班加羅爾

班加羅爾的創意、文化與新潮

大家都以為南印度的班加羅爾就只有科技為人稱頌吧?其實這裡除了科技熱潮以外,現正經歷另一股更為型格時尚的風潮。撰文:MARK TJHUNG,圖片:PORAS CHAUDHARY

如果這篇文章是有關資訊科技的故事,大家應該覺得合情合理。畢竟,過去十年間,我們讀到有關班加羅爾的報道幾乎都是同一論調,報道的大標題如不是「印度矽谷:班加羅爾」,就是「全球客服中心之都」。 這些名銜並非浪得虛名。作為印度南部卡納塔克邦的首府,這座城市將自身定位為印度資訊科技之都,並取得了非凡成就,就連微軟、IBM及亞馬遜等環球科技界龍頭都選擇在此開設支部。

此外,城中設有無數客戶服務熱線中心,成千上萬的人員均守在電話前候命,為來自全球各地的諮詢(和投訴)排難解紛。這裡更擁有全球其中一個增長最快的初創企業生態。由南面的電子城到東面的懷特菲爾德,一座座科技園巍然聳立,成為充滿科幻感的城市地標。

順理成章,人們難免認為科技就是這裡的唯一賣點吧。 不過當我坐在班加羅爾最豪華的購物商場UB City的露天茶座,卻有另一番體會,這個商場前身為釀酒商United Breweries總部,後來改建成今日模樣。

專門提供富本地特色的導遊服務的Bluefoot創辦人Kaveri Sinhji表示:「在班加羅爾,你可以真正體驗印度最潮、最先進和最具創意的一面。」這個組織讓遊客體驗當地鮮為人知、不易接觸的風土人情。她續說道:「從2003年起,大家開始感受到這是一片機遇之地。現在它已成為一座大熔爐,匯聚全球各地人才,而這種國際色彩反過來吸引了更多國內和海外的人前來定居;這裡的發展真是一日千里呢!」

科技行業一直扮演著核心角色,但當地人會對你說其實還有別的原因令大家前來定居。這裡的氣候或許沒有什麼特色,但遠比熾熱難耐的印度北部城市來得溫和,加上班加羅爾於英殖時期是大英帝國的駐防鎮,因此英語是當地的通用語言。

語言障礙打破了,自然令移居此地的人才更為方便吧。 這一番因緣際會造就了一片文化盛況,最顯而易見的就是餐廳和酒吧林立的新景象,畢竟飲食一向是班加羅爾的核心文化。

班加羅爾麗思卡爾頓酒店市場部經理Malvika Ashwin笑稱:「向任何一位班加羅爾人問路,他們例必用飲食相關的座標為你引路。你往往會聽到『在這家酒吧右拐,在那家小食檔轉左』之類的話,極具班加羅爾特色。」 根據Bluefoot的飲食專家Jackie Pinto透露,今時今日如想找一家時下流行的班加羅爾餐廳,不妨直奔Indiranagar區。五年前,這個位於城東的小區還是一片清幽的住宅區,不過到了2014年,卻搖身一變成為全國餐廳密度最高的地區,而箇中變化可謂全因Toit的出現。

有人將Toit形容為餐廳;有些人則喚它作酒館,但大多數跟我聊天的人都將其稱為班加羅爾的老字號,而建立起如此聲譽,居然只是用了短短五年時間而已。這家充滿鄉村風情、佔地四層的餐飲空間每晚均高朋滿座,接待近600名賓客。店家作為印度數一數二的手工啤酒廠,亦早已遠近馳名,並即將在孟買開設分店。

Toit創辦人之一Sibi Venkataraju曾當資訊科技顧問,後來夥拍兒時好友Mukesh Tolani和Arun George開設餐廳。他表示:「我認為班加羅爾需要有如Toit這樣的地方。這裡開業前,時尚熱點就只有Hard Rock Café而已,如今則有不少主打各國新派美食的一流餐廳可供選擇。Toit出現後,大量價格相宜、質素超群的餐廳相繼冒起,而這股熱潮更一直持續至今。」

