極致奢華

薈萃堂: 心水腕錶精選

香港鐘錶業再現好景,瑞士的頂尖品牌亦紛紛推出以新穎創意與精湛工藝製作的新款腕錶

瑞士鐘錶工業聯合會(FH)最新發表的報告指出,去年瑞士出口到香港的高級鐘錶錄得「持續不斷的升幅」。

今年3月,出口額就已比去年同期飆升10.2%,總額逾2.3億瑞士法郎(18億港元)。

不過,業內景況並非一直都是如此美好,瑞士鐘錶業在2014年至2016年期間呈現萎縮的狀態。根據FH的數據顯示,全球出口額於2015年下跌3.2%,翌年再下跌9.9%。原因何在?

出口下滑的主要地區是亞洲,尤以中國和香港為甚。2014年,瑞士鐘錶出口至香港的數字直攀巔峰,達41億瑞士法郎(326億港元),令香港成為全球最大的瑞士鐘錶進口地。然而到了2016年年中,數字大幅削減十億,本來被香港遠遠拋離而屈居次席的美國則迎頭趕上,佔據鐘錶出口目的地的榜首位置。

不過,形勢於2017年3月再見起色。及至年底,出口至香港和中國的數字分別大幅攀升6%和18.8%,這個趨勢至今仍然持續,根據今年3月FH的報告顯示,新加坡和日本亦同樣報捷,分別上升8.4%和13.3%。

這些數字令瑞士鐘錶製造商略為鬆一口氣,但他們仍需努力開拓商機。只要與頂級鐘錶品牌的行政總裁交談,就會了解他們最強大的武器,就是新穎創意和絕不屈服的精神。他們會說瑞士人從不輕言放棄,反而會致力構思嶄新理念和產品,為顧客帶來驚喜。鐘錶業立足瑞士300年,顯示他們的確對這個產業瞭如指掌。

鐘錶品牌如RichardMille總是不斷推出超級腕錶,突破傳統界限,例如巧奪天工的年度力作RM 53-01 Tourbillon Pablo Mac Donough腕錶;多家品牌亦堅持演繹雋永經典,例如萬寶龍推出的新版1858系列腕錶。

以下為你介紹幾款今年最出類拔萃的新作。

百年靈Navitimer 8 Chronograph 43腕錶

Mike Pickles. Styling by Jowie Chan

今年,百年靈可謂脫胎換骨。自從2017年被私募基金公司CVC Capital Partners收購後,迎來新任行政總裁和全新標誌,並制定全新的市場營銷理念(店內不再擺放體態豐滿的女子騎著魚雷的雕塑),更推出一系列新款腕錶,當中多款都特別針對中國市場,意圖打破品牌過往無法於該市場穩佔一席位的局面。打響頭炮的是新款的Navitimer計時碼錶系列,設計與百年靈於1952年推出的航空腕錶一脈相承,該款腕錶於面世後即成為同類腕錶的經典。

全新型號外型更精巧,設計亦更顯含蓄細緻,並且分成兩大類別。首個類別配備百年靈自家研發的B01計時碼錶機芯和雙色錶盤,價格不菲。圖中所示的型號屬於另一類別,採用其他製造商製造的機芯,配備單色錶盤和密實的底蓋,定價比前者低三分之一。百年靈過去十年不惜工本研發自家製機芯,但高昂的價格令新一代顧客望而卻步,這個全新類別正是為了吸引這批顧客而設。

名士 Clifton Baumatic 5 Days – Chronometer腕錶

Mike Pickles. Styling by Jowie Chan

近年來,多個大型品牌紛紛積極投放心血,改善其腕錶的日常功能,令腕錶更耐用。勞力士和歐米茄先聲奪人,推出新款兼備報時和日期功能的腕錶,更在準確性、自動功能及耐用三方面提供前所未聞的保證。緊隨其後的是名士,這個品牌是歷峰集團的新成員,該集團旗下的品牌包括卡地亞、IWC萬國錶和江詩丹頓。名士全新的Baumatic機芯提供強化版的五天動力儲備,精密計時認證的準確度可達每日誤差介乎慢4秒至快6秒之間,防磁度達到1,500高斯,建議每五年才需要進行一次保養。這些強大功能歸功於由歷峰集團旗下公司開發的多項技術,而這枚腕錶的最大賣點是其定價。相宜的入門價格是名士的宗旨之一,而名士對創意重視的程度,亦鮮少競爭對手能與之比擬。

