藝術和文化

在米蘭尋找達文西的創意傳承

適逢文藝復興大師達文西逝世500周年紀念,他賴以成名的米蘭在藝術、商業及創意上亦圴有復興之象

米蘭在建築、發明和工程方面,為文藝復興全才達文西提供無窮靈感。達文西為好戰的米蘭公爵Ludovico Sforza效力長達17年,期間雖創作了多幅曠世名畫,包括《最後的晚餐》和《岩間聖母》;然而,藝術與科學在米蘭交匯,創意與技術在此融合,這才是吸引他在這座意大利北部城市逗留、驅策他不停創新的主因。

Sforza公爵每次要舉辦規模盛大的慶典時,都會委任達文西擔任製作總監,包辦文字創作、舞台佈景、導演和舞台機關。他在米蘭居住期間撰寫的筆記內,畫滿了形形色色的設計草圖,包括攻守軍備、飛行器、水力工程項目,以至解決各種藝術難題的可行方案,例如如何完整地澆鑄一尊重達75噸的馬匹銅像。

Alberto Bernasconi

2019年適逢這位生於托斯卡納的藝術家逝世500周年,米蘭市內特別舉辦一系列展覽和活動以作紀念。但要表揚米蘭對啟發達文西無邊創意所作出的貢獻,不一定只有回溯歷史這個方法。因為一直以來,在這座充滿啟發性的城市,隨處可見非凡創意、設計才華,以及與生俱來的品味和美感。

只要站在米蘭市中心的主教座堂廣場上,彷彿可以感受到歷史洪流的脈動。廣場上最矚目的地標是主教座堂,外牆有數以千計的大理石雕像為飾,還有多座高聳的尖塔,為這座大教堂添上童話色彩。

DeAgostini/Getty Images

要將大理石雕像安放於教堂高牆上,必須仰賴扎實的工程技術;同樣位於主教座堂廣場上的Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II拱廊街,外貌華麗,氣派堂皇,亦展示出一流的建築工藝。拱廊街於1878年開幕,屬全球最早出現的購物中心之一。這座優雅的建築由玻璃天花和通花鐵支架構建而成,有il salotto di Milano(即米蘭的大廳)的美譽。昔日,當地人會在黃昏時分聚集在長廊的十字路口,欣賞煤氣燈由精巧的小火車沿著路軌在八角型的天幕下逐盞點亮的醉人景致。

時至今日,拱廊內依然熱鬧興旺。你可以在這裡找到兩個最具代表性的米蘭地標——1913年開業的Prada總店和Camparino酒吧。酒吧以鏡子、大理石和紅木為飾,營造出非凡氣派。位於拱廊街入口處的酒吧自1915年開業至今,一直為下班後的本地銀行家和斯卡拉歌劇院的觀眾奉上Negroni與Americano雞尾酒。2018年2月,米蘭星級名廚Carlo Cracco主理的餐廳Cracco遷入拱廊街內。這間裝修華麗、佔地多層的餐廳奉客的菜式,跟達文西的作品一樣充滿創意,例如以醃漬蛋黃製作的意大利「寬條麵」。

Left image: Galleria Vittorio .Credit: Alberto Bernasconi; Right image: Carlo Cracco . Credit: Alberto Bernasconi

不少建成於20世紀的市內地標,跟古舊的建築有異曲同工之妙,因此成為米蘭一大特色。商、住兩用的維拉斯加塔,由BBPR建築事務所於1950年代建成,頂層突出的部分,與中世紀倫巴第古堡上層的扶壁結構遙相呼應。而由身兼設計師及建築師的GioPonti構思的倍耐力大廈,於1960年落成,大樓外形恍如棱鏡,不但打破高樓大廈一定是方形的概念,還成為當時意大利的第一高樓。由César Pelli設計並於2011年落成的裕信銀行大廈樓高231米,打破了倍耐力大廈的高度記錄。裕信銀行大廈的尖塔綴滿LED燈,與米蘭大教堂塔頂的聖母像相映成趣。由建築師Stefano Boeri設計,同樣屹立在Porta Nuova商業區的垂直森林是兩幢住宅大樓,其創意想必能贏得達文西的欣賞。這兩座大樓名副其實,是一座垂直的森林,外牆上種植了20,000株植物,其中包括900棵樹,有助吸收二氧化碳。

