阿德萊德

阿德萊德終極指南

若想對澳洲有個概括的認識,阿德萊德遠比其他澳洲名城優勝。這個澳洲的「大型鄉郊城市」即將擁有一個惹人注目的地標

我們來做個測驗吧。你身在美國、加拿大、南非或澳洲某個有型有格的城市,連日來享受過精心沖調的手工咖啡,到過潮人雲集的酒吧,也參觀過不經批盪、磚頭和管道外露的摩登建築,體驗過到處都一片活潑熱鬧的氣氛。你開始對這一切有點厭倦了,想找個安靜的地方躲起來。這個地方最好有蒼翠起伏的山巒,空氣清新甜美,還有漂亮的小村莊和大片的葡萄園。這種世外桃源一般的地方在哪裡?

如果身處三藩市,大可前往納帕;若在溫哥華,目的地當然就是溫哥華島。這些旅程都需要充裕的時間,不過若從開普敦前往Paarl鎮附近一帶的酒鄉,或是從墨爾本前往摩寧頓半島,則需時較短。

不過你大可將這些地方統統置諸腦後。我心目中有個理想的地方,讓你可以在市區嚐罷美味主菜之後,從容地在山間享用甜品,這裡除了耳畔喜鵲的啾啾鳥語,以及空氣中瀰漫的桉樹氣味之外,再無別物來打擾。那個地方就是阿德萊德。

不妨安排一趟以下的行程:先在位於市中心的阿德萊德中央市場稍為吃一點東西,例如Asian Gourmet的喇沙,或是The Latvian Lunchroom的餡餅,都相當不俗。接著駕車前往阿德萊德山上的Uraidla村,這條村四周有許多果園和菜園。如果道路暢通的話,20分鐘即可抵達,不然就要30分鐘。抵埗後,在Lost in a Forest餐廳品嚐冧酒意式奶凍配香橙焦糖和無麩質可可餅乾,然後,如果你喜歡的話,不妨返回中央市場的Big Table來一杯咖啡。我保證你的消化系統能夠應付有餘。

Lost in a Forest - Rum Pannacotta with orange caramello and gluten free cacao biscuit
Emily Weaving

當地人通常將阿德萊德形容為澳洲最大的鄉郊城市。在市中心的King William Street街漫步片刻,就會知道這是一個貼切的形容。城裡的而且確有摩天大廈、倉庫、便利店、高級時裝店、公共雕塑、巴士和電車等,但在高樓之間,可以見到不遠處的山丘之上,遍佈不少大型平房。墨爾本和悉尼在佈局上都是自成一國的大城市,但阿德萊德卻是敞開門戶的。

這是一個非常大的鄉郊式城鎮。然而這裡也具備了新世界的城市不可或缺的摩登事物和充沛活力,例如在某個晴朗的秋日早晨,在Mayfair酒店門外接載我們的人力單車。

Mayfair是一家新穎而經營有道的商務式精品酒店,不但滿足了阿德萊德長久以來對此類酒店的渴求,更充滿都會氣息。接載我們的車夫是一位體格精壯的建築系學生,他帶領我們穿梭北他雲斯和弗林德斯,在狹窄的巷弄之間往復來回;這些本來只用作交通往返的街道,近來已有不少酒吧、時裝店和咖啡室進駐其間。這裡的而且確充滿都會氣息。然而阿德萊德仍然是一個大型的鄉郊城鎮。

且讓我們對這些字彙所傳達的意義稍作思考。提到鄉郊城鎮,就如同澳洲人想起海灘和叢林那樣自然,讓人立即聯想到一片繁盛的景象、寬闊的街道、街角有家門前有柱廊的維多利亞式酒吧、街上的土地買賣經紀行和酒館、運動俱樂部和友善的氛圍、稍為保守的民風,以及讓人心裡踏實的安全感。

The Mayfair Hotel Adelaide, King Williams Street
Emily Weaving

可以輕易想像得到,如果你是個好動的人,或是個青少年,或者是個好動的青少年,阿德萊德會令你發狂。

你的下場可能會像於1976年逃離阿德萊德前往墨爾本的年輕作曲家Paul Kelly所寫的歌詞:

