北京

關山萬里說長城

漢學家吳芳思指出,萬里長城並非真是一堵萬里綿延不斷的城牆。即使如此,這些散落於中國北方的多段防禦牆,西起甘肅,東至山東,依然是人類歷史上數一數二的宏偉建築。吳芳思從多個長城遺址中精選四個最具歷史意義的地點,訴說長城背後的人物故事

萬里長城的灰色圍牆和瞭望台,於蒼翠的山巒間蜿蜒起伏;這堵牆不單是一個防禦工事,也是一個權力象徵,象徵著中國悠久而輝煌的歷史。

17世紀時,在滿清朝廷官至欽天監的耶穌會修士南懷仁曾宣稱:「即使將世界七大奇蹟加起來,亦無法與長城媲美」。1935年,毛澤東寫下「不到長城非好漢」的詩句。1778年,英國文豪約翰遜博士表示,到萬里長城參觀可以惠澤後世︰「你的探索精神和好奇心會在子孫身上反映出來,他們會被人視為那個曾到中國長城一遊的人的後代。」

「萬里長城」這個名稱有點誤導,令人以為這是一堵綿延萬里的城牆。長城其實是由許多段城牆組成,建築時間由公元前七世紀至16世紀,它們分佈的地點從中國西北部甘肅省的荒漠地帶,蜿蜒伸延至東部山東省境內陡峭的崖岸邊,其中有部分更延伸至海中。這些分佈於不同地點的城牆,組成了規模龐大的萬里長城。長城到底是否有萬里長呢?答案卻是眾說紛紜,估計長城的總長度介乎6,350至21,196公里(以現代考古科技推算的最新數字)之間。

位於河北省和山東省部分的長城以磚牆建造,跟甘肅省內以黃土牆建造的大有分別,某程度上亦各有用途。春秋戰國時代,中國北方各諸侯國均有各自修建長城,以防外敵。到了秦始皇滅六國統一天下之後,將各段長城連接起來,並加以鞏固,以增強防禦能力。

但直至秦滅漢興之後,才將城牆擴建,沿著絲路一直伸延至甘肅,反映漢代對西域的用心經營,其影響遠至中亞。到了漢朝末年,中國因邊患偃息,於是停止興建長城。這次停工,一停就停了逾1,000年。直到明朝時,由於北方的蒙古和女真等部族不斷興兵侵犯,構成大患,才又開始大規模修築長城。

以下介紹四個不同地方內的長城遺址,每段城牆各自述說一段不同的中國歷史。

廣為人識的長城:

八達嶺

位於北京八達嶺的一段長城保存得十分完好,亦是外國王室及元首訪華時最常參觀的景點。踏上附近的居庸關,可以遊覽建於1345年(時值元朝)的雲台過街塔。下面的券門內壁刻有佛像浮雕及中文、藏文、八思巴文、梵文、回鶻文和西夏文的銘文,反映蒙古人統治期間,中國北方各民族文化交匯的盛況。

八達嶺長城地基寬闊,可容五馬並馳,直達瞭望台,最陡峭的路段更鋪設了石階。16世紀時,蒙古族和滿洲女真族多次來犯,明朝政府於是以青磚加固八達嶺長城。防禦部隊在長城上多個碉堡、有瞭望作用的敵台及烽火台,必要時燃放狼煙傳遞軍情,以保衛京師。八達嶺長城亦是張藝謀近作《長城》的參考原型,戲中的長城磚牆寬闊,設有敵台。不過電影中的故事背景在宋代,當時這段以石頭和泥土築成的長城恐怕仍處於失修的狀態。

令人頭暈目眩的長城:

司馬台、金山嶺、古北口、慕田峪

過去數十年來,北京附近的司馬台、金山嶺及古北口的長城段陸續開放,供人遊覽。這些段落均於16世紀時經過大規模的修繕工程,馬道大部分比八達嶺長城為窄,但沿途的山巒景致比八達嶺更為壯觀。

司馬台長城全長5.4公里,建有共35座敵樓,依著燕山山脈而建,為長城中最險要的一段(膽小的人可乘吊車遊覽)。東接司馬台長城的金山嶺長城全長10.5公里,築有67座敵樓及三座烽燧,亦設有纜車。兩段長城均與長40公里、較為破舊的古北口長城段連接。

