餐飲美食

東瀛補身藥酒

身體不適?宿醉?疲勞?無論你有什麼毛病,總有一種藥酒可以幫助你。在東京,傳統的日本藥酒與21世紀的雞尾酒文化混合出一種新風味

我在東京某個住宅區內迷了路,兜兜轉轉走了20分鐘,終於找到三軒茶屋藥酒Bar酒吧。酒保花村奈奈子見我竟然可以找到她的酒吧,表示大為佩服。

她問:「你究竟是怎樣找到這裡來的?」這個酒吧地方狹小,吧檯旁只放得下幾個座位,跟新宿黃金街那些微型酒吧差不多。這種酒吧大多是老闆用來與三五知己小酌,但又不必離家到別處去。酒吧的架子上擺了無數的玻璃瓶,每一個都附有手寫的日文標籤,裡面裝著半瓶清澈的液體,液體裡泡著各種我不認識的材料。

我需要有杯酒下肚,但不是隨便什麼酒都可以,我要一杯有益健康的酒。我前來這裡是想治癒我的毛病,我是為了這一瓶瓶的藥酒而來的。

Tokyo-Bars-1
Andrew Faulk

藥酒顧名思義,就是用藥材浸泡而成的酒。浸製藥酒的方法是將藥材、花朵以至其他古靈精怪的材料用酒浸泡,通常都會用日本的烈酒燒酎。材料浸在酒內,為酒添上味道,而據說酒亦能將材料內有益的物質釋放出來。

藥酒其實並不是什麼新鮮事物,它的歷史跟人類使用酒精和藥材的歷史一樣長,而三軒茶屋藥酒Bar酒吧自2006年便以藥酒奉客。

不過藥酒卻在東京日益受歡迎。東京人對健康非常注重,因此向古法尋求靈感,並將昔日人們臨睡前喝一杯的平凡藥酒,變成新潮時尚的飲品。

這種新式藥酒對我極具吸引力,因為我本來想以中藥來調理身體,可是卻難以接受一碗滾熱的苦茶。因此若能將有益的草藥統統泡進一杯酒裡,那真是再好不過了。

Tokyo-Bars-3
Andrew Faulk
Tokyo-Bars-2
Andrew Faulk

但是該飲哪種藥酒好呢?我的徵狀是什麼?如何消除這些徵狀?我要靠酒保花村來為我解答。她建議我從最平易近人的紫蘇藥酒開始,據說有助紓緩緊張和壓力,最宜於狂歡和大飲大食的假期後用來調養身體。

她將玻璃瓶打開,舀了幾杓酒進放了冰塊的酒杯內。一陣紫蘇的氣味微微散發出來,清香四溢,跟我常飲的苦茶截然不同。三杯下肚之後,尋找這家酒吧時的緊張心情已經被拋到九霄雲外去了。

花村對我說,酒吧內40多種藥酒全部都是自家浸泡的。她說:「基酒主要是燒酎,也有威士忌。有時會用上冧酒或龍舌蘭酒,我們可以用任何一種烈酒來浸藥酒的。」以往的人會一口就將整杯藥酒喝掉,現在的人則會細品慢嚐其中的滋味。藥材味較濃的藥酒,就會加點薑味汽水將苦味沖淡;至於帶花香味的,加點湯力水可以提升味道。

玻璃瓶內的藥酒有些浸著杞子(有益肝臟),有些浸著薑(有助排汗及幫助消化),也有浸著海帶(幫助增強免疫系統和降低膽固醇),在這堆瓶子之間,有一瓶氣味十分濃烈的燒酎,瓶底盤著一條蛇。據說這種酒有助男性壯陽的功效。花村說:「用花和葉來浸酒大約需要三日,但是根莖類和種子——尤其是又乾又硬的種子,最好浸一個月左右。但是蛇就要浸一年。」也許這種酒氣味濃烈就是這個緣故。

Toyko-Bars-4
Andrew Faulk
Tokyo-Bars-5
Andrew Faulk

位於淺草的梵字吧有三蛇酒,以及能導致幻覺的皮約特仙人掌自家浸製的龍舌蘭酒。這都是全天然材料,不過我情願選擇沒有什麼迷幻成分的藥酒,因為我想要的不過是一帖良藥。於是我前往位於新宿一幢不起眼的大廈九樓的Bar Ben Fiddich去,喝一杯由老闆鹿山博康調製的特色藥酒。不過與其說他是藥酒調酒師,倒不如說他是個懂魔法的調酒師。酒吧內燈光幽暗,裝潢以木材為主,有個架子上排滿了橙味烈酒、苦艾酒與茴香酒的舊瓶子,上面一排則有許多玻璃瓶子,裡面裝著藥酒和各式浸酒用的材料。鹿山以各種香草組成複雜的配方,加上日式調酒師的優雅動作和手法,調製出一杯味道恰到好處、無懈可擊的雞尾酒,單看調酒的過程,已是賞心悅目。

