中國台灣

用兩輪遊台灣:文化單車之旅

踏單車遊台灣蔚然成風,加強了寶島在本世紀的健康、綠色生活形象。我們前往探索掀起單車風潮的緣由,以及靜待單車客發掘的醉人美景

踏單車遊台灣的騎士來到台灣南部的偏遠山嶺,正在征服環島一號線。在壽卡攻頂的一刻,眾人雖累得氣喘吁吁,卻按捺不住興奮的心情。他們挑戰腿部肌肉的極限,沿著蜿蜒的上斜路段,途經臨海山麓的小部落,向鬱鬱蔥蔥的山坡進發。

環島一號線全長970公里,是環繞台灣主島的單車徑路線,而高500米的壽卡頂峰則是路線其中一個最高點。即使是身體質素頂尖的運動員,攻頂亦殊不容易,然而對於一窩蜂來到台灣,挑戰亞洲長途單車之旅的業餘人士而言,登山簡直就是煎熬的磨難,還得承受無盡的孤獨感。

不過,在台灣騎單車其實不會真正感到孤獨,因為這裡是全球其中一個單車普及率最高的地區。事實上,台灣單車文化的知名度,幾乎可媲美當地的夜市美食,以及展出不少全球最珍貴中國宮廷瑰寶的國立故宮博物院。

帶動台灣單車運動風潮的人非劉金標莫屬。他創辦的本土單車品牌「捷安特」,隸屬於巨大集團旗下,現已躍升為全球最大的單車製造廠,而他更一手推動了台灣的單車旅行熱潮。

他表示︰「騎單車使人健康快樂。因此當『捷安特』成為影響力如此深遠的國際品牌,而台灣又成為全球單車客嚮往的熱門地點時,都令我引以為榮。」

插图:Cecil Tang

台灣現時無疑是亞洲區內最適合騎單車的地區。首都台北市政府已在市區開闢全長達500公里可供單車合法行駛的道路。至於「捷安特」牽頭與台北市政府合辦的共享單車計劃「YouBike微笑單車」,亦已於台灣其他縣市推出。大城市以外也設有總長逾4,500公里的單車徑網絡,造就了售賣運動緊身褲和反光單車裝備的店舖如雨後春筍,與餃子店和便利店一樣隨處可見。

不過,台灣演變成單車客天堂並非一朝一夕的事情。隨著「捷安特」於上世紀80年代崛起,單車開始在台灣普及。當時市場推出大量平價單車,社會文化亦因經濟增長,從拼命工作變成更注重健康和休閒生活,促使更多民眾騎單車。

到了90年代,台灣的單車出口總值已達到數以十億美元計,單車天堂的美譽不脛而走。但當時的單車主要仍然是學童、少數單車愛好者及老人家的代步工具,騎的還是吱吱作響的單速車。

大約十多年前,單車在台灣的角色有了重大轉變,從消費品演變成一種生活型態的選擇。首先是一部於2006年上映的電影《練習曲》,劇情描述一位聽障大學生騎單車環島的經歷。電影鮮明地呈現台灣豐富的文化和令人讚嘆的自然風光,深深觸動了台灣觀眾,驅使他們騎單車展開自己的環島歷險。

而劉金標在2007年以72歲高齡單騎環島的壯舉,更在社會引起巨大迴響。他這趟15天旅程儼然成為台灣的民間傳奇,亦令這位原先不是單車客的集團董事長,搖身變成台灣其中一位倡導單車生活的代表人物。

插图:Cecil Tang

Grasshopper Adventures旅行社專門為遊客設計台東單車行程,帶領他們挑戰崎嶇不平的多山地勢。任職這間旅行社的Simon Foster表示:「這部電影和劉金標的壯舉,在台灣人心坎埋下了環島夢的種子,現在不少人將環島單車之旅視作成年禮。壯觀秀麗的山水風光、交通流量稀疏但狀況良好的郊區道路、大規模投資建設的單車基建,以及擁有全球最大的單車生產商,足證台灣已具備成為亞洲單車王國的絕佳條件。」

現在不僅當地的單車客視台灣為騎單車勝地,許多單車客亦專誠前來台灣,挑戰環島單車徑及其他路線,同時為當地美食、志趣相投的單車客,以及太魯閣的大理石峽谷、海拔3,952米的玉山和清幽的日月潭等景點而來。

