都市部族

認識香港的電競選手

Anshel Ma探索香港各類有趣文化,專訪電競選手林嘉俊、周啟康及陳嘉靖

記得小時候父母常說「打電玩沒出息」,此言差矣。電競(即是職業打電玩)發展一日千里,更成為了2022年亞運項目,跟游泳及籃球看齊。今月香港首辦「電競音樂節」,邀請電競界國際冠軍選手及韓國流行歌手來港獻技。

電競是一項很費心力的職業。20歲選手陳嘉靖在三年前投入電競界中最受歡迎的遊戲《英雄聯盟》,現為全港最強女子電競隊PandaCute的成員,每天都必須跟隊友培養默契,練習使用遊戲內的角色,並研究策略等,難怪她也笑說:「我忙得跟家人相處的時間也沒有呢!」

香港電競界人數眾多,單是《英雄聯盟》就有30萬玩家,但玩家之間除比賽外卻很少見面。22歲的城中高手林嘉俊解釋道:「我們通常只跟自己同級的對手結為網友,如想自組隊伍也是從遊戲玩家排行榜挑選。現在排行最高的200人被稱為菁英組,雖然大家在網上彼此認識,氣氛融洽,不過難免有多少敵對心態,畢竟每人都希望成為第一名。」

一般電競選手比較年輕,有說25歲就要退休,引退後一般都會退居幕後出謀劃策或設立網上頻道。退役電競選手周啟康則致力推動香港電競界發展,他謂:「要成為頂尖選手就必須經常作賽,可惜香港卻沒有太多比賽機會,因此我才決定舉辦有關活動,建立社群。」除了跟政府合作於香港紅磡體育館舉辦「電競音樂節」,他更將於長沙灣開設電競主題酒吧Versus Stadium;誰說電玩沒前途?

香港電競音樂節於8月4至6日舉行

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Tribes of Hong Kong: The e-sport gamers

Exploring the city’s subcultures, ANSHEL MA meets Hong Kong e-sport gamers LOFS, Ryan Chow and Deer

As a kid, I was always told by my parents: ‘You can’t make a living playing video games.’ Turns out they were wrong. E-sports – or professional video gaming – have flourished in recent years, even becoming an event at the 2022 Asian Games alongside swimming and basketball. This month, Hong Kong also hosts the E-Sports and Music Festival, where international champions will showcase their skills and K-pop singers will perform.

E-sports is an all-consuming career. Deer, 20, started playing League of Legends, the most popular game in the e-sports realm, three years ago. A member of PandaCute, the highest-ranked female e-sports team in Hong Kong, Deer spends her days developing camaraderie with teammates, familiarising herself with characters in the game and analysing tactics. ‘I don’t even have time for my family,’ she says with a laugh.

There is a huge community of gamers in Hong Kong; League of Legends alone has about 300,000 players. But e-sport players seldom meet in person outside of competitions. ‘We usually make online acquaintance with fellow players, and only with those of the same level,’ says the player who goes by LOFS, 22, one of the city’s top gamers. ‘If we want to form a team, we will only pick names from player charts. The top 200 are called the Elite group. While we all know each other online and the atmosphere is amiable, there is always a competitive vibe. After all, everyone wants to be first.’

E-sports players are young; some say 25 is retirement age. Many of them go on to become strategists or create their own online channels. Ryan Chow, a retired e-sports player, has been a force behind the growth of the activity in Hong Kong. ‘To get good at e-sports, you need to compete a lot, and Hong Kong lacked a competitive event. This motivated me to set up events and build up the community,’ he says. He is working with the government to launch the E-Sports and Music Festival at the Hong Kong Coliseum. Chow also plans to open Versus Stadium,  an e-sports-themed pub in Cheung Sha Wan. Who says you can’t make a living from playing video games?

The E-Sports and Music Festival Hong Kong is held 4-6 August

Watch Machinima: August SF Special onboard from now until 31 October 2017

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book