛經「鹿和麋鹿出沒注意」的路牌,深入愈見茂密的叢林後,便來到Benbow Historic Inn旅館,其室內裝潢彷彿仍停留在它最光輝的1920年代,不過那裡有個寫意的露台,是一邊享用晚餐,一邊欣賞現場音樂表演的好地方。由於紅杉樹林內的酒店為數不多,這裡的客房早已爆滿,我們最終只能於鄰近營地的閣樓小木屋住宿一宵。

翌日,我們在加伯維爾區的免下車餐廳Getti Up喝過咖啡後抖擻精神,在橫跨 Humboldt Redwoods State Park州立公園的「巨人大道」上凝神觀賞110米高的參天樹冠。到了旅客中心,我們親手數算千年老樹墩的年輪,正如大文豪史坦貝克所言,這些紅杉樹儼如「來自另一時空的使者」。

不知怎地,我們忘記轉入分岔路,平白錯過了到Rockefeller Loop Trail環形步道及Founders’ Grove樹林兩個人氣景點「打卡」的機會,想回頭卻已「恨錯難 返」,是為這次旅程上首遭旅人憾事之一。於是,我們在雷德克雷斯特將功補過,泊好車輛,讓孩子爬入中空的大樹,並擁抱參天古木。

我們打算利用窩心美食填補小遺憾,雖然Humboldt Bay Provisions餐廳的肥美生蠔和淡啤酒無比吸引,但我們按照原定計劃,到Samoa Cookhouse餐館訪尋家常滋味。它於1890年開業,主要服務伐木工人的胃袋,現在這裡仍設有自助套餐,包一道主菜和豐盛的配菜。

一陣涼風催促我們離開充滿維多利亞時代氣息的尤里卡鎮,我們首度在旅途中見識到太平洋的浩瀚景致。然後,一行人向內陸進發,再次穿過大片紅杉樹林。沿途美不勝收的風景吸引我們停車駐足,但我們堅定不移,迎向俄勒岡州邊界的風景區Samuel H Boardman Scenic Corridor。紅日開始沒入西山之際,我們在Natural Bridges和Arch Rock的觀景台下車伸展一下。壯麗無比的海蝕柱、滔滔巨浪,以及長滿杉樹和花朵的懸崖,無不令人讚歎不已,而教我們同樣驚訝的,是這裡明明已步入旅遊旺季,但竟然四野無人。

俄勒岡州的迷人海景教人目不暇給。我們無懼班敦市的陣陣猛風,走進在沙灘上用沙堆成、再用貝殼、浮木和羽毛裝飾的迷宮中,愉快地團團轉。迷宮是當地藝術家Denny Dyke的傑作,而且每隔數周他會重新設計迷宮路線。相比之下,Sunset Bay State Park州立公園的美麗沒有太多變化,我兩位小公主也樂得在這裡的避風小海灣肆意嬉水。

我們駛過一道道裝飾藝術風格大橋,來到60米高的懸崖Heceta Head,崖頂有一座仍在運作的燈塔。我們於下午5時半把車輛停泊在沙灘一旁,可惜燈塔於半小時前已經關閉,我們只好自我安慰,說燈塔唯一的入口通往800米長的陡峭山徑,而另一條通道則屬於燈塔旁一家只招待成人的民宿,兩條路皆不適合孩子,我們唯有把燈塔列為下次再造訪的景點。

夕陽斜照的燦爛餘暉,映照一家大小弄潮為樂和悠閒放狗的畫面,我們飽覽美景之後,便再次沿101號公路馳騁於海岸上,穿過亞查茨及新港兩個古色古香的小鎮,晚上來到Hallmark Resort Newport度假酒店享受海鮮大餐。侍應Tami就在附近出生,跟我們大讚當地環境清幽,她的第二任丈夫本來是波特蘭居民,「但那裡人山人海,馬路水洩不通,因此決定遷居到此。」

Credit: Kate Appleton

我們確實正朝著波特蘭邁進,只是新港的魅力令我們戀戀不捨。在俄勒岡海岸水族館,巨大的海月水母和「隨團」的鰈魚教人驚艷。午餐時間,我們來到臨海餐廳Local Ocean Seafoods,在漁舟泊岸和Yaquina Bay Bridge拱橋構成的海濱景致相伴下,品嚐香辣蝦麵、比目魚配烤蜜桃等惹味佳餚。

回到車上,窗外流動的景色換上綠油油的草地,一群母牛欣然享用新鮮嫩草。又到雪糕時間了,而我們剛好來對了地方:位於太平洋西北部的奶品老字號Tillamook Creamery,它由牧場主人領軍,去年在110周年前夕開設旅客中心,設施美輪美奐,還備有多款芝士供人免費試食、另提供煙肉芝士通心粉、「邪惡拉絲」烘芝士三文治,以及朱古力櫻桃和越橘莓雪糕等教人食指大動的奶製品。

