健康與保健

特拉維夫掀起另類療法潮流

特拉維夫為本月歐洲歌唱大賽築起璀燦的舞台,與此同時,這個城市亦正在悄悄地進行大變身,成為另類療法的勝地

星期一晚上8時,在雅法古城裡,有20名女子圍坐成神聖的圓圈,彼此手挽著手。這個地方距離特拉維夫市中心僅15分鐘路程,是個佈置得像洞穴的工作室,裡面點著小燈泡和蠟燭,祭壇上鋪滿水晶和玫瑰花瓣。室內的能量逐漸上升,在場的女士逐一朗聲分享自身經歷,道出自己的情緒狀態。當眾人都講完之後,組長Ashley Szlachta接著帶領一眾女子進行療癒身心的「可可儀式」。

來自美國,31歲的Szlachta解釋:「可可飲料的源頭非常古老,我們將之祝聖後喝下,然後敞開心扉起舞,擁抱真我。」

From left to right: Tel Aviv yogis and health enthusiasts Ashley Szlachta and Rony Stav. Credit: Ronen Goldman

如果你覺得這種事有點無稽,讓我告訴你,除了這種活動,還有女性於新月時圍坐的儀式等各式另類療法,近年已席捲以色列。全球多個宗教均把這片土地奉為聖地,但當地最近卻出現新興的靈性熱潮。人們追求源自東方的修行法門,旨在療癒心靈,讓人增進社群連繫,放下情緒包袱。這股追求靈性的熱潮,與歐洲歌唱大賽上的勁歌熱舞恍如兩個世界。2018年,以色列歌手Netta Barzilai在比賽中奪冠,今年這項盛事移師特拉維夫,於本月舉行。

不過,對於很多特拉維夫人而言,這兩個世界並無矛盾之處。

現年33歲的以色列演員Rony Stav亦是英語社區組織Yoga to the People的幹事,這個組織靠捐款來運作。她說:「現代的以色列是個新生的國家。在這裡生活的人必須突破思想框框。無論在工作上和個人生活中,我們都極具創意,會自問人生對錯;不管身在何方,我們也積極建立社群。家人和朋友就像不同的部落。故此以色列人發明出各種新式療法是自然不過的事情,而且我們勇於嘗試,樂於以活潑新穎的方式來演繹古老的事物。」

credit: PhotoStock-Israel / Cultura RF / Getty Images

特拉維夫的確有不少值得一試的新鮮活動。單是這個星期,我已獲邀參加擁抱冥想活動、沖泡草藥飲品的工作坊、聲音療法,以及參加美洲原住民的汗屋儀式、出席社區冥想之夜,還有連續兩天入住專為女性而設的「Red Tent Retreat」靜修活動。

此外,以色列每年都會在內蓋夫沙漠舉辦類似美國內華達州火人節的Midburn慶典(不過今年這項活動卻取消了)。入場券一票難求,因為當地人和外地訪客均渴望體驗這為期六天的沙漠生活,入住主辦單位稱為「讓人享受群體生活、藝術、發揮創意、盡情釋放自我的臨時城市」。一年一度的Midburn節吸引上萬群眾前往只有冰塊出售的營地朝聖。這種體驗絕不輕鬆,而且事前需花數個月仔細籌劃,但是參加者在活動過後重返城市時,雖然遍體塵埃,卻感到身心均已得到淨化。

credit: Jeffrey L. Rotman / Corbis NX / Getty Images

自然療法醫師Udi Sahar在特拉維夫北部熙來攘往的Dizengoff Street街上,開設有機素食餐廳兼整全養生中心Urban Shaman,堪稱鬧市中的綠洲。這裡的室內設計十分簡約,採用原木為飾,並設有大型的共享餐桌,成為人們在這個不夜城中尋找寧靜一刻的勝地。

