夜生活

位於世界各地的七間締造難忘夜晚的獨特酒吧

想小酌一杯,誰說一定要光顧隨處可見、平淡無奇的酒吧?快加入我們的行列,展開全球各地的奇趣酒吧巡禮

不論是在香港或是檀香山,風格低調隱密的酒吧在過去十年間已成為潮流新寵,但其新鮮感亦正逐漸消退。當然,留著八字鬍、言辭風趣的調酒師或許可以調出一杯杯完美的古典雞尾酒,但一間酒吧是否能夠予人與眾不同的新鮮感受,視乎它在型格之外是否具獨創性。

為了讓你重拾新鮮感,我們邀請你一同造訪散落於全球各地的奇趣酒吧。這些地方是你遊逛景點後的最佳歇腳地,而且身在異鄉的你在酒吧內應該不會遇到舊相識,正好可以靜靜地享受悠閒時光。在這些趣味十足的酒吧內,你可能會與游過身邊的鯊魚共飲一杯血腥瑪麗,或是大撒金錢在波波池內暢飲吹波糖雞尾酒。

Fragrances酒吧,柏林

靈感來自香水的雞尾酒

柏林麗思卡爾頓酒店的Fragrances酒吧號稱全球首家以香水為主題的雞尾酒吧,專門提供構思自著名品牌香水的雞尾酒。酒吧於2014年開幕至今,已推出以Giorgio Armani、Issey Miyake、Jo Malone等各大品牌的香水為靈感的招牌雞尾酒。這裡並未提供酒單,顧客必需從酒吧的「香水名人堂」選一款香水。然後,調酒師會挑選合適的材料、以純熟的手法調製出一杯杯值得細味的雞尾酒。Fragrances酒吧的首席香水雞尾酒調酒師Arnd Heissen表示,洋溢印度風的Penhaligon’s Vaara香水雞尾酒最受歡迎。這款以帶有煙燻味的波本威士忌、深色冧酒、番紅花、啤梨蓉及玫瑰水調製的雞尾酒賣相吸引,調酒師會在奉上雞尾酒時同時送上一個迷你鳥屋模型,其煙囪還會飄出帶有檀香木氣息的輕煙。

Fragrances酒吧,德國柏林Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785+49 303 3777 5403

Ballie Ballerson酒吧,倫敦

大孩子的遊樂場和雞尾酒

你是否偶爾會有想跳到波波池裡面、假裝自己才五歲的衝動?如果答案是肯定的,那你絕對不能錯過Ballie Ballerson酒吧。這間酒吧位於倫敦的潮流熱點Shoreditch區,基本上是專為大朋友而設的遊樂場,這裡除了有創意十足的雞尾酒,還有即使是大人也會樂在其中的波波池。如果你想跳進上百萬個(這是官方說法)膠波裡,並在霓虹燈光的映照下「暢泳」,這裡是絕佳去處。如果你想重溫童年回憶,這間獨特的酒吧還供應吹波糖、彩虹糖、雪葩等口味的雞尾酒,讓你重拾孩提時最愛的滋味;周末於早午餐時段,酒吧還放題供應意式薄餅及飲品,讓你在忙碌一整個星期後,可以像個孩子一樣無憂無慮地開懷吃喝。

Ballie Ballerson酒吧,英國倫敦97-113 Curtain Road, Hackney+44 0203 950 2424

Subsix酒吧,馬爾代夫

極盡奢華的海底世界

Subsix位於印度洋上六米深的海底,於2015年開幕之初,這裡原本是亞瑪島度假酒店內的酒吧兼夜店。雖然酒店後來將之改建為餐廳後重新開幕,但這間風格獨具的餐廳繼續為賓客供應精緻雞尾酒、當地精釀的清涼啤酒,以及香檳早餐。乘坐快艇前來的賓客沿著樓梯往下層走,即可深入水底欣賞美麗的珊瑚礁。成群的鸚鵡魚、鐮魚及石斑魚圍著餐廳及貝殼形狀的吧檯游來游去,偶爾還可見海鰻、玳瑁龜或礁鲨的蹤影。餐廳的座椅宛如伸出柔軟觸手的海葵,讓食客們舒緩放鬆,令這個獨特的用餐體驗更顯貼心舒適。

Subsix餐廳,馬爾代夫Huluwalu+960 676 2828

Palacio de Sal酒店的酒吧,玻利維亞

鹽沼、觀星及日落雞尾酒

如果你喝龍舌蘭時喜歡加鹽,Palacio de Sa酒店應該很適合你。事實上,酒店的名字翻譯成中文是「鹽之宮殿」,整座建築物均以鹽磚這種獨特的材料建成,甚至連牆身、天花、家具,以至大廳及客房內的雕塑作品均以鹽製成。酒店濱臨全球最大的鹽沼Salar de Uyuni,鄰近玻利維亞小鎮Colchani,除了設有全球第一間「鹽酒吧」,還有一間備受歡迎的餐廳、水療中心及高爾夫球場。這間位於海拔約3,600米之上的酒吧居高臨下,坐擁令人難忘的日落景致及壯麗山景,再加上酒店位置偏避遠離光害,更是觀星的絕佳所在。

