國泰航空

第三條跑道對香港國際機場的意義

展望香港國際機場的未來,以及興建第三條跑道對香港旅遊業和國泰航空的意義

第一一

時值1998年7月,國泰航空一位年青的經理詹善仁在九龍啟德機場內,隨著最後一隊搬運器材的車隊出發,前往位於赤鱲角的香港國際機場。 .

他說:「我還記得當時是凌晨3點左右,我回望啟德機場,見到裡面的燈光最後一次熄滅。」

詹善仁現在是國泰航空的歐洲區總經理。隨著赤鱲角準備迎接下一輪的新發展,他見到公司總部的所在地有愈來愈多燈光亮起來。

興建第三條跑道是當務之急。港珠澳大橋會有連接機場的路段,意味著機場範圍內將會進行基建工程,直到2024年為止;按照計劃,屆時機場會以三條跑道來運作。

從商業發展潛力的角度來看,興建新跑道的意義何在?工程進行期間,無可避免會為顧客帶來不便,國泰航空會有哪些措施來減輕這些不便?國泰航空機場事務總經理余浩然(余)與香港及珠三角營業及分銷總經理黃瑋彤(黃)就此加以說明。

HK-Airport-third-runway
可按圖片放大

未來幾年機場會有什麼新發展?

余:三條跑道系統工程經已展開,其他相關工程亦在陸續進行。一號客運大樓的K行段及富豪機場酒店之間的範圍經擴建後,可增添一個全新行段,從而多設40個登機櫃位及兩條行李運輸帶。當這些工程於2019年完成後,二號客運大樓將會關閉,進行擴建工程,這是機場改建項目的一部分。二號客運大樓全部航空公司將會搬至一號客運大樓,你可以想像得到屆時大樓內繁忙的情況。

很多人以為第三條跑道於2022年落成時,機場就可馬上以三條跑道運作。但其實現時的北跑道將會停止使用,進行改建工程;此外,亦會加建全新的機場管制區大樓、行李運輸系統及旅客捷運系統。因此,機場會維持雙跑道運作至2024年。

國泰航空將會繼續留在一號客運大樓,因為我們需要充分運用所有泊位,以便確保運作暢順。

國泰航空與機場如何應付客運大樓內的擠迫繁忙情況?

余:客運大樓內將有更多供旅客辦理行李寄艙及登機手續的自助設施,包括新一代的自助登機專櫃及自助行李寄艙服務。此外,將來亦會設有保安檢查的電子通道。目前乘客要先向保安人員展示登機證及護照,再進行檢查。日後將會設有自動閘門,可以將安檢程序加快。首四道安檢自動閘門已於今年8月啟用。

明年,我們預期於登機閘口增設全新的自助登機程序。我們必須確保轉機的旅客亦可以使用這個程序,因為我們的乘客大約有半數會轉乘其他航班。我們目前正與機場管理局一起商討有關事宜。

Hong Kong International Airport

港珠澳大橋會帶來什麼改變?

黃:港珠澳大橋令珠江三角洲上的粵港澳大灣區交通更方便,當大橋在今年稍後落成後,我們可以更快捷的方式前往大灣區各地。這個地區面積為56,500平方公里,人口比英國還要多。

來自大灣區的乘客可以乘搭渡輪或從陸路前往香港國際機場,我們的目標是盡可能為他們提供最方便快捷的交通方式。現在乘搭渡輪前往香港國際機場已很輕鬆便捷。到了2022年,大灣區的乘客更可以選擇在珠海乘搭接駁巴士,直達機場禁區內。不過,開頭幾年他們仍需跟平時一樣,辦理過關手續。

會帶來什麼商機與挑戰?

黃:當中的潛力十分巨大。大灣區內的11個城市共有6,700萬人口,而且數目仍在不斷增長中,因此當中有大量商機。在深圳我們是廣為人認識,但是要從大灣區西部前來香港並不方便,人們情願取道澳門。不過在港珠澳大橋落成後,前來香港就方便得多了。

然而我們也有競爭對手。深圳一直都致力成為交通樞紐,那裡現在也有不少短途及長途的國際直航航線,例如前往洛杉磯和悉尼等城市的航班。

不過我們首先要發揮自己的強項,利用自己的航線網絡及班次競爭,例如我們每周大約有110班飛往北美的航班。

我們擁有的另一個優勢是乘客前來香港整個過程都十分有效率及暢順。我們的團隊目前正不斷努力,務求將整個過程的體驗進一步提升。而基建工程定能帶領我們朝正確的方向前進。

在未來的日子如何令旅客在香港國際機場有流暢方便的體驗?