街道寬闊,人人卻留在屋裡

坐在去年坐過的同一張椅子上

即使國王出動全部人馬

都不能把我拖回去

拖回去阿德萊德,阿德萊德,阿德萊德,阿德萊德

然而即使是昔日的頑童,今時今日亦不會再對舊事介懷。數年前,頭頂已禿的Paul Kelly穿著一身西裝,被人「拖」回去接受阿德萊德大學頒給他的名譽博士學位。他現在是名副其實的澳洲國寶,我深信他必定在當地享受了一段愉快的時光。

Rundle street facing hills
Emly Weaving

過去20年,南澳不必費一兵一馬,就已經能夠令我不斷舊地重遊,而且每次都令我大開眼界,有豐富而非凡的體驗。我曾在風景優美的北阿德萊德四處蹓躂,然後在葡萄酒產區芭蘿莎谷開懷暢飲。我也曾在北部作自駕遊,穿越克萊爾谷至維佩納凹地,再往上走至熾熱的山區小鎮帕拉叱納,這裡已屬於澳洲內地。隨後我乘坐飛機途經艾爾湖,越過彩繪山和巨大礦場,以及面積更廣大的養牛場,前往庫伯佩地鎮。位於塔斯曼海另一端的袋鼠島氣候較清涼,島上有豐富的野生動物。我來到島上時,剛好碰到豪華度假酒店Southern Ocean Lodge開幕。總括而言,這些旅程的共通點,就是以阿德萊德作大本營,由此展開五光十色的刺激旅程。

且讓我們返回故事的開端。雖然驟聽似是拐彎抹角的暗中恭維話,但阿德萊德的其中一個吸引之處,正是因為離開該地易如反掌。當地可以讓你自由進出,而外面的世界更是多姿多采。直截了當地說,要是你從未踏足澳洲,或是希望重拾對這個國家的印象,乘搭飛機前往阿德萊德必定是最佳選擇,因為澳洲再無別處能夠像這裡一般將各種澳洲特色兼收並蓄。

至於為何要乘飛機入境,然後駕車離開?以下是一個古怪但新奇的理由。

Botanic gardens Bicentennial conservatory
Emily Weaving

從阿德萊德出發,轉瞬即可抵達小巧迷人的麥拿倫谷葡萄酒產區。當地擁有宜人的地中海氣候,一望無際的風光和山谷,讓人恍如置身法國的洛特河谷和Languedoc區。在低矮山丘和大片長滿葡萄樹的梯田之下,蘊藏一段深遠的地質歷史,令此地成為澳洲最出人意表的葡萄產區之一。

與德艾倫堡酒莊和酒莊的第四代傳人Chester Osborn共晉午餐,同樣出人意表。這座酒莊佔地180公頃,俯瞰麥拿倫谷南部,是南澳洲最優秀的釀酒莊園,現由Chester負責經營。

如果要與一個數代均居於澳洲的農夫或釀酒師會面,不期然就會期望眼前出現一個沉默寡言的男人,頭戴平實的Akubra闊邊氈帽,腳踏滿佈塵埃的靴子,眼神邈然深邃──有如從RM Williams服飾廣告裡走出來的模特兒一樣。然而Chester卻多了一點搖滾氣息:他穿著的陳年牛仔褲非常殘舊,至於身上的恤衫則屬於自家設計系列,將粉色間條,格子花紋和花卉共冶一爐。這一身打扮,加上他的山羊鬚和蓬鬆的灰金色頭髮,令他看上去有如Led Zeppelin樂隊的Robert Plant和《綠野仙蹤》的獅子的混合體。

Chester Osborn of D'arenberg winery.
Emily Weaving
The Cube, D'Arenberg winery.

