新的一年健康之道

以下這些新奇有趣的養生潮流,助你在2020年坐言起行,建立健康生活習慣

新年快樂!2020年剛邁開步伐之際,正是定下新一年大計的理想時機。當今,健康潮流如滔天巨浪湧至,坊間助人尋找快樂健康人生的方法林林總總,花多眼亂。

健康大計一:提高飲食質素,多運動

不管你是為了讓體重數字向下行而剛剛加入健身行列的生力軍,還是想要突破瓶頸的資深健身常客,都一定可以找到許多能夠助你達成健康目標的新方法。

大勢所趨:DNA檢測

這種昔日只用於法證調查的科學方法,如今已廣為健身界所用。峇里養生度假村REVĪVŌ Wellness Resort Bali度身訂造的整全健身計劃,便利用DNA檢測,分析基因如何影響客人的飲食、新陳代謝和運動潛能。譬如你的基因組會令你傾向選擇牛油果、果仁和橄欖油等含單元不飽和脂肪的食物,還是含多元不飽和脂肪的食物如奇亞籽和亞麻籽?你是否天生耐力過人?還是應改為高強度間歇訓練?諸如此類。度假村置身綠樹林蔭的環境之中,供應美味而營養豐富的餐膳和努沙杜瓦美食,從這裡展開最適合自己的全新養生之道,再理想不過。

蓄勢待發:美人魚學校

找到好玩的運動,健身大計就會事半功倍,那還有什麼比發掘體內的美人魚潛力更有趣的運動?在美國和加拿大均設有分校的Aquamermaid,是全球規模最大的美人魚學校之一。學員需穿上鑲滿閃亮珠片的矽膠美人魚尾,學習像美人魚那樣在水中暢游,從而鍛練臀部肌肉、股四頭肌和腹部肌群,同時強化心臟功能。

健康大計二:多睡一點

如果眼袋有嘴巴,它們大概也會打呵欠。闔上眼睛休息的時間太短,身體髮膚以至精神全部都會受到影響,當下應該將睡覺列為頭等大事。

大勢所趨:睡眠假期

Six Senses早在2017年已帶領潮流,與睡眠醫生Michael Breus合作,為客人打造一覺無夢的療程。目前,集團在全球12家酒店及度假村均提供專業的睡眠療程,其中於土耳其的Six Senses Kaplankaya酒店,專業睡眠大使會帶領客人進行以睡眠瑜伽為中心的療程,教你如何完全放鬆、冥想和滿足潛意識的需要。療程還會搭配「捕夢者按摩」和智能睡眠追蹤科技,並提供營養飲食建議。

蓄勢待發:冰凍體驗

急劇降低身體溫度是否真的能夠讓人睡個好覺?荷蘭極限運動員、綽號「冰人」的Wim Hof回答你:肯定會。在波蘭的Karkonosze生物圈保護區,Hof會教大家如何擁抱嚴寒。在為期五天、活動緊湊的退修療程結束前,參加者只可穿上單薄的衣服,爬上雪山山頂及浸入表面結冰的池塘裡。他聲稱,冰凍體驗具備各種好處,包括改善睡眠、強化心血管表現、控制免疫系統,以至對付抑鬱症等,範圍極為廣泛。

健康大計三:加強正念

正念雖然姍姍來遲,但在Calm這類幫助大家學習和練習冥想的熱門應用程式推動下,正念終於開始獲得大眾注意。我們的機上娛樂系統也載有Calm應用程式,歡迎大家親身來體驗。

大勢所趨:佛教修練

老撾龍波邦的Amantaka度假村置身於草木扶疏的美麗莊園,位於神聖的普西山山腳。該度假村於2019年9月開設佛教中心,引領客人展開心靈之旅。靜修療程由長駐中心的僧人Sengdao Santikaro主持,結合當地的baci靜化儀式、古老的老撾浴、療癒按摩、誦經和冥想,教授佛教裡五個令生活更美好的法則。保證令你有所頓悟。

蓄勢待發:薩滿靜修

讓南美薩滿(類似巫師的人)帶你進入另一生存層面的心靈之旅,他們以植物根莖煮成的死藤水能令人產生幻想,讓你到達非一般的意識狀態。死藤水據說能幫助患者癒合心靈創傷,清除情緒上的障礙等,讓人回復澄明。溫馨提示:死藤水的催吐效果非常有名。心靈治療中心Peru Shamans提供不少靜修療程,包括為期五天的死藤水靜修療程,並設有課程密集的薩滿學校,帶大家認識安第斯宇宙觀、天文學和神聖的印加文明。

