緬甸

煙波緬甸

喜歡追尋舊日情懷,又想享受現代奢華旅遊的旅客,乘坐觀光郵輪暢遊緬甸正合你意

作家們對伊洛瓦底江的顏色似乎眾說紛紜。有人說從遠處看是銀光閃閃,近看則是翠綠如玉,又有說是棕色、茶褐色,甚至深藍如海。George Orwell在其1934年出版的小說《Burmese Days》裡,就指江水呈「黃土色」,但若說伊洛瓦底江是緬甸最偉大的河流,相信大家都別無異議。

這條浩瀚的長河是緬甸的中樞核心和命脈。伊洛瓦底江長2,170公里,兩岸巍峨高山聳立,於中部貫穿全國,再從北至南直入安達曼海,見盡歷代帝朝興衰。江水多年一直滋養當地的農業和貿易,展現不同的季節景致。隨著國家被隔絕了50年後慢慢解封,水流平緩的伊洛瓦底江現正好成為漫遊緬甸、暢通無阻的天然路線。

雖然緬甸的旅遊業基礎建設未趨成熟,但許多人已看上伊洛瓦底江的發展潛力。由於國家的旅遊業才剛起步,較講究的旅客自然選擇在船上過夜的郵輪假期,舒適地遊覽不同地區。我參加了由仰光高級酒店Strand Hotel所主辦的行程,並登上其營運的簇新郵船Strand Cruise,由蒲甘前往位於緬甸中部的城市曼德勒,沿途欣賞近岸山頂的金色大佛和耀目寶塔。

航程經過成千上萬的宏偉建築,當中多數在11至12世紀由國君和富裕的教徒興建,希望能為來世積存功德。相傳建築愈豪華,積存的功德就愈大。其中最恢宏及奇怪的遺蹟,得數位於明根鎮的佛塔。這座佛塔從未竣工,雖然當時僅僅修建了一個方形底座,但高度已達50米,加上地震造成的巨大裂縫由正面一直往下裂開,矚目壯觀。在途中的一個黃昏,我一邊呷著香檳,一邊赤腳漫步沙洲,這座龐然大物就在對岸,罕有的短吻海豚則在附近水域來回躍出水面,感覺如夢似真。要不是我身後的現代輪船,迷糊間根本不知大家身處何世。

Boats sail on the Irrawaddy River along the Bagan, Myanmar
圖片:Thierry Falise/LightRocket/Getty Images

Strand Cruise提供這種緬甸新興的現代奢華旅遊服務,與其同名的殖民時代酒店Strand Hotel可說相輔相成。船上的27個客艙、高級餐廳及酒吧全部鋪上柚木地板,用上品味出眾的陳設。Strand Cruise的副主席Olivier Trinquand指出,觀光船特意設計出多個寬敞的公共空間,鼓勵旅客多花時間在客艙外活動。旅客理應如此,因為這些地區氣候乾爽,溫度適中(只有在4月及5月特別炎熱),他們可以長時間躺在甲板的沙發床上偷得浮生,或者泡在鋪上翠綠瓷磚的泳池裡樂享悠閒。

沿途的寶塔固然瑰麗吸引,但江河的樸實景致才最能體現緬甸之美。沿岸有三五成群的家庭聚在河岸沐浴和洗衣,男女都穿上傳統的「籠基」裙子遮蓋身體,以免失態。河岸上到處飄揚著繽紛多彩待洗的衣服,長尾船的引擎隆隆作響,疾馳而過,而船夫的頭髮則隨風散動。每到日出,天空一片橙紅,上空散佈著緩緩上升的熱氣球,交織出一幅氣韻動人的畫面。

Temples in Bagen, Myanmar
圖片:Andreas Hub/laif/IC

為增添長途航程的趣味,手工藝師更獲邀上船表演籐織及木偶戲等傳統工藝。除了其中一天以外,航程每日都有泊岸時間,讓乘客近距離參觀岸上景點,遊覽著名大佛古蹟及工藝坊。在五天的行程裡,我們參觀了無數寺廟和佛塔,可謂各具特色。這些建築精雕細琢,有些鋪上黃金,有些則鋪上鏡子,大都位於山巔,可俯覽山下城鎮的壯觀美景。佛像的表情反映了不同時代的工藝風尚,而寺廟和佛塔的建築則顯示了當地日趨成熟的建築技巧。

事實上,愈簡樸的寺廟愈令人著迷。在蒲甘,我們不但請私人導遊Khin帶我們遊覽深受旅客歡迎的佛寺,亦要求造訪較為偏僻的廟宇。於是,她便帶我們到她最喜歡的Pathothamya寺。寺廟小巧簡樸,穿過拱型門廊,在幽暗的環境下仍能看見內壁龕的坐佛,在天窗的柔和光線照射下益顯高聳。這裡空無一人,只有藏在天花角落不斷吱吱亂叫的蝙蝠與我們同行。

Khin用電筒照向牆壁,讓我們細看褪色的壁畫。這些壁畫畫工精細,填滿每吋空間,訴說著佛陀的故事,但現在牆身的 灰泥已經老化剝落,倖存的壁畫亦在1980年代被錯誤的修復方式損壞了。Khin一邊以電筒在牆上游移,一邊失落地向我們介紹當中所描繪的故事。