明朝時,名將戚繼光於1567至1570年間一手統籌修整加固這段長城的工程。他早年長期率軍於東南沿海抵抗來犯的倭寇(據野史所載,其妻王氏亦曾成功守住一座臨海要塞),於暮年才著手修葺長城。英國於1793年首次派特使馬戛爾尼勳爵來華時,他亦曾登臨古北口長城。隨同他一起前來的貼身男僕Aeneas Anderson記下這次長城之行,他寫道︰「長城可說是人類史上最令人歎為觀止的傑作ةة構思宏大,修築長城所耗費的人力物力ةة實在難以想像ةة簡言之,長城是一條優秀的軍事通道ةة中國的軍隊可沿長城從國土的一端行軍至另一端。」

淒涼傷心的長城:

山海關

位於河北省東部秦皇島市的山海關矗立於長城最東端,有一部分從陸地一直伸延至海中,有「老龍頭」之稱。

享負盛名的山海關同時也證明了長城並非固若金湯。1644年,明朝大將吳三桂降清,帶領清軍大舉入關。吳三桂向清兵投降,原因一言難盡︰他是遼寧人,家鄉就在滿洲腹地附近,然而他的舅父祖大壽早已向滿洲人投降,並曾向外甥勸降;但吳三桂一直效忠明朝,被崇禎皇帝任命為山海關總兵,鎮守此地。崇禎皇帝駕崩後,聚眾造反的李自成自號闖王,揮軍進佔北京後,將吳三桂之父吳襄殺害,令他決定借助滿洲人之力,讓清軍從山海關入關,一舉拿下北京城。

山海關附近有一座孟姜女廟,用來紀念民間傳說中「哭崩長城」的孟姜女‭ ‬。

傳說在秦朝時,秦始皇下令將六國昔日分別修築的長城連接起來,成為綿延萬里的長城。秦朝的賦稅制度規定男子須服徭役,參與國家的建築工程。孟姜女在丈夫被強徵到遙遠的北方去修築長城後,想起北方冬天苦寒,於是千里迢迢送禦寒衣服給丈夫。臨近山海關時,她收到丈夫已死的消息,於是伏於長城下放聲大哭,長城被她的哭聲震至崩塌,露出丈夫的遺體,她便將屍骨帶回家鄉安葬。

不起眼的長城:

玉門關、嘉峪關

甘肅省的河西走廊屬半沙漠,是一片位於群山之間的平原,位於古代絲綢之路上。在這裡你會看到一段截然不同的長城,那就是在敦煌附近的玉門關。以黃土夯築的玉門關建於2,000年前的漢朝,你仍可見到木結構上層層夯土中,混入了西河柳枝或蘆葦,以鞏固結構,不過現在已被風霜侵蝕出無數的坑紋。

在這裡,玉門關僅僅是一堵土牆,作用是標誌多於防禦,但這裡亦是漢軍屯兵守衛西方邊境的要塞之一。土牆附近可見同樣以夯土方式建成的烽燧,士兵於烽火台上點燃煙火,釋出狼煙向其他駐守軍隊傳遞軍情。玉門關的烽燧遠高於周圍的小型烽火台。

此外,甘肅省內還有嘉峪關,這座建於14世紀的明代關城以泥磚及夯土築成,是保存得最完好的明代長城,最近曾經修葺,其黃土城牆及四角的城樓屹立於沙漠之中,巍峨壯觀,堪稱「天下第一雄關」。‭ ‬

