名古屋

名古屋指南

精選名古屋最佳體驗

日本第三大城市的光芒,往往被東京的都會魅力和京都的文化色彩掩蓋。然而,這個商貿和製造業中心亦擁有大量景點,包括古代城堡、時尚咖啡室,以至大型博物館和購物區。

名古屋亦是沿中山道探索古色古香的小鎮和伊勢神宮的理想跳板,這兩個地方在微暖的春末至初夏時分風光特別秀麗。

以下為你精心挑選多個本季名古屋最佳體驗,不妨加入你的行程內。

展覽:波士頓美術館至寶展

展覽:波士頓美術館至寶展 即日起至7月1日,坐落於金山車站附近的名古屋波士頓美術館展出一系列來自波士頓美術館的珍貴藏品,在名古屋難得一見。此次展出的80件藝術珍品,全部由私人收藏家捐贈波士頓美術館,種類兼收並蓄、不拘一格,包括古代中國、埃及和日本畫作,以及來自歐美的現代美術、版畫及照片等。
nagoya-boston.or.jp

Self Drive Trip

自駕遊:中山道

古老的中山道連接風光如畫的馬籠宿和妻籠宿,舊日風貌仍妥善保存,最宜在寒冬和炎夏之間的怡人季節前往一遊,充分享受遠離城市繁囂的悠閒。古道全長八公里,曾是連接京都和江戶(現為東京)的古驛道,漫步其中可飽覽綠意盎然的郊外風光。小鎮的石板路兩旁,歷史悠久的木建築林立,部分現為傳統旅館和咖啡室。
travel.kankou-gifu.jp/index.cfm

節慶:伊賀上野忍者節

位於名古屋西面90分鐘車程的伊賀是忍者的故鄉。在日本封建時代,伊賀流忍術訓練出來的密探或殺手,以行動神出鬼沒、身手敏捷、詭計多端而聞名。忍者節於4月上旬至5月上旬舉行,期間市內每個周末均會舉辦活動,將傳統發揚光大:遊客可裝扮成忍者穿梭於伊賀市區,學習擲飛鏢和吹箭,親自體驗各種忍者秘術。
iga-travel.jp/?page_id=16

咖啡室:Trunk

名古屋以懷舊咖啡室而聞名,廉宜的咖啡配多士「早晨套餐」更是廣受歡迎的名物。位於高岳車站後方的Trunk供應特色咖啡及丹麥手工啤酒,洋溢悠閒的日式北歐氛圍,為名古屋引入時尚格調。咖啡室於2017年開設第二間分店Trunk Cafe and Craft Beer,位於距離高岳車站南方數個車站的上前津,除咖啡之外,亦同樣供應丹麥手工啤酒。
trunkcoffee.com/coffeebar.html

Instagram spot

最宜拍照分享至Instagram的地點:空中迴廊

央陸廣場高踞名古屋車站上方,建築物頂層是樓高五層的空中迴廊,遊客可站在這個開放式中庭,從離地220米的高度俯瞰城市全景。此外,大樓的41樓和42樓設有幾家餐廳,亦是欣賞城市景色的好去處;不妨選個靠窗的座位,一邊品嚐晚餐,一邊觀賞醉人夜色。
midland-square.com/sky-promenade/index.html

美食:炸雞翼

對於一個以美食聞名的國家而言,雞翼似乎難登大雅之堂,但名古屋卻是例外。炸雞翼是當地有名的家常美食,配上一杯啤酒,更添滋味。將雞翼炸至外皮略脆,淋上以醬油、米酒、醋和大蒜調製的酸甜醬汁,最後灑上胡椒和白芝麻,令人食指大動。要一嚐滋味,可前往以名古屋為大本營、在城中有數十家分店的連鎖居酒屋Sekai no Yamachan。另外還有1950年代開業至今的伍味酉,這裡供應以優質名古屋交趾雞炮製的烤雞肉串,以及味噌燉菜和味噌炸豬扒等名物。
yamachan.co.jp, taste-net.co.jp/shop/?id=MTY1

名古屋城屋頂使用的黃金共重215.3公斤

酒店:京屋旅館

這間傳統日式旅館融入現代風格,讓旅客於名古屋市中心享受難得的恬靜。九間客房均採用榻榻米地板和格子趟門等經典設計,配以現代化的室外木地板和精巧日式庭園景致。旅館設有公共熱水澡堂,並供應以時令食材入饌的精緻晚餐,多道菜式以小碟盛載,傾力呈獻上乘的傳統日式旅館體驗。
kyoya.to/e

