都市部族

認識香港的滑板好手

與本地的滑板精英暢談這項新潮運動的發展潛力

雖然今天潮流人士都鍾情穿著滑板服裝,而滑板亦被視為一種運動,但過往滑板手予人的印象就是無所事事,一班壞孩子聚集尋釁滋事。因此在香港,父母都不會允許子女跟滑板扯上任何關係。

於社交平台Facebook創立女滑板手群組「Girls Can Skate」的陳尚韻,在中學時期開始玩滑板,她表示:「當年因為沒有滑板場,所以必須在公眾地方練習,而晚上總會有警察前來查閱我們的身份證,它是一種常常被人誤解的運動。」

Calvin Sit

現在滑板已廣為人接受,並已成為奧運項目,陸俊彥剛代表香港出戰亞運,現正努力獲得2020年奧運的參賽資格。他憶述昔日滑板手聚首一堂的盛況:「我最初玩滑板時,那個熱鬧的場面讓我感到驚訝。最高峰時有200多人在同一地方踩板,就像開派對般。當你完成一個花式會很有成功感,在場的人更會為你歡呼。不過現在滑板場分散各處,技術好的人才會在那裡一展身手。」

Chris Bradley 15歲時從美國來港,並在這裡鑽研滑板技術,他道:「美國的滑板文化根基非常深厚,當地的家長並不會視之為不良活動。其實玩滑板講求努力和決心,技術全是一分耕耘一分收穫,它讓我們感到自由自在。這就是我希望宣揚的訊息。」

其實在互聯網沒有那麼發達的時候,每區都會有各自的滑板群,彼此鮮有交集,陳尚韻表示:「我在創立群組Girls Can Skate之前,還以為自己是本地唯一的女滑板手。現在我們不但會舉辦各種活動推廣滑板運動,更會開班授徒。相比當年別人對我們嗤之以鼻,現在家長會主動接觸我們讓子女學滑板,這可是一個極大的轉變呢。」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Tribes of Hong Kong

Meet Hong Kong’s Pro Skaters

We speak with local skateboarders about Hongkongers' growing appreciation of the sport

Today, hipsters love skater wear and skateboarders are seen as athletes. But for a long time, skaters were regarded as rebellious loiterers, kids who were probably up to no good. They were the ones Hong Kong parents told their children to stay away from.

‘Back in the day there were no skate parks, so we had to skate in public places, and the police would come out every night to check our IDs,’ says Wandy Chan, who has been skating since secondary school and started the Girls Can Skate Facebook group to bring together female skaters. ‘It’s a very misunderstood sport.’

Calvin Sit

But skateboarding has gone mainstream, even becoming an Olympic event. Luk Chun-yin recently represented Hong Kong at the Asian Games and now aims to qualify for the 2020 Olympics. He recalls a more raucous culture among skaters. ‘When I first started skating, I was surprised by how lively the scene was,’ he says. ‘At times, there would be more than 200 people skating in the same area. It felt like a party. And landing a trick was a thrilling accomplishment, with everyone around you cheering. Now the main venues are skate parks, and the difference is they’re out of the way and spread out. It’s mainly people who are really good who go there.’

Chris Bradley got serious about skating after moving to Hong Kong from the US when he was 15. ‘In the US, skater culture has deep roots, and parents aren’t as negative about it,’ he says. ‘The truth is skating is about hard work and determination. It empowers us with a feeling of freedom, and knowing that all your skills are the result of training – this is the message I hope to spread.’

It used to be natural for Hong Kong’s skaters to stick to their own neighbourhoods, rarely venturing outside their own circles; but the internet has changed how they meet. ‘I thought I was the only female skater until I started the Girls Can Skate group,’ says Chan. ‘Now we are actively promoting the sport through various activities and classes. In contrast to the resistance we once met, parents now approach us to teach their kids to skate. It’s a big turnaround.’

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book