頂級酒店

東南亞最佳叢林度假酒店

這些東南亞叢林度假酒店讓你擁抱大自然,幽靜閒適地護養身心

現實世界競爭激烈,一眾酒店業者紛紛擁抱大自然,替酒店注入療癒力量,只為撫慰住客身心靈。昔日的豪華酒店以全天候冷氣開放及各種人工設施作招徠,現今的酒店設計師則擅於利用自然環境,連叢林中的小昆蟲亦隨意融入當中,以天然力量全面提升住客享受。以下幾間洋溢自然氣息的叢林度假酒店,可說是業界的出色之選。

峇里虹夕諾雅 印尼峇里島

Hoshinoya Bali jungle hotel in Indonesia
Hoshino Resorts

虹夕諾雅品牌的首間海外酒店風格大膽創新,雖然跟其慣有的日式旅館路線截然不同,卻依然堅持融入大自然元素。迂迴走過峇里中部的翠綠稻田,再穿過烏布近郊的雨林,即可抵達Pakerisan河畔的山坡,進入酒店範圍。設計極簡約及洋溢峇里風的別墅遍佈於綠林中,水泥牆身與日式分層屋頂完美結合。熱愛叢林度假酒店的人士不妨入住Jalak別墅,於寬敞的露台盡覽青蔥景致。充滿療癒能量的流水在這裡充分展現優點,經過特別設計的水道貫穿酒店內每一幢別墅,最後分流至三個大型泳池。咖啡店內設有七個在樹頂上的alang-alang茅頂涼亭,相信是峇里最能令人放鬆的用餐空間。

Hoshinoya Bali jungle hotel in Indonesia
Hoshino Resorts

琅勃拉邦瑰麗酒店 老撾琅勃拉邦

Rosewood Luang Prabang, Laos

在蜿蜒流水的相伴下,這間設有23間客房及帳幕式別墅的酒店顯得格外靜謐。酒店的顧客體驗經理曾經是一名僧侶,現在負責帶領住客在瀑布下冥想,並提供私人指導,或是帶團探索周邊叢林的隱世佛寺。賓客可跟當地的農夫一起採摘芬芳的薄荷、蝶豆花或金合歡葉,或是造訪Elephant Bridge Bar酒吧,在欣賞河岸美景的同時品嚐傳統老撾小食,並享用以有機香料(酒店自家種植)調製的飲品。位於山邊的Sense Spa水療中心提供多種療程,包括著名鄉村治療師兼幻境舞蹈者Xong先生的赫蒙族療法,此療法糅合稀有草藥,值得一試。

Rosewood Luang Prabang jungle hotel in Laos

Tiger Mountain Pokhara Lodge度假村 尼泊爾波卡拉

Tiger Mountains Pokhara Lodge jungle hotel in Nepal

這間叢林度假酒店位於海拔900米之上,坐擁喜瑪拉雅山的壯麗景致。自1998年開業以來,酒店與周邊自然環境融洽共存,18間客房被綠油油的植物包圍。酒店的平房建築選用當地以人手切割的木材及石材建成,室內則以復古的西藏地毯及手工木傢俬,營造出溫馨、平和的氛圍;私人露台與巨型窗戶,則讓住客將巍峨群山及青蔥林景盡收眼底。當地的專業嚮導還擔當起重要角色,負責帶領觀鳥團,以及概念來自日式森林浴的遠足導賞團,讓參加的賓客感到煥然一新。呼吸山中的清新空氣,在環保的鹹水泳池享受日光浴,無論你選擇如何親近大自然,都能令身心充滿活力。

Tiger Mountains Pokhara jungle hotel in Nepal
Johnny Fenn

The Datai 馬來西亞浮羅交怡

The Datai Langkawi jungle hotel in Malaysia

屹立於Datai Bay灣畔、大名鼎鼎的酒店,在耗資6,000萬美元、歷時12個月的翻新工程後,於去年重新開業。法國建築師Didier Lefort以當地的可持續原料為建材,為121間客房、套房及別墅換上簡約新貌。住客於每間客房內皆可眺望蔥鬱的熱帶鄉村風景,當中一部分更坐擁安達曼海美景。住客可於綠林中一睹鬱烏葉猴、調皮的獼猴及繽紛雀鳥的風采。多年來,酒店為住客舉辦清晨遠足活動,由人稱「叢林之子」的自然學者Irshad Mobarak擔當領隊;現在酒店還增設自然中心,由Irshad領導一眾自然學家及海洋生物學家工作。入夜後,不妨走進叢林中的高架餐廳Gulai House進餐,活潑的靈長類動物會在樹梢與你為伴。

