馬尼拉

馬尼拉被遺忘的角落

Escolta大街、Poblacion區和Karrivin廣場在昔日是過時的小區及倉庫,時至今日,它們已搖身化作藝術、設計及美食樞紐;歡迎你來到菲律賓首都最令人興奮萬分的社區

寧靜的星期日下午,帕西河上的夕陽斜照,把馬尼拉染成一片金黃色,前商業區Escolta大街彷彿仍處於第二次世界大戰前的輝煌時期。城市雖然飽經風霜,但當依舊屹立不倒的裝飾藝術風格建築鍍上閃耀的暮色時,你便會明白這條街道為何能予人置身半個世紀前的感覺。

Escolta大街曾享有「馬尼拉大街之后」的美譽,匯聚銀行、大企業、政府辦公大樓,以及南海以東最為雅緻的精品店舖。不過自第二次世界大戰後,馬尼拉大都會附近冒起了更新鮮亮眼的小區,而Escolta大街卻斯人獨憔悴,陷入了雜亂無章的頹敗。直至2010年代,這裡只是馬尼拉另一條日久失修的破敗街道,既遠離商業中心,又與馬尼拉文化界脫軌︰那麼這條大街究竟有何吸引之處?

First United Building, Escolta, Manila
Sonny Thakur

新一代的菲律賓人就意識到Escolta大街的潛力。2012年,藝術團體98B Collaboratory受區內壯麗的歷史建築及相對可負擔的租金吸引,決定冒險一搏遷至Escolta大街。

98B行政總監Marika Constantino表示︰「當地近況或許令大部分人退避三舍,不過在我們這些藝術家及創意人士眼中,卻是美麗和潛力的化身。」裝飾藝術風格大樓First United Building有92年歷史,曾一度匯聚西班牙、法國及巴拿馬大使館,以至馬尼拉昔日最奢華的百貨公司Berg’s Department Store等,不過現在則成為藝術家自營空間的大本營,亦是Escolta大街新近文化復興的心臟地帶。

Sonny Thakur

一班新晉創意人才和文物保育工作者可謂支援小區重生的幕後功臣,他們更致力於投資振興First United Building大樓的商業發展。有賴對嶄新意念持開放態度的業主配合,工業風咖啡店The Den、突顯藝術家及工匠才華的零售店HUB: Make Lab,以及品牌形象顧問公司Public School Manila和建築事務所One/Zero等創意企業紛紛進駐,為這幢古老建築一下子注入意義非凡的活力。

主理One/Zero的新晉建築師Arts Serrano是咖啡店及頂層共享工作空間的共同主理人。Serrano表示︰「這個小區美麗怡人,建築物無與倫比。這幢大樓提供的良好創業環境,讓我們將嶄新意念付諸實行。」

Sonny Thakur

其實Escolta大街並非唯一經歷文化復興的地區。馬卡蒂最古老的「描籠涯」(菲律賓語,意指地區)Poblacion一直被視為令菲律賓商業區蒙羞的黑暗面。雖然許多主要銀行、企業及購物中心均坐落於馬卡蒂市中心,但Poblacion區卻以紅燈區臭名昭著,當中P. Burgos大街上若有所指的霓虹燈和按摩店,瀰漫著花街柳巷的氣氛。

Manila, Poblacion neighbourhood
Sonny Thakur

Dee Jae Paeste是主理零售空間KAPWA Studio及Poblacion區內藝術美食導賞團Starving Artist Tour的藝術家。Paeste表示︰「自從我於2011年搬到馬尼拉,便一直住在此區。當年沒人想過真的可以在這裡開設一間正經體面的商店,但亦正因如此,這區才需要翻開文化及美食重鎮的新一章。」

墨西哥快餐店El Chupacabra於2013年開業,令Poblacion區正式迎來一番新氣象;突然之間,銀行家以至學生和家庭都紛紛來到這裡覓食。快餐店的成功反映了這區有利可圖,因此其他類型的商店亦開始進駐。

Manila, KAPWA Studio
Sonny Thakur

跨媒界藝廊Pineapple Lab致力創建區內的創意社群,其成員之一Jodinand Aguillon表示︰「現時有一群創意人選擇在Poblacion區生活、工作和玩樂,他們大都是回流菲律賓的藝術管理人員,希望重拾複雜的菲律賓人身份,建立與當地本土藝術家合作的渠道。」