只要沿着Indiranagar區的兩條主街100 Foot Road及12th Main Road漫步,大家便會對Venkataraju這一番話有切身體會。越南融合菜館、富工業風格的時尚雞尾酒吧、高檔版帕西美食,以及綠樹成蔭的庭園咖啡店毗連而居。稍為走遠一點的話,墨西哥菜、中菜甚至南印度菜等各式環球美饌一應俱全。

這股餐飲新熱潮同樣蔓延至市中心。Church Street Social憑藉獲獎的環球菜餚、酒精度高的雞尾酒,以及設有富班加羅爾特色的共享工作空間,最近榮升為新一代「潮」拜聖地。

至於Toit三人組的最新項目The Permit Room,亦以發揚南印度菜為己任,不過今回卻換上了21世紀新派菜式的華衣。與此同時,UB City商場也匯聚了一批潮流食肆,包括這家來自德里,主打現代風格印度融合菜的Farzi,亦成為了時尚新據點。

Venkataraju認為:「整體而言,科技行業並不是班加羅爾背後唯一的推手,相關行業如廣告界、時裝界和初創企業生態亦發揮了作用,吸引眾多的年輕企業家和資本來到這城市。這些人對地方和事物都極具要求,時刻都希望這裡能夠更為先進及國際化。」

其實除了餐飲行業外,就連音樂文化亦方興未艾,其中兩層高的獨立音樂現場表演場地兼陽台酒吧The Humming Tree,以及爵士樂大本營The BFlat Bar,就是活生生的例子。此外本地藝術和時裝界亦都緊隨其後,不遑多讓。

精品時裝品牌Small Shop合辦人兼設計師Jason Cherian表示:「大量創意人才的湧入,為本城注入源源不絕的動力。這一切得以實現,全因為大家希望這裡變得更好,貢獻一己之力。」Namu Kini正是這樣一位具創意的人才。十多年前,她從美國回流班加羅爾,成立自家藝廊Kynkyny Contemporary Indian Art,最近還染指餐飲業,開設有機咖啡店HappyHealthyMe。

她自言:「我們這一代認為必須放洋出海,才能發掘機遇,但許多千禧代卻沒有感到離開的必要。他們無不充滿自信,就算留在這裡亦能盡情工作、娛樂和享受社交生活,各方面都活得十分充實。不管你的志趣是什麼,此時此際的班加羅爾可說是一個非常棒的地方,因為這裡正處於一個最好的時代。」

住宿

班加羅爾麗思卡爾頓酒店

這是印度首家麗思卡爾頓酒店,於2013年開業,本身已是旅遊勝地。它位處班加羅爾中心地段,擁有277間客房和套房,全以當代南印設計風悉心裝潢。酒店旗艦餐廳The Lantern呈奉大行其道的班加羅爾混合中菜的美饌。空中酒吧Bang則坐擁市中心全方位無敵景觀,並經常舉辦大型派對,而酒店的水療中心更是24小時開放。 ritzcarlton.com/bangalore

購物

UB City

前身為釀酒商United Breweries總部,這建築群經過浩大的改建工程後,在2008年以城中最豪華購物中心的姿態重新開業。除能找到Salvatore Ferragamo、路易威登、Cavali和Bottega Veneta等環球奢華品牌外,還有印度頂級時裝必選品牌Kinaya. ubcitybangalore.in

 Cinnamon

這家時裝精品店開設於殖民時代小平房,匯聚印度各地高檔時裝和家居用品多個品牌,其中Jason Cherian的品牌Small Shop服裝也可在此選購。 facebook.com/cinnamonthestore

