湖泊,海洋,水上運動

滑浪風帆手

隨著李麗珊贏得香港首面奧運金牌,幾位運動員先後步李麗珊的後塵

1996年亞特蘭大奧運會,李麗珊於滑浪風帆項目為香港摘下歷史上首面奧運金牌,全城歡慶多月,港人引以為傲,這座以海為鄰的城市更捲起了一股風帆熱潮。

隨著李麗珊贏得金牌,政府對滑浪風帆運動的資助亦水漲船高,而運動員如夫妻檔何智豪及陳慧琪亦因此受益良多。兩位先後步李麗珊後塵,於1998年至2010年代表香港出戰奧運及亞運。他們現已退役,並專心打理位於赤柱正灘的捕風一族水上活動中心,吸引不少香港人前來到此學習滑浪風帆及其他水上運動。陳慧琪說:「來這裡玩滑浪風帆的人雖然背景各異,不過都是想借這項運動放下日常俗務。至於我自己,已不像往昔比賽時一心求勝,而是致力研究如何推廣滑浪風帆。」

香港多個海灣因為地理環境成為優秀的滑浪風帆場地,而赤柱更擁有一流配套設施。不過但凡看過風帆逐浪的人士都知道,這項運動不易入門,如要作賽的話更需經歷重重考驗。何智豪的表弟及前隊員黃汝謙道:「滑浪風帆講求速度和戰術,選手必須對周遭環境、大海、水流及風向瞭如指掌,同時亦要考慮對手的戰術、天氣及地形等因素,極富挑戰性也很刺激!」

現在推廣及支援滑浪風帆的工作主要由香港奧委會負責,它早前推出「奧夢成真計劃」,協助學生及退役運動員繼續發揮所長,大部分受惠於這項計劃的學生都來自培訓海員的香港航海學校,不少更於滑浪風帆界有所成就。何智豪說:「隨著裝備及查看天氣的應用程式愈加先進,學習滑浪風帆亦較以前容易,就連六歲的小朋友都做得到,這亦有助這項運動的未來發展。」

今屆亞運會於8月18日至9月2日在印尼舉行,敬請留意滑浪風帆賽事

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Lakes, oceans, watersports

Tribes of Hong Kong: The windsurfers

Veteran windsurfers on the sport's special status in the city

In 1996, Lee Lai-shan made history by becoming the first person to win an Olympic gold medal (or indeed a medal of any kind) for Hong Kong. The event: windsurfing. The celebrating continued for months, and windsurfing prowess became part of the local identity, drawing a new wave of interest in a city mostly surrounded by sea.

Ho Chi-ho and Vicky Chan, now a married couple, benefitted from increased government funding for the sport after Lee’s high-profile victory, and followed in her footsteps, competing in the Olympic Games and Asian Games from 1998 to 2010. Although now retired from competing, they head up the Hiwindlover Water Sport Centre on Stanley Main Beach, one of Hong Kong’s most popular places for learning windsurfing and other watersports. ‘Here, people from all walks of life come to windsurf as a way to escape the daily grind,’ says Chan. ‘As for me, I am no longer single-mindedly focused on winning, and now think about how to promote the sport.’

Hong Kong’s geography makes its bays great for windsurfing, and Stanley has the facilities for it. But anyone who’s watched from the beach will realise that it’s not the easiest sport to pick up and even more challenging to compete in. ‘Windsurfing is a game of speed and tactics,’ says Himson Wong, Ho’s cousin and former teammate. ‘You must have a thorough understanding of your surroundings, the ocean, water currents and wind direction, while at the same time knowing your opponents’ skills, the weather and the terrain. It’s challenging and but also thrilling.’

Much of the support for windsurfing comes from the Olympic Committee of Hong Kong’s Sports Legacy Scheme, which helps students and retired athletes pursue their sports. Many of the students benefitting from the scheme come from Hong Kong Sea School in Stanley – a vocational institution that trains in seamanship – and some have led successful windsurfing careers. ‘Thanks to improved equipment and apps for checking conditions, it’s easier to get into windsurfing now,’ says Ho. ‘Even six-year-olds can do it, which really helps the sport grow.’ 

Catch windsurfing at the Asian Games, held in Indonesia from 18 August to 2 September

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book