中国内地

在中國泉城濟南如魚得水

濟南自古以來都是山明水秀的泉城,不過近年它除了風景優美的池塘及湖泊,更迎來與時並進的發展浪潮

山東省首府濟南有「泉城」的美譽,以「家家泉水,戶戶垂楊」著稱。部分湧泉被發展成旅遊景點,建有造景雅致的池塘和寶塔,亦有湧泉隱身於宅第之中。不過假如你以為它們都是溫泉,或一心想暢泳其中,那就不好意思了,你只會失望而回。

現在這些泉水都禁止游泳。當然我本身又並非特別想泡泉水,因為抵埗時正值寒風刺骨的2月早晨,但濟南(國泰港龍的最新航點)的72個湧泉確曾熱鬧得多,更可謂城裡人的命脈。我的司機肖雋道:「想當年,我們會在護城河暢泳或到處泡泉水,好不高興!我甚至見過一雙雙年輕情侶在泉水中談情。」

Jinan
Gilles Sabrié

雖然回憶總是帶點浪漫,但政府的決定亦無可厚非。居民長年以泉水洗衣、沐浴和煮食,對部分湧泉造成耗損,以致幾年前當局全面禁止民眾進入水泉。不過當你沿護城河蹓躂,甚至乘坐觀光船,你仍會看到大批當地人在不同的泉口吊下水桶,打水回家泡茶。如果你夠膽識的話,更可以直接取泉水飲用(只要向打水的人索一口水即可)。我覺得味道有點像蒸餾水,只是入口冷冽。

Jinan
Anshel Ma

這城市雖有多達72個湧泉,但根本沒可能全都造訪,可幸濟南最名聞天下的泉水景點都在護城河。護城河近乎正方形,在市中心形成一個運河和湖泊系統。大家應先前往趵突泉,這是城中最鼎鼎大名的景點。它的地下水從三個泉眼湧出地面,雨季時,泉眼噴出的水柱更高達三呎。這裡周圍佈滿建於宋(960至1279年)、明(1368至1644年)兩朝的高塔及樓房,而趵突泉自古以來亦備受人歌頌,遠至2,500多年前編撰的史籍《春秋》也有所記載。清朝(1644至1912年)年間,此外,乾隆皇帝巡訪趵突泉後,亦將御用水源由北京泉水轉為趵突泉水。如今,泉眼的周邊範圍統稱為趵突泉公園,你還可找到另外30多個大大小小的湧泉,其中一個就在宋朝最著名的女詞人李清照的故居旁,景致優美。

隨著觀光船駛過趵突泉,以及對面的五龍潭(該處有五座龍雕塑,它們的口中噴出滔滔泉水,場面壯觀),我很快便到達大明湖。大明湖可謂濟南的瑰寶,它由多個池泉組成,是中國唯一以這種模式形成的城市湖泊,難能可貴。它素來都是經典文學的主角,現在仍經常出現於電視劇中,就連乾隆皇帝也在湖上興建避暑行宮。如今,大家在湖畔可找到咖啡室、公園、過山車、可飽覽濟南景色的瞭望塔,以及中國毛主席於1929年親筆題寫的巨型大理石碑刻文。

正在休假中的本地人劉天宇從事郵輪工作,並表示:「大約五年前,大明湖的環境狀況並不理想,遊客紛紛投訴,結果政府最終決定大舉清理,並將大明湖和附近其他湖泊合併,塑造成遼闊的空間;現在遊湖比以前更能盡興。」讓遊人盡興的節目,包括每年元旦舉行的大明湖冬泳節,屆時無數勇士將冒著零下低溫在湖中游泳比賽。遊大明湖當然還有其他方式,例如划艇和乘坐快艇,亦可選擇圍繞全長五公里的湖畔漫步。

Jinan
Anshel Ma

隨著歸航的觀光船駛近黑虎泉附近的船塢,遠方的解放閣逐漸靠近,讓人想起濟南歷年的戰火。不論是戰國時代(公元前402年至公元前221年),還是國共內戰(1927年至1949年),濟南一直是兵家必爭之地,因為這裡位處北京的門戶,是交通要塞。如今與戰爭相關的遺跡散落濟南各處,例如上述的解放閣正是為紀念內戰期間的濟南戰役而建,而英雄山除了有周末市集外,亦擺放了毛主席的雕像。

