特拉維夫

以色列的美食指南

特拉維夫飲食作家INBAL BAUM於以色列各地遍嚐30家餐廳、酒吧及酒莊的佳餚美酒。插圖 NIK COOLE

我坐在特拉維夫Abraxas North餐廳的酒吧裡,看著作風我行我素的名廚Eyal Shani以精湛廚藝令飢腸轆轆的客人讚歎不已。Shani一邊滔滔不絕地講述番茄和茄子的美妙之處,一邊以當天的新鮮食材即興炮製新穎菜式,他既是大廚,也是出色的演員。不過,這個烹飪劇場的台柱,其實是餐廳的招牌菜──烤原棵椰菜花,表面香脆而內裡嫩滑,放在一張紙上上桌奉客,沒有餐碟,是否用叉子亦悉隨尊便。

現在全球各地多位名廚的菜單上都有烤椰菜花供應,但全都可以追溯至Shani 這道令人歎為觀止的菜式 。

自從2009年起,我以這個小小的國家為家。我在美國出生,雙親是以色列人,童年的假期都在以色列度過,深信開懷大嚼就是這個國家的國技。我曾在紐約做了一個短時期的律師,最後決定脫離大企業的世界,搬到特拉維夫來追夢,創辦Delicious Israel旅行社。

食物是非常出色的老師。旅客來到這個複雜而熱情澎湃的國家,面對當地悠久的歷史和豐富多姿的文化,有時會感到困惑和吃不消,但卻可以透過各種感官的體驗來了解。以色列的移民來自全球各地,加上世界一流的農業,令這個國家成為進行美食之旅的勝地。

世界各地的饞嘴客逐漸捨棄傳統的三道菜套餐,改為以小碟盛載佳餚,與人共享;這正是以色列人的用餐方式。

本地人極其重視食材的質素與是否合乎時令,要是芒果不合時,你就不會見到芒果的蹤影。但是能夠入饌上桌奉客的蔬果,會令你對它徹底改觀。輕咬一顆車厘茄後,你才知道它本來應該是什麼味道。

以色列雖然匆匆立國,但早年的社會主義先驅深信,自給自足才是生存的王道,遂選擇以農立國,難怪這個小小的國度仍以不拘一格為尚。以色列人好客,偶爾會表現得過分熱情,但是勝在坦率而不造作;因此即使是高級食府,亦不會對客人的衣飾定規矩,放在戶外的餐桌,大多歡迎狗狗與主人一同入座。這裡的餐廳都不用白色桌布的。

70多年來,無數移民來到以色列落地生根。除了地道阿拉伯食品,亞的斯亞貝巴、孟買、敖德薩、的黎波里和華沙等地的風味,統統成為今日以色列菜的一部分。

對我來說,要體驗以色列美食百味紛陳的滋味,特拉維夫的 Carmel Market市場就是理想的去處。這個露天市集希伯來語叫做ShukHaCarmel,是城中旅客的必遊勝地。我幾乎每天都前來這裡,但對市集食品的鮮美滋味、豐富種類和繽紛色彩從未厭倦。

在市集大快朵頤之前,我首先要將自己的各種感官喚醒。在某個售賣遊客紀念品的攤檔後面,我溜進Uzi-Eli細小的店面。店主有「香椽果男」之稱,是也門杏林世家的第三代,擅長用香椽果這種古老的柑橘以及多種植物及果實來調配果汁。

喝過提神果汁後,我穿過Yemenite Quarter區,前往下一個目的地。現在是早上10時,但要吃鷹嘴豆蓉,任何時間都不嫌早。這款典型的中東鷹嘴豆菜式,本來是勞工的早餐;有些鷹嘴豆蓉做得十分出色的食肆,至今仍於破曉時分就開始營業。ShlomoandDoron是家族經營的餐廳,四代以來一直沿用同一個食譜來做鷹嘴豆蓉,最近則新增幾款破格的新口味,包括鷹嘴豆蓉配shakshuka番茄醬煮蛋,以及洋溢巴爾幹半島風味的版本,加入煙燻茄子、橄欖和醃檸檬。

我從Carmel Market市場的後街走到色彩繽紛的大街,沿途與高聲叫賣、互搶生意的小販擦身而過。多姿多彩的小吃攤檔,總令我歎為觀止:來自委內瑞拉的 Arepa’s、南非的 Bunny Chow(將麵包挖空,裡面盛載咖哩)、日本的Okasan、Viva Mexico的墨西哥捲餅,以及Balinjera的埃塞俄比亞菜……這些攤檔均由懷念家鄉美食的移民開設,希望藉此分甘同味。

