都市生活

意義非凡的香港太平山頂

適逢山頂廣場優化後重開,讓我們一起探索太平山因何成為香港「高」不可攀的地標。這裡既有新開幕的時尚餐廳和設施,亦可找到別有洞天的翠綠步行徑,讓你同時感受大都會之繁華和大自然之美

太平山是數一數二的勝地,世界各地的旅客自然慕名而至。去年訪港旅客人數高達6,500萬,有時山頂的擁擠程度,令我有六千多萬人同時蜂擁而至的錯覺。

太平山又名柯士甸山,早在數十年前,亦即尚未有旅評網TripAdvisor的年代,已有旅遊指南記載其種種吸引之處,一本於1953年出版的旅遊巨著,曾大讚此地「總能令旅客樂而忘返」。多得各路熱評,旅客總熱衷於乘纜車登上山頂,甫下車站即紛紛高舉「自拍神棍」,連忙全方位取景「打卡」,為美不勝收的香港景色而大呼小叫。(順帶一提,山頂纜車公司斥資6.84億港元大幅擴建車身,目前已完成第一部分的優化工程。)其後,旅客總會完成食、玩、買的指定動作,排隊光顧山頂食府並搜羅手信,方肯依依不捨地返回市區。到此一遊後,總算來過香港。

太平山位於海拔554米,原來在遠古時代曾是火山。雖然山上遊人如鯽,但鮮有識途之士會繞過船形的凌霄閣,沿柯士甸山道長途跋涉,步行至位置更高的山頂公園。外型平實的涼亭屹立於公園的觀景台上,並由古色古香的石獅子充當「守衛」。於此散步的觀光客和放狗人士寥寥可數;偶爾有攝影師賞識此地,帶準新人來拍攝婚紗照,一對新人只好半推半就地配合。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

這裡是1946年清拆的舊總督山頂別墅原址,是殖民地時期港督遠避繁囂的度假屋,不禁提醒我們,舊稱扯旗山的山頂不是只為觀光而開發的網紅勝地,更是讓人呼吸新鮮空氣的社區。的確,這兒的空氣比山下清新,而住客亦格外「離地」。這裡的兒童遊樂場總是悉心打理得有如精緻園林,路旁泊滿盡顯身價的瑪莎拉蒂級數名車,街坊街里沒一個不是億萬富翁。在加列山道的明德國際醫院,於單人房順產分娩連兩晚留院費,盛惠38,500港元(約4,900美元)。至於山頂道幼兒園Highgate House School International Steiner Waldorf Pre-School所提供的英文及普通話雙語學前課程,則每小時索價665港元。難怪長久以來,出入山頂的都是城中的名門望族。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

早在19世紀,香港的富裕階層已洞悉山頂氣候份外清涼,而且地方開揚,是盡情舒展身心的好地方。當年,位處柯士甸山上最高點的豪宅The Eyrie,由鴉片大亨庇理羅士所有,相傳他更霸氣得以駱駝代步上班,更顯高高在上。其後,鄰近的大宅和酒店陸續落成,又建有警署和教堂。當山頂纜車於1888年正式開通,這片高貴之地旋即成為人氣景點,令人爭相遊訪。

可想而知,現時城中最炙手可熱的物業依然盡在山頂。這裡每平方呎價可高達150,000港元,吸引阿里巴巴創辦人馬雲、李兆基等在本地發跡的億萬巨富以至其他官紳名流在此置業。若連在凌霄閣的香港杜莎夫人蠟像館也計算在內,則愛因斯坦也屬山頂居民。

May Tse/South China Morning Post via Getty Images

瑞銀香港房地產分析師林鎮鴻表示:「山頂坐擁壯麗風光,已有先天優勢,而嘉道理家族當然功不可沒。昔日的山頂古老大宅已被拆卸,發展商於原址重建更多小型單位,內地買家佔市場交投達六成。對他們而言,其中一個賣點是保安森嚴,因部分物業的護衛曾任英國空降特勤隊成員。」

這些豪宅也許圍牆高築,又於四周裝設閉路電視進行全天候監視,但不代表遊人便需乖乖順從大隊,禁足於山頂獨立大宅門外的路徑。位於山頂廣場以北的盧吉道實際上是一條相對地寬廣的行人步道,沿路盡是參天的樟樹、朴樹和榕樹。縱然香港的人口密度在全球數一數二,這片樹林卻是鳥類天堂,品種之多出乎意料。沿此路走,不消五分鐘的時間便能遠離觀光人潮,領人進入山頂的寧靜天堂。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