這個地方於2018年開業之時,門外大排長龍,人們爭相報名參加度身訂做的三天果汁淨化療程,希望體驗Sahar稱為「熱愛健康」的生活。咖啡店的下層是The Teepee,這個療癒空間經常會舉辦各種活動,例如「身體詩歌」及「生物能量」等。

Sahar解釋道:「以色列人服完兵役(法例規定所有以色列人年滿18歲均須服兵役)後都會出國旅遊。有人會到印度及泰國等東方國家,亦有人往西邊的美國去。他們體驗過果亞邦或洛杉磯的生活後,心裡想:『下一步該當如何呢?』因此,養生在特拉維夫逐漸成為熱潮,目前只是變革的開端。」

養生教練兼瑜伽導師Maya Kramer對此表示同意,同時指出,這片土地同時也是波希米亞文化的發源地。

From left to right: Tel Aviv yogis and health enthusiasts Udi Sahar and Maya Kramer. Credit: Ronen Goldma

Kramer表示:「這裡的人渴望身心獲得療癒。特拉維夫的人口不乏20至40歲正當盛年的一輩,但我們同時也是當年猶太人大屠殺倖存者的後代。猶太人最愛在星期五晚上聚會,一起享用祖母烹煮的雞湯。現時興起的各式療法,可說是這個傳統的變奏。新月圈、可可儀式和飲用紅茶菌等活動未必源於以色列,卻與這個國家的傳統精神一脈相承,因此與特拉維夫人一拍即合。」

輕鬆遊覽伊拉特

伊拉特於1980年代開始成為熱門度假勝地,現時,城中矗立了多座宏偉壯觀的五星級酒店,但與一些度假城鎮相比,這裡卻多了一分賓至如歸的親切感。以色列人愛在城外的內蓋夫沙漠露營,白天則到伊拉特市作一日遊,享受浮潛、潛水或在伊拉特山脈遠足的樂趣。

日落時分泛舟於伊拉特海灣,可途經多個能同時眺望埃及、以色列、約旦及沙地阿拉伯風光的地點,讓你以嶄新角度來認識這個地區。

現時前往伊拉特市的交通更為便利,沿途更賞心悅目。海外遊客現在不必取道距離伊拉特市一小時路程的奧華特機場,而是可從特拉維夫直飛今年初於Timna Valley山谷開幕的Ilan and Assaf Ramon International Airport國際機場。機場是通往以色列的全新南大門,設計簡約,洋溢未來風格,是以色列首個自行規劃興建的民用機場。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Health and wellness

Tel Aviv Embraces Alternative Therapies

Away from the glitz and glam of this month’s Eurovision song contest, Tel Aviv has undergone a quiet revolution as a centre of alternative therapies and healing

It’s 8pm on a Monday night in ancient Jaffa and 20 women are sitting in a sacred circle, holding hands. As fairy lights and candles twinkle around them, the energy in the cave-like studio, just 15 minutes from the centre of Tel Aviv, intensifies. Crystals and rose petals adorn an altar, and one by one the women speak out, sharing intimate stories of their lives and emotional states. When everyone has spoken, group leader Ashley Szlachta leads the women through a restorative ritual: the cacao ceremony.

‘We bless the ancient cacao, we drink it, then we dance with hearts open and embrace our authentic selves,’ the 31-year-old US native explains.

From left to right: Tel Aviv yogis and health enthusiasts Ashley Szlachta and Rony Stav. Credit: Ronen Goldman

If this sounds too kooky to be true, brace yourself: the women’s moon circle is just one of many alternative healing practices to have swept the Holy Land in recent years. Israel is a focal point for world religions, but lately a new spiritual trend has emerged: Eastern-inspired practices that aim to heal people from within, strengthen community and dump emotional baggage. It’s a world away from the sparkly, disco-fuelled vibes of the Eurovision song contest, which comes to Tel Aviv this month after Netta Barzilai won the competition for Israel in 2018.

Yet many Tel Avivians see no conflict between the two worlds.