然後她帶我們到一座佛塔前,往塔頂的階梯甚為陡斜,Khin問道:「你們畏高嗎?」雖然我有少許畏高,但也鼓起勇氣拾級而上。在陡峭的塔頂,幾十個遊客已佔坐在多個平台上,等待觀賞日落美景。極目望去,荒蕪的土地上有許多佛塔,塔頂霧氣縈繞,別有一番景致。

來到行程第四天,有些乘客希望在原來的行程以外加入更道地的活動,因此我們被安排到市場走一趟。Trinquand表示,公司會根據乘客的需要而靈活安排行程,致力為大家提供不同的體驗。他說:「我喜歡參觀寺廟,但也明白並不是每個人都有同好。緬甸的旅遊業以遊覽寶塔為主,可說是宗教之旅。這樣的安排很好,只是我們要做到與普通旅行團不一樣。」

Myanmar temples
圖片:Andreas Hub/laif/IC

其實,參觀名勝不僅能讓人了解當地風土,也可深入感受人情。烏本橋是全球最古老、最長的柚木橋,而橋下的東塔曼湖更反映了當地的農務生活。在這裡,漁民撒網、農夫趕鴨;遠處,農婦頭戴斗笠,彎腰清除農田的雜草。這裡的茅屋只是農民的暫時居所,因為農地在雨季便會沒入湖中。

 

Myanmar At A Glance
圖片:Paula Bronstein/Getty Images

緬甸2015年時步入了一個新時代,在當年的大選中,以昂山素姬為首的政黨全國民主聯盟大比數勝出,國家從軍政府邁向民主之路。我們所到之處,國民都對這個政權交替表示審慎樂觀。我們的蒲甘導遊Khin一言以蔽之:「我們的夢想成真了。」

緬甸發展迅速,也理應如此。在仰光,新建築與殖民建築並排而立;兩年前,智能手機一下子從罕見商品成為必需品。旅遊業也時機成熟。現在這一刻,看著伊洛瓦底江如味噌湯顏色的江水,誰會猜到緬甸的未來將是何番景況?

‭ ‬

行程需知

預訂

可透過Lightfoot Travel預訂郵輪假期,甚至安排機票及機場接送,這公司並會提供當地的旅遊貼士及餐廳推介。lightfoottravel.com

衣著

當地民風保守,進入廟宇必須衣著端莊,避免穿短褲及無袖上衣。入廟前要脫下鞋襪,因此穿著拖鞋較方便。

貨幣

緬甸主要接受現金,需然越來越多商戶接受信用卡。緬元只能在國內兌換,請帶備美元,但必須是簇新的紙幣,銀行及兌換店均不接受略有皺摺或污跡的紙幣。

通訊

國內設有有限度國際漫遊服務,但可以廉宜價錢購買備有流動數據的電話卡。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Myanmar

View from the Irrawaddy

For those seeking an old world amid modern luxury, Myanmar is a country best seen by river cruise. By VANESSA KO

Writers can’t seem to agree on the Irrawaddy’s colour. It’s been described as silver from afar. Up close it’s jade, brown, tea-coloured or even dark blue. George Orwell called it ochreous in his 1934 novel Burmese Days. But almost invariably, the Irrawaddy is Myanmar’s ‘great river’.

This wide expanse is the spine and central nervous system of Myanmar, formerly known as Burma. Flanked by a pair of mountain ranges, it cuts down the middle of the country, flowing 2,170 kilometres north to south and emptying into the Andaman Sea. Kingdoms rose and fell along its banks. An industry of agriculture sprang from its waters and heeds its seasonal changes. The country’s trade has traditionally depended on the gentle waterway. And today, as the country emerges from five decades of isolation, the Irrawaddy represents the most natural, unobstructed route by which to see the country.

Myanmar’s tourism infrastructure is relatively young but in the Irrawaddy, many have already seen the potential. Overnight river cruises, especially, have made sense for high-end travellers, offering comforts in parts of the country where tourism is just getting started. It was on the Strand Cruise, a newcomer to the river run by the venerable Strand Hotel in Yangon, that I found myself ogling giant gold Buddha statues and gleaming pagodas perched on hills just steps from the shoreline, as the ship journeyed from Bagan to the central city of Mandalay.

The thousands of edifices along this route were erected by kings and the wealthy devout, mainly in the 11th and 12th centuries, to earn merit for the next life. The more extravagant, the greater the merit. One of the biggest – and oddest – monuments of all is an unfinished stupa in the town of Mingun. Only a square base was built, but even that rises 50 metres, and outsized cracks caused by an earthquake run dramatically down its facade. In a surreal evening arranged by the Strand Cruise, I found myself standing barefoot on a sandbank, sipping champagne, with this mammoth stupa visible across the river, rare Irrawaddy dolphins bobbing in the nearby waters. If it weren’t for the modern ship behind me, there would be few clues to what century we were in.