Jinan
Gilles Sabrié

戰亂過後,濟南地位開始攀升,並發展成為擁有700萬居民的大都會。現時濟南屬於二線城市,雖然光芒被鄰近的青島暫時蓋過,但濟南魯能貴和洲際酒店高級銷售總監王海燕,對濟南的前景充滿信心,並表示:「自濟南於2009年主辦全運會後,這裡迎來急速的變化,東面新區的工程就是例子。目前,我們正興建地下鐵路,路線巧妙地避開泉脈。在未來,這裡有望成為時尚之都。」

洲際酒店是護城河內唯一的酒店,剛完成翻新並於去年重開。酒店天台則設有啤酒園,把濟南的醉人景色盡收眼底。高級國際品牌亦紛紛進駐酒店旁的購物商場,走在大街上,可感受到時尚的朝氣。

Jinan
Gilles Sabrié

儘管發展的浪潮來勢洶洶,王海燕認為濟南仍能保持悠然自得的態度,那是源於孔子的訓詁,他的故鄉曲阜就在毗鄰。她解釋:「我們謹遵他的教誨,以家庭為重心,最重要是在傳統生活方式及新時代之間取得平衡。」

現時,濟南正慢慢追上已經在其他城市掀起的潮流。由舊倉庫改建的藝術及文化空間陸續出現,但我認為最令人期待的項目,是中國其中一座最大規模的鋼鐵廠的改造工程。偌大的廠區將於不久後改建為博物館、藝廊及其他有關生活文化的集中地,成為未來趨勢的指標。

在旅遊旺季遊覽濟南可看到猶如明信片般的壯麗景色。4月至9月期間,湖畔垂柳、護城河以至古色古香的曲水亭街處處青蔥翠綠,湧泉亦回復生氣,泉水汨汨而流,讓一眾遊客讚歎。

至於夏季另一個當地人情有獨鍾的消遣活動,當然就是浸泡泉水了。雖說政府禁止民眾進入湧泉,但根據匿名人士透露,只要你懂得門路(說的是濯纓泉),就能輕易跟當地人一起泡泡泉水,再呷杯熱茶歇一歇,不過請別告訴他人這是我說的就好了。

推介景點

住宿

濟南魯能貴和洲際酒店, 天地壇街三號

唯一一家矗立於護城河內的酒店,城中各大景點信步可達。自從去年開幕後,旋即成為當地住宿首選。客房面朝大明湖的秀麗景色,餐廳則全日開放。Ihg.com

餐飲

平泉胡同三號院, 平泉胡同三號

濟南以魯菜聞名,其鮮香美味是山東菜系中馳名的特色。胡同裡遍佈著六家同一集團的餐廳,門牌為六號的餐廳則吸引不少名人光顧。

寬厚里

這條里弄全是琳琅滿目的街頭小吃、音樂酒吧和現場表演。這裡亦是選購手信的好地方。

展開一日旅程

濟南周邊還有更多精采地點待你深入探究。來一趟自駕遊或善用當地火車網絡,陶醉於不同時代的古韻之中

1. 千佛山

經十一路18號

Jinan

數千個石壁上刻有佛像和姿態各異的佛雕,自隋代(581-618年)開始,便守護著濟南南端的山嶽。徒步或乘搭纜車可抵達山上寺廟,而萬佛洞更是不可錯過的景點。這裡成千上萬的佛雕及繽紛的壁畫令深洞添上姿采。

2. 九如山

Jinan

九如山匯聚「八潭、九瀑、24泉、36峰」,是當地人和遊客遠離塵囂的首選。建議攜帶遠足裝備,攀登這裡超過800米的高山。你亦可觀賞迷人的峽谷、瀑布及樹林,了解何為國家4A級景區。

3. 曲阜

Jinan

如果你是歷史愛好者,這個小鎮不容錯過。曲阜不但是孔子誕生地,保留著故居和孔廟,更是歷史古都,位列首批國家指定的歷史文化名城當中。景點每天4時半關閉,記緊好好規劃行程。

4. 泰山

View of the Peak of Mount Tai
Zou Yanju / Best View Stock / Getty Images

泰山是中國五嶽之首,貴為道教聖地,更是孕育5,000年中華文明的搖籃,名列聯合國教科文組織世界自然遺產。山頂有一座3,000年歷史的廟宇,而最高山峰則為1,545米的玉皇頂。

5. 靈岩寺

Jinan
Liu Yongming/IC

高聳的辟支塔於11世紀興建,是聞名遐邇的歷史遺跡,雖然經歷過中國的動盪時期,幸未受破壞;其塔林由建於不同年代的167座塔組成,十分壯觀。這座寺廟為「四大名剎」之首,同屬國家4A級景區。