The Datai Langkawi jungle hotel in Malaysia

沙巴香格里拉莎利雅度假酒店

Rasa-Ria, Kota Kinabalu

馬來西亞婆羅洲的北岸土地遼闊,杳無人煙,極目只有大片婆羅洲雨林。五星級的家庭式度假村香格里拉莎利雅度假酒店就在這裡。它稱得上具有叢林度假酒店的特質,坐擁天然的景致,遠離塵囂,酒店範圍內的樹林有大群紅毛猩猩棲息其中。

猩猩現已放回婆羅洲野外,但這座臨海的超級度假村,依然讓人有機會接觸我們在叢林中生活的遠親,「勝景早餐」體驗包括遠足穿越熱帶雨林,在猴子以及婆羅洲叢林和南中國海壯麗景色的陪伴下,享用香檳早餐。

峇里島Alila Villas Uluwatu度假村

Alila Villas Uluwatu

如果你以為峇里叢林之旅就等於到Kuta或Legian過一夜,那就大錯特錯了。Alila Villas Uluwatu度假村矗立於山崖頂,土壤肥沃的Uluwatu火山坡,擁有峇里南部獨特的叢林景致。度假村設計簡約型格,位於蔥鬱的Bukit半島東南端。池畔別墅藏在樹木茂密的石灰岩山坡上,往下走600級石階即可抵達私人海灘。請注意:居住在附近的獮猴可能會闖進泳池嬉水,如你將門窗打開,牠們更會毫不客氣地入內享用你的果盤。

柬埔寨Song Saa Private Island度假村

Song Saa Resort Charity Program Koh Rong Cambodia

柬埔寨南岸的旅遊業近年發展迅速,而率先在這裡落戶的就是Song Saa。Song Saa是以慈善公益為宗旨的團體,營運同名的私人島嶼度假村。迷人的Song Saa度假村座落泰國灣水域的高龍島海岸,私人森林別墅隱入翠綠叢林之中。無論是在飾有本地浮木的別墅中享受悠閒時光,抑或在清澈的海中潛水,都讓人樂而忘返。

布吉島Sri Panwa酒店

Sri panwa, Phuket

布吉向來不是叢林勝地,遊客多半因水清沙幼的海灘、超級豪華度假酒店和布吉市中心的土生華人傳統店屋而慕名前來。在這度假小島南端的山丘上,是精品度假村Sri Panwa酒店,住客可飽覽這個泰國最大島嶼的自然景致。池畔別墅和頂樓豪華客房均被濃蔭環抱,綠油油的景色一直伸延至山下的天然海灘。筆者到訪時,更巧遇爬樹歸家的紅樹巨蜥。黃昏時於酒店附設的Baba Nest酒吧一邊欣賞360度全方位日落美景;一邊享受美味飲品,誠一大賞心樂事。

本文於2017年6月刊登, 並在2019年5月更新

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

South East Asia’s Best Jungle Hotels

Go deep into nature for a restorative stay at these jungle hotels across South East Asia

It really is a jungle out there. Or at least it is for hoteliers discovering and embracing the restorative powers of nature. If luxury once meant keeping out the natural world in favour of around-the-clock air-conditioning and other manmade amenities, these days resort designers understand how to leverage the environment’s holistic pleasures – even if it means a few of the jungle’s littlest critters might crawl in. Here are just some of the standouts.

Hoshinoya Bali, Indonesia 

Hoshino Resorts

Hoshinoya Resorts’ first foray outside Japan offers a bold departure from the brand’s modern ryokans (Japanese-style inns) yet follows its usual commitment to blending into the natural backdrop. To get to this hillside enclave along the Pakerisan River, guests first pass by central Bali’s emerald rice paddies and head into the rainforest outside Ubud. Interspersed among the foliage are minimalist, Balinese-influenced villas in polished concrete with Japanese-style tiered rooflines. Jungle lovers should opt for the Jalak villas, with their verdant vistas and extra-wide balconies. Water and its healing qualities figure prominently here as well, with canals running past all villas and into three sprawling swimming pools. The seven alang-alang thatched gazebos at the cafe hanging among the treetops might be Bali’s most meditative dining spaces. 

