達卡

與孟加拉的南亞藝術推手對談

來自孟加拉達卡的Nadia Samdani及Rajeeb Samdani肩負重任,誓將南亞地區塑造成下一個國際藝術中心

來自孟加拉達卡的Rajeeb Samdani一邊走一邊指向一幅感覺迷幻的畫作,畫中多個紅綠圖案不規則重疊,令人不禁停步細看。他說:「讓我給你舉個例子吧!這是巴基斯坦現代派畫家Anwar Jalal Shemza的作品,而Shemza的畫風則深受瑞士籍德國藝術家Paul Klee的影響。」

他的視線轉移到牆壁上Paul Klee的畫作,這畫同樣採用幾何圖案的風格,只是色調比較柔和。他續說:「你看到這兩幅作品的關連嗎?其實每件事物都是環環相扣,有跡可尋。」

我正身處Rajeeb Samdani及其太太Nadia的家中,他倆居於孟加拉首都達卡綠樹成蔭的市郊Gulshan。而現在,我被眼前一件件非凡無比的藝術品簇擁著。咖啡桌上放置了由Damien Hirst創作的骷髏頭,旁邊放著一盤由熱情好客的主人家炮製的孟加拉烤肉串,另一張桌子上則擺放了一尊達利創造的跳舞小雕像。除此之外,這座樓高六層的宏偉住宅還掛了艾未未、Tracey Emin、Zaha Hadid及Anish Kapoor等藝術家的作品,上述這些不過是Samdani伉儷珍藏的2,000餘件藝術品中的一小部分而已。

Second day of Dhaka's Art Summit 2014 in Dhaka

Samdani夫婦是孟加拉最頂尖的藝術收藏家,而在過去數年間,他們甚至堪稱為南亞藝術界中最具影響力的二人組合,看他們入選《ArtReview》雜誌的「Power 100」年度權力排行榜,被評為全球藝術界百大最具影響力人物之一,便能略知一二。

Nadia表示:「我們最初不過是普通藝術收藏家,但到世界各地參觀過不同的博物館、雙年展及展覽後,我們卻發現不論身處何地,都找不到孟加拉藝術品的蹤影。我們感到十分費解,很想知道原因何在。事實上孟加拉不乏出色的藝術家,所以我們決定要支持本地的藝術人才。」

2011年,他們創辦了Samdani Art Foundation藝術基金會,最初宗旨是透過資助形式舉辦個人展覽及藝術項目來支持孟加拉的藝術家。

Nadia續說:「之後我們開始思考,究竟我們能夠支持多少個國際及個人藝術項目呢?長遠來說如何才能持續下去呢?於是我們便忽發奇想,就是在孟加拉舉辦一場大型活動,讓來自世界各地的藝術愛好者都能夠到這裡欣賞我們的藝術品。」

達卡藝術高峰會便因而誕生。這個為期四天的雙年展於2012年首次舉行,迅速躍升為全球規模最大的非商業化南亞藝術平台。達卡藝術高峰會的展覽方式別樹一幟,由來自國際頂級大型藝術機構的策展人籌備多個展覽,展出各式各樣的當代藝術品。無論是繪畫、雕塑、表演、影片、攝影以至藝術裝置等應有盡有,當中更設有座談會、電影放映會及工作坊。由於入場費全免,因此於2016年參觀雙年展的139,000人次當中不少為城中最窮困的階層。

Nadia憶述:「參觀者中有小孩來自達卡最貧窮的學校;你可以想像得到他們竟然有機會能參觀如此的藝術盛會嗎?」

2012年的首屆雙年高峰會雖以孟加拉藝術為主題,但隨著時間演進,高 峰會的視野更遼闊,目光更遠大。Rajeeb表示:「我們不只希望能支持孟加拉,還想支持整個南亞地區的藝術界。當務之急是建立一個平台,讓世界各地的藝術愛好者蒞臨,以及發掘藝術家並了解區內的最新動向。」