Illustration: Angela Ho

健康大計四:開心一點

生活充滿無法逃躲的壓力,幸而應對這些現代問題的方法愈來愈多。

大勢所趨:聲頻療法

新近開業的鬧市綠洲Fivelements Hong Kong設有一系列的聲頻療法課程,由頌缽震頻到曼陀羅冥想,均可以消除壓力和負面情緒。至於銅鑼浴,據Fivelements所說,其聲頻震動可以「按摩你的細胞、調和大腦電波」,使人達至放鬆狀態。

蓄勢待發:抱抱牛牛

許多科學實驗均證明,接觸動物能予人暖融融、軟綿綿的感覺,用科學術語來說,就是減少製造壓力的荷爾蒙如皮質醇等。山羊瑜伽早在2017年已乍現,但現時在紐約上州最風行的卻是抱抱牛牛療程。Mountain Horse Farm農場兩位主人Suzanne和Rudi Vullers均為馬匹協助成長及學習協會認可的治療師,其農場提供多個90分鐘的療程,包括撫摸和抱抱牛牛或農場收容的馬匹,以及幫牠們刷毛等。

健康大計五:讓皮膚煥發光采

沒錯,誰都知道要皮膚好就要多喝水。然而除了喝水,怎樣才能讓皮膚水嫩欲滴、讓我們看起來年輕五歲?

大勢所趨:護膚療程

我們總是忽略人體面積最大的器官:皮膚,但將於7月25至30日在瑞士Peak Health養生中心舉行的Peak Wellness for Skin Health靜修營,卻開宗明義以皮膚健康為主題。靜修營由首屈一指的皮膚專家Julie Russak醫生主持,為期五天,每日均會舉辦工作坊,內容包括皮膚與腸道的關係,以至智能排毒法等,另外還有全面的皮膚分析、度身訂造的療程和護膚方法,以及旨在改善皮膚健康的個人水療療程。

蓄勢待發:葡萄酒浴

連埃及妖后都讚好的葡萄酒浴,我們還有什麼好質疑的?日本箱根Yunessun Spa度假村設有多個奢華的紅酒池,為住客提供埃及妖后式的享受。紅酒療法建基於紅酒含豐富的抗氧化物,據說可以修復皮膚的膠原蛋白和彈性纖維,對抗老化問題。如果只想喝紅酒不想泡紅酒的話,還有咖啡浴、清酒浴和綠茶浴等浴池可供選擇。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Health and wellness

Wellness Trends That Will Kickstart Your New Year’s Resolutions

These wonderful – and weird – wellness trends will help you turn good intentions into healthy habits in 2020

Happy New Year! And not just a new year, but a new decade. If there was ever a time for New Year’s resolutions, surely it’s now. With the wellness juggernaut currently in full beast mode, there’s a mindboggling number of ways out there to become happier, healthier beings.

Resolution 1: Eat Better, Work Out More

Whether you’re a newbie hoping to reduce that number on the scales, or a regular gymgoer who’s hit a plateau, there are plenty of new options for your fitness goals.

Trending: DNA Testing

Once the purview of CSI-style investigators, DNA testing kits have gone mainstream. At REVĪVŌ Wellness Resort Bali, holistic wellness plans can be hyper-personalised with DNA tests which analyse the genes that affect your diet, metabolism and athletic capabilities. Does your genome prefer monounsaturated fats (avocados, nuts and olive oil) or polyunsaturated ones (chia and flax seeds)? Is your body built for endurance? Or should HIIT workouts be your new best friend? Throw in idyllic grounds, delicious nutritious fare and the delights of Nusa Dua on the doorstep, and it’s the perfect way to kickstart a new regimen that works best for you. 

Pending: Mermaid School

Finding an exercise you enjoy is half the battle, and what could be more fun than channelling your inner Ariel? Aquamermaid is one of the world’s biggest mermaid schools, operating across the US and Canada. As you master the art of swishing through the water in a sequinned silicone mermaid tail, you’ll be toning your glutes, quads and abs while getting a great cardio workout.

Resolution 2: Get More Sleep

If those bags under your eyes could talk… they’d probably just yawn. With lack of shut-eye impacting virtually every other area of our wellness – including fitness, skincare and mindfulness – it’s time to make bedtime a priority.