從Porta Nuova商業區走回市中心,沿途可在細微之處體察米蘭這個活力城市的創意。一個毗連住宅的庭院,在《Vogue Italia》雜誌已故總編輯Franca Sozzani的妹妹Carla的創意改造下,於1990年代由汽車維修店搖身一變為米蘭首間概念店10 Corso Como。這家概念店集設計精品店、藝廊、餐廳、咖啡室、書店於一身,更設有一家只有三間客房的酒店,每個空間及功能彼此重疊,互相混雜,既具原創性又令人感到順理成章,至今仍是同類概念店的典範。在不遠的Via Solferino街上,餐廳酒吧Dry將光線幽暗的酒吧和型格工業風的薄餅店合而為一。米蘭還有既是花店,又是法式餐館的食肆;而出自建築及設計師Claudio Silvestrin手筆的Princi糕餅店,位於Piazza XXV Aprile廣場,室內設計奉行簡約主義,樸素中見巧思,可說是難得一見的藝術珍品。在米蘭,無數創意就在這些細微處閃現,挑戰固有的概念。

Left image: Hangar Bicocca. Credit: Alberto Bernasconi; Right image: Bosco Verticale .Credit: Chris Barbalis/Unsplash

相信米蘭是全球唯一會為家具展而狂歡一周的城市,展覽舉行期間,吸引邁阿密海灘與香港巴塞爾藝術展的常客與國際知名藝術和文化人,專程從全球各地遠道而來。但這個每年4月舉行的國際家具展是非一般的家具展。業內舉足輕重的大人物很少前往米蘭市東北面的Rho參加展銷會,大多選擇參與在市內的大小店舖、車庫、廢棄教堂和工業中心等地舉行的Fuorisalone衛星展活動。這些別樹一幟的場地,包括由安藤忠雄設計的Teatro Armani劇場和展覽空間Armani/Silos等,全都位於Zona Tortona區。這個地區前身是倉庫林立的工廠區,如今已成為初創企業和創意工作室的集中地。

市內兩個十分精采的現代藝術空間,亦是由米蘭的工業舊建築改建而成。Fondazione Prada基金會原是位於米蘭南部市郊的廢棄釀酒廠,建築師Rem Koolhaas及其創辦的OMA建築事務所,將之改造為藝術大本營,舉辦展覽、電影放映會及其他活動。基金會的部分永久館藏於Haunted House展館內展出,這幢建築前身為蒸餾廠,現在整座外牆貼上金箔;而懷舊酒吧Bar Luce則由電影導演Wes Anderson設計,讓人有如置身1960年代的意大利海邊度假勝地。在米蘭市的另一端,廢棄的火車發動機工廠現已改建成Hangar Bicocca,寬敞的空間可同時舉辦多個展覽,訪客更可欣賞由德國藝術家Anselm Kiefer創作、造型令人歎為觀止的永久藏品《The Seven Heavenly Palaces》。

Left image: Milan, coffee time at Camparino Bar in Piazza del Duomo. Credit: Alberto Bernasconi; Right image: Milan Gadget at Starbucks Starbucks Reserve Roastery. Credit: Alberto Bernasconi

最近翻新並重開的Triennale Museum博物館以米蘭源遠流長的設計歷史為主題,但對喜歡20世紀經典設計的擁躉而言,最正宗的米蘭朝聖體驗,應在位於Piazza Castello廣場的一幢平凡小公寓內。Achille Castiglioni是米蘭現代設計界的達文西,他的故居和工作室現已改建成博物館,逢星期二至五開放予公眾參觀,並有專人導賞,而負責導賞的通常是Castiglioni的女兒Giovanna。訪客可以在大宅內欣賞到大量趣味盎然的設計原型,例如為家具公司Zanotta設計、靈感分別來自拖拉機座位和單車椅的Mezzadro和Sella高櫈,或Castiglioni繪畫的著名Arco座地燈的設計草圖。在眾多展品之中,有不少Castiglioni蒐集來尋找靈感的舊物,這些東西最令參觀者感到興趣。例如農夫用的擠奶櫈,是他向設計學生講解簡約之美的工具。達文西在這裡定會覺得如魚得水,你可以想像他和Castiglioni互動交流,在米蘭午後晴朗的天空下進行一場跨越500年的對話。

Left image: Museo del Cinema .Credit: Alberto Bernasconi. Right image: Castello di Rivoli . Credit: Alberto Bernasconi