他拿著一枝乾艾草花,下面放一個雞尾酒調酒器,然後直接將枝上的花捏碎,讓花掉到調酒器內。這時他對我說,過去十多年,他都在家族位於東京以北埼玉縣的農場內種植調酒所需的材料。他特別喜歡艾草,以及各種與苦艾酒相關的材料。他說:「在日本這個市場十分細小,但我想令這個市場增長。我喜歡苦艾酒的歷史、香氣和味道。」

Toyko-Bars-8
Andrew Faulk
Toyko-Bars-7
Andrew Faulk

我對他說想來點味道特別的雞尾酒。他微微一笑,向助手做了一個手勢,助手於是在架子上裝著材料的玻璃瓶中翻尋一陣,然後逐一拿下來,在我面前排成一列,起碼有十種之多。瓶中的材料有些我認得,例如芫荽子、豆蔻、藏茴香、零陵香豆等;但有很多看似根部和莖部的東西,我都不知道叫什麼名堂。不過後來我找到答案了,原來這些是菖蒲、白芷和當藥,對紓解消化不良及保持心臟健康等均有幫助。

這時鹿山取出研缽和杵,然後這裡取一撮,那裡拿一點,將它們放進缽裡。接著他再撒進幾團褐色的東西,對我說是胭脂蟲,也就是食用染料胭脂紅素的來源。他將缽中所有材料研磨一會之後,再加進一份伏特加,這團看似泥漿的混合物馬上變出濃艷的血紅色。他將這份混合物搖動一番,過濾之後倒進冰凍的酒杯內,再加點湯力水後遞給我,並做了個輕描淡寫的手勢說:「這是我新鮮調製的Campari雞尾酒。」

Toyko-Bars-10
Andrew Faulk
Toyko-Bars-9
Andrew Faulk

這杯酒味道如何?真是好得無以復加。一杯Campari梳打雞尾酒內有許多細緻的味道,但是這一杯的味道更新鮮。各種材料的味道在口腔內互相盤旋,在短短一瞬間我可以將各種味道逐一分辨出來:一點豆蔻香,濃烈的木味等等,然後這些味道又消失得無影無蹤了。

外面新宿霓虹閃爍的繁華世界彷彿遠在天邊,我看著眼前的研缽和杵,還有酒杯,感到內心有股深深的平靜。我問鹿山,他這種以植物為本的調酒方式,背後有什麼理念,他的答案很簡單。他說:「就是注重味道和傳統」。將浸酒的材料以足夠的時間浸製,自然就會變成有益的藥酒。

至於藥酒的益處,我還未完全感受得到,不過為了「味道和傳統」,我樂意再來一杯。

本文原於2018年2月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

有用資訊

三軒茶屋藥酒Bar酒吧

世田谷區三軒茶屋二丁目13-20

Bonji Bar 梵字吧

台東區淺草三丁目36-4

Bar Ben Fiddich 酒吧

新宿區西新宿一丁目13-7

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Tokyo’s medicinal liquor revolution

Ill? Hungover? Exhausted? There’s a yakushu for that. In Tokyo, these traditional Japanese medicinal liqueurs are mixing with 21st century cocktail culture. ADAM WHITE orders one (or three). Photography by ANDREW FAULK

I’ve been lost for a good 20 minutes in a residential corner of Tokyo before I finally find Yakushu Bar Sangenjaya. Bartender Nanako Hanamura is impressed that I’ve managed to track down her bar at all.

‘How the hell did you find us?’ she asks. The place is tiny, no more than a few seats at a counter – more like the microbars of Shinjuku’s Golden Gai. It’s the kind of place the owner set up so they could drink with their friends without having to leave the house. Countless glass jars line the shelves – each with a hand-written label in Japanese, each half-full of a different mysterious ingredient, steeped in clear liquid.

I need a drink. But not just any drink. It’s for my health, you see. I’m here to be cured. I’m here for these jars of yakushu.

Yakushu means ‘medicinal liqueur’. They’re preparations of medicinal herbs, flowers or more outlandish ingredients, steeped in alcohol – most commonly shochu, the Japanese distilled liquor. The ingredient flavours the alcohol, and the booze unlocks its benefits. Supposedly.

This isn’t a new thing: medicinal liqueurs have been in use as long as mankind has had alcohol and medicine, and Yakushu Bar Sangenjaya has been serving these tinctures for 12 years.

But yakushu has become increasingly popular in the Japanese capital of late. A health-conscious Tokyo is looking to the past for inspiration, and it’s turning yakushu from boring old nightcap into trendy new concoction.

The approach appeals to me. I struggle with traditional Chinese medicine because it’s usually served as a hot, bitter soup – but if you could infuse all that herbal goodness into a shot of booze, then what’s not to like?


But what to have? What are my symptoms, and how can they be alleviated? I have to rely on bartender Hanamura, who suggests an easy starter drink: shiso leaf (also known as perilla), said to help with anxiety and stress. It’s the ideal holiday detox.

She pops the jar open and strains a couple of ladlesful into a glass over ice. A gentle note of shiso rises up. Light, fragrant and aromatic, it’s far from the bitter brews I’m used to in Asian medicine. Three of these, and the stress of finding the place would be a distant memory.