帝舵表1926系列

Mike Pickles. Styling by Jowie Chan

要了解帝舵表全新系列名稱背後的意義,就得花點時間了解該公司的歷史,因為這個品牌與勞力士均由同一人創辦。1920年代中期,Hans Wilsdorf發現其勞力士腕錶已非大部分顧客所能負擔,於是創辦了另一個價格更相宜,卻同樣準確可靠的腕錶品牌,那就是帝舵表。儘管帝舵表的名稱於二戰前甚少使用,其實早於1926年已首次出現於腕錶上,而這個全新系列正是因此而得名。1926系列無疑十分商業化,備有四種尺寸,由28毫米至41毫米不等,並有多款錶盤設計可供選擇。圖中所見的款式配備不銹鋼錶殼和錶帶、銀色錶盤和自動上鍊機芯。帝舵表於2000年代一度陷入低潮,現在懷著雄心壯志東山再起,並期望這款功能完備的腕錶能夠在世界各地重振品牌的聲望。

天梭表Chemin des Tourelles系列Powermatic 80腕錶

Mike Pickles. Styling by Jowie Chan

瑞士製錶翹楚天梭表秉持改善旗下腕錶基本日常功能的宗旨,推出備受矚目的Powermatic 80機械機芯,由擁有歐米茄、浪琴和寶璣等品牌的母公司Swatch Group集團研發,配備80小時動力儲備。一般機械腕錶的動力儲備約為40小時,但在天梭表動力澎湃的旗艦腕錶Chemindes Tourelles面前,就顯得小巫見大巫。根據鐘錶界慣常的說法,配備80小時動力儲備的機械腕錶即使在周末將之閒置,仍然可於星期一早上即時戴上,無需重新設定和上鍊。其他配備同樣優點的品牌價錢都較昂貴,但天梭表卻是例外。這款鍍玫瑰金型號,就是一款價錢實惠、性能優秀的瑞士腕錶。

Leading luxury

Time in Hong Kong: Luxury watches are back

It’s boomtown in the Hong Kong watch market again – and the finest Swiss manufacturers are producing ever more innovative and daring models. ROBIN SWITHINBANK reveals his favourite new releases of 2018. Styling by JOWIE CHAN, photography by MIKE PICKLES

Hong Kong has enjoyed ‘sustained and uninterrupted growth’ over the past year in fine watch imports, according to the latest report from the Federation of the Swiss Watch Industry (FH).

In March, exports to Hong Kong bounced 10.2 per cent year on year, reaching more than 230 million Swiss francs (HK$1.8 billion).

But things weren’t always this rosy. Between 2014 and 2016, the market was in decline. According to the trade body, global exports plunged almost 3.2 per cent in 2015 and a further 9.9 per cent the following year. What happened?

Much, if not most, of the damage was done in Asia, and in China and Hong Kong in particular. In 2014, exports to Hong Kong peaked at 4.1 billion Swiss francs (HK$32.6 billion), making the territory the world’s largest importer of Swiss watches. But in mid-2016, that figure had dropped by a billion and the US, once a distant second, usurped Hong Kong at the top of the watch import pile.

Then in March 2017, things perked up. By the end of that year, exports to Hong Kong and China were up by an exuberant six and 18.8 per cent respectively. And the trend continues. The same is true of Singapore (up 8.4 per cent) and Japan (13.3 per cent), according to the March FH report.

The numbers have brought some relief to Swiss watchmakers, although there’s still work to do. Talk to the chief executives of top brands and they’ll say that their most powerful weapons are innovation and sheer bloody-mindedness. The Swiss don’t give in easily, they’ll say; instead, they think of new ideas and new products that their customers will be excited by. Three centuries of business suggest they know their onions.

