健康與保健

25種遠離塵囂的方法

2019年來臨,如何避開隨之而來的壓力和紛擾?KATE SPRINGER搜羅了多種遠離俗世的妙法,讓你把疲憊一掃而空

遠離塵囂的意思,就是暫時脫離不斷重複的日常生活,放下紛擾,讓自己身心放鬆。2019年來臨,一切如常,自然亦要面對不斷出現的紛擾,我們只好不時設法拋開俗務,享受片刻安寧。有「旅遊心理學家」之稱的Michael Brein博士指出,旅行是避世良方。他表示:「我們只要打破常規,尋找新意,表達自我,擴闊眼界,自然能以嶄新角度思考問題。」

「旅遊的過程讓人以快速的步伐學習,增強我們的自尊、自信及自我成就感,整個人頓時豁然開朗,勇氣大增。」

不過,所謂逃離俗世,並非單指往優美的海灘游泳,而是改變自己的心態,不要再24小時不斷接受媒體轟炸,同時衝破自訂的框框。接下來我們會為你推介考驗意志的遠足路線、極地探險之旅、虛擬實境大冒險、洗滌心靈之行、養生活動,以及令你獲益良多的應用程式、電影和書籍,盡洗心中煩惱,不管在2019年這「煩惱」是什麼。

南極

打頭陣之旅,就讓我們一舉走到世界盡頭。到了開普敦後,Blue Flower Travel旅行社便會為你打點隨後一切行程,安排包機接送。你可在地球的南陲盡情探索,隨心意決定旅途長短;短則一天,長則可達八天。在這裡,你可以見到皇帝企鵝、深入冰川隧道,並在Whichaway Camp營地內以先進科技建造的「起居艙」休憩,於嚴寒的冰川之中感受窩心暖意。

南非,開普敦

Babylonstoren位於盛產葡萄酒的Franschhoek山谷,由開普敦駕車東行一小時即可到達。這個純樸的農莊和花園度假村佔地逾3.5公頃,歷史可追溯至1692年。你可沿其中一條偏僻小徑行至Garden Spa水療中心,稍事歇息後在兩家特色餐廳中選一家飽嚐新鮮直送的農家美食。到了晚上,入住由農舍改建而成的房間,每間套房的牆身均刷得潔白,設有四柱大床,還有暖入心頭的壁爐。

泰國,布吉

若你喜歡以柚木搭建的別墅、水療護理及樹影婆娑的棕櫚樹,那就要入住布吉悅榕莊心靜軒了。「養生之旅」療程設有50多項活動,全面照顧你的身心、健體及生活上的各項需要。你未必能在短短數天茅塞頓開,有所啟悟,但每日在泳池別墅中享受水療護理,飽覽安達曼海的無邊景致,定會令你感覺煥然一新,可以重新出發。

印尼

有時候,逃離俗世是指挑戰已知的身體與精神極限,這跟Adventure Academy探險旅行社的理念不謀而合。前戰機機師Matt Prior,率領一行三人登上印尼群島進行艱苦遠征,並提供實地指引,讓學員規劃並親身展開驚險刺激的大冒險。歷險於5月至10月舉行,行程為期一周,讓你攀上活火山,入住當地村落,徹底認識冒險旅遊的樂趣。如果你鍾情舒適逸樂,請跳過這一段。

中國,四川西部

到西藏高原旅遊,保證讓你無法接收電話訊號。2019年,香港歷奇及登山專業旅行社Whistling Arrow舉辦的小型旅行團,遠征四川西部及青海南部。行程為期16日,從成都出發前往西藏高原,旅客會在人跡稀少的崖頂住宿,更有機會欣賞難得一見的雪豹雄姿。下一趟行程安排於7月出發。

國泰航空每周有三班由香港飛往開普敦的航班及26班飛往雅加達的航班;國泰港龍航空每周均有14班飛往布吉及成都的航班

新西蘭,南島

夕陽西下之後,新西蘭南島的漆黑上空即可見到點點耀目光芒。從3月至9月,你甚至可一睹南極光,即南半球版本的北極光。夜晚安坐於Skyscape旅館的舒適小屋之中,觀看夜空中光影舞動,最是怡人寫意。這間摩登旅館位於皇后鎮與基督城之間,距離特威澤爾約12公里,位於偏僻的農田之上。這裡設有玻璃屋頂,只需抬頭,即可望見迷人的星空夜景。 