Hanamura explains that all of her 40-some kinds of yakushu are made in-house. ‘The base is mostly shochu, and some whisky, too. Sometimes I make liqueurs with rum or tequila – we can make yakushu with any spirit,’ she says. While in the past you might have knocked back a shot of the stuff, these days the drinks are for sipping. For the stronger medicinal brews, a touch of ginger ale alleviates the bitterness. For the more floral ones, some tonic provides contrast.

Alongside the jars full of goji berry (for the liver), ginger (for perspiration and digestion) and seaweed (good for the immune system and lowering cholesterol), is a jar of pungent shochu where a snake lies coiled at the bottom. It’s purported to have an invigorating effect on – what else? – the male libido. ‘Flowers and leaves need about three days to steep, but roots and seeds – especially dry and hard seeds – are better to leave for about a month,’ explains Hanamura. ‘Snakes you should leave for a year.’ That probably explains the smell.

To Cat Street in Harajuku, the heart of Tokyo’s street fashion scene. But there’s another cat in the neighbourhood: the eclectic Gatosano (that’s ‘healthy cat’ in Spanish). By day, Gatosano is a health-oriented cafe and art space. In the evening, head upstairs to the cosy-cool bar for a spot of detox drinking with occasional DJ beats – the venue hosts underground music nights. With art on the walls and a grown-up rock-hippie vibe, this is the bar for party animals who just… need a moment.

Gatosano serves around 40 varieties of yakushu, from the comprehensible – lavender for stress, migraine mitigation and insomnia relief – to the rather more unusual Solomon’s seal root for ‘fatigue recovery and nutritional fortification’.

Owner, bartender and DJ/event promoter Jyouji Takada suggests a preserved tangerine peel infusion, cut with a bit of soda water – it’s good for loss of appetite and low blood pressure. I’ve never suffered from either symptom, but the drink has a fragrant richness that I’d usually associate with a soup base. What better for the soul?

Medicine is what you make of it. In Asakusa, Bonji Bar stocks three-snake liquors and homemade peyote tequila: it’s all natural, I would argue. But I stick to less psychoactive forms of self-medication, and so seek out Hiroyasu Kayama: less medicinal drinks maker, more alcoholic alchemist. He’s the owner of Bar Ben Fiddich, on the ninth floor of a nondescript building in Shinjuku. In this dark, woody space, jars of yakushu infusions and dry ingredients sit above antique bottles of triple sec, absinthe and pastis. With these tools Kayama creates precise, flawless cocktails in the Japanese mode – with a side order of intricate herbalism.

He crumbles dried wormwood flowers straight from a branch into a cocktail shaker, explaining that for the past 10 years he’s been growing ingredients on his family farm in Saitama prefecture, north of Tokyo. He’s particularly keen on wormwood and all things absinthe. ‘It’s a small market in Japan, but I want to grow the market. I like the history, the aroma, the taste,’ he explains.


I ask to try something interesting. He smiles and gestures to his assistant, who turns and pulls jar after jar of dry ingredients from the shelf, lining them up on the bar in front of me – at least 10 in total. Some of the contents I recognise – that’s coriander seed, cardamom, caraway, tonka bean – and many I don’t. There’s a whole host of vague roots and rhizomes. (Calamus, angelica and senburi, I later discover. They’re good for indigestion and heart health, among other things.)

Kayama pulls out a pestle and mortar and gets to work: a little of this, a sprinkle of that. He shakes in a few brown lumps, explaining that they’re cochineal beetles – the critters originally used to create red carmine dye. A brief grind and then a measure of vodka, and this muddy mix transforms, blooming into luscious, blood-red life. He shakes, strains and pours my brew into an iced glass, topped up with tonic and presented with an understated flourish: ‘My fresh Campari cocktail.’


How does it taste? Extraordinary. There are many of the notes you’d expect from a Campari soda, but it’s fresher. The ingredients swirl around each other, and in fleeting moments I can distinguish the individual flavours – a touch of cardamom, a gritty woody note – before they dance away again.

The neon charm of Shinjuku is a universe away. At the bottom of this mortar and pestle, at the bottom of this glass, a deep calm descends. I ask Kayama about the thinking behind his botany-led approach to cocktails. His answer is simple. ‘Taste and history,’ he says. Take your ingredients, steep them for as long as you need, and let the benefits blossom.

As for what those benefits are – well, I don’t exactly feel cured just yet. But for the sake of ‘taste and history’, I’m willing to get another round in.

Need to know

Yakushu Bar Sangenjaya

2 Chome-13-20 Sangenjaya, Setagaya


3 Chome-20-6 Jingumae, Shibuya

Bonji Bar

3 Chome-36-4 Asakusa, Taitō

Bar Ben Fiddich

1 Chome-13-7 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku

Cathay Pacific flies to Tokyo from Hong Kong and Taipei 35 times a week


Discover More

Cathay Travell Book


Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book