余:首先,我們正改進網上預辦登機手續,令旅客使用時更感方便。同時,我們亦提供更多辦理登機手續的選擇;我們在大灣區的渡輪碼頭提供辦理登機手續的服務,日後全新的口岸設施亦會設有辦理登機的櫃檯。我們正與機場管理局及高鐵營運商進行商討,研究在西九龍站提供辦理登機手續的可行性。機場管理局亦提出討論,例如灣仔區的香港會議展覽中心舉行大型活動時,能否在市中心增設臨時登機櫃檯。

黃:作為航空公司,我們支持在西九龍站共用出入境櫃檯,這樣會令轉乘機場快綫的乘客節省時間。從商業層面來說,我們希望能為顧客提供套票式產品。目前我們推出了渡輪加機票的套票,未來我們會將巴士車票與機票結合,顧客只需一次過購買,整個旅程就不必分開多次購
票了。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

What a third runway means for Hong Kong International Airport

We’ve been celebrating the recent anniversary of Hong Kong International Airport. Now it’s time to look to the future. PHIL HEARD gets the latest from Lantau

It’s July 1998. A young Cathay Pacific manager called James Ginns is onboard the last of the convoys moving equipment from Kowloon’s Kai Tak Airport to the new Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) at Chek Lap Kok.

‘I remember looking back at around 3am and seeing the Kai Tak lights go out for the last time,’ he says.

James is now general manager Europe for the airline. But back at home base, more and more lights are being switched on as Chek Lap Kok prepares for its next growth spurt.

The construction of a third runway is at the forefront. Further work on the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge, which leads to the airport, means that there will be infrastructure work taking place in the area up until 2024, when the airport plans to start three-runway operations.

What does that mean in terms of the commercial potential, and how will Cathay Pacific protect the customer experience through an inevitable period of congestion? Patrick Yu (PY), general manager airport service delivery, and Patricia Hwang (PH), general manager sales and distribution, Hong Kong and Pearl River Delta, explain.

HK-Airport-third-runway
Click image to expand

What will be going on at the airport in the next couple of years?

PY: The Three-Runway System work has started and there are other bits of work underway. Terminal 1 is being extended between Aisle K and the Regal Hotel, which will bring a new aisle with 40 additional check-in desks and two baggage belts. As soon as these works are finished in 2019, Terminal 2 will be closed for expansion as part of the redevelopment programme. All the airlines from T2 will be merged into T1. You can imagine how busy it will be.

Many people think that three-runway operations will start as soon as the third runway is ready in 2022. The truth is, the current north runway will close for modification and a new airside terminal, baggage system and automated people mover will be built, so the airport will remain with two-runway operations until 2024.

Cathay Pacific will remain in T1 because we will need all the parking spaces we have for our operations.

How will Cathay Pacific and the airport deal with the congestion in the terminal?

PY: There will be more automation for passengers at check-in and boarding. This includes a new generation of check-in kiosks alongside the self-service bag drop. There will be security e-channels. Currently, you present a boarding pass and passport before going through screening. In future, there will be auto-gates, which will make security a quicker process. The first four opened in August.

Next year, we are anticipating a new auto-boarding process at departure gates. We have to ensure this is something that our transiting passengers can use – around half of our passengers are transferring to other flights, so this is something we are working on with the Airport Authority (AA).

Chek Lap Kok, Hong Kong International Airport
Hong Kong International Airport

What difference will the bridge make?

PH: The Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge will bring us closer to the Greater Bay Area (GBA) – as the Pearl River Delta is now known. When it opens later this year, we will benefit straight away from the quicker access to the GBA – a 56,500-square-kilometre area with a population bigger than that of the UK.

Customers from the GBA will have the option to take the ferry or the road link to HKIA. Our goal is always to make their experience as effortlessly smooth as possible. Passengers travelling to HKIA on the ferry already enjoy a seamless experience, and by 2022 there will be a bonded bus from Zhuhai which takes passengers straight to airside. However, for the first couple of years, passengers will have to go through border checks in the usual way.

What about the commercial opportunities – and challenges?

PH: The potential is big. The 11 cities in the GBA have a combined population of 67 million people, and it’s still growing, so there’s lots of opportunity. We are well known in Shenzhen, but Hong Kong has not been easy to get to from the western GBA. People would rather use Macao, but with the bridge we are now well in range.

But there is competition. Shenzhen is also trying to grow itself as a hub, and it now has plenty of direct international routes both short-haul and long-haul, including flights to Los Angeles and Sydney, for example.

We need to go back to our strengths and compete first and foremost with our network and frequencies – for instance, we fly around 110 flights to North America every week.

Another advantage we have is the efficiency and seamlessness of the complete customer journey through Hong Kong. Our teams are working hard to enhance that. The infrastructure works will certainly take us in the right direction.

How do we keep the experience at HKIA seamless in the coming years?

PY: For one thing, we are upgrading our online check-in experience. Also, we are introducing more check-in options – we already have check-in at ferry ports in the GBA and there will be check-in desks on the new Boundary Crossing Facilities. We are working with AA and the high-speed rail operators to explore the possibility of having check-in facilities at West Kowloon Station. The AA is also mooting ad-hoc, in-town check-in counters, for example at the Hong Kong Conference and Exhibition Centre in Wan Chai if there is a big event.

PH: As an airline, we support the idea of a joint immigration desk at West Kowloon Station as it will save our passengers time before they change to the Airport Express. From the commercial side, we are trying to offer joined-up fare products for customers. At the moment it’s a ferry plus air ticket combo that we sell. In future, we will combine the bus ticket with the air ticket so a single purchase is all our customers need for their journey.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book