自然和户外

2020年尋訪旅遊熱點以外的選擇

世界各地有數之不盡的絕美景點,何必擠在熱門的觀光地區跟大批遊客摩肩擦踵?來到2020年,不妨選擇以下這些較少被提起的地點度假

許多旅遊愛好者汲汲於發掘少有遊客造訪的處女地,快人一步享有非同凡響的旅遊體驗,還能在親友之間引來豔羨目光。在可持續發展旅遊的趨勢下,避開一些過度旅遊的觀光城市,令你成為更好的旅客

以下這些地方未必都是毫無知名度的隱世景點,卻肯定不是一年四季都擠滿遊客的熱門觀光地區。這些景點當中,有些在2020年邁入新的里程碑,或是舉行周年紀念、慶祝活動,亦可能有一些值得關注的嶄新設施開幕。 從中亞到西歐,這些地點將是你的2020年旅遊首選。

亞洲

比什凱克,吉爾吉斯

Credit: Pixelchrome Inc/Getty Images

吉爾吉斯位於中國、哈薩克、烏茲別克和塔吉克之間,對地理不熟悉的人可能對這個國家一無所知,卻吸引了許多遊客為其天然的戶外美景而來。這個內陸國家地形崎嶇,幾乎包含了所有地貌,從高山湖泊伊塞克湖,到冰川覆蓋的山脈,以及恍如亞利桑那州的沙漠峽谷。首都比什凱克亦值得消磨時間,你可以在這裡充分領略這個國家及人民的特色:參觀美術館、獨立經營的私人藝廊、國家歌劇院和芭蕾舞劇院,或是到匯聚各種攤檔,有如迷宮般的當地市集Osh Bazaar逛逛。城內有20多座公園,提供享受夏日溫暖陽光的綠色空間。如果有興趣探索絲路,可以順便前往幾個鄰近的中亞國家,金鷹號列車或專辦個人旅遊行程的G Adventures均可助你達成心願。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往杜拜的航班,你可經杜拜轉飛往比什凱克

北海道,日本

如果你對雪景情有獨鍾,不用說,北海道肯定是你冬季旅遊的選擇之一。這個日本北國全年各具不同魅力,例如夏日淡季的新雪谷,依然吸引爬山單車手或登山客,前往綠意盎然的山坡享受戶外活動。迷人的札幌擁有令人食指大動的美食,尤其二条市場的各式丼物,上面鋪滿新鮮魚生,帶給你畢生難忘的味蕾享受。將於2020年4月開幕的民族共生象徵空間,結合國立愛努民族博物館及國立民族共生公園兩大設施,園區坐落在北海道白老町,距離札幌千歲機場約40分鐘車程。這個空間向愛努族致敬,呈現上千年前已在北海道生活的原居民文化,包括他們的語言、音樂、飲食和傳統等。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往北海道的航班

寧平,越南

Credit: Eila Lifflander / Unsplash

下龍灣坐擁數千座叢林密佈的島嶼,成為越南最受歡迎的景點之一。但你可曾考慮過前往寧平一遊?這個位於下龍灣西南方的內陸景點同樣景致如畫,卻不受過度旅遊的問題困擾。鄉郊地區矗立了巨大的石灰岩,四周環繞著河流、洞穴和茂密叢林。有如明信片般的優美風景吸引遊客前往探索,尤其是三古和長安生態旅遊區,這裡有稻田及涼亭點綴其間,生活悠閒而緩慢。寧平離河內不到100公里,兩地之間有便利的公路交通,亦可乘坐貫穿南北的Reunification Express列車,安坐車廂、慢慢觀察這個國家的發展。

立即出發:國泰港龍航空設有飛往河內的航班,你可經此市前往寧平

錫亞高島,菲律賓

Credit: Nathan Allen / Alamy Stock Photo

這些美麗島嶼位於馬尼拉以南,相距約90分鐘飛行航程,長期以來一直是秘而不宣的衝浪天堂。擁有悠閒氣氛、夕陽美景和適合衝浪的湧浪,使錫亞高島的名聲不脛而走。不想衝浪時,你可以乘坐當地人稱為bangka的竹船,穿梭各個島嶼,欣賞潟湖和紅樹林的田園風光,然後回到本島享用海鮮燒烤和冰鎮啤酒。夜間還有DJ、現場音樂等各種表演,帶給你豐富精采的娛樂享受。本地藝術人才濟濟,刺青藝術家、雕刻家及畫家等營造出蓬勃的藝術氣息。錫亞高島十分重視可持續發展:本地非政府組織Sea Movement定期安排淨灘活動,確保遊客帶走自己的垃圾。想找一處具有環保理念的下榻之所,亦有Harana Surf Resort度假村或Soul Tribe Beach Retreat海灘度假屋可供選擇。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往馬尼拉的航班,你可經馬尼拉轉飛往錫亞高島;國泰港龍航空則設有飛往達沃的航班,你也可經達沃轉飛往錫亞高島