中國萬里長城之外

萬里長城天下間無人不曉,但其實中國還有不少巍峨壯闊的古牆。 以下介紹當中歷史最悠久、最宏偉及堅固的遺跡。

西安城牆

圖片:Quanjing

建造年代:14世紀(時值明朝),其後三度重修

用途:守衛陝西省首府西安

亮點:中國現存最完整的古城牆

特色:箭樓設有大量箭窗,以便射擊入侵者

城牆始建於明朝(公元13681644年),當初目的是抵禦外敵,現在則用來分隔西安新城和古城。城牆延綿14公里,高達12米,蔚為世上最大型古代軍事防禦建築之一,亦是全中國最完整和連貫的城垣。雖然城牆歷經數百年風霜依然屹立不倒,不過卻在1950年代差點讓路於社會發展,險遭「連根拔起」,幸而城牆最終沒有失守,不但獲大規模修復之餘,更被當局正式列為全國重點文物保護單位。現時大量遊客和當地人均慕名而至,除了因為遺址的歷史意義重大外,城牆頂現時變成單車徑,因此不乏好動遊客前來消閒,單車徑全程約需90分鐘。

苗疆南長城

圖片:David South / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

建造年代:1573至1622年(時值明朝)

用途:隔離苗族和漢族

亮點:中國南方唯一一段長城

特色:四周有綠蔭圍繞

中國歷史上曾多次修築大型圍牆,將敵對族群分隔開來。明朝時期,苗族人民為抵抗朝廷的懷柔漢化政策,曾數次發起叛亂。這座位於湖南省湘西自治州,全長190公里的長城正是為了防止苗亂而修建,當中共有1,300多個大小哨站,供駐守士兵站崗。

跟其他城牆相比,苗疆長城並非最為堅固,築牆的石頭亦相對較小,這是因為苗民沒有強大的軍事實力,不過這段長城仍被視為位處北方的萬里長城一部分。現時南長城只有一小部分仍然完整,並成為沿蒼翠山嶺遠足的好去處,而鄰近的鳳凰古城則是中國風景數一數二的美麗小鎮,兩岸山巒綠意盎然,沱江在中間流淌。

鞏義古牆

圖片: Imaginechina

建造年代:清朝咸豐末年(1861年)或更早

用途:防衛軍事前哨基地

亮點:最近才發現的古牆

特色:隱藏於崇山峻嶺中

很難相信今時今日,長達1,000米的古牆居然一直未被發現,這座深藏於河南省鞏義市高山的要塞,直至2015年才方為世人所知。由於只有少量文獻可徵,歷史學家只能倚靠建築本身去了解其過去。這座延綿1,000米的城牆環繞山頂而建,據此推測它主要用來守圍某座堡壘,而不是分隔敵對的勢力。它整體保存狀況良好,四面圍牆中三面大致完整,這全賴它位於中部偏遠地區的深山,地點極為隱蔽,周圍的陡峭崖壁和崎嶇地形令探險人士知難而退。

南京城牆

圖片: Quanjing

建造年代:1366至1393年(時值明朝)

用途:守衛明朝帝都南京

亮點:世上現存最長的城牆

特色:磚牆用糯米砂漿黏合,做法是將水混入煮過的糯米和桐油

南京城牆原本全長35公里,當中25公里的牆身基本依然完好,是世上現存最長的古代城垣。為了修築城牆,明朝開國皇帝朱元璋(1368至1398年在位)下令全國118縣燒製城磚,將多達3.5億塊磚運送至南京築牆。根據太祖的要求,每塊城磚都要刻上負責官員或工匠的姓名,以確保大小和質量達標,數百年後磚上的字跡仍歷歷可見。中華門(古稱聚寶門)尤其值得留意,它是世上其中一座造工最精巧和保存情況最佳的防禦城門。

平遙城牆

圖片: Ray Wise / Moment Open / Getty Images

建造年代:1370年起始建(時值明朝)

用途:守衛平遙城

亮點:圍繞中國最漂亮的古城

特色:平遙有「龜城」之稱,因為從上空鳥瞰城牆外形像烏龜

平遙古城有兩個世界聞名的成就:它是現代銀行業的發源地,更擁有宏偉壯麗的古城牆。平遙古城和城牆獲聯合國教科文組織評定為世界文化遺產,見證了多個世紀以來中國建築風格的流變。城牆原址為夯土城垣,歷史可追溯至西周宣王時期(公元前827至782年),不過現今看到的磚牆則是於明清時期(公元1368年至1912年)所建,當時的平遙已成為全國金融樞紐。城牆的深厚歷史,教考古學家讚歎不已。根據當地傳說,城牆上的72座瞭望台和3,000個城垛口分別象徵孔門七十二賢和三千弟子。平遙的市街美輪美奐、井井有條,不容錯過的景點得數明清古街,那是數百年來全縣城最繁華的商業區,而平遙文廟則為全國保存狀況最好的孔廟。

