都市部族

認識香港的攀石好手

與攀石大師一起探索香港的攀石文化: 韓榮疇、韓德芳、黃尚強

香港是少數不需長途跋涉便能抵達攀石地帶的亞洲城市,新界的東龍洲以及九龍畢架山都是攀石熱點,全都距離市中心不到一小時的車程,非常方便,攀石及登山家黃尚強不諱言:「外國頂尖攀石勝地大多在遙遠而偏僻的地方,不僅路途艱辛,更需攜帶露營裝備,反之在香港,攀石地點不但交通方便,而且兼備自然及都市美景,得天獨厚。」

現為香港攀岩歷奇的訓練總監韓榮疇專長運動攀登,即利用天然石牆上的永久鞏固點游繩攀爬。本為社工的他於數年前被戶外生活所吸引,於是毅然離開老本行,他說:「當時我在青少年中心工作,接觸到不少戶外活動,後來因嚮往自由自在的生活,於是決定當全職攀石教練。現在我不時會帶領遊客攀登香港最好的懸崖峭壁。」

攀石可算是個人活動,尤其在攀爬途中,必須擁有高度集中力。黃尚強自言喜歡接受大自然挑戰,他醉心於登山,已征服全球多個高峰,並打算在明年嘗試攀登珠穆朗瑪峰,促使他主攻訓練傳統攀登方式,即在天然石牆上的石縫和樹幹等地方,安裝臨時鞏固點來攀爬,之後再拆除。他說道:「攀登超過5,000米的高山時,必須自行安裝鞏固點,因此傳統攀登雖然難度極高,卻讓我學懂必要的攀山技巧。」

不過,攀石也可以是一項聯誼活動,尤其是不用繩索攀爬人造石牆的室內攀石。韓德芳就是被室內攀石的社交層面吸引,雖然她只有一年年資,但已獲得二級運動攀登證書(國際標準共五級)。她說:「攀石基本上是社交活動,而且有不少女生參與。我們會在攀爬途中為對方打氣,氣氛非常友善。」有些室內攀石更會定時舉行「女士之夜」,吸引男女來聯誼並嘗試這項運動。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Adventure activities

Tribes of Hong Kong: The rock climbers

Explore the city’s subcultures with rock climbing masters Gordon Hon, Mo Hon and Eric Wong

Few other Asian cities are as convenient for rock climbing as Hong Kong. Popular crags are located at places like Tung Lung Chau in the New Territories and Beacon Hill in Kowloon, less than an hour’s journey from the city centre. ‘In other countries, top rock climbing spots tend to be in the middle of nowhere and a hassle to get to, plus you have to take camping gear,’ says Eric Wong, an avid rock climber and mountaineer. ‘Climbers in Hong Kong, however, are blessed with easy-to-reach locations and stunning vistas of both natural and urban landscapes.’

Tribes
Tribes
Tribes

Gordon Hon is training director of Hong Kong Rock Climbing Adventure and specialises in sport climbing, which relies on anchor points permanently installed into rocks for connecting ropes. He used to be a social worker but the outdoor lifestyle was enticing enough for a career change a few years ago. ‘I got the chance to try many outdoor activities when I was working at a youth centre,’ he says. ‘After some time, I realised I wanted a more carefree lifestyle, so I became a full-time rock climbing instructor. I often act as a guide for tourists seeking the city’s best climbing spots.’

In many ways, rock climbing is a solitary activity, one that calls for intense focus from the individual climber. Wong says he relishes this type of challenge against nature. One reason he trains in traditional climbing, which involves attaching anchor points to the crags and removing them afterwards, is his dedication to mountaineering. He has conquered peaks around the world and plans to head to Mount Everest next year. ‘For peaks that rise above 5,000 metres, climbers are usually required to fix their own anchors,’ he says. ‘So while traditional rock climbing is extremely challenging, it’s a necessary skill for me.’

But rock climbing can also be a social activity, especially with indoor bouldering, in which participants use artificial rock walls and no ropes. The social aspect is appealing to Mo Hon, who took up the sport a year ago but already holds a Level 2 climbing certificate; there are five levels by international standards. ‘Indoor climbing is a social activity with quite a few female participants,’ she says. ‘We root for one another, so it’s a supportive atmosphere.’ Some climbing venues even organise ladies’ nights, which attract both women and men to socialise and try out the sport.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book