餐飲

Toit

這家影響深遠,以及佔地甚廣的手工酒吧,是Indirinagar區美食風潮的原爆點。店方設有啤酒廠參觀團,並定期舉辦現場音樂表演。toit.in

The Permit Room

這座新近落成的餐廳酒吧樓高四層,位處班加羅爾其中一個最繁華的交匯點,同時面向Garuda Mall購物商場,主打新派南印度菜。 thepermitroom.in

導賞團

Bluefoot

Bluefoot專營度身設計的私人導遊服務,無論愛好文化或美食、參觀寺廟或貧民窟,都能迎合客人所需。此外他們還會為企業客戶策劃行程,而部分收益將用於協助當地社群。 bluefoot.in

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往班加羅爾的航班,每周有七班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Bengaluru

The other Bengaluru: Creative, cultural, cool

So you thought Bengaluru was just about technology. But there’s another boom happening in South India – and it’s much cooler. Words by MARK TJHUNG, photos by PORAS CHAUDHARY

It would make sense for this story to be about technology. Over the past decade, it’s almost all we’ve ever read about Bengaluru – once called Bangalore. ‘Bangalore: India’s Silicon Valley’, headlines blared. Or perhaps, ‘The World’s Call Centre Capital’.

The reputation is fair. The South Indian city, the capital of the state of Karnataka, has been incredibly successful in positioning itself as India’s IT capital. Tech giants like Microsoft, IBM and Amazon all have huge presences here. Tens of thousands man the phones of the city’s call centres, fielding enquiries (and complaints) from across the world. It has one of the world’s fastest-growing start-up ecosystems. And huge tech complexes have become futuristic landmarks of the city, from Electronic City in the South to Whitefield in the East. Tech, one would think, is the only story in town.

But sitting in an alfresco restaurant at UB City – the former home of United Breweries, transformed into Bengaluru’s most luxurious shopping mall – I was offered another perspective.

‘In Bengaluru, you can really experience the cool, creative, progressive side of India,’ says Kaveri Sinhji, the founder of Bluefoot, an organisation that specialises in tours of the city’s lesser-known, difficult-to-access gems. ‘Since 2003, there’s really been a sense that this is the land of opportunity. It’s now a melting pot of people and this international element has made it attractive to people from around the country and from overseas. The city is really booming.’

Bangalore India

The tech industries have been at the centre of this. But Bangaloreans will tell you there are other reasons everyone is moving to their city. The local weather – mundane as it may seem – is far milder than India’s scorching northern cities. And its history as the old British cantonment, during the country’s colonial era, has established English as the lingua franca, removing language barriers for people moving to the city.

It’s been a recipe for a cultural boom. And this has been most noticeable in the new landscape of restaurants and bars. After all, food has always been at the centre of Bangalorean culture.

‘Ask any Bangalorean for directions and they’ll tell you where to go in relation to food,’ says Malvika Ashwin, marketing manager at the Ritz-Carlton Bangalore. ‘You’ll often hear something like, “Take a right at this pub, turn left at this stall”. It’s very Bangalore.’

Today, says Bluefoot’s food expert Jackie Pinto, anyone looking for the centre of everything hip in Bengaluru food should head directly to Indiranagar. Five years ago, this neighbourhood in the city’s east enjoyed a residential calm. By 2014, it had become home to the highest density of restaurants in the entire country. Toit was what changed it all.

Some describe Toit as a restaurant. Others describe it as a brewpub. But most people I speak to call it a Bengaluru institution, a reputation built in just five years. Any night of the week, the rustic, sprawling four-floor space is packed with 600 diners and drinkers. It’s gained fame as one of India’s most successful craft breweries and is soon to open an outpost in Mumbai.

Bangalore, India

‘I think Bangalore needed something like Toit. Before us, the place to go was Hard Rock Café,’ says Sibi Venkataraju, a former IT consultant who co-founded Toit with two childhood friends, Mukesh Tolani and Arun George. ‘Now we have great restaurants serving international modern food. After Toit, there was a huge boom in the number of affordable, great-quality restaurants – and that continues today.’

