塔斯曼尼亞

令這個島嶼變身旅遊熱點的7大要素

世界各地的旅客為了尋求別開生面的藝術體驗來到塔斯曼尼亞,不過,他們同時發現這個島嶼原來還有豐富的歷史、壯麗的野外風光和奢華設施

澳洲塔斯曼尼亞有不少精采特色,值得現在就訂機票前往一遊。以下為你推介七項精選活動,讓你在塔斯曼尼亞歡度難忘的假期。

1. MONA

如果你來到新舊藝術博物館,應該會看到以下這些展品:一個男人每天一動也不動的坐六個半小時,展示他已售予藝術收藏家的背部紋身;由1,600幅小型土著畫作砌成的龐大展品,遠觀猶如一條巨蛇;一隻平平無奇的餐碗裡飼養著兩尾金魚,水中還橫放了一把尖銳的廚刀,若有所指;數百件女性私處的雕塑;還有一部將食物轉化成糞便的機器,散發著難聞的氣味 。

Vanessa Ko

這些內容絕對超出感官負荷,甚至可能會令人不安。這家常被稱為「MONA」的博物館位於地底,內部結構複雜得像迷宮一樣,令參觀者頓感迷失方向。在地上,博物館其實被海洋、翠綠群山和延綿不盡的葡萄園包圍,與室內環境完全是兩個世界。這也是旅客蜂湧至這個位於墨爾本南部的島嶼的其中一個原因。

昏暗而內容刺激的室內氛圍,與恬靜明亮的外在環境構成強烈的對比,令MONA一鳴驚人,它不僅令所在地荷伯特市人氣急升,更讓所屬的澳洲大陸南面離島塔斯曼尼亞省廣為人識。澳大利亞精品酒店系列公關專員Sarah Shields表示:「人們稱之為『MONA效應』。這家博物館由David Walsh籌建,為塔斯曼尼亞旅遊業帶來新氣象。」

Leigh Carmichael / Courtesy of MONA

MONA的創辦人Walsh是一位另類的本土英雄。這位特立獨行的數學天才靠豪賭贏得千萬家財後,開始收集藝術品,作品大多以死亡和性愛為主題。後來他決定將藏品存放在一幢1950年代的建築物裡,並把它徹底翻新,最後於2011年重新開放,成為現在的MONA。博物館引起全球旅客的好奇,藝術愛好者更為此從荷伯特市中心乘坐25分鐘渡輪,前往澳洲的最南端。

為博物館而造訪塔斯曼尼亞的旅客將會喜出望外,因為這裡還有古跡處處的首府、豐富多姿的野外風光和美酒佳餚。這裡雖然於19世紀時是英國流放罪犯的殖民地,但現在已完全顛覆了澳洲大陸對當地的負面形象。莫麗拉莊園毗鄰偌大的MONA,同樣是Walsh名下物業,在3月某個晴空的一天,莊園經理Luke Monks告訴我:「澳洲大陸的人總是以為塔斯曼尼亞的氣候潮濕寒冷,但這其實並不正確。塔斯曼尼亞東岸是全澳洲最乾燥的地區之一,因此非常適合釀製葡萄酒;這事可別告訴任何人。」

Leigh Carmichael / Courtesy of MONA

2. 藝術、歷史與古蹟

其實這早已不是什麼秘密。在荷伯特,暢旺的旅遊業令飲食業和藝廊大放異采,多家風格另類的高級酒店亦在此開業。一排始建於1800年代的工廠建築經過妥善保存和翻新,現已變成型格酒店和餐廳。Henry Jones Art Hotel藝術酒店就是其中之一:它前身是果醬工廠,現時除了提供住宿外,更於走廊、客房和藝廊展示本土藝術家的畫作,大部分均可供購買。酒店大致上保留了原來的磚塊和樑柱,牆身淡淡的果醬漬訴說著這幢建築物的歷史,多人更聲稱偶爾可嗅到一股甜香。酒店的歷史導賞員Greg Ball表示:「150年來,人們在這棟建築物從事捕鯨和製造果醬,其後這裡被荒廢30年。這段歷史真實存在,無法複製,而且獨一無二。」