他強調說:「最重要的是建立起一個人際網絡。」 雖然Rajeeb認為孟買或德里才是南亞地區最活躍的藝術圈,可是孟加拉的歷史背景卻令這裡成為開展跨區交流的理想地點。 孟加拉擁有超過1.5億人口以及一段紛陳複雜的近代歷史。其文化來自英屬印度時代的孟加拉地區,跟今天的印度、巴基斯坦、緬甸及尼泊爾可謂同出一源。其後1947年英屬印度因宗教分歧而被分裂成兩個國家,孟加拉當時就成為了巴基斯坦的一部分。後來孟巴爆發 死傷相藉的內戰,終於在1971年宣佈脫離巴基斯坦獨立,成為現今的孟加拉。

Rajeeb表示:「南亞各地在歷史及其他方面都有著千絲萬縷的連繫,而南亞整體上都說得上是一個實力雄厚的地區,可是我們在籌辦這個雙年高峰會前,卻發現對緬甸的藝術既不了解,也不大清楚尼泊爾的現況。假如連我們 自己對南亞其他地區也不大了解,難怪其他外國人亦不會太認識南亞地區。」

事實上,世界各地的確很快就將達卡藝術高峰會視為探索南亞藝術的最佳場所。在基金會的藝術總監 Diana Campbell Betancourt 領導下,2016年度的雙年展陣容鼎盛,參與合作企劃及策展的策展人來自全球多間地位崇高的博物館,其中龐比度中心、泰特現代藝術館、古根漢美術館及蘇黎世美術館等藝術機構,均各自對南亞藝術進行長期研究,並會在高峰會結束之後,繼續維持這方面的研究工作。

泰特現代藝術館的南亞藏品助理策展人Nada Raza表示:「雙年高峰會現已迅速躍升為國際藝術圈中不容錯過的新熱點。這個展會如此受到大家歡迎,證明國際藝術界的確需要新的交匯點,同時亦表示了以往的藝術中心已經地位不穩。」

Rajeeb接著補充道:「大家都對南亞這個地區充滿興趣,可是對它的認識十分有限;他們不約而同都想發掘箇中的寶藏。」 除此之外,不少人亦藉著參與高峰會發掘到孟加拉藝術家的過人之處。Nadia就表示孟加拉的藝術一向出色,只是現在才開闢出新蹊徑,讓當地藝術家能登上國際舞台。

她續道:「這個高峰會改變了很多孟加拉藝術家的生活。首屆高峰會之後,大型美術館開始收藏孟加拉藝術家的作品,而國際藝廊亦紛紛介紹孟加拉藝術家,甚至有一位孟加拉藝術家曾於蘇黎世美術館舉辦過大型回顧展呢!這一切都是拜達卡藝術高峰會所賜。」

其中一位受惠的藝術家就是名為Shumon Ahmed的年輕概念攝影師。他曾為孟加拉的巨大拆船廠拍攝令人一見難忘的美麗影像,而這些照片現正點綴著Samdani住所其中一面大牆壁。Ahmed亦曾於2014年入圍Samdani Art Award藝術大獎的候選名單。

這個獎項是Samdani藝術基金會舉辦,主要對象為年輕藝術家,是雙年高峰會的壓軸節目。雖然Ahmed失落了獎項,但單是入圍已經讓他在國際頂尖的策展人前嶄露頭角,最終踏上了一條令他始料不及的青雲路。

Ahmed說:「全賴達卡藝術高峰會,現在有藝廊代表我陳列我的作品,它就是位處孟買、於印度次大陸中首屈一指的Project 88藝廊。現在我接觸到從前遙不可及的世界,還有機會與達卡、南亞地區以至全世界更龐大的藝術圈子交流,而這些藝術家全都各有特色。」