社區:常滑市

從名古屋市中心驅車南下約45分鐘,即可抵達日本的陶瓷名鎮常滑市。遊客可到訪雅致的磚砌工作坊,選購當地出品的常滑燒陶藝製品,或參加陶器製作班。春夏兩季,還可到坂井海灘挖蜆,親自體驗這種深受日本兒童喜愛的活動。
tokoname-kankou.net/english

購物區:大須商店街

大須商店街已有400年歷史,本是為服務區內佛寺(包括大須觀音寺)而設,後來逐漸發展成一條熱鬧繁榮的商店街。這裡約有1,200家店舖,從傳統手工藝品店,到cosplay角色扮演道具店,包羅萬有。區內每年舉行多項慶典,包括4月上旬的春祭、7月下旬的cosplay角色扮演盛會,還有10月以街頭藝人表演為主題的大須大道町人祭等。大須觀音寺於每月18日和28日舉行廟會,是搜羅紀念品的好去處。
inbound.nagoya-osu.com/en

住宿:名古屋錦紅色星球

名古屋錦紅色星球佔盡地利,位於名古屋車站旁邊,交通極之方便。這家價錢實惠的精品酒店於2017年底開幕,房間小巧玲瓏,以白色為主調,設計極具現代感。大堂更設有Apple電腦及供人自拍的互動屏幕,門外更有大紅巨型「R」字母招牌,讓人一眼就見到。
preview.redplanethotels.com

Osaka guide essentials

名古屋實用資訊

● 旅客可從名古屋中部國際機場,乘搭名鐵機場線鐵路前往名古屋市中心,車程不到30分鐘。乘的士至市區則相當昂貴,車資一般超過13,000日元(950港元)。

● 名古屋與日本其他城市都有便捷的交通網絡連接:最快的新幹線到京都只需30多分鐘,前往東京則需約100分鐘。

● 名古屋城是觀光首選,有興趣和當地人接觸,順便對城堡有多一點認識的話,不妨參加由AichiGoodwill GuidesNetwork提供的免費英語導賞團。nagoyajo.city.nagoya.jp

● 名古屋市內交通便利,共有六條地鐵線。環狀的名城線可前往多個主要景點。在市區到處參觀遊覽,購買地鐵的一日全線通用車票最划算。 kotsu.city.nagoya.jp/en/pc

國泰航空設有由香港及台北飛往名古屋的航班,每周有21班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nagoya

The Nagoya guide

The best things to do in Nagoya. By ROB GOSS

Japan’s third-largest city is often overlooked in favour of Tokyo’s modernity and Kyoto’s culture. Yet this commercial and manufacturing centre is packed with attractions – from its historical castle and cool cafes to major museums and shopping districts.

It’s also a perfect jumping off point for exploring the preserved towns along the old Nakasendo highway – at their finest in the gentle warmth of late spring and early summer.

Here’s a selection of the very best experiences in Nagoya to add to your itinerary.

Okinawa guide museum

THE EXHIBITION: Great Collectors: Masterpieces from the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

Until 1 July, the Nagoya/Boston Museum of Fine Arts near Kanayama station is hosting one of the more eclectic art exhibitions you’ll see in Nagoya. Featuring 80 masterpieces donated by private collectors to the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, the exhibition showcases a diverse range of artworks that includes ancient Chinese, Egyptian and Japanese art, as well as contemporary paintings, prints and photography from the US and Europe.
nagoya-boston.or.jp

THE ROAD TRIP: The Nakasendo

During that sweet spot between chilly winter and sweltering summer, the preserved stretch of the old Nakasendo highway between the picturesque towns of Magome and Tsumago is perfect for a break away from the city. Part of a route that once connected Kyoto with Edo (today’s Tokyo), the eight-kilometre walk between Magome and Tsumago takes in lush countryside, while the towns’ cobbled streets are lined with historical wooden buildings, some functioning as traditional inns and cafes.
travel.kankou-gifu.jp/index.cfm

Sapporo guide event

THE FESTIVAL: Iga Ueno Ninja Festa

Iga, 90 minutes west of Nagoya, is ninja country. During Japan’s feudal era, the Iga-ryu school of ninjutsu built a legendary reputation for the stealth, speed and guile of its spies and assassins. On weekends from early April until early May, the town celebrates this heritage with a month-long festival – visitors can wander Iga dressed as a ninja, learn how to throw shuriken, use blowguns and sample other dark arts mastered by the ninja.
iga-travel.jp/?page_id=16