Palacio de Sal酒店,波利維亞:Colchani, Orillas Salar de Uyuni+591 2626 5186

Icebar酒吧,斯德哥爾摩

冰雪寶貝

加了冰的伏特加風味絕佳,而暢飲伏特加的終極據點,應該是位於瑞典首都斯德哥爾摩的Icebar酒吧。雖說全球各大城市(墨爾本、倫敦、巴塞羅那等城市)均可見長駐或快閃冰造酒吧的蹤影,但斯德哥爾摩的Icebar才是當中鼻祖。這間長駐酒吧以來自瑞典北部Torne河、重達40 噸的冰塊建成,顧客們身穿令人聯想起ABBA樂團的銀色保暖長袍入場,開懷暢飲Absolut 伏特加。萬一酒吧內部的溫度太高將「家具」融化了,技巧純熟的瑞典冰雕工匠團隊會定期打造全新家具補上。酒吧的入場費為199克朗(160港元),費用包括一杯以冰磚杯送上的飲品。

Icebar酒吧,瑞典斯德哥爾摩Vasaplan 4, 111 20+46 08 5056 3140

Dow Jones酒吧,巴塞羅那

舉杯慶祝資本主義及「股市大崩盤」

對於財經有興趣的人,巴塞羅那的Dow Jones酒吧 是今生必到之處。這間酒吧的營運方式與紐約證券交易所有異曲同工之妙,飲品的價格會隨著需求的不同而波動,不論是金錢至上的資本主義者,或是錙銖必較的旅人都會被它吸引。例如,假若你是全場唯一點mojitos雞尾酒的酒客,即可以極優惠的價格享用這杯酒。另外,酒吧內的股市每30分鐘會「大崩盤」一次,飲品的價格會便宜到令人想飲多幾杯。換句話說,這間酒吧的「歡樂時光」會定時登場,想開懷暢飲就要好好掌握時機。

Dow Jones酒吧,西班牙巴羅那Carrer del Bruc, 97+34 934 76 38 31

Ozone酒吧,香港

於全球最高酒吧之巔飲勝

香港作為摩天大樓之都,全球最高的酒吧Ozone在此「誕生」再自然不過。酒吧高居九龍的最佳地段,讓來客將這座城市最璀璨迷人的天際線盡收眼底。對於喜歡刺激的人來說,這裡是夜生活的好去處,而搭乘電梯快速直上位於118樓的香港麗思卡爾頓酒店,本身已是一種令人目眩的體驗。酒吧的室內設計出自東京著名設計師片山正通的手筆,他結合幾何圖案、色彩及燈光等元素,打造出宛若華麗宮殿的室內空間,讓置身維港之上490米高空的賓客,從絕佳的角度飽覽每晚登場的燈光秀。Ozone酒吧擁有難以匹敵的一系列珍貴酒藏,包括陳年威士忌、干邑及葡萄酒,其招牌雞尾酒HK Skyline便選用陳年23年的Zacapa冧酒、苦艾酒、烏龍糖漿、薰衣草香霧及香檳泡沫精心調配而成。

香港麗思卡爾頓酒店Ozone酒吧,香港尖沙咀柯士甸道1號環球貿易廣場118樓;+852 2263 2270

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nightlife

7 Unique Bars Around the Globe for a Memorable Night Out

Why bother with ho-hum bars? You can find those at home. Join us, instead, on a crawl of some of the world’s quirkiest watering holes

From Hong Kong to Honolulu, speakeasy-style bars have so become popular and prevalent in the past decade that they verge on cliché. Sure, it can be fun to chew the fat with another hip, moustachioed bartender who crafts a perfect Old Fashioned, but it’s all the more refreshing when a bar is original as well as cool.

To this end, you’re invited to step into some of the most delightfully idiosyncratic bars around the globe. They offer the chance take a break from sightseeing and indulge at an offbeat place where nobody knows your name. At these unique bars, you just might end up sharing a Bloody Mary with a passing shark or splashing cash on a bubble-gum cocktail in a pool of plastic balls.

Fragrances, Berlin

Scent-inspired signature cocktails

Touted as the world’s first scent-inspired cocktail bar, Fragrances in The Ritz-Carlton Berlin serves cocktails inspired by luxury-label perfumes. Since its opening in 2014, Fragrances has recreated perfumes by Giorgio Armani, Issey Miyake, Jo Malone and other big-name fashion houses as signature cocktails. There is no menu, with each guest invited to select a fragrance from the bar’s walk-through ‘Hall of Fame’. Appropriate ingredients are then masterfully mixed to create a worthy cocktail. According to Fragrance’s head mixologist Arnd Heissen, Indian-inspired Vaara by Penhaligons is a favourite. This cocktail of smoky bourbon, dark rum, saffron, pear purée and rosewater is served up in a tiny birdhouse with sandalwood smoke emerging from its chimney.

