建築

到三藩市重訪《迷魂記》拍攝場地

到三藩市遊覽Alfred Hitchcock經典傑作《迷魂記》中的場景,包括開頭警匪追逐戰的街景及金門大橋

三藩市景色迷人,難怪經常在電影中亮相,但在一眾影癡心中,無論如何精采,都比不上「緊張大師」Hitchcock於1958年推出的經典傑作《迷魂記》。

《迷魂記》講述一名患上畏高症的退休偵探John「Scottie」Ferguson(James Stewart飾)受朋友所託,調查其妻Madeline(Kim Novak飾)是否被邪靈附身。Scottie很快就迷戀上Madeline,引發一連串曲折離奇的劇情,故事在三藩市多個著名地標上演。

credit: Paramount Pictures/Archive Photos/Getty Images

雖然電影拍於60年前,但你仍然可在今日的三藩市內,重訪電影中經典場面的外景場地,同時了解這個城市的一些趣聞瑣事。

1. 諾布山

《迷魂記》開場第一幕,就是在諾布山一帶樓房的屋頂上發生一場驚險的警匪追逐戰。Madeline亦是這個豪宅區的居民,因此附近一帶亦在電影中多次出現。19世紀時,多位加州鐵路大亨在這一區興建豪宅,時至今日,區內部分豪華酒店仍然冠上這些大宅的名稱,Stanford Court酒店就是其中之一。位於California Street街的歌德式主教座堂Grace Cathedral外觀宏偉,在《迷魂記》中多次出現。這座教堂非常追得上潮流,不時展出藝術裝置,亦會舉行瑜伽班等活動。教堂內的彩色玻璃更是十分世俗化,細心留意的話,你可以在入口的右邊找到愛因斯坦的圖像。

2. Legion of Honor美術館

credit: Richard Barnes/FAMSF

《迷魂記》中最迷人的一幕,必定是 Scottie將汽車停泊在Legion of Honor美術館外,然後走進裡面,偷看Madeline入神地看著一幅神秘畫作。Legion of Honor美術館是一座華麗的法國新古典主義宮殿,由當時富裕的社交名媛Alma Spreckels於1924年捐贈予三藩市。現在這家美術館的展品以中世紀和文藝復興時期的作品為主。

3. Mission Dolores傳教會

credit: Archive Photos/Getty Images

這座外牆粉刷成白色的小巧建築是三藩市現存最古老的建築物,雖說標誌著西班牙傳教士在此「建立」城市的歷史,但其實是由美國原住民動手興建的。Mission Dolores傳教會於1700年代末落成,經歷1906年和1989年兩次大地震;後者更將海灣大橋震斷,但教堂依然屹立不倒。Mission Dolores傳教會的木構屋椽採用當年原住民常用的設計,髹上從植物提取的顏料塗層。在《迷魂記》內,Scottie就是在這顏色鮮明的屋椽下踱步,走進墓地,靜靜觀察Madeline掃墓。

4. Fort Point堡壘

《迷魂記》中最經典的一幕,就是Madeline從金門大橋下縱身躍入冰冷的舊金山灣裡。她跳海的那個位置是Fort Point堡壘,本來是海岸防禦工事,自1853年到二次世界大戰結束前,一直肩負防衛金門海峽的重任。Fort Point堡壘內設展覽,內容是堡壘及金門大橋的歷史。但這裡最大的賣點其實是迷人的景色,不妨漫步到一公里外的Warming Hut咖啡室,在碼頭外欣賞海灣美景。

5. Palace of Fine Arts藝術宮

Scottie的行為有點令人不安。他在《迷魂記》的前半部不斷跟蹤他迷戀的Madeline;後半段則因為Judy的容貌酷似Madeline(兩角均由Kim Novak飾演)而不斷要求與她約會。Scottie剛開始約會Judy時,二人在藝術宮散步。圓拱型的屋頂令人恍如置身羅馬,但其實藝術宮是三藩市於1915年舉辦世界博覽會而興建的展館,時值1906年大地震後十年,政府為了振興當地經濟,決定舉辦世博會。展館後來日久失修,在1964年拆卸,並以原建築倒模重建,故此現在的藝術宮已非戲中登場的那座。新的藝術宮看來與昔日毫無分別,同樣教人想起宏偉的古羅馬遺跡,還有一片氣氛寧靜的園林圍繞著旁邊的湖畔。

