商務旅行

頂級商務酒店: 科倫坡香格里拉大酒店

這家時尚酒店坐落在海濱步道前,吸引商務豪客在夕陽中慢步

編者按:科倫坡香格里拉大酒店於2019年復活節發生爆炸事件後關閉,直至另行通知。

斯里蘭卡長達數十年的內戰在2009年終告結束,這個熱帶島國的首都隨即大興土木,不少新建築拔地而起,當中包括科倫坡香格里拉大酒店,它設有多達500間客房和套房,還有41間服務式公寓和六間酒吧食肆;其中Kaema Sutra是城中最熱門的餐廳,入夜後吸引當地無數社交活躍分子,還有不少商務豪客。

地點

酒店前臨浪濤滾滾的印度洋,沿岸是宜人的海濱步道Galle Face Green Promenade,當地家庭亦會在此休憩,迎著夕陽踢足球或放風箏。即將落成的城市擴建計劃 Port City,雖難免阻礙酒店某些房間的景觀,卻也確保了酒店位處市中心的地理優勢。事實上,酒店矗立於金融樞紐地段,與世貿中心為鄰,主要火車站及時尚的Dutch Hospital購物中心就在附近。

房間

Markus Gortz

印度洋的醉人景致伴隨熱帶的燦爛陽光,透過落地玻璃窗映進以天藍色和泥黃色為主調的客房中。辦公桌空間充裕,而迷你酒吧則免費提供各款錫蘭紅茶。帶有橙花油和茉莉花香的Spa Ceylon沐浴產品,洋溢濃濃的斯里蘭卡風情。

設施

Markus Gortz

酒店除了可舉辦最多容納1,440位賓客的宴會及超過3,000人的雞尾酒會,亦提供各適其適的會議及聯誼空間,包括中菜館香宮內飾上漆木、氣氛時尚的貴賓廳,以及位於32樓Horizon Club Lounge的三間會議室。地下大堂區Connect設有室內和戶外工作空間,歡迎所有住客享用。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往科倫坡的航班,每周有七班

Business Travel

Top business hotel: Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo

Situated in front of an oceanfront promenade, this stylish hotel is a magnet for locals and business travellers alike

Editor’s update: the Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo is closed until further notice in the aftermath of the 2019 Easter bombings in Sri Lanka.

The end of Sri Lanka’s decades-long civil war in 2009 unleashed a bevy of construction in the equatorial isle’s capital city. Soaring above the current building boom, the Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo boasts 500 guest rooms and suites, plus 41 serviced apartments. Six bars and restaurants include Kaema Sutra, the city’s most talked-about culinary address and an after-dark magnet for sociable locals and business travellers alike.

Location 

Shangri-La Hotel Colombo

Indian Ocean waves unfurl just across the street along the charming Galle Face Green Promenade, where families come at sunset to kick footballs and fly kites. Port City, an urban expansion project, will eventually block some room views; yet it also ensures the centrality of the hotel, already well-placed near the World Trade Center finance hub, the main train station and the trendy Dutch Hospital shopping complex.

The Rooms

Shangri-La Hotel Colombo
Markus Gortz

Indian Ocean views and tropical sunlight pour in through wall-length windows in many of the blue and sand-hued guest rooms. Elongated workstations offer plenty of space to spread out, while the minibars get stocked with a generous, complimentary supply of Ceylon teas. Spa Ceylon bath products scented with neroli oil and jasmine offer another local touch.

Facilities

Shangri-La Hotel Colombo
Markus Gortz

While this hotel can seat banquets of up to 1,440 guests and host cocktail receptions for over 3,000, its intimate spaces are the most interesting, from stylishly lacquered private dining rooms at Chinese restaurant Shang Palace to the three boardrooms inside the 32nd-floor Horizon Club Lounge. The ground-level Connect area offers indoor and outdoor work spaces, available to all staying guests. 

Cathay Pacific flies to Colombo from Hong Kong seven times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book