當然,單車環島遊還蘊藏了無數小確幸︰咬緊牙關踩踏板上斜坡後,衝下山的快感,以及完成一天辛苦行程之後,大家一屁股坐到桌邊,用冰凍的台灣啤酒瓶互碰的清脆聲響來結束漫長的一天。

天下無不散之筳席,環島路線亦不例外。事實上,當不少單車客沿銜接宜蘭和台北的北宜公路(以急彎而聞名)蜿蜒而上時,腦海都曾閃過搭便車的念頭,並發誓再也不騎單車了。

征服了茶鄉坪林最後一段上坡路,終點已近在眼前,我們騎車滑下長斜坡,回到萬家燈火的大城市。酸痛不久自會找上門,但此刻一圓環台夢的感覺的確無與倫比。

哪一條踏單車遊台灣的路線適合你?

被虐狂之選

中部橫貫公路

中部橫貫公路(或台八線)是貫穿台灣東西海岸的三大橫貫公路之一。這條路線可飽覽秀麗風景,亦是難度最高的單車徑,最高點達3,275米,只適合健壯的單車客。不過,如果你想挑戰自我,這條路線絕對符合要求。

新手之選

西岸

西岸最適合想從北到南一路飽覽台灣風光的單車新手。在遼闊的平原騎單車,途經綠油油的稻田和面對海洋的媽祖廟。台灣西部坐擁人口密集的主要城市,包括台灣最早建立的城市台南,以及南台灣首都高雄。西岸沿線有不少優質的酒店,以及供應各類美食的餐飲好去處。

最佳城市路線

台北河濱公園單車道

這條單車道長逾100公里,貫穿台北市內三條主河道,穿越市區及郊區,連接28個公園。人氣路線包括淡水河至新北市一條集小吃攤及商店的木棧道,或是沿同一條河流,從天母騎到淡水區,在沙崙海灘結束行程。

本文原於2018年5月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Taiwan

Taiwan on two wheels: A cultural cycling trip

Taiwan’s fervent cycling culture has helped to craft the island’s 21st-century image of healthy, green living. We explore the story behind the sport’s rise and the vistas that await riders. Words by DUNCAN FORGAN, illustrations by CECIL TANG

In the remote mountains of southern Taiwan, those tackling Cycling Route 1 experience something between exhilaration and expiration as they approach the Shouka summit. Having just passed tiny communities huddled in the foothills near the coast, cyclists subject themselves to a calf-tightening test as acute hairpin bends lead uphill into the forested hillside.

Route 1 is a 970-kilometre trail that circumnavigates the entire island of Taiwan. And the Shouka summit is one of the highest points on the route, reaching 500 metres. It’s no cinch for even the fittest of athletes, but for amateurs who flock to Taiwan to sample one of Asia’s premier long-distance biking challenges, the climb is an ordeal, with the loneliness known only too well to long-distance cyclists.

Except, if you are pedalling in Taiwan, you are rarely truly alone, given its status as one of the most bicycle-orientated places on the planet. Indeed, the island has become almost as famous for its cycling culture as for its night market cuisine and National Palace Museum, which houses the world’s finest hoard of Chinese imperial treasures.

It was a businessman named King Liu who started the cycling movement. The founder of Giant, a home-grown bicycle manufacturer that is now the largest in the world, Liu helped to foment an island-wide passion for pedal-powered travel.

Taiwan cultural cycling trip

‘Cycling makes people healthy and joyous,’ says Liu. ‘Therefore, it makes me proud that Giant has such a powerful global brand and that Taiwan has become such a popular destination for international cyclists.’

Nowadays, Taiwan’s status as the region’s most bike-friendly place is beyond dispute. In the capital, Taipei, authorities have legalised cycling on 500 kilometres of city centre pavement. A bike sharing system, YouBike, spearheaded by Giant in cooperation with Taipei city government, has been rolled out in other hubs around Taiwan. And outside the big cities, an extensive network of cycle routes totalling over 4,500 kilometres makes skin-tight spandex and hi-vis bike gear as ubiquitous as dumpling shops and 7-Eleven stores.

