公路旅行

朱古力狂迷的越野親子之旅

Laurie Gough和兒子Quinn駕駛開篷車,穿越魁北克省縱橫交錯的河谷

這趟公路之旅已展開了一小時,我們正駛經魁北克省西部的青蔥郊野,車廂裡鴉雀無聲,氣氛沉重,猶如從山間席捲而至的雨後濃霧。我和14歲的兒子Quinn幾乎無話可說。不久之前我嘗試跟他閒聊,換來的卻是青少年常見的聳肩,表示不置可否,或是只得一、兩個字的回應。我不禁疑惑,這趟周末之旅我們會有什麼話題。

幸好,我們租了一輛有型有格的福特Mustang開篷車。Quinn是個汽車迷,對此感到無比興奮。我們朝著將會入住的Fairmont Le Château Montebello豪華度假村進發,這是一座建於1930年代的豪華度假酒店,就在渥太華河岸邊,有「全球最大的木屋」之稱。當車駛到度假村入口時,Quinn突然衝口而出:「我們第一次沒有乘坐一輛有十年車齡的舊車來這種地方!」

他說得沒錯。我和丈夫對汽車都不甚講究,但卻很喜歡公路之旅。這趟旅程,我與Quinn從位於渥太華的家出發,往東駛至蒙特利爾,然後繞道南方,途經多個遍佈務農小鎮的河谷。

我們踏進Montebello豪華度假村的大堂時,Quinn說:「那座壁爐大得像個城堡。」接下來的兩個小時,我們在度假村內經過細心修剪的園林中漫步,在天花板以橫樑承托的室內泳池暢泳,更像12歲的小孩一樣,在有如迷宮一樣的走廊和隧道你追我逐。翌日吃早餐時,我感到Quinn似乎覺得應該跟我聊聊了,他向我提出:「不如我們來個比賽,看看誰模仿《唐頓莊園》的人飲水的姿態最神似。」他優雅地伸出兩隻手指將酒杯托起,再舉至唇邊,一面飲水一面跟我保持眼神接觸,然後宣佈:「我贏了。」

我們並沒有使用較快捷的50號公路前往蒙特利爾,反而沿著渥太華河畔蜿蜒曲折的小路慢慢前進,往多個小村莊稍作逗留。這些村莊有些是說法語的,有些是說英語的。在楓樹翠綠的濃蔭下,我播放的音樂大多來自1970和80年代,Quinn似乎絲毫不感興趣;但當播出Tracy Chapman的《Fast Car》時,他將音量調高了。在Grenville鎮裡某座俯瞰河流的老式燈塔旁邊,Quinn更圍著燈塔攀爬跑跳,就像在玩極限運動parkour一般。

甫抵達蒙特利爾,一切的節奏和步伐都改變了。我們發現這裡的Plateau區既時髦而且色彩繽紛,可說是蒙特利爾的格林威治村。我們在一家名為Hào的小店內吃到美味可口的素包子,裡面塞滿拌了海鮮醬和麻油的豆腐、蘑菇和青椒做的餡料。我們曾在多倫多吃過這種包子一次,回味無窮,後來一直到處尋找,希望再嚐這種滋味。我們再次駕車出發,途中Quinn看到有家人出售無用的舊物,他把那堆掛飾、舊相片和某人的藝術習作買下來,然後開始把它們一一塞進車尾箱,大笑起來,那種笑聲是我從未
聽過的。

我們兩人都可說是朱古力狂迷,因此下一站自然是Juliette et Chocolat,這是蒙特利爾一家專門提供朱古力美食的餐廳。我點了一杯Mangaro熱朱古力,根據餐牌的介紹,用來調製這杯飲品的可可豆生長的地方,以前是一個芒果園,因此帶有「芒果的餘韻,伴隨淡淡的薑餅和柑橘味道」。Quinn點了白朱古力紅桑子沙冰,我們還分享了一件焦糖海鹽朱古力蛋糕,簡直完全被朱古力淹沒了。

Brendan Burden and Alexi Hobbs

下一站是觀賞蒙特利爾衝擊隊作賽。我從未在現場欣賞美國職業足球聯盟的比賽,而一眾球員,包括來自歐洲、非洲和南美洲的球員均天才橫溢,球賽緊張剌激,出乎我意料之外。主隊擊敗紐約紅牛,贏得觀眾熱烈喝采。