歷史古蹟在城中隨處可見,維多利亞式房屋、裝飾藝術風格的辦公大樓,以及在外牆建有怪獸石雕的哥德式建築毗鄰而立。薩拉曼卡廣場是現場音樂表演和藝廊的勝地,一排源自19世紀的倉庫現在成為廣場的主建築群。新開業的Macq 01 hotel酒店位於海港上,樓高四層的精緻建築採用木材和玻璃建成,向荷伯特的歷史致敬之餘,並以「說故事的酒店」自居。行程豐富的導賞團帶領賓客參觀荷伯特和酒店,探索隱藏於酒店走廊的手工藝品和歷史人物的傳說。在Macq 01被譽為「說書大師」的Justin Johnstone表示:「人們都說荷伯特的時間好像停頓了,雖然言過其實,但這裡的舊日氣息確實縈繞不散。」

Adam Gibson

3. 壯麗的海岸線

遊覽塔斯曼尼亞的遊客,大多視該省東南部的荷伯特為中轉站。喜歡深度遊的遊客都會取道東海岸路向北繼續進發,這是塔斯曼尼亞旅遊局設計的12條自駕遊路線之一,它環抱東部海岸線,途經葡萄酒廠、海邊瞭望台、多條河流和無數放牧的綿羊。如欲將旅程分成數天,可於距離荷伯特90分鐘車程的玻璃小屋Avalon Coastal Retreat下榻一至兩晚。它前臨大海,為公路之旅提供恬靜的歇腳處。沿著山路漫步而下,不消一會即可抵達海灘,但安坐室內享受爐火的溫暖,亦不失為好主意。房屋屬自助服務形式,雪櫃放滿食材,供賓客自行下廚,安享私人時光;附近覓食的小袋鼠,是唯一的不速之客。

Tourism Tasmania/Pete Harmsen

4. 頂級豪華度假村

繼續向北驅車一小時,便可抵達旅程的終點站:塔斯曼尼亞最頂級的度假村酒店 Saffire Freycinet,其主建築呈波浪形,位於菲辛那半島的菲欣納國家公園內。這個半島吸引不少登山客和浮潛愛好者到訪,他們全是為了塔斯曼尼亞的最大賣點:未受污染的野外風光而來。

Saffire Freycinet酒店設有20間獨立套房,房內四面均是落地玻璃窗,住客可把叢林景致盡收眼底。他們可一邊品茶或閱讀,一邊尋覓袋鼠、小袋鼠、針鼴和袋熊的蹤影,而有「塔斯曼尼亞惡魔」之稱的袋獾更是這裡的明星。現在要看到這種省代表動物絕非易事,皆因在過去20年,一種可傳染的癌症奪去了八成袋獾的生命,而至今研究員仍在努力研發疫苗當中。不過,這種受保護動物的數目,早於多個世紀以前遭人類射殺開始,便已日益減少。駐酒店的野生動物導遊Paul Jack表示:「當初來到這裡開拓的英國人,瞧見袋獾細小的眼睛在黑暗中閃閃發亮,甚至聽見尖叫聲,便以為是惡魔出沒。」

5. 繽紛的自然景觀與野生動物

酒店設有動物保護區,飼養了六頭「惡魔」,賓客可於餵飼時段一窺其貌:牠們體型如貓,大部分長有黑色毛髮,五官如鼠,遇上同類時還會發出如電影喪屍般的可怖嘶叫。將牠們與惡魔扯上關係似乎也合情合理,但其實牠們只是在裝腔作勢。Paul指出:「袋獾是對外界抱持敵意的動物,所以會以咕嚕和咆哮聲溝通。其實一切都是虛張聲勢罷了。」

酒店亦有舉辦水上導賞團,帶領旅客乘船沿國家公園的海岸線遊覽。岸邊有不少高聳的懸崖,大部分由粉紅色花崗岩構成,它們曾因鮮艷的色彩而被大量開採;據說,紐約帝國大廈的首五層正是以這裡的石頭建成。後來,開採活動因環保意識抬頭而中止,對追求大自然原始面貌的旅客而言,自是一大喜訊。這段歷史亦反映塔斯曼尼亞省的今昔對比。船上的導遊Martin Cameron表示:「塔斯曼尼亞的發展史由殘酷的侵略展開,繼而轉型以採礦和伐木業為主,兜兜轉轉之下,現時以環保旅遊業為重,總算是圓滿的發展。」

