都市部族

認識香港的毅行者

探索香港各類有趣文化,專訪毅行者葉樹恒、嚴德貞及張祺豐

樂施會主辦的樂施毅行者是全港最大型的慈善體育活動,自1986年以來,每年約4,000名參加者於48小時內跨越長達100公里的新界麥理浩徑。你可在途中步行、奔跑,甚至小睡片刻,但必須以四人一隊的形式比賽。

對很多人而言,參加長途比賽本身已是一項成就。第一次參加毅行者的嚴德貞,過去一直以支援隊身分參與賽事,今年決定親身上陣。她表示:「我希望能於30歲前完成一項壯舉,因此才想參加比賽挑戰自己極限。現在我每星期都會遠足練習,做好準備,這比起以往在支援隊只等待毅行者經過檢查站的體驗截然不同。」

曾經也是支援隊成員的葉樹恒,自去年首次參加後便欲罷不能,他說:「去年跑畢時我說『再沒下次』,但到頭來還是捲土重來,並勤加練習,希望打破自己紀錄;這可是一項會上癮的運動呢!」 其實比賽除了是挑戰個人極限外,最重要的是隊員之間的默契,因為全隊必須同時經過檢查站及抵達終點才算完成。他續說:「去年便有隊員先嫌棄我走得太慢,再投訴我走得太快,最後雖完成賽事,但始終未能投入享受。這是一項團體運動,因此隊員之間的感情及相處至關重要;大家必須互相扶持及幫助才能成事。」

張祺豐是環遊世界的馬拉松好手,九年前接觸毅行者,並曾多次勝出比賽,他表示:「我認為首要隊員本身是好朋友,這才能避免互相怪罪大家速度不一的尷尬場面。雖然跑手之間都會有良性競爭,但可藉此增進友誼,而但凡參加過毅行者的大部分選手,隊員之間的感情都變得更好。」樂施毅行者將於11月17至19日舉行

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Tribes of Hong Kong: Trailwalkers

Exploring the city’s subcultures, ANSHEL MA meets the people who climb and clamber over Hong Kong's peaks and hills

Organised by Oxfam Hong Kong since 1986, Oxfam Trailwalker is Hong Kong’s largest charity sports event. Each year, about 4,000 participants attempt to complete the 100-kilometre hiking course on the MacLehose Trail in the New Territories, with a time limit of 48 hours. You can walk it, run it, even take naps, but hikers have to stay in teams of four.

For many, completing the long race is an accomplishment in itself. Teresa Yim used to volunteer on the sidelines but decided to enter the walk this year for the first time. ‘I want to achieve something great before turning 30, so I decided to test my limits with this walk,’ she says. ‘I go hiking every week now as training, which is very different from waiting for trailwalkers at checkpoints, as I did in the past on the support team.’

Another former member of the support team, Charles Ip joined the walk last year and has since become an enthusiast. ‘When I crossed the finish line last year, I told myself I was never doing this again, but then I got back into the game with more intensive training in hope of a better result,’ he says. ‘It’s an addictive activity.’

Apart from challenging personal limits, the event also tests the bond among team members by stipulating that teams must pass the checkpoints and finish line together. ‘Last year, a teammate complained I was going too slow, then that I was going too fast,’ says Ip. ‘Although we finished the course in the end, we couldn’t really enjoy it. This is a team sport, so compatibility among teammates is very important. Everyone needs to help each other out.’

Kevin Cheung, a keen runner who travels the world for marathons, has raced in Trailwalker for the past nine years and has finished in first place multiple times. ‘I think it’s most important that team members are good friends; this is the way to avoid the awkwardness of blaming each other for varying speeds,’ he says. ‘Running is competitive but it’s also a great way to make friends. Most people who do Trailwalker strengthen their bonds with teammates.’ Oxfam Trailwalker is held on 17 to 19 November. 

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book