甜點方面,我喜歡到HaMalabiya品嚐那裡的招牌甜品malabi,它是一種香滑的土耳其的牛奶布甸,吃時灑上玫瑰水。為了照顧城中愈來愈多的純素食者(特拉維夫有四分之一人口不吃肉類),店內亦供應以椰奶製作的純素布甸。

想暢遊特拉維夫,最好的方法是不受時間的限制,在城中各個社區裡隨意蹓躂,包括奢華的RothschildBoulevard大道、潮人勝地Florentin、古色古香的Yemenite Quarter區,以及歷史悠久的雅法古城區。

特拉維夫的美食之選可謂多不勝數,以下是我心目中的最佳餐廳:

OCD: 這家餐廳主打九道菜的分子料理盛宴,19個吧檯式座位全部朝向開放式廚房,讓食客欣賞廚師的精湛廚藝。菜式的配搭十分複雜,往往令人意想不到,例如香豌豆意式奶凍配檸檬、燈籠椒配醃蛋黃等。

Taizu: 這家餐廳主打「亞洲式地中海菜」,將亞洲的烹飪元素與本地風味結合,例如印度芝士包配茄子蒜蓉橄欖油醬和車厘茄,以及香脆米卷配地道鮮魚他他和打成泡沫的醬油,上面再放上魚子。

M25: 城中的食肉獸可從餐廳的陳列櫃中挑選喜愛的肉扒,入座後不一會即可磨刀霍霍,大快朵頤。

Mashya: 洋溢摩洛哥風味的佳餚美食,是烹飪藝術傑作。

Bana: 是特拉維夫純素食者聚腳的大本營,這裡以蔬果植物烹調的菜式令純素食更上層樓,供應如橡實瓜配椰奶藜麥等菜式,令非素食者也趨之若鶩。

Milgo & Milbar: 如果你喜歡魚類和海鮮,這家餐廳是特拉維夫首選,以鮮味十足的食材組合炮製菜式,例如薄切魚生配爽脆薑片、西柚、辣椒和薄荷。

Imperial Craft: 這家酒吧位於鋪滿亞麻油氈的酒店大堂後面,2017年名列全球50大最佳酒吧,可按客人的口味調製雞尾酒,配上亞洲風味下酒菜。

在以色列駕車從北方駛至南端,全程不需六小時。特拉維夫位於國家中部,可輕鬆前往各地一日遊。當我想轉換一下環境和呼吸新鮮空氣時,就會駕車前往北部享受悠閒的一天。

我通常首先會於Goats with the Wind停下來,這個飼養山羊的農莊俯瞰加利利的蓊鬱山峰,以太陽能發電,氣氛恬靜怡人。跟農莊裡的小山羊自拍合照後,我在一堆坐墊上坐下來,大啖芝士拼盤、有機沙律,以及新鮮出爐的脆皮麵包。

我的下一站是前往位於Druze教徒聚居的城鎮Daliyat el Carmel的Noura’s Kitchen。Noura總會親切地歡迎我,為我送上葡萄葉卷和椰菜。雖然典型的Druze菜式少不了大量沙律和用鍋燜煮的菜式,但我只要Noura為我端上她最拿手的atayef,這是一種炸核桃餡餅,外面蘸上天竺葵糖漿。

要是時間許可,我會駕車前往戈蘭高地,我最喜愛的酒莊Pelter就在那裡。這家酒莊起初是創辦人為興趣而進行的副業,現時釀酒莊出品的葡萄酒已供應全國多家頂級食府,佳釀包括廣受歡迎的Trio(以cabernet merlot/cabernet franc混合釀製)、sauvignon blanc,以及經過蒸餾的arak酒、棗子白蘭地和氈酒。

晚餐時分,我駕車前往位於提比里亞北方市郊的Magdalena’s,這家優雅的餐廳供應以本土食材炮製的現代阿拉伯菜,精緻的賣相絕對值得拍照分享。我吃了以山羊乳酪烹煮的釀羊肉餃shishbarak、釀滿鷹嘴豆和halloumi芝士的kubbeh,以及野生菊苣配焦糖洋蔥。

