藝術和文化

矚目發展

經過多年活化工程後,由中區警署建築群改建而成的「大館」終於對外開放。這個香港最出色的歷史古蹟活化項目,為文化藝術界帶來新氣象。撰文 ANNA CUMMINS,圖片 MIKE PICKLES

當你走進坐落於中環繁忙街道之間的大館,首先會被眼前的偌大庭院、神秘的小巷,還有水泥叢林中罕見的開揚空間所震懾,然後你的注意力便會落在與繁華的現代環境並行不悖、散發著莊嚴氣派的殖民地建築。你開始感受到這裡的寧靜,已有60年樹齡的芒果樹在風中沙沙作響,的士響號更是隔絕於耳,雖與中環一貫的環境截然不同,卻令人有心曠神怡之感。不過最令人感動的,莫過於是多年的等待確實非常值得。

經過十年規劃、建設及翻新,這個曾是香港殖民地政府執法與維持治安的中區警署建築群終於向公眾開放,並鼓勵訪客重新探討自身對該區及香港藝術界的認知。

「大館」是昔日警務人員,以及公眾對前警察總部以至整個建築群的粵語簡稱,這裡共有16幢歷史建築物及兩個偌大庭院,現已被改造成舉辦藝術和表演活動的空間。建築群由域多利監獄(越共已故領袖胡志明於1930年代曾被囚禁在此)、中區警署及前中央裁判司署組成。至於兩幢矚目的鋁合金外牆建築,則出自瑞士建築師事務所-Herzog & de Meuron之手,當中設有藝術展覽及表演場地。

對一座數十年前已將大部分戰前建築夷平的城市而言,如此大規模的活化項目可謂前所未見,但最令人驚詫不已的是,活化工程竟發生於堪稱「全球最昂貴摩天大樓地段」的高尚中環區。

大館表演藝術主管錢佑表示︰「大部分人甚至不知道香港原來有這麼大的空間。從前公眾不曾有機會走入警署或造訪這裡的庭院,現在我們突然獲得這個珍貴的空間,著實令我感動不已。」

這個活化工程歷時多年,終見成果。中區警署於2006年正式停用後,特區政府和營運香港博彩業及大型慈善信託基金的香港賽馬會聯合成立非牟利藝術公司,拯救歷史建築群,以免它被毀於一旦。Herzog & de Meuron與保育建築師事務所Purcell的方案獲得通過後,活化工程便於2012年正式展開。不幸地,2016年發生了外牆及天台倒塌事故,令大館延遲兩年開放,而預算更由原先的18億港元上漲至36億港元,令旁觀者不禁猜測工程圍板內到底發生了什麼事。

大館文物事務主管楊頴賢表示︰「這一直是個極具挑戰性的項目,而公眾對其非常關注,因為這不但是香港史上最大型的古蹟活化項目,而且它置身於香港一個歷史悠久的社區重鎮。其實我們實在難以讓市民完全了解這個網羅不同層面的計劃,畢竟這裡有古蹟、藝術、還有文娛活動等不同項目。」

其中一個讓公眾了解大館的方法,就是舉辦藝術展覽《大館一百面導賞團》。公眾可藉此機會討論這個保育項目,同時,展覽亦會娓娓道來曾與建築群結下不解緣的人物故事,當中包括前警務人員、釋囚、街坊,以及對大館感興趣的人士如攝影師、記者和建築師等。

大館的工作團隊期望公眾目睹成果後,可釋除早前的疑慮,大館總監簡寧天表示︰「假如一些本為體驗古蹟、了解法律與治安,以及學習建築歷史而到訪大館的市民,會因洗衣場石階上的表演而分心,或者被壯觀的藝廊或展覽深深打動,這將令人十分鼓舞;我期望大館多元化的活動,能令訪客忘卻自己造訪這裡的初衷。」

大館當代美術館是建築群的當代藝術設施,共有逾16,000平方呎的展覽空間,預計每年主辦六至八場展覽。首個展覽《拆棚》是本地及國際藝術家的合作成果,而《六種練習》則展出本地藝術家蘇詠寶以中藥材創作的極簡約抽象派雕塑。

大館當代美術館並不囿於收藏藝術品,亦不會採取商業藝術的營運模式。大館藝術事務主管Tobias Berger表示︰「這代表我們的思維可以更具前瞻性,並進行更多試驗。我們可以展出在本地大型藝廊及藝術市場上少見的藝術品。我們清楚知道香港藝術市場在過去五至十年間蓬勃發展,目前欠缺的是中等規模的當代藝術空間,而這座美術館正好填補了空缺。」

香港非牟利機構「亞洲藝術文獻庫」的聯合創辦人及行政總監徐文玠所見略同︰「香港終於擁有為當代藝術而設的中等規模美術館,可填補藝術生態的缺口。儘管本地藝術生態過去多年來發展不俗,但始終都是以商業藝術為主流,因此香港早該要有獨立而具規模的藝術展覽項目。」

