餐飲美食

日本四國料理嚐味之旅

Rob Goss在日本面積最小的主要島嶼四國大快朵頤,嚐盡最美味的地道菜式

日本各地的美食琳琅滿目,絕不會令饞嘴的旅客失望。四國亦不例外,島上四個縣,即東面的德島、南面的高知、西面的愛媛和北面的香川,各有值得細味的經典名菜。

德島拉麵

Tokushima ramen of Shikoku Island, Japan
Credit: Shutterstock

香蔥、豬腩肉和芽菜,如此人間美味竟未能從日本眾多拉麵門派中突圍而出,實屬罪過。當地人會在麵條上加一隻生雞蛋,別有風味。不過這款拉麵最大的特色還是在於其三款湯底,以不同材料配搭不同的醬油,熬出「茶系」、「黃系」和「白系」濃湯,當中以「茶系」最受歡迎,而每款湯頭均較一般拉麵濃郁。要在德島市大啖德島拉麵當然絕非難事,當地有大量平民食肆供拉麵迷解饞,但Inotani西大工町4-25; +81 886531482)非一般的「茶系」湯底絕對是人氣首選。

讚岐烏冬

Credit: Shutter Stock

提到四國名菜,不少日本人都會馬上想起讚岐烏冬。這種略帶咬勁的小麥麵條是香川縣特產,湯底一般以沙甸魚乾熬製,配料方面則五花八門。最經典的食法,是在烏冬內拌入生雞蛋,再灑上蔥花。這道菜式簡單而味美,是四國的美食代表。在香川縣,主打讚岐烏冬的路邊攤檔和餐廳隨處可見,單在縣內,估計多達800間。

鰹魚半敲燒

Credit: allenfotowild

鰹魚半敲燒是高知縣的看家名物,肥美的鰹魚放在稻草火堆上燒香外皮,內裡半熟的魚肉則保持鮮嫩,火候恰到好處,魚肉切片後再配上生蒜片和蔥粒,蘸上由醬油、柚子和清酒調配的柚子醋增鮮提味,佐以啤酒或清酒更是一絕。位於高知市市中心的弘人市場高知市帶屋町二丁目3番1號),內有數十間供應鰹魚半敲燒的美食攤檔,到了入夜時分,飢腸轆轆的下班族更會蜂擁而至。

宇和島鯛魚飯

Credit: Getty Images

這道以紅鯛魚入饌的愛媛縣名菜滋味與趣味俱全,因為食客可以「自作業」,先把生雞蛋混進以魚湯和醬油調成的醬汁,再放入一塊塊鯛魚刺身,最後把成品澆到熱飯上享用。松山市道後區是品嚐極品鯛魚飯的好去處,鯛魚飯專門店眾多,當中以丸水(大街道3-6-4)和Kadoya(道後湯之町20-24)最值得一試。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

A Tasting Tour of Japan’s Shikoku Island

Rob Goss savours the regional culinary dishes and flavours of Shikoku Island, the smallest of Japan's main islands but a contender to be its tastiest

Regional flavours make travelling around Japan a foodie’s delight. The four prefectures that comprise Japan’s Shikoku Island – Ehime in the west, Kagawa in the north, Kochi in the south and Tokushima out east – are perfect examples. Here are some classic Shikoku dishes to look out for.

Tokushima Ramen

Credit: Shutterstock

One of Japan’s less-heralded ramen variations – and criminally so – Tokushima ramen features thin, softish noodles topped with green onions, pork belly and beansprouts. One Tokushima twist is that it can also be served with a raw egg on top. The main quirk, however, is that Tokushima ramen broth comes in three different hues – brown (the most common), yellow or white, depending on the combination of stock and the type of soy sauce in the mix – although each one tastes a little sweeter and saltier than a typical ramen. There are plenty of no-frills places to slurp up Tokushima ramen in Tokushima city, but the brown broth  version at Inotani (4-25 Nishidaikumachi; +81 886531482) is widely considered a standout.

Sanuki Udon

Credit: Shutter Stock

For many Japanese, sanuki udon is the most identifiably Shikoku Island dish. Hailing from Kagawa, these slightly springy wheat noodles are typically served in a stock made with dried sardines and can come with a variety of toppings – a raw egg mixed into the bowl and a sprinkling of green onions is one classic option. It’s Shikoku soul food at its simplest and best. You’ll find sanuki udon all over Shikoku Island – there are an estimated 800 restaurants in Kagawa prefecture alone.

Katsuo no Tataki

Credit: allenfotowild

Nothing says Kochi like katsuo no tataki: bonito tuna that’s seared over a straw fire just enough to scorch the outside while the fleshy centre remains tender and raw. Served in slices with raw garlic and onions (or green onions) and a sprinkling of ponzu sauce – a mix of soy, citrus and sake – it goes extremely well with beer or sake. Head to Hirome Market (2 Chome-3-1 Obiyamachi, Kochi) in the heart of Kochi city to find dozens of stalls and food stands serving it. The market is especially lively at night with the after-work crowd.

Uwajima Tai Meshi

Credit: Getty Images

Tai (red snapper) is the main ingredient in this Ehime signature dish, which is almost as much fun to prepare as it is to eat. You begin by mixing a raw egg into a soy- and fish-stock-based sauce before adding chunks of raw snapper, then pour the entire mixture onto a bowl of hot rice. The Dogo area of Matsuyama has some great tai meshi joints. Try Gansui (3-6-4 Okaido) or Kadoya (20-24 Dogoyunomachi).

Cathay Dragon will launch flights to Tokushima on 11 December 2019

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book