我們原來的下一站是Cannon Beach小鎮,需繞道北行,但眼看快到下午5時,因此唯有把此站也放入下回再續清單,然後朝東面向波特蘭進發。入城之際,我們在這次旅程中初嘗交通擠塞的滋味,Dilip稱:「Tami果然沒有說錯。」

我們在波特蘭的酒店Heathman Hotel預訂了豪華露營套餐,一掃在路上滯留的悶氣。兩位小公主看到營內的兒童床鋪、玩具燈籠和睡前故事書《Goodnight Oregon》,便已雙眼發亮。我們先到下層的Headwaters餐廳飽餐一頓,享用哥倫比亞河帝王三文魚和煎封帶子配豬腩肉。酒店女主人向Sonia「變出」填色冊和蠟筆,把她逗得開懷大笑,二人迅即結為好友。Mira則被圖書館內樓高兩層的書架、藝術品和扶手椅的氣派迷倒,很快便笑逐顏開地把書拉到地上攤開。

電視喜劇《Portlandia》把波特蘭塑造為「年輕人的退休勝地」和「90後樂土」,使之成為潮人熱點,但其實在這之前,這裡早已有「玫瑰之城」的別稱,因此我們專程前來朝聖,整個上午都在國際玫瑰試驗園賞花。園內共有650種薔薇盛放,吸引好些畫家前來寫生。

咖啡和雪糕是我們這次自駕遊的主要「燃料」,而我們最後的「補給站」,是波特蘭市中心的Case Study咖啡店和華盛頓州首府奧林匹亞的Sofie’s Scoops意式雪糕店,讓我們得以一鼓作氣奔向終點。

我們再驅車跑了約95公里,竟能如期抵達目的地西雅圖,實在不可思議。當我們在酒店Kimpton Alexis Hotel卸下行裝後,立時感到如釋重負,因為在接下來一周,我們可以「腳踏實地」,在市內隨處漫遊。畢竟,以雪糕作燃料,坐著駕車數小時說不上是健康之舉。不過,安頓下來後,我們真正感受到這趟見識之旅終於告一段落:五天遊歷三個州分,為孩子帶來美麗的回憶,這教我們感到不捨。

這段公路之旅有賴與租車公司Hertz聯手合作完成。

國泰航空設有每周七班飛往西雅圖和21班飛往三藩市的航班。可飛往其中一個城市並從另一個航點回程探索兩地(或兩地之間)的景點。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

USA

West Coast Road Trip 101

A couple schools their young daughters in the thrills of a family road trip, including spectacular scenery and plenty of pit stops along Highway 101 from San Francisco to Seattle

It was 10am on a summer Friday when we pulled out of Lafayette, a leafy suburb of San Francisco. Half an hour behind schedule – not bad! After all, my husband Dilip and I had to load three suitcases, three carry-ons, a stroller folded across the backseat floor, a tote full of snacks, and car seats for Sonia, five and a half, and Mira, one and a half.

We’d flown in from Hong Kong the week before to visit Dilip’s family, while my relatives were waiting for us in Seattle. In between, we had decided to take the route less travelled, winding our way 1,678 kilometres up Highway 101 through northern California and coastal Oregon on our first road trip as a foursome.

Pennyroyal Farm. Credit: Kate Appleton

Hong Kong living is admittedly not the best preparation; it’s rare to drive for more than 45 minutes. But perhaps because of that, we were excited by the idea of open-road adventures and regaled the girls with what lay ahead: The world’s tallest trees! Beaches with majestic sea stacks! Sea lions! Drive-thru!

On that first morning, with the sun shining and our SUV breezing along the high-occupancy-vehicle lane, we couldn’t help but feel optimistic.

The small town of Boonville. Credit: Kate Appleton

Two-and-a-half hours north, past Napa and Sonoma, the landscape began to look less Mediterranean. Redwood trees were a sure sign of the Anderson Valley, known for its old-growth forests, apple orchards and pinot noirs. It’s also rife with a lavender-coloured wildflower that inspired the name of Pennyroyal Farm – our first destination (barring a quick pitstop for ice cream at Paysanne in the one-street-long town of Boonville).

We had the farm tour to ourselves: Mira oohed at the goats, lambs and their guardian llama; Sonia scampered along the vines, eagerly pointing out low-hanging grapes; and we sampled the blue-ribbon-winning cheeses paired with wines and picked up a bottle for family in Seattle.

Back on Highway 101, we passed signs for deer and moose and increasingly dense forest to reach Benbow Historic Inn. The interiors look a little past their 1920s glory days, but the terrace is lovely for dinner with live music. It’s one of the few hotels in the thick of the redwoods and was fully booked; we ended up in a cabin with a loft at the adjacent campground.

Credits: Gunther Meyer/Alamy; Kate Appleton

Coffee from Getti Up, a drive-thru booth in Garberville, got us suitably alert to appreciate the Avenue of the Giants, an awe-inspiring drive through the 110-metre-high tree canopy of Humboldt Redwoods State Park. At the visitors’ centre, we traced the rings of a 1,000-year-old stump – an ambassador from another time, as John Steinbeck put it.