荷蘭,阿姆斯特丹

虛擬實景面世,讓你瞬間便可逃離現實,遊走於現實與想像中的遙遠世界。從阿姆斯特丹駕車南行一小時,就來到Enversed Virtual Reality Centre虛擬實景中心。這裡有如虛擬實景卡拉OK:你和朋友踏進預訂的房間,就可一腳跨上珠穆朗瑪峰之巔,手舞足蹈
一番。

美國,紐約

你可像梭羅一樣,入住Getaway House提供的林間小木屋。這些小木屋分別位於紐約市、華盛頓及波士頓的郊外,全以人手搭建,散佈於八公頃的叢林中,確保住客的私隱。在Catskills的小木屋,你可把手機鎖在特設的貯物櫃內,然後到Overlook Mountain Trail行山徑遠足,或在小屋附近蹓躂,烤棉花糖,同樣寫意逍遙。

Joe Thomas

蘇格蘭

蘇格蘭高地的山脈雲霧繚繞,湖上風光旖旎,沼澤一望無際,最重要的是環境清幽宜人。不妨乘坐Eda Frandsen號遊艇,在塞爾特各島嶼之間遨遊。Eda Frandsen長22米,航程由三夜至九夜不等,遊艇沿蘇格蘭西岸而行,行程豐富,或途經Small Island島、斯凱島及外赫布里底群島,亦會到偏遠的聖基爾達群島遊覽。

不丹

Keith Levit / Design Pics / Getty Images

今年年初開幕的不丹六善酒店共有五座旅舍,分別位於僻靜的村莊。參加14天的「王國之旅」,乘坐直升機在不丹的深谷之間翱翔,最能全面感受不丹的風貌。你可一次過體驗酒店的五座旅舍,首先下榻於廷布,然後再入住普那卡、帕羅河谷、崗提及布姆唐。旅客可於各站附近的山間遠足,參觀古老寺廟,參加慶典,或留在旅館,懷著感恩之心享受一刻悠閒。

瑞士,日內瓦湖

Hotel Royal Evian酒店借鑒日本森林浴療法,設計出一系列森林浴療程。在林間漫步可以洗滌心靈,紓緩壓力。Evian Resort度假村位於日內瓦湖畔,佔地19公頃,於早上提供小組或私人導遊團,讓旅客加深對森林的認識,練習深呼吸,與大自然重新建立聯繫。 

國泰航空每周有三班由香港飛往基督城的航班、七班飛往阿姆斯特丹的航班、35班飛往紐約的航班與七班飛往蘇黎世的航班 

香港

想放假稍事休息,但又抽不出時間?香港逸東酒店的Eaton Wellness養生中心提供各式各樣的新紀元療法,涵蓋靈氣治療、針灸、水晶治療、遠紅外線桑拿及聲音治療等。這片藝術氣息濃厚的小天地內,放置了喜馬拉雅鹽燈,有淨化空氣的作用,即使對「排毒療法」存疑的人士,亦能在這裡安享悠閒時光。

印尼,峇里

美輪美奐的Como Uma Canggu位於峇里南岸,這個豪華的滑浪及養生度假勝地有刺激巨浪、寫意的氣氛及健康美食。Como另一幢位於峇里的物業Shambhala本月舉辦新年願望工作坊,內容包括人生指導、瑜伽及旨在「以行動實踐夢想,帶來饒富意義的長遠改變」的療程。

印度,孟買

從孟買向東南行約三小時便會來到浦那的Atmantan Wellness Resort度假村。無論是新手或資深瑜伽行者,均可參與度假村舉辦的瑜伽之旅活動。活動為期三至十晚,包括以阿育吠陀醫療傳統評估你的心理狀況、姿勢、體格水平及身體機能,然後就所得結果定下以瑜伽改善體質的處方。

越南,會安

在會安附近的南海四季度假酒店的沙灘上,參與新鮮的「大地之母樂韻」體驗:日落時首先舉行「良夜」儀式,可在水療中心的潟湖上放傳統的許願蠟燭,然後在浮台享用晚餐和獨家水療服務。接下來是45分鐘的頌缽體驗、香薰浸浴,最後則是四手按摩,以恰到好處的技法將你催送入眠。

日本,大阪

若你想遠離塵囂之餘修心養性,不妨前往惠光院。從大阪乘坐火車南行兩小時,便可來到這座位於高野山之巔、有近1,200年歷史的寺院。寺內古老的屋檐、木格窗花及精緻的花園,將遊人帶往一個寧靜祥和的世界。在惠光院留宿,並沒有什麼特別的節目,但住客可以學習冥想和抄寫佛經、練習瑜伽、參與晨禱儀式,或者浸溫泉。房間設計簡樸,仿照傳統日式旅館鋪上榻榻米和放置矮桌,膳食方面則為佛門素食,有助滋養身心。