現在,菲律賓式烤雞肉串餐廳Tambai、公寓內的隱世爵士樂酒吧The Apartment,以及供應椰子氈酒的皮革工作室The Workshop均紛紛進駐該區,而Jodinand亦表示︰「這裡提供了一場自選歷險體驗;準備好迎接沿途驚喜吧!」

Manila, The Workshop leather workshop in Poblacion.
Sonny Thakur

至於位處繁忙Chino Roces Avenue大道盡頭的The Alley at Karrivin Plaza廣場以前是倉庫,曾長時間被空置,現在已轉型為高級的綜合空間。

其創辦人Mara Coson表示︰「這裡以前是羽毛球場,牆身鋪上幾何設計三合板。我純粹想看看這個高度和大小皆宜的空置場地能否演變成一個藝術空間。」

Sonny Thakur

從廢置的倉庫改造成經過精心規劃的藝文樞紐The Alley,印證了當地的文化圈已逐漸與世界級水平接軌,當中由名廚Jordy Navarra主理的菲律賓餐廳Toyo Eatery,最近更獲「亞洲50間最佳餐廳」頒發2018年度「Miele One to Watch」獎項。此外,大家在此亦能找到非牟利藝術空間Belles Artes Outpost,他們最近便展出著名美國藝術家Bruce Conner首個於東南亞舉辦的大型展覽。至於馬尼拉三大頂尖藝廊 1335MabiniDrawing RoomArt Informal亦進駐The Alley,令這裡成為了城中名副其實的藝術區。

Manila, Toyo Eatery
Sonny Thakur

Toyo Eatery餐廳老闆娘May Navarra負責監督餐廳招呼客人的工作,她說︰「我認為社區歸屬感以及對藝術和工藝的尊重,令區內所有人團結一致,尤其是我們都是支持當地人才及技藝的本土小店,大家衷心感激眾人為這個小區注入的新意。」

Karrivin廣場、Poblacion區及Escolta大街的復興似乎有一個共通點︰全部都在政府沒有干涉的情況下發生重大改變。在馬尼拉這個沒有前設的城市,美麗一瞬即逝,混亂總是無處不在,菲律賓人唯有學懂自己創造機會,建設自己的社區。

Sonny Thakur

本文原於2018年8月刊登,並於2020年8月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Manila

The forgotten corners of Manila

They were unfashionable districts and warehouses. Now they’re hubs of art, design and gastronomy. Welcome to the Philippine capital’s most exciting new communities. Words by RAYMOND ANG, photos by SONNY THAKUR

On a quiet Sunday afternoon, as the sunset on the Pasig River washes the city in gold, Escolta, the former financial district of Manila, can still make you think it’s in its pre-World War II prime. When that sunset casts a glow on the street’s remaining art deco buildings – survivors of the city’s many upheavals – you can understand how this street could have felt like the centre of everything half a century ago.

Once dubbed the ‘Queen of Manila Streets’, Escolta was home to banks, big business, government offices, and the most elegant boutiques this side of the South China Sea. But after World War II, as newer, shinier neighbourhoods sprouted around Metro Manila, Escolta fell into disarray and decay. By the 2010s, it was just another rundown street in a city not short of them. Too far from the centre of business, too out of way from the rest of Manila’s cultural scene: what was Escolta good for?

Manila, First United Building, Escolta, Manila
Sonny Thakur

A new generation of Filipinos, however, saw potential. In 2012, the art collective 98B Collaboratory was attracted by the district’s heritage, beauty and relatively affordable rent, and decided to take a chance and relocate to Escolta.

‘While its recent state may feel like a lost cause for a lot of people, for artists and creatives, we see beauty and potential,’ says Marika Constantino, 98B’s executive director. The artist-run initiative would occupy the First United Building, a 90-year-old art deco beauty that over the decades has housed everything from the consulates of Spain, France and Panama to Berg’s Department Store, once Manila’s most exclusive shopping destination. It has now become the centre for Escolta’s latest cultural renaissance.

A group of young creatives and heritage preservationists have rallied behind the district and invested in the First United Building. Tenants include The Den, an industrial coffee shop; HUB: Make Lab, a retail playground highlighting artists and artisans; and the offices of creative businesses like branding agency Public School Manila and architecture firm One/Zero. In collaboration with open-minded landlords, they have infused an old building with relevance and vitality.