Walk down 100 Foot Road and 12th Main Road – the two main strips of Indiranagar – and you’ll see what Venkataraju means. Fusion Vietnamese, an industrial-chic cocktail bar, elevated Parsi cuisine and leafy courtyard cafes are all found within a stone’s throw of each other. Slightly farther afield, there’s the whole spectrum of global cuisine, from Mexican to Chinese to, yes, even South Indian.

It’s also now happening in the city centre. Church Street Social has become the ‘it’ place to go, with its winning recipe of globe-spanning menu, lethal cocktails and – a very Bangalorean ingredient – a co-working space. The Permit Room, a new venture from the Toit trio, celebrates South Indian food, done with a 21st-century twist. And UB City houses a clutch of hip eateries, including Farzi – a Delhi-born establishment championing a modern, fusion approach to Indian cuisine.

‘Overall, the tech industry alone hasn’t fuelled this. It’s also been about the associated industries,’ says Venkataraju. ‘Things like advertising, fashion and the general start-up ecosystem have bought in all these young entrepreneurs and capital. And these people are demanding places and things that are a little more progressive, more international.’

Bangalore, India

And it’s not just food. The music scene is thriving – head to The Humming Tree, a two-storey independent live house and hip terrace bar, or the jazz-championing BFlat Bar, for evidence. And local art and fashion have followed suit.

‘There have been a lot of creative individuals who have given a thrust to the city. All this has happened because people want to make a difference and contribute in their own way,’ says Jason Cherian, the co-founder and designer for boutique fashion label Small Shop.

Namu Kini is one of those individuals. More than a decade ago, Kini returned to Bengaluru from the US and founded the gallery Kynkyny Contemporary Indian Art. She has just embarked on a new venture, an organic cafe called HappyHealthyMe. ‘Many people of my generation had to go abroad to explore the opportunities. But the millennials don’t feel the need to leave. They have immense confidence and they have a fulfilling life in their work, entertainment and social life, all here,’ she says. ‘Right now, Bangalore is a fantastic place to be, whatever your passion. It’s an exciting time to be here.’

Stay

Ritz-Carlton Bangalore

Opened in 2013, the first Ritz-Carlton in India has become a destination in itself. Located in the heart of central Bengaluru, it boasts 277 rooms and suites, all inflected with contemporary South Indian design touches. Get a taste of fine Bangalorean-Chinese food (it’s a thing) at The Lantern, the hotel’s flagship restaurant. The sky bar, Bang, hosts some of the city’s biggest parties, with panoramic views over the city centre. And the spa is open 24 hours. ritzcarlton.com/bangalore

Shop

UB City

Formerly the home of United Breweries, this complex underwent a massive transformation and re-opened in 2008 as the city’s most lavish shopping centre. You can find global luxury brands including Salvatore Ferragamo, Louis Vuitton, Cavali and Bottega Veneta, as well as the best of Indian high fashion at Kinaya. ubcitybangalore.in

Cinnamon

Housed in a colonial bungalow, this multibrand boutique carries upscale fashion and homewares from across India. You can find pieces from Jason Cherian’s Small Shop here. facebook.com/cinnamonthestore

Eat and Drink

Toit

The influential sprawling craft brewpub that started the Indirinagar food explosion. It does brewery tours and also hosts regular live music. toit.in

The Permit Room

Located on one of Bengaluru’s most prominent intersections, opposite Garuda Mall, this new four-storey restopub focuses on South Indian cuisine with a modern twist. thepermitroom.in

Tours

Bluefoot

Bluefoot conducts customised private tours catering to whatever your interest, from culture to food, temples to slums. It collaborates with corporate clients, too, and part of its proceeds goes back to helping local communities. bluefoot.in

Cathay Dragon flies to Bengaluru from Hong Kong seven times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book