BAGAN, MANDALAY REGION, MYANMAR
Credit: Thierry Falise/LightRocket/Getty Images

The Strand Cruise is a worthy complement to its namesake colonial hotel and offers a taste of Myanmar’s nascent modern, luxury hospitality scene. Teakwood floors and tasteful furnishings are found throughout its 27 cabins, fine-dining restaurant and bar. Designed with spacious public areas, the ship’s layout encourages passengers to spend time outside their cabins, according to Olivier Trinquand, vice president of Strand Cruise. And indeed they should. The climate is dry in these parts, the temperatures moderate (getting very hot only in April and May), and many hours can be happily spent on the sun deck’s daybeds or at the pool tiled in the most inviting shade of green.

The pagodas were scene-stealers, but it was the river’s humbler sights that reflected Myanmar’s beauty. Families bathed and washed clothes in small clusters at the water’s edge, with modesty maintained by the traditional longyi skirts worn by both men and women. Colourful laundry was laid out all along the river banks. Long-tail boats sped past with loud, percussive puttering, their skippers’ hair flapping in the breeze. And the sunrises, which flooded the skies with orange, were made even more beautiful by dots of slow-rising hot-air balloons.

Myanmar
Credit: Andreas Hub/laif/IC

To break up long stretches of cruising, artisans were invited on board to demonstrate traditions like rattan-making and marionette theatre. And of course, passengers got to see the sights up close, with excursions organised for all but one of the days, mainly to famed Buddhist monuments and crafts workshops. Over five days, we visited numerous temples and stupas built with various ornate details, some covered in gold, some tiled with mirrors, and many located high in the hills with sweeping views of the towns below. The different facial expressions of the Buddhas spoke to the trends of their eras, the architecture to the advancements in technique over time.

The simpler shrines were even more breathtaking. In Bagan, we asked our private guide, Khin, to show us a selection of temples that would cover both popular tourist spots and ones off the beaten track. She took us to her favourite: the small, unassuming Pathothamya Temple. Enter through the arched doorway, and in semi-darkness you’ll see a towering seated Buddha in the inner alcove softly lit by skylights. We were alone here, away from the crowds, save for the bats twittering in the ceiling nooks.

Khin shone a torch on a wall and, unexpectedly, faded murals telling the story of Buddha appeared. The images were rendered in great detail and once covered every inch of the walls. Much of the plaster is now damaged with age, and of the surviving murals, many were irreversibly ruined by incorrect restoration attempts in the 1980s. Khin recounts these events with disappointment, her torch moving across the walls.

‘Do you have high-scare problem?’ Khin asked. I do have a moderate fear of heights but that wasn’t going to stop me from climbing the steep steps of the stupa she took us to. At the vertiginous top, dozens of tourists were sitting on its several platform levels, waiting for the sunset view. Mist floated over the scores of stupas that stood on the arid landscape as far as the eye could see.

On the fourth day, after some passengers asked to depart from the itinerary and experience a more authentic side of the country, the staff arranged a trip to a market. Trinquand says the company strives to stay flexible and customise experiences according to passenger preference. ‘I like temples, but I understand that not everyone does,’ he says. ‘In Myanmar, tourism is pagodas, it’s the holy story, which is absolutely great, but we don’t want to be just a package tour.’

Myanmar temple
Credit: Andreas Hub/laif/IC

Nonetheless, popular attractions can offer varied insights into a country and its people. At U Bein Bridge, famed for being the oldest and longest teak bridge in the world, the action on the Taungthaman Lake below speaks to Myanmar’s agricultural life. We saw fishermen casting their nets and farmers herding ducks; farther off, women crouched under conical hats weed sections of farmland. Thatched huts set up on these plots are only temporary; other times of the year, the farms are underwater.

AMARAPUR - MYANMAR
Credit: Paula Bronstein/Getty Images

Myanmar entered a new era in 2015, when the country transitioned from a military dictatorship to a government headed by democracy icon Aung San Suu Kyi’s party, which won that year’s general elections in a landslide. Everywhere we went, ordinary people spoke about the transition with cautious optimism. Khin, our guide in Bagan, summed up the wide sentiment: ‘Our wish came true.’

The country is developing fast, as it should. New buildings are jostling for space with the colonial structures in Yangon. Two years ago, smartphones went from a rare commodity to an essential accessory almost overnight. And tourism is very much arriving. But for now, looking out from the Irrawaddy – the colour of miso soup – you’d never know.   ‭ ‬

Good to know

How to book

Lightfoot Travel can help book the cruise, as well as arrange your flights and airport transfers. The company also provides travel tips and restaurant recommendations for your destination. lightfoottravel.com

Dress

Avoid wearing shorts and sleeveless tops, as they are considered revealing and are not permitted on temple grounds. Shoes and socks must be removed before entering temple areas, so wear flip-flops for convenience.

Money

Myanmar is still a cash society, although more and more places are taking credit cards. The local currency, the kyat, can only be exchanged in the country. Bring US dollars, but make sure the bills are in pristine condition, as currency exchanges, banks and shops frequently reject notes with even light folds or marks.

Communication

There’s only limited international roaming in Myanmar, but prepaid SIM cards with mobile data are cheaply available.

Dragonair flies to Yangon from Hong Kong seven times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book