美國,西雅圖

你可能聽過「原始人飲食法」,此法提倡跟從穴居人的飲食方式,只吃肉類、魚類、堅果、種子及蔬菜。但在西雅圖附近的山間,身披獸皮的女子Lynx Vilden將石器時代的生活方式提升,在Living Wild開辦具教育性質的度假活動,分享在野外求生的實戰技巧。為期一周的體驗課程包括回歸原始生活的基本知識,傳授採集食物、生火、辨識草藥、狩獵、捕魚、騎馬及製衣等實用技能。

澳洲,藍山

若與家人同遊,可考慮登高,藍山是個好選擇。藍山區名列世界遺產,距離悉尼兩個半小時車程,有上百萬公頃的範圍,其中有懸崖峭壁、瀑布、茂密叢林,還有多個養生勝地,包括沃根谷One&Only唯逸度假酒店。酒店提供的合家歡度假套餐包括夜間觀察野生動物活動,還有無限量供應的雪糕。

國泰航空每周有10班飛往孟買的航班、36班飛往大阪的航班、28班飛往悉尼的航班,並於3月31日推出飛往西雅圖的航班。國泰港龍航空每周有八班飛往峴港的航班。兩家航空公司每周合共有八班航班飛往登巴薩(峇里)

南韓,鬱陵島

從南韓東岸的浦項港乘船約三個半小時,就來到鬱陵島。這裡有古老的樹林、瀑布、洞穴與山脈,是不折不扣的避世天堂。人稱這島為「神秘之島」。島上最近開設了Kosmos Healing Stay養生度假村,別墅每間客房均以五行元素命名,水療中心融入陰陽調和的概念,每個細節均與星相及風水呼應。在此住上數晚,或許會讓你脈輪全開。

台灣

要遠離俗世繁囂,不一定要一擲千金。台灣中部原住民村落司馬庫斯,與台北及台中距離相同,正是展開廉遊的最佳地點。你可選擇獨自在此閒遊,或在Taiwan Adventure Outings旅行社報名參加小組露營,由專人打點登山所需的一切設備和食糧,帶你暢遊古竹林,認識當地的泰雅族人,並在一望無際的星空下酣睡。

威爾斯,波特梅里恩

這裡是世上最神秘的村落之一:身處威爾斯北陲,陰雨綿綿的山上,矗立著看去氣氛陰森的城堡。但這裡也有個陽光明媚的半島,島上的村落佈滿色彩鮮艷的別墅、穹頂及尖塔,有如童話故事中的場景。波特梅里恩其實是個精心策劃興建的項目,由Clough Williams-Ellis於1925年至1975年間獨力以一塊又一塊的奇石堆建而成,有如主題公園。現在,他的後人以酒店形式經營這條村莊,當你在閃爍生輝的海口灣漫步時,自然會忘卻世上其他避世酒店。1960年代電視連續劇《The Prisoner》亦曾在此取景,此劇的擁躉會穿上西裝外套,戴上硬草帽前來朝聖,為這地方添上迷離氣氛。

Lydia Helene Irving/ Getty Images

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空每周有123班由香港飛往台北的航班;國泰港龍航空每周有七班飛往台中的航班

課程

耶魯大學心理學及認知科學教授Paul Bloom在其「美好生活:幸福概論」講座中,解構幸福的基本元素,以及如何成為幸福快樂的人。此外,加州大學柏克萊校園舉辦為期八周的「幸福科學」課程,則探討正向心理學和正念如何成就幸福快樂的人生。

書籍

焦慮或許是最常見的精神疾病,卻往往不易為人察覺。健康生活大師Sarah Wilson在新書《First, We Make the Beast Beautiful》中,詳述自己歷盡艱辛的心路歷程,提供應付不安情緒的勵志方法。若想來點輕鬆小品,不妨閱讀《How to Be Human: The Manual》。這是美國笑匠及積極促進心理健康的RubyWax的著作。她找來一位神經病學家及僧人助陣,為讀者提供實用貼士,鼓勵大眾保持正念,活在當下。

應用程式

研究顯示,冥想有助減壓和入眠。現於機上播放的《Headspace》由曾經出家為僧的AndyPuddicombe以悅耳的英國腔調擔任冥想指導,向大眾推廣這項活動。另外,免費應用程式Calm除了提供按部就班的冥想指導,還提供輕鬆的音樂,教授伸展運動以及講述「安眠故事」,帶你徐徐進入夢鄉。兩個應用程式均備有免費試用版。