Chester是個健談的人,擅長跟人聊天。他的酒莊附設的餐廳Verandah有個陽台,十分雅致,我們就在那裡吃午餐。侍應送上陳年葡萄酒時,他向我們道歉,表示沒有時間和我們共晉午餐。一小時後,美酒佳餚下肚,餐桌上已是杯盤狼藉,而我們仍然未談到我前往該處的原因:Cube。

澳洲釀酒師一向擅長招徠之術,以品酒會、型格餐廳與產品獨特的特賣場等吸引客人到酒莊去,令他們流連忘返。

現在還加上這幢有趣的建築。

D’Arenberg Cube是一棟五層高的建築,外形有如一堆綠色和白色的玻璃盒子堆疊在一起,坐落於Mourvèdre葡萄樹之間,驟眼看去,就像一個科幻小說裡尚未被外星人破解的巨型扭計骰。Chester喜歡玩各種拼圖解謎遊戲,因此酒莊出產的葡萄酒的名稱均有如一個謎語;而他本人更花費十年時間,苦苦思索如何破解一個更重大的謎題:就是怎樣才能說服其他董事,同意讓他建造這座東西。

現在謎題終於破解了。這座巨型扭計骰一般的建築將於今年稍後開幕,裡面設有講解中心、多用途會議室,以及全新的高級餐廳。南澳從此擁有嶄新地標,距離阿德萊德市中心商業區不足一小時。這又成了另一個駐足與離開阿德萊德的理由。

城中花園

Chef Paul Baker of Botanic Gardens Restaurant.
Emily Weaving

Paul Baker是阿德萊德植物園餐廳的總廚,他擁有世上最佳的食物貯藏室,只需走到餐廳外面,踏上修剪得整齊優雅的草坪和小徑,各種當地原生的莓果、葉子、蔬菜和樹木就唾手可得,供他盡情使用。

植物園內的餐廳創辦於1854年,本以茶和鬆餅而聞名。他不但把這座宏偉的19世紀亭樓轉化成當代澳洲美食殿堂,更令它搖身一變成為引人入勝的21世紀景點,糅合自然生態和各種建築風格,包括建於1877年、風格雅致的Palm House、以至在112年後開幕、洋溢後現代風格的Bicentennial Conservatory溫室等。

當中最趣味盎然的,要數Santos Museum of Economic Botany博物館,館內收藏了一系列「實用」植物。要是你畢生都在尋覓以紙漿製成的古舊水果模型,這裡就是你結束尋覓的終站了。

environment.sa.gov.au/botanicgardens

德艾倫堡以外

介紹三家出類拔萃的南澳酒莊

Hollick-庫納瓦拉

當年我到訪這個地方時,酒莊只是一間古舊的小木屋,除了莊主和數量寥寥可數的葡萄酒以外,別無他物。數十年後,酒莊已由香港英大投資公司擁有。酒莊設有時尚而光線幽暗的品酒室,其Upstairs at Hollick餐廳更是享負盛名。

hollick.com

Zema-庫納瓦拉

澳洲酒莊的浮華風氣與日俱增,而這家由家族經營的酒莊則反其道而行,在簡樸無華的環境中,為客人奉上一級優質葡萄酒。

zema.com.au

瑪吉爾莊園-阿德萊德山

奔富酒莊施展渾身解數經營的莊園,既有可媲美五星級酒店的品酒室,還有高級餐廳和咖啡室;至於招待客人的員工,不單專業,還穿上有型有格的制服,令人耳目一新。

penfolds.com/visit-penfolds/magill-estate-cellar-door

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Adelaide

The ultimate guide to Adelaide

Want Australia in a nutshell? Adelaide beats its more high-profile neighbours hands down. Now Australia’s ‘big country town’ is getting a bizarre new landmark. By MARK JONES, photography by EMILY WEAVING

Here’s a test. You’re in a cool city in the US, Canada, South Africa or Australia. Sooner or later, you’ve had enough of the craft coffee and hipster bars, the bare brickwork and exposed ducts and everything being terribly vibrant all the time. You want to escape to somewhere peaceful, green and hilly, a place of sweet air, pretty villages and rolling fields of vines. Where’s best?

In San Francisco you head to Napa. In Vancouver, it’s Vancouver Island, obviously. Allow some time for those trips; slightly less from Cape Town to the winelands around Paarl or from Melbourne to the Mornington Peninsula.