6. 齊長城

Jinan
Imaginechina

這座歷史最悠久的長城,於戰國時期末(西元前402-221年)修築,延綿600公里,大概是濟南至青島的長度,是齊國為防禦楚國入侵而建。大部分段落依舊清晰可辨。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往濟南的航班,每周有七班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

China

Watery world: Exploring China’s City of Springs

Natural springs spill into Jinan, a city known for millennia for its watery beauty. But alongside the scenic ponds and lakes, a new modernity is rising. Photos by GILLES SABRIÉ

Called the  ‘City of Springs’, Jinan, the capital of Shandong province, is known for the water that gushes into it. Some springs have been turned into proper tourist destinations, with artfully arranged ponds and pagodas, while others are hidden behind the walls of private houses. But one thing is certain: you’d be sorely disappointed if you think that they’re hot springs, or if you wanted to dive in and have a little swim.

Nowadays, you’re not allowed to swim in the springs. Not that I particularly wanted to, as it was a chilly February morning during my visit. But apparently the 72 springs of Jinan – Cathay Dragon’s newest destination – used to see more activity, serving as the lifeblood of the city. ‘Back in the day, we used to be able to swim in the moat  and bathe in the various springs,’ said my driver Xiao Jun. ‘I remember seeing young couples courting each other in the springs.’

As romantic as this may sound, the government’s decision seems like a fair one. Years of residents doing laundry, bathing and cooking took a toll on a few springs, leading to a total ban from entering the water a few years ago. However, as you stroll along the moat, or better yet, get on the tour boat, you’ll see locals in their droves in all hours of the day, lowering their buckets to the various mouths of the spring, collecting water to make tea at home. If you’re brave enough, you can simply consume it from the source (just ask the water collectors for a sip); I found the taste similar to distilled water, and icy cold.

There are 72 springs – and you’re not going to see them all. But most of Jinan’s treasures reside in the moat, a near-square system of canals and lakes in the city centre. You should start with Baotu Spring, the most revered and alluring of them. It consists of three fountains where underground water gushes to the surface, sometimes reaching three feet high during the rainy season. And surrounding it are pagodas and houses dating back to the Song (960-1279) and Ming (1368-1644) dynasties. Baotu has been admired throughout history, with a mention in the Spring and Autumn Annals, a famed text dating back more than 2,500 years. During the Qing Dynasty (1644-1912), Emperor Qianlong switched his water of choice from a Beijing source to Baotu Spring after visiting the area. Nowadays, the vicinity is called Baotu Spring Park, where more than 30 additional springs of all sizes can be found, with one of them next to the former home of Li Qingzhao, China’s most famous female lyricist of the Song era.

As the tour boat passes Baotu Spring and the adjacent Five Dragon Pool – an impressive sight of five dragon statues pouring water from their mouths – I soon reach the city’s crown jewel, Daming Lake. The lake is a water wonderland created by the various springs, the only city lake in China formed in this way. It has long been a subject in classical literature and today is often seen in TV dramas. Emperor Qianlong built his summer mansion on an island in this lake, and nowadays the lakeshore is home to cafes, parks, a roller coaster, a tower with views of the city and a giant marble slab with texts written by Chairman Mao in 1929.

‘About five years ago the lake was not in the best condition, and tourists actually complained,’ says Calvin Liu, a local on leave from his cruise ship job.  ‘The government finally decided to clean it up and combined Daming Lake and the other lake next to it to create a massive space. It’s definitely more enjoyable now.’ Part of that enjoyment happens on New Year’s Day, when the city plays host to the Daming Lake Winter Swimming Event, where countless daredevils brave the sub zero temperatures to race across the water. There are, of course, other ways to tour the lake, from paddling boats to speedboats, or simply with a stroll around the five-kilometre perimeter.

As my tour boat returns to the docks near Black Tiger Spring, a looming structure known as Liberation Tower stands nearby as a reminder of Jinan’s warring past. From the Warring States period (402 BC-221 BC) right up to the Chinese Civil War (1927-1949), Jinan has been a coveted strategic city as a gateway to Beijing. There are now various war-related relics dotted across the city, with the aforementioned tower built to commemorate the War of Jinan during the civil war, and Hero Mountain (Yingxiong Shan), where you’ll find a weekend market and a statue of Chairman Mao.