電影

旅遊改變人生的故事,亦被搬上大銀幕。本月,國泰航空在機上選映動人的歷險電影《狂野行》。本片改編自真人真事,講述Cheryl Strayed(Reese Witherspoon飾演)在極度失意時,毅然踏上旅途,沿著1,700公里的太平洋翠園步道,從加州步行至俄勒岡州,藉此療傷。本月機上選映多部有關遠離塵囂,追尋自我的電影。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

The Great Escapism: 25 Transportive Experiences

Welcome to 2019. Here’s how you get away from it. We find magical ways to transport us far, far beyond everyday stresses and strains

Escapism. It’s defined by the Oxford English Dictionary as ‘The practice of seeking distraction from what normally has to be endured.’

There’s been a lot to endure in the world lately, and 2019 isn’t giving widespread cause for optimism. So we could all do with escaping from time to time.

According to Dr Michael Brein, the self-styled ‘Travel Psychologist’, one way to do this is to travel: ‘We simply need to break patterns and allow for novelty and self-expression to expand ourselves, which often puts problems – psych or otherwise – in a fresh light’, he says.

‘Travel involves learning at a quickened pace – so fast, in fact, that we are personally emboldened by such things as increased self-esteem, self-confidence and self-accomplishment.’

But escapism isn’t just plonking yourself on a nice beach: it’s about shifting your mind, taking a break from 24-hour media and pushing boundaries, too. In the experiences that follow, we’re sending you on mettle-testing treks, Arctic safaris, VR adventures, spiritual cleanses and to wellness festivals, as well as introducing great apps, movies and books to help you get away from it all – whatever ‘it all’ is in 2019.

The Antarctic

Let’s start dramatically: a trip to the end of the Earth. From Cape Town, Blue Flower Travel put you on a chartered jet. You can stay for as little as one day, or spend up to eight days exploring the southernmost point on Earth. You’ll meet emperor penguins, walk through ice tunnels and relax at Whichaway Camp, home to tech-savvy sleeping pods that keep you warm in the glacial environment. 

Cape Town, South Africa

Babylonstoren, in the wine valley of Franschhoek, is about an hour’s drive east of Cape Town. Dating back to 1692, the rustic farmyard and garden retreat sprawl out over 3.5 hectares. Follow one of the secluded walking trails, stop at the Garden Spa and tuck into wholesome farm-to-table food at one of two dedicated restaurants. In the evening, curl up in one of the converted farmhouse rooms – each suite is a haven of whitewashed walls, four-poster beds and soul-warming fireplaces.

Phuket, Thailand

Teakwood villas, spa treatments and palm trees more your style? Book yourself in for a retreat at Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary Phuket. The Sense of Wellness programme focuses on mind, body, fitness and lifestyle, with more than 50 activities on the menu. Will you achieve enlightenment after just a few days? Probably not. But with daily spa treatments and Andaman Sea views from the comfort of your pool villa, this feels like a great place to start.  

Indonesia

Sometimes, escaping is about pushing past perceived physical and mental boundaries. That’s where the Adventure Academy comes in. Former fighter pilot Matt Prior guides groups of three on intense expeditions across the Indonesian archipelago. Running from May to October, the one-week itinerary will have you hiking up active volcanoes, staying in local villages and learning the ins and outs of adventure travel. If you crave creature comforts, you might want to sit this one out.

Western Sichuan, China

One guaranteed way to lose phone reception is a trip to the Tibetan plateau with Whistling Arrow. In 2019, the Hong Kong-based adventure specialist will launch a small-group excursion through western Sichuan and southern Qinghai provinces. Beginning in Chengdu, the 16-day trip makes its way to the Tibetan plateau, where guests will stay at secluded clifftop retreats, and maybe even spot an elusive snow leopard. The next trip is scheduled for July.

Cathay Pacific flies to Cape Town from Hong Kong three times a week and Jakarta 26 times a week; Cathay Dragon flies to both Phuket and Chengdu 14 times a week

South Island, New Zealand

Great Escapes

The inky sky above New Zealand’s South Island comes alive when the sun goes down. From March to September, you might even catch the aurora australis – the southern hemisphere’s answer to the northern lights. The best place to watch the night sky dance is from the comfort of the Skyscape pod. Located about 12 kilometres from Twizel, between Queenstown and Christchurch, this modern cabin is set on remote farmland with a glass roof to gaze upon the stars from every angle. 