從特拉維夫駕車往東南方駛去,只需一小時就來到了耶路撒冷。

沿途經過Ein Rafa村,那裡有一家名為Majda的餐廳,猶太裔大廚和其阿拉伯籍丈夫供應地道特色美食,例如底部鋪滿小麥片和芝麻醬的肉批kubbeh siniya。

抵達歷史悠久的舊城後,我往阿拉伯人聚腳的地區小歇,在Jaffar’s吃甜品knafeh,然後到Lina品嚐鷹嘴豆蓉,再前往Austrian Hospice旅館的餐廳來一杯咖啡和酥皮卷,在旅館天台飽覽舊城景致。

我加快腳步前往Machane Yehuda戶外市場,趕及在Azura餐廳關門之前,吃到伊拉克/庫爾德斯坦族第三代大廚以火水燈烹調的美食。接著,我到Pe’erBakery糕餅店購買challah麵包,並在Marzipan打包數件朱古力酥卷回家,作為安息日的食物。

在市場旁邊是耶路撒冷最熱門的食府Machneyehuda,也是一邊暢飲當地釀製的arak酒,一邊盡情跳舞狂歡的好去處。

如果想享受獨特的耶路撒冷體驗,可到Eucalyptus,那裡的廚師採用聖經所述的七大類農作物(兩種穀麥和五種水果)入饌。

要是時間充裕,我會繼續駕車穿越Judean Hills山區,南下至Negev沙漠。

在沙漠上廣栽各種植物,是以色列人引以自豪的成就,在荒涼的土地上,可供農耕的綠洲星羅棋佈,以滴灌方式灌溉,栽種出種類繁多的農作物。

在納巴泰人的古老聚居地和國家公園附近,有多家釀酒莊如Ramat Negev等,打破風土限制,生產出屢獲殊榮的malbec和merlot葡萄酒。山上的Kornmehl Farm農場在山邊設有美食篷車,供應美味指數全以色列數一數二的手工山羊奶芝士和意大利薄餅。deliciousisrael.com

國泰航空設有由香港飛往特拉維夫的航班,每周有六班

本地農場直送及其他食材製作的以色列早餐

本地農場直送食材的概念,在以色列並非新鮮事。

1930年代,居於農業合作社kibbutzim裡的猶太裔移民會在清晨起來,於外出工作前吃一頓豐富的農場早餐,食物包括從農田裡採摘的蔬菜、來自牧場的白芝士,以及取自雞舍的水煮蛋。

這種本來為勞工提供動力的膳食,現在已演變成理想的周末早午餐。這種典型的以色列早餐採用同類的食材,不過變得更豐盛,包括班尼迪克蛋、手工精製金文拔芝士、有機沙律、自家製醬汁和麵包籃等。

以色列對早餐的熱愛,更令某些常見的早餐食品走上街頭,成為全日供應的美食:

茄子水煮蛋三文治

這款令人食指大動的口袋麵包三文治,起源可追溯至伊拉克猶太人於安息日(星期六)享用的早餐,用料包括炸茄子片、水煮蛋、沙律、芝麻醬和一種名為amba的芒果酸辣醬。

番茄煮蛋

這款突尼西亞經典早餐食品,將番茄切粒加入洋蔥和辣椒,在厚身平底鑊裡熬煮,然後在上面加入雞蛋同煮而成。

油酥餡餅

這款洋溢土耳其和巴爾幹半島風味的鹹味千層酥內釀滿芝士、馬鈴薯或菠菜,多與水煮蛋和harif辣醬 同吃。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Tel Aviv

The ultimate foodie guide to Israel

Tel Avivian food writer INBAL BAUM tours 30 restaurants, bars and wineries around Israel. Illustrations by NIK COOLE

I am sitting at the bar at Tel Aviv’s Abraxas North restaurant, watching eccentric chef Eyal Shani wow his hungry audience. Shani – who waxes poetic about tomatoes and aubergines while deftly improvising dishes using the day’s ingredients – is equal parts chef and performer. The real star of this culinary theatre, though, is his restaurant’s star dish: a whole roasted cauliflower, crispy on the outside, buttery soft at its core and served on a piece of paper. No plates; forks are optional.

The dish now appears on the menus of influential chefs the world over – but they can all be traced back to Shani’s cauliflower spectacular.

This tiny country has been my home since 2009. Born in the US to Israeli parents, I spent my childhood holidays here, convinced that eating was the national sport. After a stint as a lawyer in New York, I left the corporate world and moved to Tel Aviv to found tour company Delicious Israel.