都靈的藝術靈感

都靈有世界級的博物館、引人入勝的巴洛克及新藝術建築,還喜歡挑戰藝術傳統,是個啟發思考和靈感的地方。撰文:Fernando Avilés

1960年代的西方經歷了一連串的社會和政治變革,意大利亦不例外。在都靈,一群激進的藝術家發起了一場新運動,名叫arte povera,意思是「貧窮藝術」。

當時多位藝術家如Michelangelo Pistoletto、Mario Merz、Giuseppe Penone和Giovanni Anselmo等,開始以木材、鐵和
塑膠等即棄和廉價的物料創作。當時的都靈,在快意車廠的帶動下,汽車製造業蓬勃發展,這些藝術家就動手將工業廢物轉化為藝術品。

都靈向米蘭、羅馬和佛羅倫斯的藝術傳統挑戰,這已經不是第一次了。

十世紀時,薩伏依王朝統治位於法國與意大利的阿爾卑斯山區,即今日的皮埃蒙特大區。在其首府都靈,你可以看到這個王朝遺下的宏偉宮殿、廣場和壯觀的大道,事實上,意大利在1861年統一時,就是以都靈為首府。

Alberto Bernasconi

當地的建築風格糅合巴洛克式宮殿與新藝術建築的特色,非常迷人,加上蜿蜒數公里、可供遊人在城中漫步穿梭的拱廊,令都靈成為藝術家的靈感之都。

這裡的博物館亦非常精采:埃及博物館擁有開羅以外最多的埃及文物館藏;而位於著名建築Mole Antonelliana大樓內的國立電影博物館,則是了解電影業發展史的好去處,而大樓本身亦是建築奇觀。

Civic Gallery of Modern and Contemporary Art現當代美術館內,你可以欣賞畢加索、安迪華荷、保羅克利、莫迪里安尼和夏加爾等大師的傑作。而另一個欣賞當代藝術的勝地是Castellodi Rivoli Museum of Contemporary Art當代藝術館,館內展出Maurizio Cattelan震撼的作品《Novecento》。這件作品以吊索將一隻馬的標本懸吊在天花板上,藉此表達「沮喪而緊繃的能量註定無從宣洩」。你亦可以在這兩間美術館欣賞到其他貧窮藝術的代表作。

說到運用廉價物料來創作,都靈藝術家Max Petrone在2015年把自己在繪圖板上利用上面的咖啡污跡作畫的過程拍攝下來,一夜間,該段影片有多達10萬人次觀看。

一個星期後,意大利咖啡品牌illy邀請他在那一年的米蘭博覽會中重複同一個創作實驗。這次他選用了一塊九米乘兩米的畫布來作畫。Max和illy其後數度合作,包括為化妝品公司illy Collistar設計標誌,以及配合由Petrone創作故事的三套咖啡杯和馬克杯作畫。

咖啡和藝術,還有靈感來自咖啡的藝術品,有什麼比這個組合更具意大利風情?撰文:Fernando Avilés

米蘭舉行的達文西紀念活動精選

由2019年5月開始,一系列展覽、表演和音樂會陸續舉行,紀念這位大名鼎鼎的米蘭市民的生平和成就

Universal History Archive/Getty Images

表演:《Being Leonardo da Vinci. An impossible interview》

由Massimiliano Finazzer Flory飾演達文西,細說他的事蹟、藝術及其美學思想

2019年5月2至5日,Piccolo Teatro Studio Melato劇院

多媒體體驗:  《Virtual Museum of Leonardo’s Milan》

藉虛擬地圖遊覽達文西時代的米蘭,將古今景物作一對照

2019年5月16日至2020年1月12日,Castello Sforzesco城堡,Museo d’Arte Antica古代藝術博物館,Sala delle Armi

裝置藝術:《Leonardo’s Horse》

以現代角度重新演繹這件經典雕塑傑作。參觀者還可以使用特設的應用程式提供的額外資訊,深入了解作品

2019年5月至11月,Ippodromo di San Siro SNAI 馬場

音樂會:《Gaffurio and the Maestros of the Chapel in the Duomo di Milano at Leonardo’s time》