Sapporo guide coffee cafe

THE CAFE: Trunk

Nagoya is known for its old-fashioned cafes and their cheap, beloved ‘morning sets’ of coffee and toast. With Trunk, Nagoya also does trendy. Just behind Takaoka station, Trunk serves speciality coffee in laidback Nippon-Nordic surrounds. That vibe stretches to the Danish craft beer on the menu – which it also sells at Trunk Cafe and Craft Beer, its second outlet opened in 2017, a few stations south at Kamimaezu.
trunkcoffee.com/coffeebar.html

THE INSTAGRAM SPOT: Sky Promenade

The Midland Square building towers over Nagoya station. Head to the Sky Promenade, an open five-level atrium at the top, for dizzying views across the city from 220 metres up. Alternatively, aim a few floors lower and mix the photogenic views with dinner and a window seat at one of the half dozen or so restaurants on the 41st and 42nd floors.
midland-square.com/sky-promenade/index.html

Sapporo guide barbecue jingisukan

THE DISH: Tebasaki

For a country with such vaunted cuisine, chicken wings might seem out of place. Not in Nagoya. Tebasaki is one of the city’s great comfort foods: chicken wingtips deep-fried until the skin is slightly crispy, then dipped in a sweet-savoury glaze that includes soy sauce, rice wine, vinegar and garlic, and given a sprinkle of pepper before a final showering with white sesame seeds. It’s beer’s best friend. For a taste, head to Sekai no Yamachan izakaya, a Nagoya-based chain with dozens of branches across the city. Or there are restaurants like Gomitori, in business since the 1950s, which also does yakitori using premium Nagoya Cochin chicken, as well as regional staples like miso stew and miso katsu.
yamachan.co.jp, taste-net.co.jp/shop/?id=MTY1

THE GOLD USED ON THE ROOF OF NAGOYA CASTLE WEIGHS 215.3 KILOGRAMS

Fukuoka guide hotel

THE HOTEL: Kyoya Ryokan

A traditional inn with contemporary touches, the nine-room Kyoya provides a touch of tranquility in the heart of Nagoya. The rooms blend classic design features like tatami mat flooring and sliding screen doors with modern wooden decking and sculpted garden views. And with piping-hot communal baths and multicourse dinners featuring a succession of small dishes using in-season ingredients, Kyoya goes all out on the best ryokan traditions.
kyoya.to/e

Japan Osaka guide neighbourhood

THE NEIGHBOURHOOD: Tokoname

Around 45 minutes south of central Nagoya, the town of Tokoname is all about ceramics. You can visit pretty brick-built workshops here, pick up local Tokoname-ware and take part in a pottery class. In spring and summer there’s also the chance to try digging for clams at Sakai beach – a popular activity among Japanese kids.
tokoname-kankou.net/english

Sapporo guide shopping mall

THE SHOPPING DISTRICT: Osu Kannon

Now 400 years old, the Osu Kannon shopping district initially served the area’s Buddhist temples (including the one it was named after). With 1,200 businesses, ranging from traditional crafts to cosplay shops, it’s since turned into a wonderful mish-mash of anything goes. That includes festivals like its spring matsuri in early April, a cosplay extravaganza in late July and a festival of street performers in October, as well as the flea market at the Osu Kannon temple on the 18th and 28th of every month – making it a good place to dig up a souvenir.
inbound.nagoya-osu.com/en

Fukuoka guide hotel

THE BASE: Red Planet Nishiki Nagoya

You’d be hard pushed to find a better located hotel than Red Planet Nishiki Nagoya. Opened at the end of 2017 right by Nagoya station, the budget boutique offers modern, white (albeit small) rooms and a lobby with Apple computers and an interactive selfie screen. The hotel is easily located by the giant red ‘R’ pasted on the exterior.
preview.redplanethotels.com

Nagoya essentials

● From Chubu Centrair International Airport, take the Meitetsu Kuko line to central Nagoya (journey time is less than 30 minutes). A taxi ride into town is pricey: generally more than ¥13,000 (HK$950).

● Nagoya is well connected with the rest of Japan: the fastest bullet train to Kyoto takes just over half an hour, while Tokyo can be reached in 100 minutes.

● A visit to Nagoya Castle should be high on the list: those interested in meeting a local (and learning a bit about the castle) should join a free English-speaking tour offered by the Aichi Goodwill Guides Network. nagoyajo.city.nagoya.jp

● Nagoya is easy to navigate, with a network of six subway lines. The Meijo line forms a loop, with easy access to a number of key attractions. A one-day subway pass is good value for exploring. kotsu.city.nagoya.jp/en/pc

Cathay Pacific flies to Nagoya from Hong Kong and Taipei 21 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book