廈門,中國

Credit: Tu Chong

福建省廈門市離香港僅一小時飛行航程,是一座擁有350萬人口、藝術氣氛濃厚的城市,尤其是位於翔安區新店鎮的澳頭。多元並濟的藝術場所及活動,如2018年成立的廈門北歐當代藝術中心和超曠美術館,足以令一些更大型的城市眼紅。北歐當代藝術中心展示數十位北歐藝術家的作品;時尚而現代的超曠美術館,則成功將本地藝術家推向國際,例如以大型雕塑作品聞名的雕術藝術家陳文令。除此之外,還有繼德國埃森及新加坡之後成立的全球第三座紅點設計博物館,附設全球首座紅點設計學院,由此可見,這個福建的藝術樞紐未來前景將會更加亮麗。

立即出發:國泰港龍航空設有飛往廈門的航班

歐洲

波恩,德國

Credit: Beethoven-Haus Bonn

兩德統一之後,西德於1991年將國會遷往柏林,自此波恩便退下政治舞台。這個前西德首都在2020年慶祝該城最著名的兒子——樂聖貝多芬冥誕。欣逢貝多芬誕辰250周年紀念,波恩將於全年舉行各種表演及音樂會,向這位「250歲的流行巨星」致敬,包括由德籍奧地利裔演員Christoph Waltz主演貝多芬唯一的歌劇作品《費德里奧》;開創電子音樂潮流的音樂團體Kraftwerk舉行紀念貝多芬的露天音樂會;以貝多芬故居改建的博物館Beethoven-Haus亦已全面翻修,再度開放給公眾參觀。貝多芬曾創作過許多膾炙人口的曠世傑作及經典曲目,如《歡樂頌》和《給愛麗絲》等,他在中年罹患耳疾,過世前仍堅持創作了20多年。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往法蘭克福的航班,你可在法蘭克福乘搭火車前往波恩

高威,愛爾蘭

Credit: incamerastock / Alamy Stock Photo

愛爾蘭西部沿岸地形崎嶇、寧靜優美,獲歐盟選為2020年歐洲文化之都的高威正坐落於此。在12個月期間上演總數多達1,900個表演、活動和合作夥伴等節目,包括世界一流的煙花匯演、音樂會及文學節等,令人目不暇給。不論是電視劇《使女》原著作者Margaret Atwood於國際婦女節發表的演講,或是安放在4,000年歷史泥炭沼的裝置藝術作品,你都可以找到自己喜愛的活動。高威是繼都柏林及科克之後,第三個獲此殊榮的愛爾蘭城市,遊客可以在這裡體驗令愛爾蘭成為魅力景點的歡樂氣息,在此度過美好時光。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往倫敦的航班,你可經倫敦轉飛往高威

莫斯塔爾,波斯尼亞和黑塞哥維那

Credit: Getty Images

這座充滿迷人氣息的15世紀小城與首都薩拉熱窩相距約130公里,曾在1990年代時飽受波斯尼亞戰爭摧殘。1993年,矗立於內雷特瓦河上方427年的鄂圖曼帝國建築瑰寶Stari Most古橋,於戰火中被摧毀,幸而戰後的重建計劃使橋樑恢復舊貌,2020年標誌了小鎮平安度過四分之一個世紀。早從橋落成時起,城中已有跳水的傳統活動,現在更是每年8月舉行的Red Bull懸崖跳水世界巡迴賽的場地之一。儘管莫斯塔爾對來自世界各地的遊客都有莫大的吸引力,其中穆斯林遊客的人數增長尤其迅速,但波斯尼亞和黑塞哥維那的遊客最近剛突破百萬人次,所以仍有許多地點未見遊客芳蹤,如果你熱愛薩拉熱窩的咖啡文化、多元歷史傳承和純然美景,不妨登上特雷貝維科山的山巔,細味欣賞。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往法蘭克福及蘇黎世的航班,你可經任何一地轉飛往莫斯塔爾