我們下榻的酒店位於市區,在駕車返回酒店的途上,我們碰上球賽後必定出現的交通擠塞。今年的夏季雖然姍姍來遲,但這一晚我們終於嘗到夏夜的溫暖。我按下開啟車頂敞篷的按鈕,兩人瞬間被遼闊的夜空、繁星和城市建築包圍住。Quinn啟動iPod大播額我略聖歌,緊接意大利歌劇式的流行曲《Il Mondo》。車輛在逐漸高吭的音樂伴隨下駛過街道,行人道上的蒙特利爾人都對我們報以注目禮。我笑個不停,這些音樂與當時的環境真是出奇地配合。

翌日早上,我們徒步走上蒙特利爾著名的皇家山,前往皇家山公園欣賞Tam-Tams表演,這個擬聲名字源自每逢周日舉行的鼓樂活動,吸引眾多活力充沛的鼓手、舞者和前來野餐的人。之後我們在Salon de thé Cardinal吃午餐,這家茶室位於Mile End,是一個趣味十足的社區,裡面有各式各樣的老古董。不過最令我們感到愜意的,還是一邊吃青瓜蒔蘿三文治和飲伯爵紅茶,一邊聆聽鋼琴師彈奏懷舊音樂。蒙特利爾的風情,與《唐頓莊園》相比,有過之而無不及。

翌日,我取道Châteauguay Valley山谷前往Ormstown村,據說該處是我的高曾祖母入土之地,她於1785年在蘇格蘭出生。Ormstown村是一條小村落,有紅磚農舍、小巷和油漆斑剝的穀倉,還有多條小溪流經村莊的中心地帶。

我們抵達這條小農村時,首先見到的,就是教堂旁邊的墓地。我們將車停泊在對面街時,正在下雨。Quinn說:「我們比賽看看誰先找到她的墓碑。」我望著不斷敲打擋風玻璃的雨水,然後看著兒子,笑道:「好啊,來吧。」Janet Selkirk Cross擁有很多不喜歡墨守成規的蘇格蘭後裔,其中兩個就來到了小小的Ormstown村的這塊墓地,在雨中開懷大笑。

Brendan Burden and Alexi Hobbs

自駕遊四大精采之處

最難忘時刻:我們在Châteauguay Valley山谷的某處迷路,於是在路邊攤檔旁將車停下,向人問路。一場暴雨驟然而來,我們躲在車上吃從攤檔購來,新鮮即製的薯條。後來雨過天晴,田野上空出現一抹彩虹

最佳歌曲:Bruce Springsteen的《Born to Run》

最佳比賽:在Fairmont Le Château Montebello豪華度假村裡打了一場活力十足的網球

最佳金句:旅程結束,我們清理汽車時,Quinn說:「車尾箱裡那堆垃圾究竟是從哪裡來的?噢,我記起了」

有用資訊

魁北克省Montebello區Fairmont Le Château Montebello豪華度假村。fairmont.com/montebello

Sofitel Montréal Golden Mile酒店。sofitel.com

Juliette et Chocolat朱古力餐廳在蒙特利爾有五家分店。julietteetchocolat.com

Salon de thé Cardinal茶室。 thecardinaltea.com

Avis Ad August CH

國泰航空設有從香港飛往蒙特利爾的代號共享航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Road trips

The great Mustang chocoholic cross-country bonding trip

LAURIE GOUGH and her son Quinn drive through the patchwork valleys of Québec – with the top down. Photography by BRENDAN BURDEN and ALEXI HOBBS

We were an hour into our road trip, driving through the lavishly green countryside of western Québec, and the silence in the car was as thick as the post-rain fog coming off the hills. My 14-year-old son Quinn and I were barely talking. My earlier attempts at chatting had been met with teenage shrugs and monosyllables. I wondered what we’d discuss during this weekend journey.

Luckily, we’d rented a cool car: a convertible Ford Mustang. Quinn, being a car geek, was excited about that. When we drove up to the entrance to check into the Fairmont Le Château Montebello – a luxurious 1930s stately resort on the banks of the Ottawa River known as the ‘world’s largest log cabin’ – he suddenly blurted out: ‘Hey, this is the first time we’ve ever come to a place like this not in a 10-year-old car!’

He was right. Cars aren’t that important to me or my husband. But road trips are. On this one, we’d be travelling east from our home in Ottawa, as far as Montréal, with a detour south through patchwork valleys of tiny farming towns.

‘That fireplace is the size of a castle,’ said Quinn when we walked into Montebello’s lobby. We spent the next two hours roaming the resort’s immaculately landscaped grounds, swimming in the indoor pool with its high-beamed ceilings and racing like 12-year-olds down the maze-like hallways and tunnels. At breakfast the next morning, I sensed Quinn felt he should make conversation, so he said, ‘Let’s have a contest to see who can drink this water the most like they would on Downton Abbey.’ He placed two fingers elegantly beneath the bowl of the wine glass, rose the glass to his lips, and never lost eye contact with me as he drank. ‘I win.’

