結伴同遊

與英國政治家史丹福.萊佛士探索東南亞

200年前,英國政治家史丹福.萊佛士簽訂條約,接管一個名為新加坡的貿易站。我們穿越時光,回到過去與他相見

曾經跟英國政治家史丹福.萊佛士一同去旅行的人,都會認為他是個充滿活力、平易近人而勤懇的人。他的興趣極為廣泛,有極強的求知欲,對任何事情都想認識。他出身寒微,因此努力爭取獲得知識、教育與接觸文明的機會,並且對這一切深信不移。

我們都知道萊佛士是建立新加坡的人,不過我們的旅程將由1805年馬來西亞西北部的檳城開始。他在這裡的東印度公司工作,不過之後他對公司的作風深感厭惡。

Historic Images / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

爪哇是萊佛士一生鍾情的地方,而我們旅程中最刺激的一段,就是英國於1811年進佔該島,以阻止拿破崙利用該島作為基地。戰事非常慘烈,萊佛士不眠不休地工作,不斷進行各種重組和改革,不斷提出問題;他不辭勞苦,多次踏上橫越爪哇的長途旅程,以便主持大局。他由此發現這個島嶼壯麗的自然之美,以及當地王室的莊嚴堂皇。多年之後,他拖著身懷六甲、腹大便便的妻子,走過數百公里的路程,穿越蘇門答臘叢林,目的只是為了向巴塔克人查詢他們是否食人族。他總是這樣,凡事都要眼見為實。

他在前往峇里的旅途上,忽發奇想,認為那個地方是東南亞的「活博物館」,這個想法直至今天仍被用來向遊客宣傳。其後他令位於爪哇中部的佛塔遺跡婆羅浮屠重見天日,並派人加以勘察,令世人重新認識這座令人歎為觀止的古代建築奇蹟。他沿途搜集了不少物品,有動植物標本,紡織品、雕刻品、武器等,令與他同行的人的行李增磅不少。這些東西並非旅遊紀念品,而用來證明他提出的論點:爪哇是世上一個非常偉大的文明,因此十分值得尊重,理應在打敗拿破崙之後仍然被保留在不列顛帝國內。

ART Collection / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

他是至死不悔的帝國主義者,因此在輿論上獲得不少劣評,而我們總喜歡在維多利亞時代所宣揚的崇高道德背後,尋找卑下的動機。這種情況有部分原因應歸咎於他本人,因為他經常去信倫敦,以東印度公司那套慣用的詞彙來談論賺錢大計。可是新加坡並非只是一個隨意攫取而來的地方,而是他接受上級的授命,並按照他親自訂下的計劃來建立的城市。如果我們隨同他於1819年前往那裡,抵達時見到的,除了岸上一堆海盜遺下的人頭骨和大量老鼠之外,並沒有什麼值得注意的事物。他雖然一手建立了世上數一數二的貿易中心,卻是個拙劣的生意人,無論做什麼,最終都以賠本收場。說到底,萊佛士在骨子裡其實是個浪漫主義者。

Ferrantraite / Getty Images

這一點是毫無疑問的。他人在旅途上,每晚吃晚餐時,總是高談闊論,對其他人滔滔不絕地講述如何為他口中備受忽視的「小人兒」謀更多幸福。英國沒有為他豎立銅像或紀念碑之類,因為東印度公司不喜歡他。但是在新加坡,不單有酒店,還有購物中心、碼頭和專上學院均以他命名。萊佛士書院是他為當地人設立的學校,並非只提供英式教育,還教授當地的語言和文化,可說是他遺下的真正遺產。他永遠是那個百分百深信教育可以拯救世界的小男孩。

Nigel Barley是《In the Footsteps of Stamford Raffles》一書的作者。

Travels with

Exploring South East Asia With Stamford Raffles

Two hundred years ago, the idealistic imperialist Stamford Raffles signed an agreement to take over a trading post called Singapore. We retrace his travels through South East Asia

Anyone who travelled with Stamford Raffles would have found him lively, agreeable company but hard work. The British statesman was interested in too much, wanted to know everything and believed in knowledge, education and civilisation as only a poor boy who has had to fight to experience any of them can.

We know him as the founder of Singapore – but our journey begins in Penang, northwest Malaysia, in 1805. There, he worked for the East India Company (EIC) – and learned to detest the company and its ways.

Thomas Stamford Raffles Map of Java
Historic Images / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Java was the great love affair of Raffles’ life and our greatest adventure was the invasion of the Indonesian island in 1811 to stop Napoleon using it as a base. The battles were bloody, and Raffles worked round the clock to reorganise and reform, always asking questions and embarking on great treks across the island. He found the beauty of Java’s nature and royal courts breathtaking. In later years, he would drag his wife – heavily pregnant – hundreds of kilometres through the Sumatran jungle just because he wanted to ask the Batak people whether they really were cannibals. Always, he wanted to see for himself.

On a trip to Bali, he invented the idea that it was Southeast Asia’s ‘living museum’ – a view still sold to tourists. Then, in revealing and surveying Borobudur, central Java’s huge Buddhist temple, he made known one of the wonders of the world. Everyone on his journeys would have been weighed down with flora and fauna, textiles, carvings and weapons that he collected – not just as souvenirs, but as evidence in his argument that Java was one of the world’s great civilisations and therefore deserved the ultimate honour of being retained in the British Empire after the defeat of Napoleon.

George Francis Joseph, Sir Thomas Stamford Bingley Raffles
ART Collection / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

As an unrepentant imperialist, he has received a bad press and we always seek a low motive hiding behind Victorian declarations of high virtue. That’s partly his own fault since he often wrote to London in EIC terms about making money. But Singapore was not just grabbed; it was built according to plans he drew up himself and in the face of orders to the contrary. If we had accompanied him on his landing in 1819, we would have seen nothing except a pile of human skulls left by pirates and lots of rats. Yet the founder of one of the world’s great trading centres was the world’s worst businessman and everything he did lost money – for, at heart, Raffles was a true romantic.

Raffles Hotel entrance in Singapore.
Ferrantraite / Getty Images

You can be sure that, on those journeys, every evening at dinner he would talk your ear off about how to make things better for what he termed the neglected ‘little people’. He gets no monument in the UK – the EIC disliked him – but in Singapore it’s not just the Hotel, the Place, the Quay and the College that bear his name. The Raffles Institution, a school he founded for the education of locals, not just in British ways but in their own languages and cultures, is his true legacy. He always remained that little boy desperately convinced that education could save the world.

Nigel Barley is the author of In the Footsteps of Stamford Raffles

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book