Hoshino Resorts

Rosewood Luang Prabang, Laos

For guests staying in the 23 tents and villas here, a top feature is the waterway that winds through the retreat. The hotel’s guest experience manager, a former monk, holds private meditation sessions along the sonorous cascade and leads treks to Buddhist temples hidden in the surrounding forest. Guests can also forage for fragrant mint, butterfly pea flowers and acacia leaves with local farmers. Head to Elephant Bridge Bar, set above a river, for traditional Laotian snacks and drinks made with spices grown in the property’s organic garden. Treatments in the hillside Sense Spa include those with Mr Xong, a revered village healer and trance dancer who prepares Hmong remedies incorporating rare herbs. 

Tiger Mountain Pokhara Lodge, Pokhara, Nepal

Dragons Dens

Located 900 metres above sea level, this hotel offers captivating views of the Himalayas. Since it opened in 1998, the property has coexisted thoughtfully with nature, allowing the vegetation to wildly envelop its 18 guest rooms. The bungalows built of hand-cut local stone and wood feature a calming, cool slate interior warmed by vintage Tibetan rugs and hand-wrought wood furniture. Private terraces and oversized windows optimise both that mountainous panorama and the abundant surrounding greenery. Highly trained local guides play a key role here, leading bird walks and day hikes designed around the rejuvenating Japanese concept of forest bathing. The healing effects can be felt by simply breathing the fresh mountain air, so even those sunning themselves at the pool – eco-friendly with its saltwater – will feel restored. 

Johnny Fenn

The Datai, Langkawi, Malaysia

This legendary property along Datai Bay reopened last year after a 12-month, US$60 million makeover. French architect Didier Lefort relied on local, sustainable materials to refresh the 121 minimalist guest rooms, suites and villas, all of which offer bucolic views of the sultry, overgrown grounds and, in some cases, the Andaman Sea. Guests can spot dusky leaf monkeys, their naughtier macaque cousins and colourful birdlife. Early morning walks with acclaimed naturalist Irshad Mobarak, known as the Jungle Walla, have long been on offer here. Now there’s also a dedicated Nature Centre, with a team of naturalists and marine biologists led by Mobarak. After dark, trek into the bush to dine at the stilt-supported Gulai House, where primates shake branches overhead as you dine. 

Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Rasa-Ria, Kota Kinabalu

The northern shores of Malaysian Borneo are expansive, empty and hemmed in by endless hectares of Borneo rainforest. It’s here that you’ll find the five-star and family-friendly Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria, right in the middle of a nature retreat. Jungle credentials? A buffoonery of orangutans was found living in the trees within the hotel’s limits.

They’ve since been released back into the Borneo wilderness, but this beachfront mega-resort still offers plenty of chances to encounter our tree-dwelling relatives: the ‘breakfast with a view’ experience involves a hike through the rainforest to a champagne breakfast, surrounded by monkeys and views over the Borneo jungle and the South China Sea.

Alila Villas Uluwatu, Bali

Alila Villas Uluwatu

If the Bali jungle means a night out in Kuta or Legian to you, think again. The clifftop Alila Villas Uluwatu is south Bali’s version of jungle: the rich, fertile, volcanic slopes of Uluwatu. This sleek, designery hangout is set on the lush southeastern tip of Bali’s Bukit peninsula. Pool villas are set into the jungly limestone hills, 600 steps above a private beach. Warning: the neighbourhood macaques are occasionally known to visit for a dip in the pool (and help themselves to your fruit bowl if you leave your doors open).

Song Saa Private Island, Cambodia

Song Saa Resort Charity Program Koh Rong Cambodia

The southern Cambodian coast is a fast-developing tourism hotspot – but Song Saa was here first. A charitable initiative first and foremost, it also has a stunning private island resort of the same name. Off the coast of Koh Rong in the waters of the Gulf of Thailand, Song Saa has dedicated jungle villas, tucked away in the island’s green interior. Spend days relaxing in the gorgeous wooden villas, decorated with locally collected driftwood, or diving the surrounding crystal-clear waters.

Sri Panwa, Phuket

Sri panwa, Phuket

Phuket isn’t known for its jungle credentials (more its gorgeous beaches, super-luxe resorts and Peranakan shophouses in Phuket Town). At the boutique hilltop resort Sri Panwa, on the southern tip of the holiday island, you get close to the natural side of Thailand’s largest island. Pool villas and penthouses are studded among lush green forest that tumbles down to a wild beach (on our visit we spotted a monitor lizard creeping back up through the trees). A sunset drink at Baba Nest, its 360-degree bar, is a must.

This article was originally published in June 2017; it was updated and expanded in May 2019.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book