Forget that lot. I’m thinking of a place where you can plausibly have your main course in town and your dessert in the hills, with nothing more to distract you than the sounds of the magpies and the smell of gum trees. That place is Adelaide.

Try this. Have a bite to eat in the Adelaide Central Market (it’s a market that’s very central) – maybe the laksa at Asian Gourmet or a pie at The Latvian Lunchroom. Then drive 20 minutes, 30 if you’re unlucky, to Uraidla, a village surrounded by orchards and market gardens high in the Adelaide Hills. Have a rum panna cotta with orange caramello and gluten-free cacao biscuit at Lost in a Forest, then, if you like, head back to the Big Table in Central Market for coffee. I guarantee your digestive system will cope.

Lost in a Forest - Rum Pannacotta with orange caramello and gluten free cacao biscuit

Adelaide is conventionally described as Australia’s biggest country town. You know that’s accurate within minutes of strolling down King William Street, right in the centre. Sure, there are tower blocks, warehouses, convenience stores, high-end boutiques, public sculptures, buses and trams. But between the blocks, there is a neatly framed view of not-very-distant hills speckled with large, low houses. Melbourne and Sydney are their own intact, enclosed little kingdoms: Adelaide is open.

It’s a big country town.

Still, it has all the things modern, vibrant New World cities are meant to have – like the rickshaw bike that picked us up at the Mayfair Hotel one piercingly bright autumn morning.

The Mayfair is the kind of smart, well-run businessy-boutique hotel Adelaide has been crying out for. Tick that urban box. Our muscular architecture student rider weaved in and out of the blocks between North Terrace and Flinders, returning again and again to the narrow functional lanes that have lately been given over to bars, boutiques and cafés. Tick that box again.

It’s still a big country town.

Let’s take a minute to understand what signals those words send out. The country town is every bit a part of the Aussie national imagination as the beach and the bush. The instant picture: prosperous, wide streets, the colonnaded Victorian pub on the corner, the land agents and bottle shops down the street, the sport clubs and friendliness, the small ‘c’ conservatism, that easy surety than nothing really dreadful can ever happen here.

The Mayfair Hotel Adelaide, King Williams Street

You can easily see that if you’re a restless spirit, a teenager, or both, it could drive you mad.

You might end up like Paul Kelly, a young songwriter who fled Adelaide for Melbourne in 1976, looking back at:

The streets…so wide, everybody’s inside

Sitting in the same chairs they were sitting in last year

All the king’s horses all the king’s men
Wouldn’t drag me back again
To Adelaide, Adelaide, Adelaide, Adelaide.

But even old punks make their peace with their past. Paul Kelly, now a bald man in a suit and a bona fide Australian national treasure, was duly dragged back to receive his honorary doctorate from the University of Adelaide a couple of years ago. I bet he had a great time.

Rundle street facing hills

It hasn’t taken any horses or men to drag me back to South Australia regularly over the past 20 years. Every time I’ve had a rich and extraordinary experience. I’ve pottered around refined North Adelaide, then tippled through the Barossa Valley. I’ve Land Cruisered north through the Clare Valley to Wilpena Pound and up to scorching Parachilna – Outback proper. Then I’ve flown beyond: over Lake Eyre to Coober Pedy, over the Painted Hills, the huge mines and huger cattle stations. I was in cooler, wildlife-rich Kangaroo Island when the Southern Ocean Lodge opened – the best resort this side of the Tasman Sea. The common element: Adelaide is base camp, the starting point for all those varied and incredible adventures.

Back to where we started. It sounds like the sneakiest backhanded compliment, but one of the reasons Adelaide is great is because escape from it is so easy. The gate is open and there are wonders galore beyond. I’m putting it out there: if you’re looking for an introduction to Australia, or to renew your acquaintance, it’s the best city to fly into. Nowhere else in Australia does Australia in a nutshell quite like it.

And now there’s a new and totally bizarre reason to fly in and drive out.