大館當代美術館將以合作模式營運,並邀請本土及國際非牟利團體合作舉辦展覽。Berger表示︰「大館的所有展覽均為香港而設,這一點十分重要,畢竟這裡不是巡迴展覽的中途站。我們所做的一切均從香港的角度出發,並為本地觀眾著想。」

大館的非商業設施將依靠商舖租金來支付營運成本,餐廳、酒吧及設計小店等34個商戶預計在今年年底悉數開業。目前公佈的重點商戶包括由企業家黃佩茵開設的休閒中菜館奧卑利;由香港知名夜店老闆龍基興主理,集粵菜館及豪華酒吧於一身、面積達8,000平方呎的Madame Fu;以及向美國彩繪玻璃藝匠Louis Tiffany致敬的酒吧Dragonfly。

大館現時已成為城中佳話,而萬眾矚目的M+視覺文化博物館亦將於明年開幕。Berger回想在十年前,他經常與人爭辯香港不是藝術文化荒漠,並道︰「與現時相比,當年香港確實是個文化沙漠。大館是香港睽違已久最精采的古蹟保育項目,甚至是藝術計劃。」

非牟利藝術空間Spring Workshop於2012年定下的「五年計劃」現已圓滿結束,其創辦人Mimi Brown認為,香港現正捲起當代藝術的熱潮,而大館能進一步推動這股風潮,前提是目標要正確。

她表示︰「我們這些小型藝術機構雖然表現出色,但無法媲美大館的廣大平台及接觸城中不同地區的能力,因此大館必須肩負充當牽頭部隊的重大責任,盡可能為香港各階層市民呈獻最出色的文化節目。」

她續說︰「如果大館發展成功的話,將會對香港大有裨益。隨著M+博物館開幕,以及香港藝術館翻新後重開,本地的文化勢力將會持續壯大。最理想的是,這些大型藝術空間不僅成為遊客抵埗後的第一個目的地,亦將成為香港人每月重遊的地方;這將是香港整個文化藝術發展的轉捩點。」

詳情請瀏覽taikwun.hk

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Tai Kwun: Hong Kong’s incredible art and heritage experience

After years of renovation, Tai Kwun, converted from Hong Kong’s former Central Police Station complex, has finally opened. It’s the city’s finest heritage project – and has breathed new life into the arts and culture landscape. Words by ANNA CUMMINS, photos by MIKE PICKLES

When you enter Tai Kwun, off the frenetic streets of Central, the first thing that hits you is the space: sprawling courtyards, mystery alleys, a rare openness amid the urban forest. Then, the architecture commands your attention: stately colonial buildings juxtaposed against hypnotic modernity. You become aware of the silence, the simple rustling of a majestic 60-year-old mango tree and the absence of taxi horns – very un-Central indeed, yet altogether welcome. The overwhelming feeling, though, is that this has been worth the wait.

After a decade of planning, construction and renovation, Hong Kong’s Central Police Station compound – where the city’s colonial occupiers once oversaw law and order – is finally here. And it’s encouraging visitors to question everything they think they know about the district and the city’s art scene.

Named for a Cantonese colloquialism meaning ‘big station’, Tai Kwun is a collection of 16 heritage buildings, along with two huge courtyards, reimagined as spaces for art and performance. The compound includes Victoria Prison, where Ho Chi Minh was incarcerated in the 1930s, Central Police Station and the Central Magistracy. Two dramatic aluminium-clad additions by Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron house a gallery and a performance venue.

When you enter Tai Kwun, off the frenetic streets of Central, the first thing that hits you is the space: sprawling courtyards, mystery alleys, a rare openness amid the urban forest. Then, the architecture commands your attention: stately colonial buildings juxtaposed against hypnotic modernity. You become aware of the silence, the simple rustling of a majestic 60-year-old mango tree and the absence of taxi horns – very un-Central indeed, yet altogether welcome. The overwhelming feeling, though, is that this has been worth the wait.

After a decade of planning, construction and renovation, Hong Kong’s Central Police Station compound – where the city’s colonial occupiers once oversaw law and order – is finally here. And it’s encouraging visitors to question everything they think they know about the district and the city’s art scene.

Named for a Cantonese colloquialism meaning ‘big station’, Tai Kwun is a collection of 16 heritage buildings, along with two huge courtyards, reimagined as spaces for art and performance. The compound includes Victoria Prison, where Ho Chi Minh was incarcerated in the 1930s, Central Police Station and the Central Magistracy. Two dramatic aluminium-clad additions by Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron house a gallery and a performance venue.

The sheer scale of the site is unprecedented in a city that levelled many of its pre-war buildings decades ago. But that it’s in the prestigious Central district, where skyscrapers jostle against each other for a slice of some of the most expensive real estate on Earth, makes it a marvel.