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往北京的航班,每周有70班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Beijing

The greatest walls of China

There is no such thing as The Great Wall, according to FRANCES WOOD. But that’s not to say the many walls between Gansu and Shandong provinces aren’t some of the most remarkable structures in human history. The Chinese scholar chooses four of the most significant sections and tells the stories of the people behind the ramparts

The broad grey ramparts and turreted watchtowers of The Great Wall rising over green mountains create an unforgettable symbol of power, and of China’s long and illustrious history.

Ferdinand Verbiest, a 17th century Jesuit scholar employed by the Manchu Qing government, declared that ‘the seven wonders of the world put together are not comparable to this work’. In 1935, Mao Zedong wrote, ‘No man is a hero unless he’s been to The Great Wall.’ In 1778, Samuel Johnson said that visiting The Great Wall would benefit future generations: ‘There would be a lustre reflected upon them from your spirit and curiosity. They would be at all times regarded as the children of a man who had gone to visit the wall of China.’

The Great Wall is a misnomer. It is not one, but many, many walls, built from the seventh century BC to the 16th century, and stretching, often doubling up, between the semi-desert of Gansu province in China’s northwest and the steep cliffs of eastern Shandong province, where a rampart tumbles down into the sea. Estimates of the length of this massive collection of walls range from 6,350 kilometres to 21,196 kilometres (a recent figure made possible by modern archaeological technology).

The brick walls of Hebei and Shandong provinces are very different from the yellow-earth walls in Gansu, and to some extent they served different purposes. Some of the earliest walls, built for defence as separate states evolved in the north of China from the seventh century BC, were linked and improved by China’s first emperor in the third century BC, when he overcame all the other warring states and created a unified China.

But it was during the subsequent Han dynasty (206 BC-220 AD) that the wall was extended, along the Silk Road into Gansu, reflecting the westward expansion of Han China into Central Asia. At the end of the Han dynasty, wall building stopped for more than 1,000 years as the Chinese state perceived little danger from invasion. The next great period of wall building was during the Ming dynasty (1368-1644) when various northern groups such as the Mongols and the Manchus presented a serious military threat.

Here are four different walls in four very different places that each tell us something about the history of China.

Hero-Great-Walls-1

The iconic wall

Badaling

Easily reached from Beijing, the wall at Badaling is well restored. It’s the site most toured by visiting royalty and presidents. Take in the Cloud Platform, a tower built in 1345 that straddles the road, at nearby Juyongguan. Inside the tunnel-like passage, low-relief Buddhist figures and inscriptions in Chinese, Tibetan, Mongolian, Sanskrit, Uighur and Xixia reveal the complex meeting of cultures in northern China during the Mongol Yuan dynasty (1279-1368).

The wall at Badaling is a broad structure along which five horsemen could ride abreast, running up to watchtowers, the steepest parts ascended by steps. The wall here was reinforced with bricks during the 16th century when the Ming dynasty was faced with serious threats from the Mongols and the Jurchen in Manchuria. Defensive garrisons were housed in a series of forts, watchtowers and beacons, on which fires were lit to send smoke signals – all to protect the capital, Beijing. It also served as the model for The Great Wall in Zhang Yimou’s recent film of the same name that features a broad, brick wall complete with watchtowers: although during the Song dynasty (960-1279), in which the film is set, the wall would have been in disrepair and constructed of stones and earth.

The vertigo-inducing wall

Great-Wall-China-1

Simatai, Jinshanling, Gubeikou, Mutianyu

Interesting sections of The Great Wall near Beijing that have been opened in recent decades include Simatai, Jinshanling and Gubeikou. They form part of the wall that was extensively restored in the 16th century, and though they generally run narrower than the Badaling sections, the mountain scenery is more dramatic.