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Thanks to the emergence of virtual reality, you can transport yourself to far-flung worlds, both real and imagined. Enversed Virtual Reality Centre, about an hour’s drive south of Amsterdam, operates a kind of VR karaoke parlour: you book a room with friends, then step into a new world where you could be dancing atop Mount Everest. 

New York, US

Make like Thoreau and head for a cabin in the woods with Getaway House. In woodsy locations outside New York City, DC and Boston, these hideaways are scattered across eight-hectare plots to ensure privacy. In the Catskills cabin you toss your phone in the ‘cellphone lockbox’, then head out for a hike to the Overlook Mountain Trail – or simply hang by the cabin and roast some marshmallows.

Great escapes
Joe Thomas

Scotland

Great Escapes

The Scottish Highlands offer mist-shrouded peaks, legendary lochs, vast swathes of moorlands and most important: blissful solitude. Take an epic voyage around the Celtic isles aboard the Eda Frandsen. The 22-metre vessel sets sail on three- to nine-night journeys around Scotland’s West Coast with various itineraries that might stop at Small Island, Skye and the Outer Hebrides, or trace the remote archipelago of St Kilda.

Bhutan

Thimphu, Bhutan
Keith Levit / Design Pics / Getty Images

Opened earlier this year, Six Senses Bhutan is a collection of five lodges, each set in a remote valley. The best way to experience them is through a 14-day ‘Journey Through the Kingdom’, which crisscrosses the country by helicopter. You’ll have a chance to stay at all five retreats, starting in Thimphu before moving on to Punakha, Paro Valley, Gangtey and Bumthang. Every stop affords travellers the chance to hike through the mountains, tour ancient monasteries, join festivals or just relax at the lodge and practise a little gratitude.

Great Escapes

Lake Geneva, Switzerland

Taking a leaf out of the Japanese therapy known as shinrin-yoku, Hotel Royal Evian offers a range of ‘forest-bathing’ programmes. An amble through the woods will help to clear your mind and reduce stress. Set on a 19-hectare woodland plot by Lake Geneva, the Evian Resort offers guided walks in the morning for small or private groups, where you’ll learn about the forest, practise deep breathing exercises and reconnect with nature. 

Cathay Pacific flies to Christchurch from Hong Kong three times a week, Amsterdam seven times a week, New York 35 times a week and Zurich seven times a week 

Hong Kong

Need a break but can’t afford time off? Eaton Wellness offers every new-age therapy under the sun, including reiki, acupuncture, crystal healing, infrared sauna, sound baths and more. Even those sceptical of ‘detoxing’ will find refuge in the artsy accommodation, which also comes with Himalayan salt lamps that apparently purify the air.

Bali, Indonesia

Great Escapes

Sitting pretty on the south coast of Bali, the luxe surfing and wellness retreat Como Uma Canggu is all about the waves, the vibes and the super-healthy food. Como’s other Bali property, Shambhala, is hosting a New Year’s resolution workshop this month, a programme of life coaching, yoga and treatments designed to ‘align actions with dreams to create meaningful and lasting change’.

Mumbai, India

About three hours southeast of Mumbai, beginners and yogis alike can try the Journey through Yoga retreat at Atmantan Wellness Resort. The three- to 10-night retreats include an ayurvedic evaluation to assess your psychological state, posture, fitness level and body composition. Then you’ll receive yogic prescriptions to improve what ails you.

Hoi An, Vietnam

At the beachfront Four Seasons Resort The Nam Hai, just outside Hoi An, try the new Mother Earth Melodies experience. This begins at sunset with a ‘good night’ ceremony where you’ll send a traditional wishing candle into the spa’s lagoon, followed by dinner on a floating platform and exclusive use of the spa. The most relaxing night of your life continues with a 45-minute singing bowl experience, aromatherapy bath and, finally, a four-hand massage that will likely knead you to sleep.

Great Escapes

Osaka, Japan

If you feel that your escapist retreat needs a dose of spirituality, head for Ekoin monastery, which sits atop Mount Koyasan about two hours by train south of Osaka. Built nearly 1,200 years ago, the temple will transport you to another world – one of eaved roofs, wooden latticework and meticulous gardens. There’s not much on the schedule when you stay overnight at Ekoin, but guests are welcome to learn about meditation and Buddhist sutra writing, practise yoga, join morning prayer ceremonies or hang out in the hot spring baths. The rooms are simple – ryokan-style with tatami mats and low tables – while the Buddhist vegetarian cuisine is designed to nourish body and soul.