導賞團也讓旅客觀賞動人的海上生態。旅客幾乎一定可以看見海豹在石頭上憩息,以及海豚逐浪的英姿。愛鳥人士可輕易找到太平洋鷗、舉止笨重的塘鵝、翼展長達三米的信天翁,還有俯衝至水中捕魚的澳洲鰹鳥。Martin聚精會神地尋覓白腹海鵰的身影,這種鳥類深受當地原住民尊崇,但現時已鮮有在區內出沒。

6. 新鮮美食

至於酒店另一項最受歡迎的活動,則關乎塔斯曼尼亞馳名的美食。生蠔是該省的名產,而住客可前往位於海灣的蠔場,了解養蠔的過程:大致上是按照蠔的生命周期,將它們移至水流較強或較弱的水域。賓客可即時品嚐從海中撈起的生蠔,職員更會奉上香檳佐膳。

事實上,酒店讓住客幾乎全天都能大快朵頤,而酒店餐廳更會安排賓客坐在窗邊位置。要是天氣合適,更可飽覽哈澤德山脈的日落紅霞。不過大自然總是隨心所欲,那我們就儘管欣賞其千變萬化的面貌吧。

7. 天倫之樂

與孩子同行?以下介紹一家大小都可樂在其中的塔斯曼尼亞精選活動

Bonorong野生動物保護區

保護區距離荷伯特以北半小時車程,協助受傷或生病的野生動物康復,同時讓旅客在遼闊的保護區內與動物互動。在這裡出沒的動物包括袋鼠、樹熊、袋熊、袋獾和多種鳥類。bonorong.com.au

Tourism Tasmania & Rob Burnett

Par Avion野外導賞團

參加派頭十足的直升機導賞團,從高空俯瞰島嶼景致。部分短途航程專門供旅客觀賞醉人美景,而另一些則帶領乘客品嚐美食和葡萄酒,或把他們送到野外進行地面探索。這間公司提供的行程,涵蓋塔斯曼尼亞每個角落。 paravion.com.au

酒杯灣遊輪之旅

酒杯灣擁有恬靜蔚藍的海水和未受污染的海灘,是菲欣納國家公園最著名的勝地。乘搭環保遊輪前往該處,可同時了解區內歷史和景點。wineglassbaycruises.com

Tourism Tasmania & Kathryn Leahy

薩拉曼卡市集

這個熱鬧的海濱市集逢周六於荷伯特的薩拉曼卡廣場舉行,售賣本地產品,包括麥蘆卡蜂蜜、手工氈酒、手工朱古力和家居木製品。salamancamarket.com.au

國泰航空每周設有28班由香港飛往悉尼的航班;以及21班由香港飛往墨爾本的航班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Tasmania

7 things making this island a top trending destination

Travellers are descending on Tasmania for an intriguing art experience, only to discover an island rich with so much more - history, wilderness and luxury offerings

There are plenty of reasons to book those flights to Tasmania right now. Here are seven of the Australian island’s star attractions.

1. MONA

These are some exhibits you’re likely to see at the Museum of Old and New Art: a man who sits still for 6.5 hours daily to display his tattooed back, which he’s sold to an art collector; an enormous display of 1,600 small Aboriginal paintings that from afar form a large snake; an ordinary dinner bowl swimming with two pet fish, a pointed kitchen knife laid suggestively in the water; hundreds of sculptures of female private parts; a machine that turns food into excrement. It doesn’t smell nice.

MONA-Tasmania
Vanessa Ko

It’s certainly sensory overload, perhaps discomfitingly so. The labyrinthine museum, commonly called MONA, is also underground, giving viewers a feeling of disorientation. The atmosphere contrasts starkly with its above-ground setting: it’s surrounded by sea, grassy hills and rolling vineyards.

It’s also the first of a list of reasons people are flocking to this island just south of Melbourne.