Nevertheless, it took some time for Taiwan’s emergence as a paradise for cyclists to move through the gears. Wheels were initially set in motion in the 1980s with the rise of Giant. An abundance of affordable bikes put bums on saddles during a period when the country’s economic growth saw it evolve from a work-all-hours culture to one with a greater emphasis on health and leisure.

By the 1990s, Taiwan’s reputation for its bicycles was growing because it was pumping out billions of dollars worth of bikes for export. At that stage, cycling on the island was still mainly the preserve of school kids, eccentric hobbyists and elderly men piloting squeaky one-speeds.

The decisive shift in Taiwan’s relationship with cycling – from consumer product to lifestyle choice – came just over a decade ago. First there was the 2006 movie Island Etude, which follows the adventures of a hearing-impaired college student as he sets off on a cycling trip around the island. Its vivid portrayal of Taiwan’s rich culture and incredible scenery struck a chord with its native audience, prompting them to take to two wheels and embark on their own island odyssey.

Taiwan-cultural cycling trip

Even more significant was Liu’s own round-island tour, which he undertook in 2007 at the ripe old age of 72. The 15-day ride has become the stuff of folklore in Taiwan, turning the business executive – who was not previously a cyclist – into one of Taiwan’s most vocal proponents of the cycling lifestyle.

‘The movie and King Liu’s ride around the island helped embed the notion of the huandao (island circuit) as a rite of passage in the Taiwanese psyche,’ says Simon Foster of Grasshopper Adventures, which specialises in bespoke biking itineraries on the island’s rugged, mountainous eastern side. ‘Spectacular coastal and mountain scenery, well-maintained but little-used rural roads, extensive investment in cycling infrastructure, and the fact that the island is the world’s biggest bike manufacturer have created the perfect conditions for Taiwan to achieve its goal of becoming Asia’s cycling kingdom.’

It’s not just local riders who have come to appreciate Taiwan as a biking destination. Cyclists who travel to Taiwan to tackle the round-island circuit and the many other routes do so for the incredible food, like-minded people and scenic sites such as the marble-walled Taroko Gorge, the 3,952-metre-high Yushan mountain and serene Sun Moon Lake.

And there are the smaller pleasures: the long rushes downhill that mitigate the teeth-clenching climbs; the clink of cold bottles of Taiwan Beer as they touch down on the table at the end of another long day.

All good things must reach a conclusion, and such is the case with the round-island route. In fact, as cyclists twist and climb up the Beiyi Highway between Yilan and Taipei – a road notorious for its hairpin bends – many contemplate hitching a lift and vow never to mount a bike again.

After one last uphill grind from the tea-growing town of Pingling, the homeward stretch awaits – a long glide down the mountain and back to the bright lights of the big city. The aches and pains will come later, but full circle in Taiwan feels so good.

Find your cycling route

Best for masochists

Central cross highway

The central cross highway (or Provincial Highway 8) is one of three roads that link Taiwan’s east and west coasts. It’s one of the most scenic rides in the country, but also arguably the toughest, with the road hitting a height of 3,275 metres above sea level at its highest point. Unsurprisingly, the going gets arduous at times, and it is only suitable for the fittest cyclists. However, if it’s a challenge you’re after, this one certainly fits the bill.

Best for novices

West coast

Taiwan’s west coast is ideal for beginner cyclists looking to cover a good length of the country. The largely pancake-flat area passes emerald-hued paddies and ocean-facing Taoist temples dedicated to the sea god Matsu. Home to major population centres such as former capital Tainan and Kaohsiung in the far south, the west coast is also replete with good hotels and dining options.

Best city ride

Taipei riverside bike trail

Over 100 kilometres of bike-only paths run along the three main rivers in Taipei, passing through both urban and rural landscapes, and connecting more than 28 parks along the way. Take the route that goes along the Danshui River to a boardwalk in New Taipei City lined with food stalls and shops. Another option is to bike along the same river from Tienmu towards the vibrant town of Danshui, ending at the ocean on Shalun Beach.

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific fly from Hong Kong to Taipei 128 times a week; Cathay Dragon flies to Taichung 14 times a week and Kaohsiung 49 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book