里米尼,意大利

Credit: AGF Srl / Alamy Stock Photo

位於艾米利亞-羅馬涅大區亞得里亞海沿岸的濱海度假小鎮里米尼,今年慶祝於當地出生的著名電影導演Federico Fellini誕辰100周年。為迎接今年盛事,新古典主義風格的Fulgor Cinema戲院及Teatro Amintore Galli歌劇院已完成全面翻新,重現昔日絢麗的視覺效果,並於2018年重新開幕。城中各界籌備了數十項活動,包括即日起至2020年3月於Castel Sismondo古堡舉行的Fellini特展,以及跟著《八部半》及《露滴牡丹開》等電影的拍攝地點,追尋這位名導演的人生歷程。你可以在里米尼的墓地,向Fellini和他的妻子Giulietta Masina致敬。遊人罕至的艾米利亞-羅馬涅大區尚有其他值得探索的地方;往西北方向行駛兩個小時前往摩德納,經過以陶瓷聞名的法恩扎和博洛尼亞之後,就可以找到名廚Massimo Bottura 開設的旅館

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往羅馬及米蘭的航班,你可在其中一地轉乘火車,數小時內即達里米尼

其他地區

波特蘭,美國緬因州

Credit: Courtesy VisitPortland.com/Corey Templeton

位於美國新英格蘭區的緬因州雖是區內最大的州份,但論及知名度和遊客人數卻較其他州略遜一籌。然而,緬因州於2020年慶祝建州兩百周年紀念,定能令大家對這個州有更多認識。前往緬因州最大城市波特蘭旅遊,見證這座經濟繁榮但氣氛悠閒,同時擁有眾多烹飪人才的城市。美國美食雜誌《Bon Appetit》於2018年將波特蘭評為「年度最佳餐廳城市」,曾居住香港,目前在波特蘭開設The Shop by Island Creek OystersDrifters WifeLittle Giant等餐廳的Ian和Kate Malin夫婦可說功不可沒。從咖啡烘焙和精釀啤酒,到麵包店和餐廳,所有餐飲業者均充分利用當地農產品。為慶祝這個偉大的生日,州內各地紛紛舉辦節日慶典和展覽,包括講述原居民瓦巴納基土著13,000年悠久歷史的展覽,以及由波特蘭交響樂團帶來的兩百周年紀念活動及其他音樂會。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往波士頓的航班,你可從此地轉乘火車或汽車,數小時內即達波特蘭

第比利斯,格魯吉亞

Credit: Radmila Miheeva / Unsplash; Getty Images

格魯吉亞位於歐亞交界的外高加索地區,以景色壯麗、天然釀製的葡萄酒和熱情好客的民風,贏得喜愛新奇事物的遊客青睞。首都第比利斯坐擁眾多古老教堂、堡壘、博物館及蜿蜒曲折的巷道,充滿了迷人的氣息。城中的建築物風格各異其趣,包含新藝術運動風格、新古典主義、史達林建築風格及當代藝術(例如以鋼鐵和玻璃建造、造型如波浪起伏的和平橋)。格魯吉亞是舊絲路沿線國家,文化反映出亞洲、波斯、阿拉伯和歐洲等地的影響。餐飲方面,當地有一種類似地中海地區常見的套餐,稱為supra,將多款菜式一起端上桌,其中以船形麵包khachapuri最特別,中間放入融化的芝士和一顆蛋,味道香濃,令人欲罷不能。

立即出發:國泰航空設有飛往杜拜的航班,你可經杜拜轉飛往第比利斯

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空飛往超過200個目的地

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Under-the-Radar Places to Travel in 2020

Want to avoid overtourism in popular areas? Here are some recommendations for taking the route less travelled in 2020

The holy grail for avid travellers is a place that’s largely untouched. After all, getting somewhere ahead of the crowds often confers a more meaningful travel experience – not to mention the bragging rights. It’s also a way to be a more responsible traveller, by avoiding major cities that are increasingly struggling with overtourism.

While it’d be a stretch to say that all the following places are off the radar, they are compelling alternatives to the perennial favourites. And 2020 provides many of them with a special draw, be it milestone anniversaries, events or notable openings. From Central Asia to Western Europe, these destinations will spark your wanderlust in 2020.