With its juxtaposition of provocative and dark, serene and bright, MONA has made a huge impact. The museum can take credit for the surge in the popularity of Hobart, and indeed the state of Tasmania, which lies just south of the Australian mainland. ‘They call it the MONA effect,’ says Sarah Shields, a public relations specialist for Luxury Lodges of Australia. ‘David Walsh built the museum and it’s been a revelation for tourism for Tasmania.’

MONA-Tasmania-3
Leigh Carmichael / Courtesy of MONA

Walsh, MONA’s founder, is an unlikely local hero. An eccentric maths genius who made his millions through high-stakes gambling, he started collecting art – with an inclination towards themes of death and sex – and decided to put the collection in a 1950s building, which was overhauled and reopened as MONA in 2011. It’s a 25-minute ferry ride from downtown Hobart to get there. Curiosity took hold around the world, and art fans headed a little farther down under.

And what those museum-bound visitors encounter is so much more: a heritage-filled capital, rich wilderness, and great food and wine. The reality of Tasmania – which served as a British penal colony in the 19th century – utterly upends its less-than-positive image among many on the mainland. ‘There’s a misconception in Australia that Tasmania is wet and cold, but it’s not true,’ Luke Monks, a manager at Moorilla Winery, adjacent to the sprawling MONA property (and also owned by Walsh), tells me on a blue-skied day in March. ‘The east coast of Tasmania is one of the driest parts of Australia – perfect for winemaking. Don’t tell anyone.’

MONA-TAsmania2
Leigh Carmichael / Courtesy of MONA

2. Art, history and heritage

The secret’s out. In Hobart, booming tourism has led to a thriving food and gallery scene, accompanied by a clutch of quirky high-end hotels. A row of refurbished factory buildings from the 1800s has been gorgeously preserved, now standing as handsome hotels and restaurants. One of those is the Henry Jones Art Hotel, a former jam factory that in addition to providing accommodation also showcases paintings (they’re mostly for sale, too) by local artists in its corridors, guest rooms and galleries. The hotel’s bricks and beams are mostly original, with seeping jam stains – and, many claim, sometimes a sweet fragrance – recalling its previous use. ‘A hundred and fifty years of heavy use of whaling and jam making, and 30 years of neglect: you can’t replicate that. It is absolutely organically authentic,’ says Greg Ball, history liaison at the hotel.

Tasmania, Australia, Henry Jones Art Hotel

Heritage is easily found across the city, where Victorian houses abut art deco office buildings and gothic gargoyles. Salamanca Place is a hive of live music and gallery openings, but its main complex originally existed as a row of 19th-century warehouses. Even the new Macq 01 hotel, a four-storey marvel of wood and glass perched on the harbour, celebrates Hobart’s history, billing itself as a storytelling hotel. Guides take guests on fascinating tours of Hobart and of the hotel itself, which hides artefacts and narratives about historic figures in its hallways. ‘People say time stands still in Hobart. It doesn’t stand still but it does linger,’ says Justin Johnstone, who has the lofty title of master storyteller at Macq 01.

Tasmania, Australia, MACq01
Adam Gibson

3. Its amazing coastline

But Hobart, in Tasmania’s southeast, is often just the gateway to the rest of the state. For many tourists, exploring farther means heading north on the Great Eastern Drive, one of a dozen self-drive itineraries devised by Tasmania’s tourism body. It hugs the eastern coastline, passing wineries, lookouts onto the ocean, rivers and lots of grazing sheep. To break up the journey, spend a night or two at Avalon Coastal Retreat, located 90 minutes from Hobart. This stunning glass lodge facing the ocean serves as a peaceful stopover point on an east coast roadtrip. There’s a beach a short stroll downhill, but it’s just as well to stay in with the fireplace going. The house is self-service, with a well-stocked fridge for cooking, giving guests privacy – unless you count the wallabies that forage the grounds.

Tasmania, Australia, riving near Kelvedon Beach
Tourism Tasmania/Pete Harmsen

4. The ultimate luxury resort

The ultimate destination, another hour north, is Saffire Freycinet, Tasmania’s most exclusive resort. Its main building’s undulating form stands amid Freycinet National Park, a peninsula that draws hikers and snorkellers seeking Tasmania’s top selling point: pristine wilderness.

