旅遊大獎

最難忘的香港體驗

由旅遊經驗豐富的國泰航空馬可孛羅會會員投票選舉的「會員優選大獎」2018經已揭曉,以下是最佳旅遊「我們的城市:香港」類別的最難忘的體驗首選及入圍名單

最難忘的香港體驗

首選: 天星小輪

入圍這個獎項的體驗包括風景優美的遠足徑,以及夜訪跑馬地馬場等多項選擇,但馬可孛羅會會員最難忘的香港體驗是於晚上乘坐天星小輪。這趟渡海之旅雖因填海及現代化工程而縮短至只有七分鐘,卻可飽覽香港獨特迷人的天際線,是香江之旅最有代表性、最經典的體驗。

最難忘的香港體驗入圍名單

跑馬地馬場

每逢星期三夜晚,香港最著名的馬場在強力聚光燈的照耀下,燦爛如白晝。一眾馬迷在場內互相交流,沉浸在賽馬緊張刺激的氣氛之中。馬場內亦同時設有啤酒園、美食攤位及現場的音樂表演,即使不是馬迷,亦能樂在其中。

遠足

香港高樓大廈林之的城市天際線聞名遐邇,卻不免令人忽略了香港還有大量 的郊野公園和遠足徑,包括景色迷人的獅子山和麥理浩徑。不過,經常遠足的人就會知道香港郊野擁有令人歎為觀止的自然景觀,包括位置偏僻的瀑布、壯觀的色、珍貴罕有的動、植物群及地質景觀。

遊艇之旅

嚴格來說,香港的傳統木船已經被更現代化的船隻取代,但舊式的中國漁船至今仍在海面行駛,尤其是前往離島偏遠的海灣遊船河時,通常都是使用這種交通工具。在炎熱而潮濕的夏日,一杯凍飲在手,乘遊艇在維港漫遊,或者到更遠處的南中國海享受海風的清涼,實在是當心樂事。黃昏時分,在落日餘暉中返回維港,同樣是一種非常奇妙的體驗。

大澳漁村

古色古香和歷史傳承在香港屬於稀有難得的事物,但位於大嶼山的水上村莊大澳,則依然保留了昔日一度成行的生活方式。這裡還有一間以古樸雅緻的前殖民地警察局改建的精品酒店),讓人體驗昔日香港中西兼備的面貌。

山頂環迴步行徑

這條平坦的步行徑長約3.5公里,環繞香港最著名的山頂一圈,遊人可以欣賞到香港不同部分的風景。走完一圈需時約30分鐘,新來乍到的人可藉此加深對周圍環境的認識。你可以隨時結束行程下山,或到山頂其中一個間餐廳品嚐美食,然後才離去。

乘半島酒店直升機暢遊維多利亞海港

若以時間成本的角度來看,這個15分鐘的刺激體驗可說十分昂貴。但如果我們都認為回憶是無價的,那麼這個千載難逢的體驗,的確值得在有生之年最少試一次。

Travel Awards

THE UNFORGETTABLE HONG KONG EXPERIENCE

We reveal the winner and shortlist for the unforgettable Hong Kong experience, as chosen in the 2018 Marco Polo Club Members' Choice Awards by Cathay Pacific's most frequent flyers.

The Unforgettable Hong Kong Experience

Winner: Star Ferry

Star Ferry, Marco Polo Club Members Choice Award, Hong Kong, The unforgettable hong kong experience

From a long list of options that included Hong Kong’s picturesque hiking trails to a night at Happy Valley racecourse, the number one Hong Kong experience as voted by Marco Polo Club members is also perhaps its most iconic: a ride on the Star Ferry at night. The cross-harbour journey (reduced to just seven minutes thanks to land reclamation and modernisation) offers the perfect chance to soak in Hong Kong’s mesmerising skyline.

The Unforgettable Hong Kong Experience Shortlist

Happy Valley racecourse

On Wednesdays, powerful spotlights turn night into day at Hong Kong’s most famous horse-racing venue. Keen racing enthusiasts mingle alongside punters out to soak in the the thrill of the race, complemented with beer tents, food stalls and live music performances.

Hiking

Hong Kong’s famous urban skyline continues to overshadow its wealth of country parks and hiking trails (including the excellent Lion Rock and MacLehose trails), but for those in the know, the territory’s stunning natural landscape reveals secret waterfalls, breathtaking views, exotic flora and fauna and geological phenomena.

Junk trip

Strictly speaking, traditional Hong Kong ‘junks’ have been replaced by more modern vessels, but the term for old Chinese fishing boats remains in use, particularly when referring to boat trips out to a far flung bay. It’s the perfect way to spend a hot, sticky summer’s day, drink in hand, showing off your derring-do with the occasional backflip into the South China Sea. The journey back into Victoria Harbour at dusk is also a truly magical feeling.

Tai O Fishing Village

Quaint and heritage are two things you can’t often associate with Hong Kong, but this tiny stilted village on Lantau Island (which includes heritage hotel in a fabulously former colonial police station) shows off the a way of life that used to be far more prevalent across the region.

The Peak Circle Walk

This flat 3.5 kilometre trail circles 360-degrees around Hong Kong’s most famous peak, offering amazing views over all parts of the island. Taking around 30 minutes to complete, it’s ideal for new arrivals to get their bearings, and can be finished off with one of the attractions or restaurants waiting at The Peak.

The Peninsula helicopter ride around the harbour

In terms of cost-per-time entertainment, this 15-minute thrill-seeking experience will be at the top end of most budgets. But if we agree memories are priceless, then this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity is likely to feature on a few bucket lists.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book