航空

麻雀雖小五臟俱全:追蹤A350的全球供應鏈

來自多倫多的起落架、漢堡的後機身:讓我們探索空中巴士Beluga XL大型運輸機如何運送從世界各地製造的部件,最終裝嵌出空中巴士A350客機

空中巴士A350改寫了國泰航空的飛行業務。客機的龐大載客量和省油特色,令國泰能夠開通以往不可行的嶄新航線;而客機的機艙設計,也為乘客提供前所未有的舒適度。

A350的製造過程亦值得大家留意。客機在法國圖盧茲的空中巴士工廠進行組裝,由總裝線接收從歐洲和世界各地送來的半製成零件。事實上,所有飛機都是由不同的半成品合組而成,因此成立國際供應鏈協助生產是約定俗成的方法,亦是空中巴士經營的其中一項金科玉律。

已成立約50年的空中巴士,秉承共同合作的理念和視野,結合法國、德國、西班牙和英國的航空業,與美國的波音公司分庭抗禮。於1967年簽署的文件,展示了歐洲「空中巴士」A300的計劃,客機終於在1972年升空。這款雙引擎寛體長線航機,在很多方面都和目前的A350雷同。

至今A300與A350仍然息息相關。製造飛機時,有賴由A300改裝、外型古怪奇特而圓大的Beluga(白鯨)運輸機,把來自歐洲各國的重要航機零件運送到總裝線,確保供應鏈接駁順利,生產不受影響。

Beluga XL大型運輸機

Beluga一直默默服務,居功至偉,但目前已換上了根據空中巴士A330為基礎的全新改裝大型運輸機。首架Beluga XL在今年夏季加入機隊,更在機身塗上了鯨魚的模樣。這款新的運輸機可以一次運送兩塊機翼,較只能運送一塊機翼的小白鯨更有效率。

以往利用體積較小的Beluga,需要45小時飛行時間,才能把所有重要零件和機身分段送到總裝線。當年運輸機隊特意限於只有五架,並打著「測試」機隊的名義而非實用飛機,以更輕易取得證書和牌照,但隨著A350的生產數量增加,每月多達30架,因此需要容量更大的運輸機。

由於新的Beluga XL是以更現代的大型客機為基礎,因此無需飛行工程師,只需兩名機組人員即可。而運送貨物的機門則和以往一樣,都是採用從駕駛艙上的揭罩式,因此大型機件都可從前面裝卸,成就了這架出類拔萃的運輸機。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Aviation

A Plane of Many Parts: Tracing the Global Supply Chain of an A350

Landing gear from Toronto, aft fuselage from Hamburg: we explore how globally sourced parts are transported by the Beluga XL to create an A350 aircraft

The Airbus A350 has helped to transform Cathay Pacific. Its size and fuel economy have enabled the airline to open up new routes that would not have been viable previously, while the cabin interiors have set new standards for passenger comfort.

Its manufacture is newsworthy, too. Assembled at the Airbus factory in Toulouse, France, the FAL (final assembly line) receives part-assembled components from across Europe and the world. While all aircraft are planes of many parts and the idea of an international supply chain feeding production is very much the norm, this is something that truly is part of the Airbus DNA.

Set up 50 years ago, the cooperative vision of Airbus was to unite the aerospace industries in France, Germany, Spain and the UK to take on the bigger might of Boeing in the US. A document signed in 1967 unveiled a vision of an ‘Airbus’ for Europe. That aircraft, the A300, eventually took to the skies in 1972, a twin-engine, widebody, long-haul aircraft – in many ways the predecessor of today’s A350.

The A300 remains part of the A350 story. The manufacturing relies on its fleet of bulbous Beluga aircraft, a specially adapted and bizarre-looking A300 that has been converted to carry some of the major aircraft components from across Europe to the FAL to keep the supply chain intact and production running.

The Beluga XL

The Beluga has been a faithful servant, but it is being replaced by a new, improved and bigger version based on the Airbus A330, which is longer and wider. The first Beluga XL joined the fleet this summer and has a distinctive face of a whale. It is able to transport two wings at once, while the smaller Beluga could only transport one.

Using the original Beluga with its smaller capacity, it was taking 45 hours of flying time to get all the major components and fuselage sections to the FAL. The fleet was purposefully limited to five aircraft, which makes certification and licensing easier as it counts as a fleet of ‘test’ rather than production aircraft. But with increased aircraft production rates on the A350 line of up to 30 aircraft a month, something with more capacity was required.

Because the new Beluga XL is based on a more modern airliner, it eliminates the need to have a third crew member (it doesn’t need a flight engineer, just two crew). As before, the cargo door opens above the cockpit so large pieces can be front-loaded into what really is an extraordinary aircraft.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book