Food is a wonderful teacher. Visitors to this complex, passionate country can connect to its (sometimes overwhelming) history and culture through their senses. Israel’s immigrant mosaic and world class agriculture make it an ideal place for a foodie pilgrimage.

Isreal-3

Many diners around the globe are shifting away from formal three-course meals in favour of a spread of small plates. This is how Israelis eat.

Seasonality and quality are taken very seriously. If mangoes are not in season, you will not be able to find a mango. But the produce that does make its way to the table will make you realise what you’ve been missing – bite into a cherry tomato and you’ll understand what it’s supposed to taste like.

In a small, hastily constructed society built on agriculture (Israel’s early socialist pioneers believed that self-sustainability was key to their survival), it’s not surprising that informality still reigns supreme. Israelis are known for their sometimes tactless warmth, hospitality and lack of pretence. You’ll notice that even the best restaurants don’t have a dress code. Dogs are very much welcome at outdoor tables, and there’s not a white tablecloth in sight.

For more than 70 years, immigrants have landed on Israel’s shores. In addition to local Arab food, the tastes of Addis Ababa, Mumbai, Odessa, Tripoli and Warsaw (just to name a few) have all become part of modern-day Israeli cuisine.

For me, the best place to see this in action is Tel Aviv’s Carmel Market, or Shuk HaCarmel as it’s known in Hebrew. The city’s open-air market is a must for any visitor. I’m there almost every day, and I still can’t get enough of its freshness, diversity and colour.

Isreal-1

Before I start eating my way through the market, I like to awaken my senses. Behind a stand selling touristy trinkets, I slip into Uzi-Eli’s small storefront. ‘The Etrog Man’ is a third-generation Yemenite healer who creates juices from the etrog, an ancient citrus fruit, as well as a range of other botanicals and fruits.

Suitably energised, I walk through the Yemenite Quarter to my next stop. It’s 10am, but it’s never too early for hummus. The Middle East’s iconic chickpea dish actually originated as a labourer’s breakfast, and the best hummus purveyors still open at the crack of dawn. Shlomo and Doron have been serving hummus made to the same recipe for four generations, recently adding a few unconventional twists: a hummus and shakshuka option and a Balkan version with smoked aubergine, olives and pickled lemon.

Continuing my journey from the market’s backstreets, I walk down Carmel Market’s colourful central strip past the hawkers bellowing prices, trying to outdo their neighbours. I’m always amazed to see the diversity of the food stands: Venezuelan Arepa’s, South African Bunny Chow (curry in a bread bowl), Japanese Okasan, Viva Mexico’s burritos and Balinjera’s Ethiopian dishes – each owned by immigrants who missed their home food and wanted to share it here.

For something sweet, I head to HaMalabiya for its signature dessert, malabi: a creamy Turkish pudding drizzled with rosewater. In a nod to the city’s booming vegan population (a quarter of Tel Avivians don’t eat meat), there’s a coconut milk-based option.

The best way to explore is to lose track of time and wander throughout the city’s neighbourhoods: swanky Rothschild Boulevard, hipster Florentin, the quaint Yemenite Quarter and historic Jaffa.

There are an overwhelming number of restaurants to choose from in Tel Aviv. Here are some of my top choices:

OCD: A nine-course molecular gastronomy spectacle where all 19 bar seats face the chef’s open kitchen stage. Expect complex dishes with lists of unexpected combinations such as sweet pea panna cotta with lemon, habanero and cured egg yolk.

Taizu: Asian-Mediterranean cuisine in which the elements of Asian cooking fuse with local flavours into dishes like paneer tikka bun with aubergine aioli and cherry tomatoes; and crispy rice cone with a fish tartar and soy foam, topped with roe.

M25: the city’s carnivores choose their preferred cut of meat from the open display and sink in with their steak knives minutes later.

Mashya: Moroccan-influenced culinary works of art.

Bana: the hub for Tel Aviv’s vegan diners. Bana elevates plant-based cuisine with dishes like acorn squash with coconut cream and quinoa to a level that non-vegans will love as well.

Milgo & Milbar: if you prefer fish and seafood, this is my number one choice in Tel Aviv for flavour-bursting combinations like the fish carpaccio with crispy ginger, grapefruit, chilli and mint.

Imperial Craft: hidden in the back of a linoleum-lined hotel lobby, this bar, which squeaked into the top 50 of the World’s Best Bars 2017, serves up made-to-taste cocktails alongside Asian-influenced dishes.