Somehow we missed the turnoffs for the Rockefeller Loop Trail and Founders’ Grove, a popular photo-op. It was too late to double back, and I felt the first pangs of traveller’s remorse. We pulled over at the next opportunity, in Redcrest, where the girls climbed through one giant hollowed-out tree and hugged another.

We needed comfort food, and while oysters and IPAs at Humboldt Bay Provisions were tempting, we stayed on theme at Samoa Cookhouse. It opened in 1890 to feed lumberjacks and still serves all-you-can-eat meals with one main and ample sides.

Samuel H Boardman State Scenic Corridor. Credit: Casey Horner/Unsplash

A breeze sped us out of the Victorian-era town of Eureka, and we experienced our first expansive views of the Pacific Ocean before turning inland through more redwoods. There were only so many times a day we could unbuckle the car seats, so we held out for the Samuel H Boardman State Scenic Corridor, across the Oregon border. The sun was starting to set as we stretched our legs at the Natural Bridges and Arch Rock viewpoints – gaping at those majestic sea stacks, pounding surf and cliffs with fir trees and flowers. Almost equally amazing, it was peak season and practically deserted.

The Oregon coast continued to surprise. In wind-swept Bandon, we happily walked in circles through a sand maze adorned with shells, driftwood and feathers, which is redrawn every few weeks by local artist Denny Dyke. Sunset Bay State Park was a calm counterpoint – a sheltered cove where the girls waded in the bracing water.

Credit: Kate Appleton

One Art Deco bridge after another led us to Heceta Head, a 60-metre bluff crowned by a still-working lighthouse. We parked beachside at 5.30pm – the lighthouse closed at 5pm – but consoled ourselves that it may not have been realistic for our crew anyway, since the only access was a steep 800-metre hike. (Adult-only guests of the lighthouse’s B&B use a private road. File that away under ‘next time’.)

After soaking up the scene of families tide-pooling and walking dogs in the golden late-afternoon light, we followed Highway 101 as it rose above the coast and cut through the quaint small towns of Yachats and Newport. Over a seafood dinner at the Hallmark Resort Newport, our waitress Tami, born a few miles away, talked up the area’s sleepy appeal. When she met her second husband, he was living in Portland: ‘too crowded – and the traffic, too crazy.’

The Newport waterfront and its bounty. Credit: Kate Appleton

We were admittedly Portland-bound, but lingered to let Newport work its charms. At the Oregon Coast Aquarium, we marvelled at giant moon jellyfish, flat fish that swim on their sides and sea lions doing tricks at feeding time. Lunch brought us to Local Ocean Seafoods for spicy noodles with shrimp, halibut with grilled peaches and views of fishing boats and the arched Yaquina Bay Bridge.

Back in the car, the landscape shifted to pastures of grazing cows. It was ice cream o’clock, and we were at just the right place: Tillamook Creamery, a farmer-owned Pacific Northwest icon that opened a gleaming visitors’ centre in 2018, just shy of its 110th anniversary. The dairy goodness includes free cheese samples, bacon mac ’n’ cheese, gooey grilled sandwiches and scoops of chocolate cherry and huckleberry ice cream.

Cannon Beach, our intended next stop, required a detour north, but it was nearly 5pm so we filed that away under ‘next time’, too, and headed east towards Portland. Approaching the city, we met with the trip’s first traffic jam – ‘Tami was right,’ said Dilip.

Credits: Sophia Silvester/Unsplash; Zach Savinar/Unsplash

Our spirits lifted at Portland’s Heathman Hotel, where we’d booked the glamping package. The girls were delighted by the tent outfitted with a kid-size mattress, toy lantern and Goodnight Oregon, a bedtime book. Downstairs at Headwaters, we feasted on Columbia River king salmon and seared scallops with pork belly. Sonia befriended the hostess, who conjured up a colouring book and crayons. Mira was drawn to the library – a dazzling space with double-ceiling-height shelves, art and armchairs – and promptly began pulling books onto the floor with a grin.

Before comedy series Portlandia skewered it as a hipster haven ‘where young people go to retire’ and ‘the dream of the ’90s is alive’, Portland was nicknamed the City of Roses. We took that as our cue and spent the morning at the International Rose Test Garden. A few artists had easels set up among the 650 blooming varieties.

Our drive had been fuelled largely by coffee and ice cream, and two artisanal refills got us through the final stretch: Case Study in downtown Portland and Sofie’s Scoops in Olympia, the state capital of Washington.

We reached Seattle about 95 kilometres later, miraculously on schedule. It felt good to unpack our stuff at the Kimpton Alexis Hotel, knowing we could spend the next week walking around downtown (eating your body weight in ice cream and sitting for hours does take its toll). But being in one place came also with the bittersweet realisation that our amazing adventure had come to an end: five days, three states and two children full of memories.

This trip was completed in partnership with Hertz

Cathay Pacific flies to Seattle seven times weekly and San Francisco 21 times weekly. Explore both destinations (and everything in between) by flying in to one city and out from the other.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book