‘Modern Israel is a new country,’ says actor Rony Stav, 33, who’s also director of the donation-based, English speaking community group Yoga to the People.

credit: PhotoStock-Israel / Cultura RF / Getty Images

‘There’s something about being here that requires people to think outside the box. We are creative in work and in our personal lives. We ask questions about what’s right and wrong for us and we create communities wherever we go. Our families and friends are like tribes. So it’s no surprise that Israelis are inventing new ways of healing; we experiment, we’re playful and we embrace new ways to do old things.’

Tel Aviv is certainly brimming with new activities to try. This week alone, I have been invited to a hugging meditation, a healing herbal potions workshop, a sound bath, a sweat lodge, a community meditation night and a two-day residential ‘Red Tent Retreat’ for women.

And then there’s the annual Midburn festival, Israeli’s answer to Nevada’s Burning Man, which takes place in the Negev desert (though this year’s event has been cancelled). Tickets are like gold dust, with Tel Avivians and international visitors alike desperate to deep-dive into desert life for six days, to live in what organisers call ‘a temporary city that offers a platform for communal lifestyle, creativity, art and radical self-expression’. Ten thousand people make the annual pilgrimage to Midburn, where the only thing you can buy on-site is ice. It’s an intense experience that requires months of meticulous planning, yet devotees return to the city changed – dusty, but detoxed.

credit: Jeffrey L. Rotman / Corbis NX / Getty Images

In north Tel Aviv, on bustling Dizengoff Street, naturopath Udi Sahar has opened an oasis of a more accessible kind: an organic, plant-based eatery and holistic wellness centre known as Urban Shaman. With its minimal interior design –stripped back timbers and large, communal tables – Urban Shaman is immediately enticing; a calm hideaway in the 24/7 city.

When it first opened in 2018, people lined-up outside to sign up for bespoke three-day juice cleanses as part of what Sahar calls a ‘healthatarian lifestyle’. Underneath the cafe is The Teepee: a healing space that hosts activities such as ‘body poetry’ and ‘bioenergy’.

‘After the army [military service is compulsory for all Israelis over 18], Israelis travel,’ Sahar explains. ‘They go east to India and Thailand, or west to the US. They experience Goa or LA and then they get back to Israel and think, “what do I do now?” This is why wellness is trending in Tel Aviv right now, we’re only at the beginning of the revolution.’

Wellness coach and yoga teacher Maya Kramer agrees, but she points out that the land we are standing on is at the root of the bohemian boom, too.

From left to right: Tel Aviv yogis and health enthusiasts Udi Sahar and Maya Kramer. Credit: Ronen Goldma

‘People here want to be healed,’ Kramer says. ‘Tel Aviv is full of young, beautiful people in their 20s, 30s and 40s, but we are the grandchildren of Holocaust survivors. Jewish people have always sat down together on Friday nights to drink our grandmother’s chicken soup, and today’s healing scene is simply the next evolution of this tradition. Moon circles, cacao ceremonies and drinking kombucha may not have originated in Israel, but they fit perfectly with the nation’s DNA and Tel Avivians are falling in love with the scene – fast.’ 

Eilat, an Easy Side Trip

Eilat first became popular with holidaymakers in the 1980s. Today, the area is home to some impressive five-star hotels, yet in comparison to some resort towns, it retains an intimate, home-spun feel. Israelis love to camp outside of the city in the Negev desert and day-trip into Eilat to go snorkelling, diving or to hike in the Eilat Mountains.

A sunset boat ride into the Gulf of Eilat can provide a new perspective on the region – from certain vantage points you can see into Egypt, Israel, Jordan and Saudi Arabia simultaneously.

Getting to Eilat is now easier – and more aesthetically pleasing. Instead of flying into Ovda airport, an hour outside of the city, international passengers can now fly directly from Tel Aviv to Ilan and Assaf Ramon International Airport, which opened in the Timna Valley in January 2019. The airport serves as the new southern gateway to Israel. It features a minimalist and futuristic design; and is Israel’s first civil airport built from scratch.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book