ASIA

Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

Credit: Pixelchrome Inc/Getty Images

One of the toughest asks in a geography spelling test, Kyrgyzstan offers real rewards for travellers who make it to this landlocked country between China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan. Many come to embrace the outdoors: unspoilt and rugged landscapes seemingly cover every type of terrain, from alpine lakes like Chatyr-Kul to glacier-capped mountains to desert canyons straight out of Arizona. But it’s also gratifying to spend time in the capital, Bishkek, where you can get a better feel for the nation and its people. The cultural scene includes the Museum of Fine Arts, indie galleries and the national opera and ballet theatre, while the Osh Bazaar is a fragrant labyrinth of stalls. Twenty parks provide ample green space for soaking up the warmth of summer. As you research the Silk Road region, you may be tempted to add on a few more ‘stans, in which case Golden Eagle Luxury Trains or G Adventures can oblige.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Dubai, which has connecting flights to Bishkek

Hokkaido, Japan

If you’re a fan of powdery snow, then Hokkaido likely needs no introduction, at least not in winter. The northern Japanese island has much to offer year-round; for instance, Niseko in the summer off-season now attracts bikers and hikers to its mountains. Sapporo is a charming and compact city with a brilliant food scene, especially at Nijo Market where donburi rice bowls heaped with local seafood make for one of life’s truly great culinary experiences. Upopoy, also known as the National Ainu Museum and Park, is slated to open in April 2020 in the seaside district of Shiraoi, a 40 minute drive from Sapporo’s Chitose airport. It sheds light on the cultural heritage of the indigenous Ainu people who have called Hokkaido home for millennia and proudly retain their own language, music, food and traditions.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Sapporo

Ninh Binh, Vietnam

Credit: Eila Lifflander / Unsplash

Ha Long Bay is rightly one of Vietnam’s most popular draws thanks to the thousands of jungly islands poking out of its waters. But have you considered Ninh Binh? This equally picturesque inland option hasn’t suffered from the overtourism issues of its better-known neighbour to the northeast. Striking limestone monoliths rise up from the countryside with rivers, caves and dense jungle surrounding them. The super-photogenic landscape inspires adventure, especially at spots including Tam Coc and Trang An, with their rice paddies, pagodas and gentle way of life. Ninh Binh is within 100 kilometres from Hanoi and can easily be reached by road or the country’s famed – if admittedly slow – Reunification Express train that lets you sit back and watch the country unfold.

How to Get There: Cathay Dragon flies to Hanoi, from where you can travel overland to Ninh Binh

Siargao, Philippines

Credit: Nathan Allen / Alamy Stock Photo

These beautiful islands 90 minutes’ flight south of Manila have long been popular with in-the-know surfers. Lately, word is spreading about Siargao’s laid-back vibe, picture-perfect sunsets and big breaks. When not surfing, you can island hop on a bangka (a local bamboo boat), through idyllic lagoons and mangroves before kicking back over grilled seafood and cold beers. Take things up a notch in the evening with DJs, live music and other performances. The thriving local art scene features tattoo artists, sculptors, painters and more. Refreshingly, sustainability is taken seriously on Siargao: local NGO Sea Movement arranges regular coastal clean-ups so that visitors can ensure that they leave no trace of their own. Harana Surf Resort and Soul Tribe Beach Retreat are two notably eco-conscious places to stay.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Manila, which has connecting flights to Siargao; and Cebu, from which you can get an overnight boat to Siargao; while Cathay Dragon flies to Davao, which has connecting flights to Siargao

Xiamen, China

Credit: Tu Chong

In Fujian province, barely an hour’s flight from Hong Kong, Xiamen is a city of 3.5 million with art everywhere – and nowhere more so than in the fishing village of Aotou in the Xiang’an district. The array of art venues and programmes could make a bigger city jealous, especially with the 2018 additions of the Nordic Contemporary Art Centre and Chaokuang Art Museum. Works by dozens of Scandinavian artists abound in the former, while the sleek and modern Chaokuang champions local artists turned global stars such as Chen Wenling, famed for his oversize sculptures. When you add to the mix Red Dot Xiamen, a museum with its own design school that’s also in Essen, Germany, and Singapore, then it’s clear that this Fujianese powerhouse’s reputation as an art hub is only set to grow.

How to Get There: Cathay Dragon flies to Xiamen

EUROPE

Bonn, Germany

Credit: Beethoven-Haus Bonn

Germany’s former capital – the country moved its parliament from Bonn to Berlin in 1991 – celebrates its most famous son in 2020. The city is going all out to commemorate the 250th anniversary of the birth of Beethoven, who composed masterpieces such as Ode to Joy and Für Elise. Dozens of homages to the man called ‘a 250-year-old pop star’ include those from German-Austrian actor Christoph Waltz who will stage Beethoven’s classic opera Fidelio, and electronic music pioneers Kraftwerk who will give an open-air concert in his honour. After extensive renovations, his home is reopening to the public as a museum, Beethoven-Haus. The composer, who went more than 20 years before he died, will also be celebrated in numerous other performances and concerts through the year.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Frankfurt, which has trains to Bonn