Architecture

Revisiting Scenes from Vertigo in San Francisco

We head to San Francisco to track down scenes from Alfred Hitchcock’s classic thriller Vertigo, including the opening police chase and the iconic moment under Golden Gate Bridge

A setting as good-looking as San Francisco has understandably starred in its fair share of movies. But film aficionados agree there’s one true classic: Vertigo, Alfred Hitchcock’s 1958 tour de force.

The story follows John ‘Scottie’ Ferguson (James Stewart), a retired detective with a fear of heights, as he carries out a strange assignment to spy on a friend’s wife, Madeline (Kim Novak), who it is feared may be possessed. Scottie quickly becomes obsessed with her, and as the twisty-turny tale unfolds, San Francisco landmarks play integral parts in the plot.

credit: Paramount Pictures/Archive Photos/Getty Images

Though filming wrapped 60 years ago, you can still revisit several key scenes from the movie – and pick up some titbits about the city along the way.

1. Nob Hill

Vertigo’s dramatic opening shows a police chase over Nob Hill rooftops. The swanky neighbourhood features heavily in the rest of the film, too, as it’s where Madeline lives. Nob Hill was where California’s 19th century railroad barons built their extravagant mansions; today, several posh hotels such as Stanford Court still bear their names. California Street, where you’ll find the grand gothic Grace Cathedral, is captured in a number of Vertigo shots. It’s a groovy institution, with rotating art installations, yoga sessions and some rather secular stained glass windows (spot Einstein on the right as you walk in).

2. Legion of Honor

credit: Richard Barnes/FAMSF

One of Vertigo’s most beautiful frames occurs as Scottie pulls up outside the Legion of Honor – a glorious French neoclassical palace gifted to San Francisco by wealthy socialite Alma Spreckels in 1924. It’s here that Scottie watches Madeline become entranced by a mysterious painting. Today, the museum shows off Medieval and Renaissance art.

3. Mission Dolores

credit: Archive Photos/Getty Images

The oldest building in San Francisco, this small, whitewashed adobe mission marks the ‘founding’ of the city by Spanish missionaries – although it was Native Americans who were tasked with constructing it. Completed in the late 1700s, it has stood the test of time, surviving both the great 1906 earthquake and the Bay Bridge-collapsing tremors of 1989. Bright painted wooden rafters are true to the vegetable-dyed, native designs of the time. In Vertigo, we see Scottie walk under these rafters and out into the cemetery, where he observes Madeline visiting a gravestone.

4. Fort Point

Fort Point, directly under the Golden Gate Bridge, is the site of Vertigo’s most iconic moment, when Madeline leaps into the freezing bay. The coastal defence dates back to 1853, and protected the Golden Gate Strait until the end of the Second World War. Inside are exhibitions about the history of the fort and the bridge. But the real treat is the view, which can also be enjoyed from the pier outside Warming Hut cafe, a kilometre before the fort.

5. Palace of Fine Arts

Scottie’s a bit of a creepy hero: he spends the first half of Vertigo stalking Madeline, and the second dating Judy because she looks like Madeline (both played by Kim Novak). On an early outing, Scottie and Judy stroll by the Palace of Fine Arts. The domed building might look more at home in Rome, but it’s a genuine city landmark built for the 1915 World’s Fair, which was meant to put the city back in business after the devastating earthquake a decade before. Today, it’s the only remaining vestige of the fair – but it isn’t the one you see in the film. The deteriorating site was demolished in 1964, and a sturdier version was built from a cast of the original. It looks the same, anyway: recalling a majestic Roman ruin, with a strip of serene parkland curving around a lagoon.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book