While brands like Richard Mille will always push boundaries with hyperwatches like this year’s unfathomable RM 53-01 Tourbillon Pablo Mac Donough, many others are sticking to tried-and-tested classics, like Montblanc with its updated 1858 collection.

Here are some of this year’s most impressive releases.

Breitling Navitimer 8 Chronograph 43

Breitling Navitimer 8 Chronograph 43, chosen few

It’s all change at Breitling this year. Following a buyout by private equity group CVC Capital Partners in 2017, the company has a new chief executive, a new logo, a new marketing philosophy (gone are the Rubenesque women straddling torpedoes) and a suite of new watches, many of which are targeted at the Chinese market in particular, where historically it hasn’t enjoyed a firm footing. Leading the charge is the new range of Navitimer chronographs, all descended from Breitling’s genre-defining pilot’s watch first seen in 1952.

The new models are more modestly proportioned and more sober, and split into two categories. The first are powered by Breitling’s in-house B01 calibre chronograph movement and have two-tone dials. For these, you’ll pay a premium. The second, including the model pictured here, are powered by third-party movements, have mono dials and solid case backs, and are almost a third lower in price, the aim being to entice a new generation of customers previously priced out by Breitling’s budget-burning, decade-long in-house movement programme. breitling.com

Baume et Mercier Clifton Baumatic 5 Days – Chronometer

Baume et Mercier Clifton Baumatic 5 Days – Chronometer, chosen few

In recent years, a number of big brands have invested heavily in improving the daily and lifetime performance of their watches. Rolex and Omega have led the way, releasing time and date watches with movements that offer previously unheard of guarantees of accuracy, autonomy and reliability. Next in line is Baume et Mercier, the baby in the Richemont stable of companies that includes Cartier, IWC and Vacheron Constantin. Its new Baumatic movement promises a beefed-up five-day power reserve, chronometer-certified accuracy of -4 to +6 seconds a day, anti-magnetism of 1,500 gauss and recommended service intervals of five years. A number of technologies developed by companies under the Richemont umbrella have made these possible, as well as the watch’s trump card: its price. Accessibility is a Baume et Mercier pillar, and few can touch the Baumatic’s value to innovation ratio. baume-et-mercier.com

Tudor 1926

Tudor 1926, chosen few

To understand the name behind Tudor’s new collection, it pays to know a little of the company’s history, which shows it was founded by the same man who created Rolex. By the mid-1920s, Hans Wilsdorf had sussed out that his Rolex watches were out of reach for many of his customers, so he created a more affordable brand that he could still market as accurate and reliable: Tudor. Although the name Tudor was used sparingly until after the Second World War, it first appeared on a watch in 1926, hence the name of this new line. The 1926 is undeniably commercial, coming in four sizes (from 28mm to 41mm) and with a wide choice of dials. This model, which has a stainless steel case and bracelet and a silver dial, is powered by an automatic movement. After a slump in the 2000s, Tudor is resurgent and ambitious – it will be hoping this all-rounder gives it leverage in countries all over the world. tudorwatch.com

Tissot Chemin des Tourelles Powermatic 80

Tissot Chemin des Tourelles Powermatic 80, chosen few

In keeping with the theme of improving the basic daily function of its timepieces, Swiss watchmaking giant Tissot continues to roll out its punchy Powermatic 80, a mechanical movement developed by parent company Swatch Group (Omega, Longines and Breguet among others) that delivers a thumping 80-hour power reserve. Power reserves in mechanical watches are typically around 40 hours, a figure that looks increasingly flaccid alongside the energy stores offered by the likes of Tissot’s flagship watch, the Chemin des Tourelles. The advantage, so watchmaking convention has it, is that a smart workday mechanical watch with a power reserve of 80 hours can be put to one side over a leisurely weekend and returned to a wrist on a Monday morning without needing to be reset and rewound. Many brands charge a fair sum for this privilege; but not Tissot. As this rose gold-plated model demonstrates, it’s perfectly possible to have a high-performance Swiss watch for a modest sum. tissotwatches.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book