Fragrances, Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany; +49 303 3777 5403

Ballie Ballerson, London

Big kids’ playground with baller cocktails

Ever wanted to jump into a children’s playground and pretend you are five years old again? Ballie Ballerson, then, is for you. Essentially, this bar for big kids in London’s happening Shoreditch district combines creative drinks with the kind of ball-pit fun you never truly grow out of. It’s a great place to sink a few and ‘swim’ in a million (or so they say) plastic balls, all illuminated by neon lights. You can maximise your trip down memory lane at this unique bar by ordering cocktails themed around childhood favourites like bubble gum, Skittles and sherbet, and pig out on unlimited pizza during the bottomless brunch sessions at weekends. Childish? Certainly. But perhaps also needed after a week of the 9-to-5.

Ballie Ballerson, 97-113 Curtain Road, Hackney, London, UK; +44 0203 950 2424

Subsix, Maldives

Over-the-top luxury under the sea

Located six metres underwater in the Indian Ocean, Subsix originally opened in 2015 as a bar and nightclub at Niyama Private Islands. Though it has since reopened as a restaurant, it remains a unique Maldivian watering hole for an elaborate cocktail, a refreshing local beer or a champagne breakfast. Guests arrive via speedboat before descending a staircase to reach this submarine lair that looks out onto a coral reef. Shoals of parrotfish, Moorish idols and groupers regularly circle the restaurant and clam-shaped bar, with the occasional moray eel, hawksbill turtle or reef shark also cruising by. Tension-soothing massage chairs with anemone-like fingers complete the otherworldly experience.

Subsix, Huluwalu, Maldives; +960 676 2828

Hotel Palacio de Sal Bar, Bolivia

Salt flats, stargazing and sunset cocktails

If you take salt with your tequila, the bar of the Palacio de Sal hotel is for you. The entire property, in fact – its name literally meaning ‘palace of salt’ – is made from the unusual building material, and that extends from walls and ceilings to furniture and sculpted artworks in the lobby and guestrooms. Located on the edge of Salar de Uyuni – the world’s largest salt flat – close to the Bolivian town of Colchani, the Palacio de Sal hotel has the first ‘salt bar’ in the world, as well as a popular restaurant, spa and golf course. Perched some 3,600 metres above sea level, the bar offers memorable sunsets and – thanks to the hotel’s remote location and the lack of ambient light from cities – excellent stargazing, with a dramatic backdrop of mountain ranges in the middle of nowhere.

Palacio de Sal, Orillas Salar de Uyuni, Colchani, Bolivia; +591 2626 5186

Icebar, Stockholm

Ice, ice, baby

Vodka is best served chilled, so perhaps Icebar, in the Swedish capital of Stockholm, is the ultimate destination for rounds of bracing shots. Bars made entirely of ice have been replicated as permanent fixtures or pop-ups in cities across the world (Melbourne, London, Barcelona, to name just a few), but this was the original. The permanent bar here was constructed from up of 40 tonnes of ice taken from the Torne river in northern Sweden, guests are supplied with ABBA-inspired metallic silver robes to ward off frostbite, and the Absolut flows freely. A team of skilled Swedish ice sculptors regularly creates new ‘furniture’ to spruce up the interior should things ever hot up too much. The cover charge of 199SEK (HK$160) includes one free drink served in an ice-block.

Icebar, Vasaplan 4, 111 20 Stockholm, Sweden; +46 08 5056 3140

Dow Jones Bar, Barcelona

Cheers to capitalism and market ‘crashes’

A visit to Barcelona’s Dow Jones Bar is a must for anyone who enjoys watching the pennies or chasing the dollar. Ideal for the shameless capitalist, perhaps, and even for frugal types mindful of their holiday budget, Dow Jones Bar operates like the New York Stock Exchange, with drinks prices fluctuating according to demand. So, if you’re the only drinker in the place plumping for mojitos, you’re likely to enjoy a bargain. And the best news is that the market ‘crashes’ every 30 minutes, sending prices plummeting. It’s effectively a rotating, regular happy hour – just get your timing right.

Dow Jones Bar, Carrer del Bruc, 97, Barcelona, Spain; +34 934 76 38 31

Ozone, Hong Kong

Drinking on the edge of the world’s highest bar

As a city of skyscrapers, Hong Kong is naturally home to the world’s highest skybar, Ozone, which looks out from its prime Kowloon perch to the glittering city skyline. It’s a preferred nightlife haunt of adventurers choosing to live on the edge, and the dizzying experience begins in lifts that speed to the 118th floor of The Ritz-Carlton Hong Kong hotel. Upon arrival, guests are greeted by Tokyo-based designer Masamichi Katayama’s glossy palace of geometry, colour and light, some 490 metres above Victoria Harbour – making it a prime vantage point of the nightly light show. Ozone stocks an unrivalled selection of well-aged whiskies, cognacs and wines. The signature cocktail is the HK Skyline, made from 23-year-old Zacapa rum, absinthe, oolong tea syrup, lavender smoke and champagne foam.

Ozone, The Ritz-Carlton Hong Kong, Level 118, International Commerce Centre, 1 Austin Road West, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong; +852 2263 2270

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book