Simatai’s 5.4 kilometres of wall, including 35 beacon towers, clings to the Yanshan Mountains and is incredibly steep in parts (though there are open-air gondolas for the faint-hearted). Jinshanling, west of Simatai, is a 10.5 kilometre stretch with 67 watchtowers and three beacon towers (and a cable car). Both sites are linked to the dilapidated 40 kilometre section at Gubeikou.

All came under the control of a famous 16th century general, Qi Jiguang, who masterminded the restoration between 1567 and 1570. He undertook the work late in life, after a long period of service defending China’s southern coast against Japanese pirates (his wife was also said to have commanded a coastal fort). It was the Gubeikou section that Lord Macartney visited on the first British diplomatic mission to China in 1793. His valet, Aeneas Anderson, wrote: ‘This wall is, perhaps, the most stupendous ever produced by man…the idea of the grandeur, and the active labour employed in constructing it is not easily grasped by the strongest imagination…In short, it formed a fine military way, by which the armies of China…could march from one end of the kingdom to the other.’

The poignant wall

Shanhaiguan

Near the easterly city of Qinhuangdao in Hebei province is the Shanhaiguan section of The Great Wall – so far east that the wall reaches the sea, descending into the waves at a portion named Laolongtou (Old Dragon Head).

It’s also significant for being the section that demonstrated the fact that the wall was no guaranteed defence when, in 1644, the Ming commander Wu Sangui opened the gates to the invading Manchu army. His loyalties were complex: his family came from an area close to the Manchu heartlands and his uncles had joined the Manchu; but Wu remained a loyal military commander of the Ming forces. However, when the last Ming emperor died and Wu’s father was brutally murdered by the rebel leader briefly occupying Beijing, he changed sides and the Manchu army poured through wall to take Beijing.

Nearby Shanhaiguan is Mengjiangnu Temple, which commemorates one of the most poignant legends associated with the wall, Meng Jiang.

According to the legend, Meng’s husband was conscripted when the first emperor ordered work on existing walls in the north, joining them to form a long defence, during the Qin dynasty (221-206 BC). At the time, a man’s tax responsibility included periods of service in government infrastructure projects. Her husband was sent off to the far north, and, come the winter, she decided to take him warm clothes. Near Shanhaiguan, she learned that he had died. She sat by the wall and wept, and her tears caused the wall to crumble and reveal his body, which she took home for burial.

The humble wall

Great-Wall-China-2

Yumenguan, Jiayuguan

Out in the Gansu corridor, a semi-desert route between mountain ranges on the old Silk Road, you can see traces of a very different wall: most notably at Yumenguan (Jade Gate Pass) near Dunhuang. Built 2,000 years ago during the Han dynasty, the wall is made of tamped earth. You can still see the layers of yellow earth pounded flat within a wooden framework, sometimes strengthened with layers of tamarisk twigs or bundles of reeds, scoured like ribs by wind and sand.

Here, the wall is simply a wall, a marker rather than a defensive structure, but part of a system of widely spaced garrisons where the Han army kept watch on its westernmost borders. Alongside the wall are beacon towers, built from the same layers of pounded yellow earth. Fires were lit on top of the beacons to signal alarm to other garrison troops using smoke signals. The block-like structure at Yumenguan towers over the smaller beacons.

Also in western Gansu province is the great fort at Jiayuguan, the best-preserved fort of the Ming-era walls. Built of mud brick and tamped earth in the late 14th century and recently restored, it is a dramatic sight with its massive yellow walls and elaborate corner towers standing tall in the desert.

5 OTHER GREAT WALLS OF CHINA

You know the big one – but many other ancient fortifications survive across the Middle Kingdom. We introduce the most historic, grand and formidable.

City wall of Xi’an

city wall of xi'an china
Credit: Quanjing

Built: 14th century, refurbished three times

Purpose: to protect Xi’an, the capital city of Shaanxi province

Claim to fame: most complete city wall in China

Interesting feature: a many-windowed tower designed for shooting arrows at attackers

Constructed during the Ming dynasty (1368–1644) to protect against invaders, this structure now separates modern Xi’an from the ancient city centre. It stretches 14 kilometres and reaches 12 metres high, standing as one of the world’s largest ancient military defence systems and the most complete, connected Chinese city wall. Despite surviving for hundreds of years, the structure faced a different kind of threat in the 1950s, when there was an attempt to demolish it. Thankfully that didn’t happen, and China has officially declared the heavily restored wall a heritage site. Apart from its historical significance, tourists and locals alike are drawn to its recreational use today: the top of the wall is a cycling loop, which takes about 90 minutes to finish.