Instead of taking the faster Highway 50 to Montréal, we followed a meandering slower-paced route along the Ottawa River, stopping in various villages – some French-speaking, some English-speaking. Under the emerald of swaying maples, Quinn seemed bored with my soundtrack of mostly 1970s and early ’80s music, but when Fast Car by Tracy Chapman came on, he turned up the volume. In the town of Grenville, Quinn leapt around parkour-style beside an old-fashioned lighthouse overlooking the river.

The pace changed once we hit Montréal. We found the city’s hip and colourful Plateau neighbourhood, which is the Greenwich Village of Montréal. At a lunch counter called Hào we ate delicious vegan bao stuffed with tofu, mushrooms and peppers sautéed in hoisin sauce and sesame oil. We’d had the same dish once in Toronto and had been searching for it ever since. Back on the road, Quinn spied a pile of unwanted stuff from a garage sale. He began stuffing the car boot with wall hangings, old photos and someone’s art school portfolio, laughing in a new way I’d never heard before.

Since we’re both chocoholics, our next stop was Juliette et Chocolat, a local Montréal restaurant devoted solely to chocolate. I ordered Mangaro hot chocolate, which the menu says is grown on a former mango plantation and carries ‘a mango aftertaste, along with hints of gingerbread and citrus’. Quinn had the white chocolate raspberry smoothie. We split a caramel fleur de sel brownie. We were chocolated-out.

montreal canada

Next stop was a Montréal Impact game. I’d never been to a Major League Soccer game before and the talent of the athletes – including several European, African and South American stars – gave me an unexpected thrill. The home team beat the New York Red Bulls and the crowd cheered wildly.

The best part was driving back to our downtown hotel. We were stuck in post-game traffic and, in a summer that never seemed to arrive, we were finally experiencing a warm night. I reached for the button that moves the car’s top down. With the open sky, stars and the city suddenly enveloping us, Quinn decided to blare Gregorian chant music from his iPod, followed by Il Mondo, an Italian operatic pop song. Montréalers out for the evening stared as we cruised along and the music climaxed. I couldn’t stop laughing. The music was oddly fitting.

The next morning we walked up Montréal’s famous mountain to Mont Royal Park to watch the Tam-Tams, the onomatopoeic name of the Sunday drum circle that attracts a vivacious crowd of drummers, dancers and picnickers. Lunch was at Salon de thé Cardinal, a tearoom in another funky neighbourhood called Mile End. It was filled with eclectic antiques, but our favourite feature was the piano man playing old-timey music as we ate cucumber and dill sandwiches and drank earl grey tea. There was more than a little Downton Abbey to this trip.

The next day I wanted to drive through the Châteauguay Valley to Ormstown, where my great-great-great grandmother, born in Scotland in 1785, was supposedly buried. Ormstown is a village of redbrick farmhouses, back lanes, paint-chipped barns and brooks running through the centre of town.

Almost the first thing we saw when we reached the tiny farming village was a cemetery beside a church. We parked across the street. It was raining. Quinn said, ‘Let’s have a race to be the first one to find her gravestone.’ I looked at the rainwater pummelling the windshield. I looked at my son. I grinned. ‘Sure, let’s do it.’

Janet Selkirk Cross spawned a lot of unconventional Scottish offspring. And in this cemetery in tiny Ormstown, two of them were laughing in the rain.   

montreal canada

Four driving highlights

1) Most memorable moment: Lost somewhere in the Châteauguay Valley, we pulled over at a roadside stand to ask directions and eat freshly cut chips in the car when a sudden rainstorm crashed through and left a rainbow in its wake over a field

2) Best song: Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen

3) Best game: An invigorating game of tennis at the Fairmont Le Château Montebello

4) Best quote: On emptying the car at the end of the trip, Quinn: ‘How did all this junk end up in the car boot? Oh, right’

Need to know

montreal canada

Fairmont Le Château Montebello, Montebello, Québec. fairmont.com/montebello

Sofitel Montréal Golden Mile. sofitel.com

Juliette et Chocolat has five locations in Montréal. julietteetchocolat.com

Salon de thé Cardinal tearoom. thecardinaltea.com

Meandering River
Avis Ad August EN

Cathay Pacific flies codeshare to Montréal from Hong Kong

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book