都市部族

認識香港的唱片騎師

與唱片騎師一起探索香港的音樂圈子: Broadback(James Woodward Jr)、陳詩衡、黃天豪

唱片騎師往往予人走在潮流之先的形象,並具備出色的音樂才華及知識,很多人都會以認識唱片騎師為榮。其實大家除了能於城中各大活動、酒吧及夜店一睹他們的風采之外,他們亦會參加一些唱片騎師比賽,並製作自己的歌曲等,可謂多才多藝。

要成為唱片騎師並不容易,不過科技稍為改變了這個局面。入行九年的陳詩衡本為公關,後來決定轉行當唱片騎師。她表示:「記得當初入行非常困難,除了需要不斷打穩基礎,磨練技巧,我們也需要跟其他唱片騎師多作交流,譬如說,從前在活動期間聽到一首喜歡的歌曲,可能要親自接觸唱片騎師求教,才能知道那首是什麼。但是現在年輕一輩只需上網搜尋便可知道答案,以前那種群體精神好像因此而不同了。」

當然,時移世易,香港的夜店文化亦有所改變。從前夜店會專門提供某類特定音樂,假如希望聽嘻哈音樂,便必須前往某家夜店,而如想聽電子音樂則需去另一個地方。不過現在很多場所都已經沒有如此仔細分類,它們提供的音樂都變得較為大同小異,再加上網上龐大的資源,唱片騎師的入行門檻比以前容易。入行20年的黃天豪說道:「當然也有天份十足的新人,加上音樂品味其實很主觀,雖然唱片騎師之間難免會有所比較,但我們也會經常聚首一堂,彼此交流新音樂及打碟技巧等,儼如一個大家庭。」

Mike Pickles

來自英國的Broadback於17年前為追尋音樂夢踏上唱片騎師之路,八年前移居香港的他現在除了當唱片騎師外,更與友人合作創辦設計公司。他認為香港非常多元化,有助他們發揮創意,他表示:「香港是一個適合短暫停留的城市,因此這裡的唱片騎師都來自五湖四海,並互相影響,為我們帶來不同風格的音樂。雖然唱片騎師的圈子看起來很大,不過我們卻有一種無聲的友情存在。」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Music

Tribes of Hong Kong: The DJs

Community and camaraderie with three of Hong Kong's coolest disc jockeys. Photos by MIKE PICKLES

At a party, it’s always a point of pride to say: I know the DJ. That’s because they’re always the coolest person in the room. Not only does it seem glamorous to flit from big events to bars to clubs each night, but they also have the musical talent to make the entertainment come together just so. At other times of the day, there’s the work of producing music in recording studios and entering competitions to raise their profile.

It’s not an easy field to get into, but technology has changed some of that. ‘I remember the difficulty of starting out,’ says DJ Mistrezz, who went from publicist for DJs to trying her own hand at the turntables nine years ago. ‘Not only did I have to hone my skills, but there was also a lot of networking with other DJs to seek out music I liked – you had to ask what a specific track was. Today’s youth have it much easier as they can just go online to find everything. It seems like that sense of community has changed.’

Hong Kong’s club culture has changed, too. Clubs used to be separated by the style of music they played, whether it’s hip-hop or electronic. They’re much more homogeneous nowadays, which, along with internet resources, has lowered the barrier of entry for DJs. ‘Of course, there’s plenty of talent in the newcomers, and music is all very subjective anyway,’ says DJ TinHo, who has been in the business for 20 years. ‘Even though there’s some sense of competition among us, we hang out all the time to talk about new music and spinning, like one big family.’

Broadback, who has been in Hong Kong for eight years, started DJing 17 years ago and is also co-founder of a local design company. He sees the city’s diversity having a positive effect on their creativity. ‘Because Hong Kong is such a transient city, you get a lot of different people coming and going and influencing each other, bringing different styles to the table,’ he says. ‘And even though there seem to be a lot of DJs, there’s always a sense of camaraderie.’

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book