將當年可能為達文西帶來靈感的音樂重現

2019年6月17日,恩寵聖母教堂

展覽:《Leonardo’s Last Supper for Francis I: A Masterpiece of Silk and Silver》

達文西首批《最後的晚餐》畫稿之一,復修後首次公開展出

2019年10月7日至11月17日,米蘭王宮,米蘭

國泰航空設有由香港飛往米蘭的航班,每周有七班

Art and culture

Tracing Da Vinci’s Creative Legacy in Milan

It’s the 500th anniversary of Leonardo da Vinci’s death and in Milan, the city where he made his name, art, commerce and invention have undergone their own renaissance

Milan inspired the architect, inventor and engineer that was in Leonardo da Vinci. Though he painted masterpieces like The Last Supper and the Virgin of the Rocks during the 17 years he spent working for Ludovico Sforza, the city’s warlike duke, it was the interface between art and science, the creative and the technical, that drove the Renaissance genius during his long sojourn in the northern Italian city.

Da Vinci became Sforza’s go-to producer of theatrical pageants, working across the board on texts, backdrops, direction and stage machinery. His notebooks from his time in Milan are full of designs for instruments of war, flying machines, hydraulic engineering projects and possible solutions to artistic challenges – like how to cast a 75-tonne bronze equestrian monument in one piece.

Alberto Bernasconi

In 2019, the year that marks the 500th anniversary of the Tuscan artist’s death, a series of exhibitions and other initiatives are rolling out citywide. But there’s no need to delve into the past to celebrate the way Milan fed Da Vinci’s roving creativity. In this stimulating city, innovation, a talent for design and an innate sense of taste and beauty have long gone hand in hand.

You only have to stand in the city’s civic heart, Piazza del Duomo, to feel the energy pulsing through its historical layers. Dominating the square, the Duomo’s thousands of marble statues, spires and pinnacles give the exterior and roof of Milan’s cathedral a fairytale aspect.

DeAgostini/Getty Images

Getting those statues up there required serious engineering skill – as did the construction of another Piazza del Duomo architectural marvel, the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, inaugurated in 1878. One of the world’s first shopping malls, this elegant space with its airy, iron and glass roof was soon dubbed il salotto di Milano (‘Milan’s living room’). In early years, locals would gather by the gallery’s central crossing at dusk to admire the lighting of the gas lanterns, performed by an ingenious tiny train that ran on a track beneath the central octagon.

The Galleria is still a lively social and commercial hub where you’ll find two Milanese icons: the original Prada shop, which opened in 1913, and the Camparino bar – a mirror, marble and mahogany jewel from 1915 that stands at the gallery entrance, where it waylays home-bound Milanese bankers and La Scala-bound operagoers with its Negroni and Americano cocktails. In February 2018, Milanese superstar chef Carlo Cracco moved his restaurant Cracco to an opulent, multilevel space inside the Galleria. Come for experiments in food that are positively Da Vinci-esque – like the tagliatelle ‘pasta’ made from marinated egg yolk.

Left image: Galleria Vittorio .Credit: Alberto Bernasconi; Right image: Carlo Cracco . Credit: Alberto Bernasconi

Many of Milan’s 20th century landmarks dialogue with the language of the past: that’s a distinctive Milanese touch. The overhanging top section of the Torre Velasca residential and office tower, built by BBPR in the 1950s, nods to the buttressed upper floors of Lombardy’s medieval castles, while architect Gio Ponti’s slender Pirelli Tower with its innovative prism floorplan, inaugurated in 1960 as Italy’s tallest building, proved skyscrapers didn’t need to be anonymous four-sided blocks. The Pirelli Tower’s height record was eclipsed when César Pelli’s 231-metre-tall Unicredit Tower opened in 2011, its LED-coated, illuminated spire echoing the Duomo’s Madonnina pinnacle. Also in the Porta Nuova business district stands the Bosco Verticale, a pair of residential towers by architect Stefano Boeri that inventor and innovator Da Vinci would have loved: each one is, as the name suggests, a vertical forest, its exterior decked with a carbon dioxide-guzzling jungle of 20,000 plants, including no less than 900 trees.

Wander back towards the centre from Porta Nuova to appreciate some of the smaller but no less telling ways in which this restless city expresses its creativity. A courtyard and adjoining premises once occupied by a car repair shop were turned into Milan’s first concept store in the 1990s by Carla Sozzani, sister of the late Vogue Italia director Franca. And 10 Corso Como is a stellar example of the genre: a design boutique, gallery, restaurant, cafe, bookshop and three-room hotel in which each space and function riffs off the others in an utterly convincing and original mix. In nearby Via Solferino, Dry is a tenebrous speakeasy out front and industrial-chic pizzeria behind. A florist that’s also a Parisian-style bistro; Princi, a humble bakery in Piazza XXV Aprile that architect and designer Claudio Silvestrin turned into a remarkable minimalist work of art – Milan is full of these little acts of invention that twist and challenge the norm.