‘The neighbourhood is lovely and the architecture is great,’ says Arts Serrano, the young architect behind One/Zero who co-owns the cafe as well as a coworking space on the top floor. New ideas become reality ‘thanks to the supportive entrepreneurial environment the First United Building is trying to foster’.

That excitement reaches a peak every three months with the Escolta Block Party, in which the historic street is shut down for a whole day’s worth of retail pop-ups, DJ sets, talks and sweaty partying. It draws a diverse crowd – everyone from Manila scenesters to wandering tourists. Against all odds, the Queen of Manila Streets is once again wearing her crown.

Escolta isn’t the only area experiencing this cultural revival. Poblacion – Makati’s oldest baranggay (district) – has always been considered the shameful dark side to the Philippines’ financial centre. While central Makati boasts major banks, corporations and shopping centres, there was a time when Poblacion was known as the red light district, thanks mainly to the sometimes shady, always thrilling P. Burgos street and its neon lights and massage parlours.

Manila, Poblacion neighbourhood
Sonny Thakur

‘I’ve lived here in Poblacion since I arrived in Manila in 2011,’ says Dee Jae Paeste, an artist who runs the retail space KAPWA Studio, as well as The Starving Artist Tour of Poblacion. ‘At the time, no one thought you could actually open a respectable spot here, but it was exactly what this place needed to take on a new cultural and culinary life.’

Poblacion’s new life really started when El Chupacabra, a taqueria, opened in 2013 and built a cult following. Suddenly, everyone from bankers to students and families was coming to Poblacion. Its success signalled to prospective businesses that there was more to Poblacion, and soon other concepts followed.

Manila, KAPWA Studio
Sonny Thakur

‘There is a community of creatives who are choosing to live, work and play in Poblacion,’ says Jodinand Aguillon of Pineapple Lab, a multi-disciplinary gallery that’s helping shape Poblacion’s creative community. ‘Many are also part of the reverse diaspora of arts practitioners coming home to the Philippines to be more connected to the complex identity of being Filipino, and creating avenues to collaborate with local, homegrown artists.’

Local craft beer bars (Polilya), Filipino takes on yakitori (Tambai), hidden jazz bars in people’s flats (The Apartment) and leather workshops that serve coconut gin (The Workshop) all reside in Poblacion now. ‘It’s a choose-your-own-adventure,’ says Jodinand. ‘Leave room for surprises along the way.’

Manila, The Workshop leather workshop in Poblacion.
Sonny Thakur

It’s a higher-end transformation that’s taken place at The Alley at Karrivin Plaza, a property at the end of busy Chino Roces Avenue that was occupied by a long-vacant warehouse.

‘There was an empty badminton court with geometric designs on plywood for walls,’ says Mara Coson, The Alley’s founder. ‘I just wanted to see if this shell could be used for art spaces because of its height and size.’

From the abandoned warehouse, The Alley has transformed into a well-curated hub that’s testament to the local cultural scene’s increasingly world-class refinement. Toyo Eatery, the Filipino restaurant by Jordy Navarra that was named a Miele One to Watch by Asia’s 50 Best this year, is located here, as well as Belles Artes Outpost, a non-profit art initiative that recently showed the first major exhibition in Southeast Asia by influential American artist Bruce Conner. Apart from Belles Artes, three of Manila’s top galleries – 1335Mabini, the Drawing Room and Art Informal – call The Alley home, turning the area into the city’s de facto art district.

Manila, Toyo Eatery
Sonny Thakur

‘I feel the unifying themes of everyone at Karrivin would be a sense of community and respect for arts and craftsmanship,’ says May Navarra, Jordy’s wife, who oversees Toyo’s restaurant floor. ‘It helps that we are all homegrown shops that highlight local talent and skill, with everyone genuinely appreciating what everyone brings to the space.’

It’s a common thread across the revivals of Karravin, Poblacion and Escolta, all of which have happened largely without government intervention. In a city like Manila, where nothing is a given, beauty is fleeting and disorder is always around the corner, Filipinos have learned to make their own opportunities and their own communities.

Cathay Pacific flies to Manila from Hong Kong 48 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book