Israel can be covered from top to tail in less than six hours. Tel Aviv is in the centre, so day trips out are easy. When I’m in need of a change of scenery and some fresh air, I get into my car and head up north for the day.

My first stop is usually Goats with the Wind, a serene, solar-powered goat farm overlooking Galilee’s lush green hills. After some selfies with the farm’s baby goats, I sit on some floor cushions and tuck into a cheese plate, organic salads, and crusty, fresh-out-of-the-oven loaves.

My next destination is Noura’s Kitchen, in the Druze town Daliyat el Carmel. Noura always greets me warmly, offering me stuffed vine and cabbage leaves. Although a typical Druze meal involves an endless spread of salads and pot-cooked delicacies, I convince Noura just to let me nibble on her famous atayef, a fried walnut-filled dumpling, glazed with sweet geranium syrup.

If I am up for a longer drive, I head to the Golan Heights, the home of my favorited winery, Pelter, which started as a backyard passion project, and now supplies the country’s top restaurants with cult favourites Trio (its cabernet/ merlot/cabernet franc blend) and sauvignon blanc, as well as arak, date brandy and gin.

Ready for dinner, I head just north of the city of Tiberias, where Magdalena’s incongruously elegant restaurant serves Instagram-worthy versions of locally foraged, Arab-style food. I tuck into shishbarak (lamb-stuffed dumplings cooked in goat yoghurt); kubbeh stuffed with chickpeas and halloumi cheese; and wild chicory with caramelised onions.

Just an hour southeast of Tel Aviv is Jerusalem.

On the way, in Ein Rafa, there’s Majda, where a Jewish chef and her Arab husband serve local specialities like kubbeh siniya, a meat pie cooked on a bed of bulgur and tahini.

Isreal-2

Once into the historic Old City, I stop off in the Arab Quarter for knafeh at Jaffar’s; for hummus at Lina; and then a coffee and strudel at the Austrian Hospice, taking in the view of the Old City from its roof.

I try to make it to the Machane Yehuda market before Azura closes to enjoy the Iraqi/Kurdish delicacies, cooked on kerosene lanterns by the third-generation owners. Then I pick up some challah from Pe’er Bakery and some chocolate rugelach at Marzipan to take home for Shabbat.

Just next to the market, Machneyehuda is one of the hottest places to eat – and a great place to dance on the tables while downing shots of locally produced arak.

And if I’m looking for a uniquely Jerusalem experience, there’s Eucalyptus, where the chef incorporates the seven species of the Bible – two grains and five fruits – into his dishes.

When I have time, I continue driving past the Judean Hills, down south to the Negev desert.

Israelis pride themselves on making the desert bloom, and the stark landscape is dotted with agricultural oases that rely on drip-irrigation to grow produce.

Alongside ancient Nabatean settlements and national parks, wineries like Ramat Negev defy the terroir to produce award-winning bottles of malbec and merlot. Up the road, the Kornmehl Farm’s hillside caravans are ideal pit stops to end a day with some of Israel’s best artisanal goat cheeses and pizza. deliciousisrael.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Tel Aviv from Hong Kong six times a week

Farm to Table, and Beyond: The Israeli Breakfast

Farm to table is nothing new in Israel.

Jewish immigrants living in the 1930s kibbutzim (agricultural cooperatives) would wake up early and eat a farm breakfast before heading out to work: vegetables from the fields, white cheese from the dairy and hard-boiled eggs from the chicken coops.

That humble meal has evolved into the perfect weekend brunch. The classic Israeli breakfast is now an abundant spread (think eggs benedict, artisanal camembert, organic salads, homemade dips and bread baskets) that revolves around the same core ingredients.

Israel’s love affair with breakfast is so strong that some of its classic breakfast dishes are now street food available throughout the day:

Sabich

This glorious pitta sandwich traces its roots to the Iraqi Jewish Shabbat (Saturday) breakfast spread, which includes fried aubergine slices, hard-boiled eggs, salad, tahini and amba, a mango chutney.

Shakshuka

This Tunisian breakfast staple involves chopped tomatoes, cooked in a heavy pan with onions and spicy peppers, with eggs poached on top.

Burekas

A Turkish/Balkan savoury filo pastry filled with cheese, potato or spinach, typically eaten with a hard-boiled egg and spicy harif sauce.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book