After the war, Jinan began to climb in status and has grown to become a metropolis with seven million residents. It is now a second-tier city, despite being eclipsed by Shandong neighbour, Qingdao. But Rene Wang, senior director of sales at the InterContinental Jinan City Center  is confident of the city’s rise: ‘Ever since 2009, when Jinan hosted the National Games of China, the city has seen rapid change, such as the construction of a new district in the east. We’re also building an underground train system that cleverly avoids the spring water paths. I think it will become a fashionable city.’

The InterContinental, the only hotel within the moat, has recently undergone a renovation and reopened last year. It now boasts a beer garden on its roof, with stunning views of the city. High-end international brands have also arrived in the shopping malls next to the hotel, and you can feel an exciting energy as you walk on the streets.

But it still retains a laid-back atmosphere, something Wang says has to do with the teachings of Confucius, whose hometown Qufu is just nearby. ‘Family is the centre of his teachings and we simply live by that. It’s all about striking a perfect balance between the old ways of life and the new era,’ she says.

For now, Jinan is slowly waking up to trends that have been popping up in other cities. Art and cultural spaces converted from old warehouses have started appearing, but the most exciting project is the upcoming conversion of one of China’s largest steel factories, which will be transformed into museums, galleries and other lifestyle outlets. It’s a glimpse of what the future might hold.

Visit during high season, and you’ll also get Jinan’s postcard-perfect views. From April to September, willows on the banks of the lake, the moat and the beautiful, step-back-in-time Qushuiting Street  are filled with verdant green, and all the springs come to life, gushing with water amid the cheers of the crowds.

And summer also brings about a local favourite pastime: bathing in the springs. It’s meant to be prohibited, but if you know where to look (Zhuoying Spring), you can easily join the locals for a quick dip and a cup of tea afterwards. Just don’t quote me.

Hit List

Stay

InterContinental Jinan City Center, 3 Tian Di Tan Road

The only hotel within Jinan’s moat is walking distance to practically every attraction. Since opening last year, the hotel has become the city’s top choice, with rooms facing Daming Lake, and boasting a 24-hour restaurant. Ihg.com

Eat

Ping Quan Hutong San Hao Yuan, 3 Ping Quan Hutong

Jinan is famous for its Lu cuisine, its savoury dishes a staple among Shandong natives. There are six restaurants dotted across the hutong (narrow alleyway), with number 6 a hit among celebrities.

Kuanhou Li

A hutong-esque enclosure offers street eats, music bars and live performances in the square. It’s also a great place to hunt for souvenirs.

Day trip from Jinan

There’s plenty more to see in close proximity to Jinan. Go for a drive or hop on a train and find yourself immersed in nature and historical beauty

1. Thousand Buddha Mountain

18 Jing Shi Yi Lu

Thousand Buddha Mountain

Thousands of Buddha images carved out of the rock faces and free-standing Buddha statues have been gracing this mountain south of Jinan since the Sui dynasty (581-618). The temples in the hill can be reached by hiking up or by cable car, and a trip to the Buddha cave is a must. Here, you’ll find thousands of Buddha carvings and colourful murals decorating the deep caverns.

2. Jiuru Mountain

With its eight pools, nine falls, 24 springs and 36 peaks, the Jiuru Mountain area is a favourite for locals and visitors to get away from the city. Pack your hiking gear to tackle the peaks, which reach over 800 metres high. Take in the stunning canyons, falls and forest, and see what an AAAA-rated scenic area looks like.

3. Qufu

A must-visit town if you’re a history buff. Not only is this the birthplace of Confucius, where you can tour his home and a temple dedicated to him, but it was also the capital of an ancient country and one of the first places to be designated a historic cultural city by China. Be sure to plan your visit as the sights close at 4.30pm.

4. Taishan

One of the five sacred mountains of China, Taishan is significant in Taoist culture and was an important cradle of Chinese culture 5,000 years ago. The venerated mountain is also listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site, with a place of worship at the top dating back 3,000 years. The tallest peak is the 1,545-metre Jade Emperor Peak.

5. Lingyan Temple

The 11th-century Pizhi Pagoda stands tall among other relics dating from the various dynasties. Remarkably, the temple was left untouched over China’s more tumultuous years. Its stupa forest, with 167 stupas built in different eras, is a sight to behold. Another AAAA-grade scenic area, this temple is the foremost of the Four Buddhist Temples of China.

6. Great Wall of Qi

China’s oldest existing part of the Great Wall network was built during the end of the Warring States period (402 BC-221 BC) by the state of Qi. It was built to defend against invasions from the Kingdom of Chu. It stretches about 600 kilometres, roughly the distance from Jinan to Qingdao, and most sections are still visible.

Cathay Dragon flies to Jinan from Hong Kong seven times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book