醉人的海景及城市風光,在密林的葉縫間若隱若現。從這裡俯瞰,平日維港上偌大的貨櫃船和宏偉的摩天大廈,此刻小得儼如浴缸內的橡皮鴨和一塊塊積木玩具。這條環迴步行徑的中段連接陡峭而下的分岔路克頓道,同樣是步行徑,但卻通往陰風陣陣的松林炮台遺址。二戰爆發期間,這裡一度是香港保衛戰的陣地,可惜最後死傷慘藉。克頓道是上落山頂的行人路之一,在纜車通車之前,有人便以轎車代步,沿此陡峭山路「遠征」,這種交通工具現在當然令人難以想像。一旦從「平」易近人的盧吉道走到相接的夏力道,長達3.5公里的山頂廣場環迴之旅就此畫上完美句號。

毗鄰凌霄閣的山頂廣場與山頂纜車一樣,之前暫時關閉進行翻新。於7月中重開後,遊人可踏足更廣闊的公共空間,觀景台更見寬廣,逾60間特色商舖落戶,其中包括全球首個以大富翁為主題的體驗館「大富翁夢想世界」。港版「大富翁」內最昂貴的地皮,當然非山頂莫屬。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

商場全力羅致一眾知名品牌,包括星級名廚Gordon Ramsay開設的Bread Street Kitchen & Bar,以及餐飲集團Black Sheep Restaurants旗下主打新派英印合璧菜式的Rajasthan Rifles

Black Sheep Restaurants創辦人之一Syed Asim Hussain稱:「招待訪港旅客的熱門食肆固然多不勝數,但本地居民同樣是我們的服務對象。我們希望餐廳能成為遊人暢聚的熱點,有人下班後會來此約會,亦有人會在周末與好友和愛犬登山後,於和煦的陽光下在此悠閒享用早午餐。」

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

觀乎實際之高度、象徵意義之深和社交作用之廣,山頂於香港的龍頭地位均無庸置疑。與其說是十大旅遊景點,不如說這裡是居高臨下的樂土。

山頂之遊其他提案

小朋友甚至童心未泯的大人,均可參與山頂廣場的Build-A-Bear玩具熊製作工作坊,設計專屬公仔,更可替小熊加入聲效和香味。

參與由歷史學家兼前英軍Martin Heyes帶團的深度山頂遊,有時他更會帶隊探索附近的郊野公園。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

山頂廣場另一新開張的店舖有台灣文創品牌Wooderful Life,顧名思義齊集各式各樣的木製品,如木製音樂盒和家品。此店可為顧客訂製手作產品,成為獨一無二的手信。

下山前,記得到太平山餐廳門外的綠色郵箱拍照留念。香港僅存59個殖民地時代所用的皇室徽號郵箱,此乃其中之一。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

How Victoria Peak Became Hong Kong’s Status Symbol

As the Peak Galleria reopens, we look at how Victoria Peak became the acme of Hong Hong – and how visitors can experience its most serene green spaces and best new restaurants and attractions

Sixty-five million visitors descended on Hong Kong last year, and on some days it can seem like all of them decided to take a gawp at Victoria Peak at the same time. Also known as Mount Austin, guidebook writers were puffing its virtues (‘a never-failing thrill to the tourist’, condescended one 1953 tome) decades before TripAdvisor’s founder was even born. Hence the thickets of selfie sticks that swirl around the upper terminus of the Peak Tram funicular (currently halfway through a HK$684 million makeover that’s supersizing the carriages), ooh-ing and aah-ing at the panoramas, sluicing in the eateries, and doing the veni, vidi, Visa thing in the souvenir shops before tumbling back down into the city. Been there, bucketed that.

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

But here’s the thing: remarkably few visitors make it as far as Victoria Peak Garden, a stiff walk up Mount Austin Road from the boat-shaped Peak Tower and almost the highest accessible point of this 554-metre, long-extinct volcano. The garden is capped by a ho-hum pavilion guarded by a brace of imperial lions, and most days it’s deserted apart from a handful of sightseers, some dog walkers and perhaps a put-upon bride and groom who’ve been dragooned into having their official wedding photos taken here. Until it was demolished in 1946, this was the site of Mountain Lodge, an airy retreat from the urban maw for the colonial governor, and it’s a reminder that rather than Must-Gram No 1, the Peak – Tai Ping Shan in local parlance – is a living, breathing (the air’s clearer up here) community; albeit one where children’s playgrounds are routinely jazzed up with topiary, no self-respecting Maserati lacks a personalised number plate and being a billionaire barely rates as a distinction. At the Matilda Hospital on Mount Kellett Road, two nights in a private room plus natural delivery costs HK$38,500 (US$4,900). Parents enrolling their tots at the Highgate House School International Steiner Waldorf Pre-School on Peak Road shell out HK$665 an hour for bilingual English and Mandarin classes. No doubt about it, this is where Hong Kong’s upper echelon hangs out, and has done for a very long time.