Miaojiang Southern Wall‭ ‬

Restored section of Southern Great Wall of China Huangsiqiao Hunan Province China
Credit: David South / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Built: 1573 to 1622

Purpose: to separate the Miao and Han ethnic groups

Claim to fame‭:‬ the only Great Wall in southern China

Interesting feature: lush forested surroundings

Historically, many large-scale walls were built to create boundaries between various warring groups. During the Ming dynasty, the Miao people staged several uprisings in response to imperial assimilation efforts. This 190-kilometre wall was built because of these attacks, in modern-day Xiangxi Autonomous Prefecture in Hunan, with more than 1,300 sentry posts for guards.

It’s not the strongest wall – the stones used are relatively small – as the Miao people did not have a powerful military, but it is considered a part of the Great Wall of China network based in the north. Today only small parts of the Southern Wall remain intact, but they offer great hiking along the lush mountainside. The nearest village, Fenghuang, is known as one of the most beautiful towns in China, with green slopes and a river running through it.

Hill wall of Gongyi‭ 

hill wall of gongyi china
Credit: Imaginechina

Built: starting 1861 or earlier

Purpose: to protect a military outpost

Claim to fame: most recently discovered wall

Interesting feature: steep mountain location

It’s incredible, in this day and age, that a 1,000-metre wall could go undiscovered. Yet it was only in 2015 that this fortress, tucked high in the mountains of Henan province’s Gongyi, was found. With very few documents acknowledging its presence, historians have had to rely on studying its structure to learn about its past. The 1,000-metre wall encircles a mountaintop, suggesting it was built to surround a fortress rather than as a boundary between warring groups. It is in relatively good condition, with three of its four walls mostly intact, thanks to its hidden location in a remote area of central China, where it’s surrounded by steep cliffs and rocky natural terrain that deter explorers.

Nanjing City Wall

nanjing city wall china
Credit: Quanjing

Built: 1366-1393

Purpose: to protect Nanjing, the capital of the Ming dynasty

Claim to fame: the world’s longest city wall

Interesting feature: brickwork joints were poured with a mix of lime mortar, water in which glutinous rice had been cooked and tung oil

With 25 of its original 35 kilometres still intact, the Nanjing City Wall is the world’s longest city wall. The founder of the Ming Dynasty, Emperor Zhu Yuanzhang (1368-1398), ordered up to 350 million bricks from the 118 counties in his empire to build it. According to his specifications, each brick was inscribed by the individual official or artisan who was responsible for its size and quality, leaving lasting legacies of ancient Chinese calligraphy. A highlight is Zhonghua Gate, one of the most intricate and well-preserved defensive gateways in the world.

Wall of Pingyao

Pingyao World Heritage Site china
Credit: Ray Wise / Moment Open / Getty Images

Built: starting in 1370

Purpose: to protect the city of Pingyao

Claim to fame: surrounds the best ancient city in China

Interesting feature: Pingyao is called Tortoise City because the city wall resembles a tortoise from above

Pingyao is famous for being the birthplace of modern banking and for its magnificent ancient wall. A UNESCO World Heritage Site, the ancient city and its wall represent the evolution of Chinese architectural style over a span of five centuries. A wall made of rammed earth was built in 827 BC, but the brick version we see today was constructed during the Ming and Qing dynasties (1368-1912), when the city served as a financial hub. Archaeologists are fascinated by the city wall; according to local lore, its 72 watchtowers and 3,000 external battlements represent the 72 disciples and 3,000 students of Confucius. Amid Pingyao’s rows of pretty streets, highlights for visitors include the ancient Ming-Qing Street, the city’s busiest commercial block for hundreds of years, and the Temple of Confucius, which remains the best-preserved Confucius temple in China.

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Beijing from Hong Kong 70 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book