Left image: Hangar Bicocca. Credit: Alberto Bernasconi; Right image: Bosco Verticale .Credit: Chris Barbalis/Unsplash

This must be the only city in the world where a furniture fair is an excuse for a week-long party that attracts the same global glitterati and cultural mavens who descend on Basel, Miami Beach and Hong Kong for Art Basel. But the Salone del Mobile in April is no ordinary furniture fair. Hardly any of those movers and shakers bother to trek out to the trade show in Rho, northeast of the city. They stay in town for the fringe Fuorisalone events that take over shops, garages, deconsecrated churches and former industrial spaces like the Tadao Ando-designed Teatro Armani and Armani/Silos in Zona Tortona – once a warehouse and factory belt, today a thriving district of start-ups and creative studios.

The repurposing of Milan’s industrial heritage also lies behind two of the city’s most exciting contemporary art spaces. At the Fondazione Prada in the city’s southern suburbs, Rem Koolhaas’ OMA architecture studio has transformed an abandoned distillery into an art campus that hosts exhibitions, film screenings and events. Part of the foundation’s permanent collection is displayed in the Haunted House, a former brewing silo clad entirely in gold leaf, while the deliciously retro Bar Luce, designed by film director Wes Anderson, harks whimsically back to Italian seaside design of the 1960s. At the other end of the city, a decommissioned locomotive factory is now Hangar Bicocca, whose vast, echoing sheds play host to a series of exhibitions alongside a stunning permanent work, The Seven Heavenly Palaces by German artist Anselm Kiefer.

Left image: Milan, coffee time at Camparino Bar in Piazza del Duomo. Credit: Alberto Bernasconi; Right image: Milan Gadget at Starbucks Starbucks Reserve Roastery. Credit: Alberto Bernasconi

The recently restored and relaunched Triennale Museum celebrates the city’s design history, but the most essential Milanese experience for fans of classic 20th century design lies inside a modest private apartment on Piazza Castello. Achille Castiglioni was the Da Vinci of the modern Milanese design world, and his former studio and residence is now a house-museum, open for guided visits from Tuesday to Friday, often conducted in person by Castiglioni’s daughter Giovanna. Here you can see the prototypes of playful designs like the Mezzadro and Sella stools for Zanotta – based on a tractor seat and a bicycle saddle respectively – or the original drawings Castiglioni made for the iconic Arco lamp. Most delightful of all is the collection of found objects the designer used for inspiration – like a rural milking stool, which he would show to his design students to teach them about the beauty of simplicity. Da Vinci would have fitted in just fine here – you can imagine him and Castiglioni swapping ideas, telescoping 500 years into a lively chat on a sunny Milanese afternoon.  

Alberto Bernasconi

Da Vinci event highlights in Milan

Kicking off in May 2019, a number of exhibitions, shows and concerts celebrate the life of Milan’s most famous resident

Universal History Archive/Getty Images

Show: Being Leonardo da Vinci. An impossible interview

Massimiliano Finazzer Flory plays Da Vinci and traces the main events of the artist’s life, art and poetics

2-5 May 2019, Piccolo Teatro Studio Melato

Multimedia experience: Virtual Museum of Leonardo’s Milan

Take a tour of Da Vinci’s Milan through a virtual map cross-referencing the great artist’s legacy that still exists today

16 May 2019-12 January 2020, Castello Sforzesco, Museo d’Arte Antica, Sala delle Armi

Art installation: Leonardo’s Horse

Enjoy modern reinterpretations of this iconic sculpture, with a customised app providing additional insights

May-November 2019, Ippodromo di San Siro SNAI

Concert: Gaffurio and the Maestros of the Chapel in the Duomo di Milano at Leonardo’s time

A recreation of the sounds that would have inspired Da Vinci

17 June 2019, Basilica di Santa Maria delle Grazie

Exhibition: Leonardo’s Last Supper for Francis I: A Masterpiece of Silk and Silver

One of the first copies of the artist’s Last Supper is exhibited for the first time after its restoration

7 October-17 November 2019, Palazzo Reale, Milan

Cathay Pacific flies to Milan from Hong Kong seven times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book