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

Back in the 19th century Hong Kong’s wealthier residents soon twigged that the Peak afforded cooler climes and the space to spread out and indulge their whims. Opium baron Emanuel Belilios, who owned the Eyrie, the highest residence on Mount Austin, was said to have commuted to his office by camel. Other houses, hotels, a police station and a chapel subsequently sprang up nearby. And once the Peak Tram opened in 1888, the Peak unquestionably became a place to see and be seen.

So it’s no surprise that nowadays the Peak hosts Hong Kong’s hottest property, with prices topping HK$150,000 per square foot, and attracting, among others, Alibaba founder Jack Ma, such homegrown megabucks tycoons as Lee Shau-kee, and – if you include Madame Tussauds’ waxworks in the Peak Tower – Albert Einstein.

May Tse/South China Morning Post via Getty Images

‘The Peak’s got the views, it’s a nice environment, but most of all it’s got kudos with a capital K,’ says John Lam, executive director of real estate research at UBS Hong Kong. ‘What we’re seeing now is the big old houses being demolished and replaced by several smaller units on the same site: buyers from the mainland account for up to 60 per cent of the market, partly attracted by the high level of security – some developments are staffed by guards trained by former British Special Air Service (SAS) troopers.’

The boundary walls may be high and their video cameras perennially inquisitive, but there’s no reason why visitors shouldn’t shun the crowds and meander past some of the Peak’s more singular mansions. Lugard Road – in truth more of a broad footpath – leads north from the Peak Tower, contouring beneath the thick canopy of camphor, Chinese hackberry and banyan trees that’s home to rather more birds than might be supposed in one of the world’s most densely populated cities. Within five minutes, other humans practically vanish, and peace descends.

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

Occasional gaps in the foliage provide magnificent vistas of harbour and metropolis, with container ships looking like so many bath toys and skyscrapers reduced to Lego blocks. Halfway round the circuit, a steep diversion down Hatton Road – again, simply a paved trail – leads to the eerie remains of Pinewood Battery, the scene of a brief but bloody encounter during the Second World War. Hatton is one of several pedestrian paths tracing a course up and down the Peak. Before the tram started running, it’s staggering to think sedan chair carriers tackled these vertiginous routes daily. Mercifully flat, Lugard segues into Harlech Road, which obligingly concludes the 3.5-kilometre circumambulation back at the Peak Tower.

Like the Peak Tram, the Tower’s neighbour, Peak Galleria, is being pulled up by its designer-label bootstraps. The mall has just reopened, sporting a wealth of public space, broad viewing decks and some 60 outlets including what’s billed as the world’s first Monopoly-themed experiential pavilion, Monopoly Dreams. Naturally, the most expensive square in the Hong Kong version of the board game belongs to the Peak.

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

The mall’s pulled in some high-profile tenants, including Bread Street Kitchen & Bar by celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay and Black Sheep Restaurants’ Rajasthan Rifles, which serves up a new take on Anglo-Indian nosh.

‘Hong Kong has many iconic locations that cater to tourists but we wanted to create something for residents of the area as well,’ says Black Sheep Restaurants co-founder Syed Asim Hussain. ‘We hope Rajasthan Rifles becomes the kind of place you come for a mid-week date-night dinner, or hike up to at the weekend with your friends and dogs for long brunches in the sun.’

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

Physically, metaphorically, socially, the Peak has always been the acme of Hong Kong. Rather than being part of a touristic top 10, it’s a glorious window into life at the top of the city.

Go Further on the Peak

Kids (and adults too) can design and create their own cuddly toy – even adding sound effects and scents – at the newly opened Build-A-Bear Workshop in the Peak Galleria.

Historian Martin Heyes, a former British Army officer, leads informative, in-depth tours around the Peak and into the adjacent Country Parks.

Wooderful Life, another new opening in the Peak Galleria, does what it says on the box, so to speak. The wooden gift maker offers music boxes and home décor items, as well as DIY services for guests to customise their products.

Before leaving the Peak, be sure to snap a photo with the green post box outside the Peak Lookout restaurant – it’s one of the 59 in Hong Kong that still bears the colonial-era royal cipher.

Credit: Derry Ainsworth
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book