Galway, Ireland

Credit: incamerastock / Alamy Stock Photo

The rugged and beautiful west coast of Ireland is where you’ll find the county and city of Galway, the 2020 European Capital of Culture. Twelve months of performances, projects and partnerships will result in a remarkable 1,900 events for visitors to choose from. Whether it’s world-class pyrotechnics, concerts, literary festivals – including a talk by The Handmaid’s Tale author Margaret Atwood for International Women’s Day – or artistic installations in a 4,000-year-old peat bog, there’s clearly something for everyone. Galway is the third Irish city to hold the honour, following Dublin and Cork, and visitors can also expect much of the craic (or good times) that make Ireland such a beguiling destination.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to London, which has connecting flights to Galway

Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Credit: Getty Images

This picturesque 15th-century town about 130 kilometres from the capital, Sarajevo, tragically became synonymous with the destruction of the Bosnian War of the early 1990s. In 1993, Mostar’s Ottoman bridge – an architectural treasure known as Stari Most that had stood for 427 years across the Neretva river – was destroyed during the conflict. However, a post-war project to reconstruct it meant that the bridge was rebuilt and 2020 marks a quarter century of peace in the town. (For history with a dose of adrenaline, turn up in August when Red Bull hosts a cliff-diving event along the bridge). While Mostar can swell with visitors, including a growing cohort of Muslim travellers, there’s plenty of room for more across Bosnia and Herzegovina, where surpassing a million annual visitors was a recent milestone. Those who’ve been rave about the coffee culture, diverse heritage and sheer beauty of Sarajevo, best admired from atop Mount Trebević.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Frankfurt and Zurich, which have connecting flights to Mostar

Rimini, Italy

Credit: AGF Srl / Alamy Stock Photo

The seaside resort town of Rimini – located on the Adriatic coast in the Emilia-Romagna region – is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the birth of filmmaker Federico Fellini, a native of the town. In preparation, the neoclassical Fulgor Cinema was restored to dazzling effect and reopened in 2018, as did the historic Teatro Amintore Galli opera house. Dozens of events are in the works, including a special Fellini exhibition at Castel Sismondo (through March 2020) and walking itineraries that chronicle the life of the man behind 8 1/2 and La Dolce Vita. At Rimini’s cemetery, you can pay respects to Fellini and his wife, Giulietta Masina. There’s plenty more to explore in lesser-visited Emilia-Romagna; drive two hours northwest, past Faenza (known for its ceramics) and Bologna, and you’ll reach Modena, where acclaimed chef Massimo Bottura has opened a guesthouse.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Rome and Milan, both of which are a few hours from Rimini by train

BEYOND

Portland, Maine

Credit: Courtesy VisitPortland.com/Corey Templeton

Although Maine is the biggest state in the New England region of the US, it’s arguably one of the least well-known and well-traversed. That should change in 2020 with the state’s headline-making bicentennial. What visitors to the city of Portland can expect to encounter is a thriving yet laid-back destination with outsize culinary talent. (US-based Bon Appetit magazine named Portland ‘restaurant city of the year’ in 2018, citing among the proof: The Shop by Island Creek Oysters, Drifters Wife and Little Giant, which happens to be owned by Ian and Kate Malin, who lived previously in Hong Kong.) Coffee roasters and craft brewers vie for business with bakers and restaurants, all making the most of stellar local produce. To mark the big birthday there will be festivals and exhibitions, including one celebrating 13,000 years of the indigenous Wabanaki people; concerts include a bicentennial gala by the Portland Symphony Orchestra.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Boston, which is a couple of hours from Portland by train or car

Tbilisi, Georgia

Credit: Radmila Miheeva / Unsplash; Getty Images

Within the Caucasus region, where Europe and Asia meet, Georgia continues to win over adventurous travellers with its spectacular landscapes, natural wines and warm hospitality. The capital, Tbilisi, is an utterly charming mix of ancient churches, fortresses, museums and winding, vertiginous lanes. The architecture spans Art Nouveau, neoclassical, Stalinist and contemporary (case in point: the undulating steel-and-glass Bridge of Peace). As Georgia once stood on the Old Silk Road, its culture reflects influences including Asian, Persian, Arab and European. On the table, vast feasts of mezze-like dishes called supra are a revelation, especially as they feature the national dish, khachapuri, a sinful boat-shaped bread slathered in melted cheese and egg.

How to Get There: Cathay Pacific flies to Dubai, which has connecting flights to Tbilisi

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to more than 200 destinations

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book