他表示自己的經歷並非絕無僅有。高峰會的成功為整個孟加拉藝術圈的年輕藝術家帶來了新希望。 除此之外,Samdani伉儷亦為未來策劃著一個更宏大的項目。他們正在籌建一座藝術中心和雕塑公園,並且選址在他們家族故鄉北部城市錫爾赫特附近。這座藝術中心幅員40公頃,空間遼闊,就好像是達卡藝術高峰會的固定分館;他們期望這座藝術中心能推動區內的藝術發展。

Rajeeb表示:「我們最大的心願,就是南亞及孟加拉的藝術品不但能進駐全球各大美術館,同時能夠被視為國際頂尖藝術區域的一員。我們深信成功之門已經為我們、孟加拉以及南亞地區打開,現在必須做的就是要好好把握這個良機。我們清楚這扇門不會永遠打開,所以現在正是行動的時機了。」

本文原於2017年7月刊登,並於2020年10月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

The Champions of South Asian Art

Nadia and Rajeeb Samdani are on a mission to make South Asia the world’s next great centre of art. Words by MARK TJHUNG

Rajeeb Samdani is on his feet, gesturing towards a hypnotic painting, an asymmetrical stacking of intriguing red and green shapes. ‘Let me give you an example. This work is by Anwar Jalal Shemza, a Pakistani modernist. And this Shemza was highly influenced by Paul Klee,’ he says. His gaze drifts across the wall in the direction of a painting by the Swiss-German artist, similarly geometric but employing a soft palette of pastels. ‘Do you see the connection? There is always a connection.’

I am at the home of Rajeeb and Nadia Samdani, in the heart of Gulshan, the leafy central suburb of Dhaka, the Bangladeshi capital. And around me is an incredible collection of art. On the coffee table lies a Damien Hirst skull, next to a plate of Bangladeshi kebabs prepared by my ever-hospitable hosts. On another table sits a dancing, diminutive Dalí sculpture. And across the magnificent six-storey residence hang works by the likes of Ai Weiwei, Tracey Emin, Zaha Hadid and Anish Kapoor – a mere sprinkling of the 2,000-plus works that make up the Samdanis’ immense collection of art.

Second day of Dhaka's Art Summit 2014 in Dhaka

The Samdanis are Bangladesh’s foremost art collectors. But in the past few years they have also arguably become the most influential duo in all of South Asian art – and, indeed, among the 100 most influential people in the art world, according to ArtReview magazine’s annual Power 100 list.

‘We started off as collectors. We would travel all over to museums, biennales and exhibitions, and saw there was no presence of Bangladesh anywhere. We wondered, why is this happening? We have so many great artists,’ says Nadia. ‘So we thought we needed to support our artists.’

In 2011, the duo founded the Samdani Art Foundation, initially supporting Bangladeshi artists by funding individual exhibitions and projects. ‘And then we thought, how many projects, internationally and individually, can we support? And how can you do that in the long term?’ says Nadia. ‘So we had the idea of doing something here, on a big scale, where everyone from all over the world can come and see.’

Enter the Dhaka Art Summit. Launched in 2012, the biennial four-day event has quickly become the world’s biggest non-commercial platform for South Asian art. And it’s a unique showcase. It features contemporary art in all its diverse forms, from painting to sculpture, performance to video, photography to installation, and a number of exhibitions put together by curators from some of the world’s biggest art institutions. It includes programmes of seminars, films and workshops. And entry is completely free, which has allowed many of the city’s poorest to be part of the 138,000 people who attended in 2016. ‘We had kids from some of Dhaka’s poorest schools come. Can you imagine for them to see something like this?’ says Nadia.

The inaugural summit in 2012 focused firmly on Bangladeshi art. But over time it has taken on a broader, more ambitious vision. ‘We wanted to support the art scene of Bangladesh, but we also wanted to support the whole of South Asia. We thought it important to have a platform where people from all over the world can come, discover artists and learn what is happening in the region,’ says Rajeeb, before emphasising, ‘the most important thing is to build the connection.’