Tasmania, Australia, Saffire Freycinet

Each of Saffire’s 20 stand-alone suites are set up with a wraparound floor-to-ceiling window facing the bush. The idea is that guests could be having a cup of tea or reading a book while looking out for kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas, wombats and, of course, Tasmanian devils. The state animal is difficult to come by nowadays: a rare form of transmissible cancer has wiped out 80 percent of the population over the past two decades, with researchers struggling to develop a vaccine. But the protected species’ numbers first started dwindling centuries ago when humans shot at them. ‘English settlers saw beady little eyes in the dark and even heard screams. To them they thought it was the devil,’ says the resident wildlife guide, Paul Jack.

5. Bountiful nature and wildlife

Saffire has a sanctuary on-site housing six of the creatures, which guests get to observe at feedings: they’re cat-sized, mostly black, with rat-like faces and a menacing zombie-movie screech, which they unleash on each other during casual encounters. The devil connection makes sense – although it’s more bark than bite. ‘They’re actually antagonistic animals, so they use grunts and growls to communicate,’ says Jack. ‘So it’s all about bluff.’

A boat tour organised by the resort follows the national park’s coastline. Much of its towering cliffs notably consist of pink granite, which was once quarried for its attractive colour; I’m told that the first five storeys of New York’s Empire State Building are made of this stone from Freycinet. Quarrying was eventually halted because of environmental concerns – all the better for visitors seeking unspoiled nature. It’s a story that reflects much of the state’s past and present. ‘Tasmania really started out with a brutal history, and then transitioned to industries like mining and logging, but has done a full flip to eco-tourism,’ says Martin Cameron, my guide on the boat.

Nature-Tasmania-4

The tour also offers a thrilling view of life above water. Sightings of seals on the rocks and dolphins in the waves are practically guaranteed. Bird lovers will easily spot Pacific gulls, unwieldy pelicans, albatrosses with their three-metre wingspans and Australasian gannets that plunge deep into the water for fish. Cameron keeps his eyes peeled for the white-bellied sea eagle, a species revered by indigenous people that has become rare in the area.

6. The freshest food

One of Saffire’s most popular activities is related to a clear highlight of Tasmania: food. The state is especially known for its oysters, and Saffire guests can head out to an oyster farm located in a bay. Here they get to know the farming process – which basically involves moving the oysters to areas of stronger and weaker currents depending on their life stage – and eat them straight out of the water. The staff bring champagne, too.

In fact, much of the day at Saffire is spent eating. And guests at the restaurants are always positioned to face out the window. The Hazards mountain range glows reddish at sunset if the weather conditions are just right. But nature will do what it wants – and we get to enjoy the show.

7. Family-friendly activities

Travelling with kids? Here are the top activities in Tasmania everyone will enjoy

Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary

Located half an hour north of Hobart, Bonorong rehabilitates injured or sick wild animals, giving visitors the chance to interact with them on its sprawling grounds. Animals here include kangaroos, koalas, wombats, Tasmanian devils and several bird species. bonorong.com.au

Tasmania, Australia, Kangaroos, Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary
Tourism Tasmania & Rob Burnett

Par Avion Wilderness Tours

See the island from above on a high-end helicopter tour. Some flights are short and for enjoying the scenery, while others take passengers to sample food and wine, or involve wilderness exploration on land. This company covers all parts of Tasmania. paravion.com.au

Wineglass Bay Cruises

A cove with gentle turquoise waters and a pristine beach, Wineglass Bay is the most famed spot of Freycinet National Park. Get there via an eco-cruise while learning about the area’s history and sights. wineglassbaycruises.com

Tourism Tasmania & Kathryn Leahy

Salamanca Market

Held every Saturday at Hobart’s Salamanca Place, this lively market near the waterfront hosts vendors selling locally made products including manuka honey, craft gin, artisanal chocolate and wooden home wares. salamancamarket.com.au

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Sydney 28 times a week and to Melbourne 21 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book