Trending: Sleep retreats

Six Senses led the charge to provide help with sleep back in 2017, in partnership with sleep doctor Michael Breus, and it now offers dedicated sleep programmes at 12 of its properties throughout the world. At Six Senses Kaplankaya in Turkey, dedicated Sleep Ambassadors guide guests through a programme centred on yoga nidra, or sleeping yoga, which teaches you how to fully relax, meditate and address subconscious needs – coupled with ‘Dream Catcher Massages’, smart sleep-tracking technology and nutritional advice.

Pending: Freeze yourself

Can drastically lowering your body temperature really help you catch zzz’s? Dutch extreme athlete Wim ‘The Ice Man’ Hof says it absolutely can. At retreats on the Karkonosze biosphere reserve in Poland, Hof will teach you how to embrace the cold. At the end of an intense five days, participants climb a snowy peak in minimal clothing and soak in an ice pond. The Wim Hof method claims a huge spectrum of benefits – from improved sleep, cardiovascular performance and immune system control to helping deal with depression.

Resolution 3: Be More Mindful

Mindfulness has come to the fore of late, with popular apps like Calm (experience it for yourself in our Inflight Entertainment) teaching people to meditate. Now take your practice a step further.

Trending: Buddhist Training

Housed within a gorgeous leafy estate in Luang Prabang, at the foot of the sacred Mount Phousi, Amantaka launched a new Buddhist centre in September 2019 to guide guests on their spiritual journey. Retreats are led by resident abbot Sengdao Santikaro, who will teach guests Buddhism’s five principles of good living through a combination of a baci cleansing ceremony, ancient Laotian bathing, a massage healing ritual plus chanting and meditation. If that doesn’t reset your zen, nothing will.

Pending: Shaman Retreats

Take your spiritual journey to another plane of existence by visiting the shamans of South America. The ancient tradition of reaching an altered state of consciousness is helped along by the mind-bending ayahuasca – a hallucinogenic tea made from plant roots. The practice is said to help practitioners heal deep emotional wounds, gain clarity, clear emotional blockages and more – although be warned that the tea is well known for its emetic properties. Peru Shamans offers retreat options including a five-day ayahuasca retreat or an intense Shaman School in the arts of Andean cosmovision, Andean astronomy and the spiritual Inca world.

Illustration: Angela Ho

Resolution 4: Be Happier

Life is stressful – there’s no avoiding it – but there are a growing number of ways to manage and combat the problems of the modern age.

Trending: Sound Therapy

At the newly opened city sanctuary Fivelements Hong Kong, a range of sound healing classes, from singing bowl to mantra meditation, have been devised to help release stress and negativity. During a gong bath, Fivelements says, the sound induces a state of relaxation by letting the vibrations ‘massage your cells and harmonise your brain waves’.

Pending: Cow Cuddling

There’s plenty of scientific evidence that shows being around animals gives us warm fuzzy feelings (or, in lab terms, reduces stress-producing hormones like cortisol). Goat yoga bounced onto the scene in 2017 – but the latest craze in upstate New York is cow cuddling. At the Mountain Horse Farm, owners Suzanne and Rudi Vullers – certified with the Equine Assisted Growth and Learning Association – offer 90-minute therapy sessions that involve petting, brushing and, yes, cuddling cows or rescue horses.

Resolution 5: Get Glowing Skin

Yes, drink more water, we know. But aside from that, how can we achieve that dewy boost that will leave us looking five years younger?

Trending: Skincare Retreats

The largest organ in the body is too often taken for granted, but skin will receive undivided attention at the upcoming Peak Wellness for Skin Health retreat, at Peak Health in Switzerland (25-30 July). Hosted by leading dermatologist Dr Julie Russak, the focused five-day retreat will include daily workshops covering everything from the skin-gut connection to smart detoxification, with full skin analysis, customised treatment plans and skincare regimen prescriptions plus bespoke spa treatments designed to improve skin health.

Pending: Wine Bathing

If it was good enough for Cleopatra, who are we to argue? At the Yunessun Spa Resort in Hakone, Japan, guests can make like the Egyptian queen herself and luxuriate in large pools of red wine. The practice of vinotherapy is rooted in the fact that red wine is packed with antioxidants said to help fight the effects of ageing by restoring collagen and elastic fibres to the skin. Prefer your wine in a glass? Other options include bathing in coffee, sake or green tea.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book