While it may not be the home to South Asia’s most vibrant art scene – Rajeeb suggests that honour would go to Mumbai or Delhi – Bangladesh’s historical background makes it an ideal place to begin these pan-regional conversations.

The country, home to more than 150 million people, has a complicated modern history. Culturally, it has always identified with the region of Bengal, which was once part of British India, along with what is today India, Pakistan, Myanmar and Nepal. Later, it became part of Pakistan when British India was ‘partitioned’ in 1947 along religious lines into two countries, and was only born as Bangladesh in 1971, when it declared independence from Pakistan after a brutal civil war.

‘There are a lot of historical and other connections across the region,’ says ­Rajeeb. ‘South Asia as a whole is very strong as a region. Yet before we started the summit, we had no idea about art in Myanmar or what is happening in Nepal, for example. And if we were facing these problems, what about people from the rest of the world?’

south asian art
Shumon Ahmed

Indeed, the rest of the world has quickly seen the Dhaka Art Summit as the place to discover South Asian art. Led by the foundation’s artistic director, Diana Campbell Betancourt, the 2016 edition featured an impressive list of collaborations with some of the world’s biggest museums, including the venerated institutions of the Centre Pompidou, Tate Modern, the Guggenheim Museum and Kunsthalle Zürich. Each of these museums is conducting long-term research into the region that will remain with their respective institutions long after the summit is over.

‘The summit has quickly become the new must-watch hotspot on the international art circuit,’ says Nada Raza, assistant curator for South Asia at the Tate Modern. ‘Its rapid ascent shows that art needs new meeting points, that the former centres no longer hold.’

‘People have so much interest in this part of the world, but very little knowledge,’ adds Rajeeb. ‘They want to discover, they want to find out.’

Through the summit, many people are also finding out the strength of the Bangladeshi art scene. The quality of art, says Nadia, has long been there, but now there is a new pathway for its artists to the world.

‘For a lot of artists, life has changed,’ says Nadia. ‘From the first edition, major museums have acquired work by Bangladeshi artists, artists are being represented by international galleries, and a Bangladeshi artist has had a major retrospective at Kunsthalle Zürich. And all of this came from the Dhaka Art Summit.’

One of those artists is Shumon Ahmed, a young conceptual photographer, whose hauntingly beautiful images of Bangladesh’s immense ship-breaking yards grace a vast wall in the Samdani house. In 2014, Ahmed was a finalist for the Samdani Art Award, an initiative of the foundation that focuses on young Bangladeshi artists and culminates at the summit. Ahmed didn’t win the award but his participation put him before some of the world’s top curators – and eventually on a path he previously couldn’t have imagined.

‘Because of the Dhaka Art Summit, now I have a gallery that represents me: Project 88 in Mumbai, one of the best galleries in the subcontinent,’ says Ahmed. ‘I have this exposure to a world that I was deprived of. Now I have an opportunity to have a dialogue with a larger community of practitioners in the art community in Dhaka, in South Asia, in the world, all with a different tone.’

His experience, he says, is by no means unique. The presence of the summit has brought a new enthusiasm to young artists across the Bangladeshi art scene.

The Samdanis have even greater plans for the future. Near the northern city of Sylhet, where both their families originate, they are creating a centre for art, which will comprise an art space and sculpture park within a sprawling 40-hectare property. It’s like a permanent extension to the Dhaka Art Summit, which they hope will drive their vision for the art of the region.

‘Ultimately, we want to see South Asian and Bangladeshi art in all the major museums in the world, being recognised as one of the top international art regions of the world,’ says Rajeeb. ‘We believe a door has opened for us, for Bangladesh, for South Asia, and we should take this opportunity. This door will not be open forever. This is our time.’ ‭ ‬

Discover Dhaka: Dragonair flies to Dhaka from Hong Kong three times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book