Botanic gardens Bicentennial conservatory

The McLaren Vale wine region is another idyllic little spot you can get to from Adelaide in no time at all. The climate is Mediterranean and anyone who loves the open vistas and valleys of France’s Lot Valley or Languedoc will feel at home here. But beneath the low hills and terraces of vines lies an epic geological history that makes this one of the most varied and unpredictable areas for wine growing anywhere in Australia.

Speaking of unpredictable, lunch with Chester Osborn at the d’Arenberg winery is just that. D’Arenberg is South Australia wine breeding at its finest: Chester is the fourth generation to run these 180 hectares overlooking South McLaren.

When you go to meet Australian farmers or winemakers who’ve been on the land that long, you prepare yourself for a taciturn bloke straight from an R M Williams ad: trusty Akubra hat, dusty boots, faraway stare. Chester is a bit more rock’n’roll than that. His jeans have seen more than a few vintages, while his shirt, one of a range he designs himself, is a chaotic blend of candy stripes, tartan and floral. With his goatee and tumbling grey-blond hair, his looks are a toss-up between Robert Plant from Led Zeppelin and the lion from The Wizard of Oz.

Chester Osborn of D'arenberg winery.
The Cube, D'Arenberg winery.

And he can talk, can Chester. They’re bringing the vintage in and he apologises that he won’t have time to have lunch with us on the terrace of his fine Verandah cellar door restaurant. An hour later, with the empty plates competing for table space with wine glasses in various stages of consumption, we still haven’t started on the reason I’m here: The Cube.

Australian winemakers have always been pretty good at attracting people to their properties with an intoxicating mix of tastings, cool restaurants and quirky retail outlets.

Then there’s this.

The d’Arenberg Cube is a five-storey pile of green and white glass boxes piled on top of one another and plonked among the estate’s Mourvèdre vines. It looks like a giant sci-fi version of a Rubik’s cube some extraterrestrial hasn’t managed to complete. Chester likes puzzles – all d’Arenberg’s wine names are a tease of some kind – and he spent 10 years puzzling how to let his fellow directors let him build this thing.

Finally, he cracked it. When it opens later this year, its protean walls and floors will house an interpretation centre, function rooms and a new fine dining restaurant. South Australia will have a new landmark less than an hour from Adelaide’s central business district.

It’s another reason to stay in the city: and escape from it.

Garden in the city

Chef Paul Baker of Botanic Gardens Restaurant.

Paul Baker, the head chef at Adelaide’s Botanic Gardens restaurant, has the best larder in the world. He just strolls into the elegant lawns and paths outside his restaurant and there’s a treasure trove of native berries, leaves, vegetables and trees – and they’re all his to use.

Botanic gardens are more usually associated with tea and scones. But in transforming the 19th century pavilion into a temple of contemporary Australian cuisine, he’s also helped turn this venerable institution, founded in 1854, into a very compelling 21st century destination.

The collections span ecosystems and architectural styles – from the exquisite 1877 Palm House to the modernist Bicentennial Conservatory opened 112

years later – but the quirkiest display is the Santos Museum of Economic Botany, a collection dedicated to useful plants. If you have spent your life in search of historic papier-mache models of fruit, your quest is at an end.

environment.sa.gov.au/botanicgardens

Beyond d’Arenburg

Three exceptional South Australian wineries

Hollick, Coonawarra

I remember this place when it was just the owner, an old slab cottage and a few bottles. A couple of decades on, it’s owned by Hong Kong’s Yingda Investment Company. Inside there’s a swish, low-lit tasting room and a very highly regarded restaurant: Upstairs at Hollick.

hollick.com

Zema, Coonawarra

An antidote to the increasing glam and sophistication of Oz cellar doors – just a simple, unfancy, family-owned place with first-class wines.

zema.com.au

Magill Estate, Adelaide Hills

The five-star hotel of tasting rooms – Penfolds goes to town (or just above it) with a fine dining restaurant, café and expert staff in very cool uniforms.

penfolds.com/visit-penfolds/magill-estate-cellar-door

Cathay Pacific flies to Adelaide from Hong Kong five times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book