Seattle, US

Great Escapes

You’ve probably heard of the paleo diet – proponents stick to the meat, fish, nuts, seeds and vegetables that cavemen would have consumed. But in the mountains outside Seattle, one animal hide-clad woman is taking the Stone Age lifestyle to new levels. At Living Wild, Lynx Vilden hosts educational retreats to share practical wilderness living skills. The one-week immersion programme covers all the basics of Neanderthalism, including harvesting, foraging, building fires, identifying medicinal plants, hunting, fishing, horseback riding, making clothes and much more.

Great Escapes

Blue Mountains, Australia

Travelling with the whole family? Head for the hills or, in this case, the Blue Mountains. Located two and a half hours from Sydney, the World Heritage-listed Greater Blue Mountains cover an expanse of more than a million hectares. Within the vast boundaries there are dramatic cliffs, waterfalls, dense forests and several wellness retreats, including the One&Only Wolgan Valley. Its Family Escape package includes a nocturnal wildlife spotting tour – and unlimited ice cream.

Cathay Pacific flies to Mumbai 10 times a week, Osaka 36 times a week, Sydney 28 times a week and will launch flights to Seattle on 31 March. Cathay Dragon flies to Danang eight times a week. The airlines jointly serve Bali eight times a week 

Ulleungdo Island, South Korea

Ancient forests, waterfalls, caves, mountains – Ulleungdo Island, about 3.5 hours by ferry from Pohang port on South Korea’s east coast, has all the trappings of a great escape. ‘The mystery island’ is now home to the Kosmos Healing Stay wellness retreat. Every detail from the rooms (all named after elements) to the yin-and-yang spas incorporates the concepts of astrology and feng shui. A few nights here should unblock all of your chakras.

Taiwan

A great escape doesn’t have to cost the Earth. Start your budget adventure in Smangus, an aboriginal village in Central Taiwan, equidistant from Taipei and Taichung. From here, you can rough it alone or book a small-group camping experience with Taiwan Adventure Outings. With the latter, you’ll have all the equipment and food you need to hike through the mountains, loop through ancient bamboo forests, meet people from the local Ayatal tribes and sleep under the stars.

Portmeirion, Wales

It’s one of the strangest villages in the world. You are in the far north of Wales, a land of rainy mountains and forbidding castles. And there on a sunny peninsula is a village of candy-coloured villas, cupolas and turreted towers straight out of a fairytale. It sounds like a theme park. But Portmeirion was a serious architectural project which a single man – Clough Williams-Ellis – built stone by fantastical stone between 1925 and 1975. His descendants now run the village as one big hotel: and as you wander above a sparkling estuary, you realise there’s no more escapist hotel in the world. The deeply strange 1960s TV series The Prisoner was filmed here, and devotees of the show, dressed in blazers and boaters, add to the surreal atmosphere.

Great escapes, blue colonnade
Lydia Helene Irving/ Getty Images

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Taipei from Hong Kong 123 times a week, Cathay Dragon flies to Taichung seven times a week

The Happy Place

In his lecture The Good Life: Happiness Overview, Yale psychology and cognitive science professor Paul Bloom discusses the building blocks of happiness: what is it? And how do we achieve it? Likewise, the eight-week Science of Happiness course from Berkeley explores positive psychology and mindfulness techniques to cultivate happiness.

Books

Anxiety is one of the most prevalent mental disorders, but it’s not always easy to detect. In her new book, First, We Make the Beast Beautiful, healthy living guru Sarah Wilson details an intense and emotional journey, offering a positive spin on dealing with angst. For a lighter read, pick up How to Be Human: The Manual by Ruby Wax. The American comedian and mental health advocate enlists the help of a neurologist and a monk to provide a collection of useful tips that can help readers embrace mindfulness and live in the moment.

Apps

Meditation helps to manage stress and promote sleep. Headspace (available onboard) brings meditation to the masses with the soothing English accent of Andy Puddicombe, a former Buddhist monk. For an alternative app, try Calm. In addition to guided meditation sessions, Calm also provides relaxing music, stretching exercises and ‘sleep stories’ to take you to dreamtown. Both offer free trials.

Movie

The transformative power of travel has been captured on the silver screen, too. On Cathay Pacific this month, catch Wild. This moving drama chronicles the real-life story of Cheryl Strayed (played by Reese Witherspoon), who undertook a soul-searching 1,700-kilometre journey from California to Oregon along the Pacific Crest Trail, following a personal tragedy.