‘Most people didn’t even realise Hong Kong had this kind of big space,’ says Eddy Zee, head of performing arts at Tai Kwun. ‘The public couldn’t ever go into the police station or into the courtyard to see the site. And suddenly we have this valuable space here. It touched me.’

It’s been a long journey getting to this point. After Central Police Station was decommissioned in 2006, the government and the Hong Kong Jockey Club (which operates gaming in the city and includes a huge charity trust) launched a joint not-for-profit arts venture to save the compound from the wrecking ball. A plan by Herzog & de Meuron and conservation architects Purcell was approved, and construction began in 2012. The opening was delayed by two years when a wall and roof collapsed during construction work in 2016, and the initial budget of HK$1.8 billion later swelled to HK$3.6 billion, prompting observers to question what was unravelling behind closed doors.

‘It’s always been a highly challenging and highly sensitive project because this is the largest heritage project ever in Hong Kong and it’s stuck in the middle of a very old neighbourhood,’ says Winnie Yeung, Tai Kwun’s head of heritage. ‘It’s extremely difficult for people to understand a project like this with so many different facets. There’s heritage, there’s art, there’s leisure.’

One solution was to engage with the community with an exhibition called 100 Faces of Tai Kwun. It was a chance to discuss the conservation project with the public while also featuring the stories of individuals who had memories of the compound: ex-officers, ex-offenders, nearby residents and individuals who had shown interest in the site, including photographers, journalists and architects.

And Tai Kwun officials now hope misgivings will be cast away once the public sees the results. ‘It’s exciting that someone might come to Tai Kwun with the idea of having a heritage experience, learning something about the history of law and order or architecture, and they get distracted by a performance on the laundry steps or drawn into the magnificent galleries and captivated by an exhibition,’ says Timothy Calnin, director of Tai Kwun. ‘These are the exciting opportunities for me – distracting people from their original purpose.’

Tai Kwun Contemporary is the complex’s contemporary art arm, which covers over 16,000 square feet of exhibition space and expects to host six to eight shows a year. It kicked off with Dismantling the Scaffold, a collaboration by artists from Hong Kong and beyond, and Six-Part Practice, an exhibition of minimalist sculptures made from Chinese medicine by local artist Wing Po So.

Tai Kwun Contemporary is not bound to a collecting institution and is not commercial. ‘This means we can be a little more forward-thinking, a little more experimental,’ says Tobias Berger, Tai Kwun’s head of arts. ‘We can show art that is not so much in the local big galleries and local art sales. We all know the local art market has exploded in the last five to 10 years. What is missing at the moment is this medium-sized contemporary art space, and that is exactly what we have built here.’

Claire Hsu, co-founder and executive director of Hong Kong-based nonprofit Asia Art Archive, agrees. ‘Hong Kong finally has a medium-sized kunsthalle for contemporary art, which will fill a gap within the arts ecology,’ she says. ‘And while the arts ecology has grown tremendously over the years, it is still very much geared towards the commercial, so an independent, sizeable art exhibition programme in the city is well overdue.’

Tai Kwun Contemporary will work on a collaborative model, inviting local and international non-profits to stage exhibitions alongside them. ‘It’s very important that [our exhibitions] are all made for Hong Kong – we are not a pitstop for travelling exhibitions,’ says Berger. ‘Everything we do and everything we think about is from a Hong Kong point of view and with the local Hong Kong audience in mind.’

The non-commercial attractions at Tai Kwun are propped up by 34 tenants, including restaurants, bars and design stores, which will all have opened by the end of this year. Highlights announced so far include Old Bailey, a casual Chinese restaurant by entrepreneur Yenn Wong; Madame Fu, an 8,000-square-foot Cantonese restaurant and lounge bar by local nightlife impresario Christian Rhomberg; and Dragonfly, a bar paying homage to stained-glass artist Louis Tiffany.

Tai Kwun is basking in the limelight for now, and next year Hong Kong will also get the much-anticipated opening of the M+ museum of visual culture. Berger recalls that a decade ago he was often arguing with people against the notion that Hong Kong was a cultural wasteland for the arts. ‘But compared to now, it was,’ he says. ‘Tai Kwun is the most exciting project for heritage and also for art in Hong Kong for a long while.’

Mimi Brown, the founder of Spring Workshop, a non-profit art space that ran for five years from 2012, says Tai Kwun has the potential to amplify the wave of interest in contemporary art that Hong Kong is currently experiencing – as long as the focus remains in the right place.

‘Tai Kwun will have an enormous platform and the ability to reach different swathes of the city that our many wonderful smaller arts organisations cannot,’ she says. ‘So Tai Kwun carries a big responsibility to lead the way in presenting the best cultural programming possible to diverse parts of the city’s population.

‘If it succeeds, it will be a huge boon to the city and will create cultural momentum that will continue to build with the upcoming opening of M+ and reopening of the Hong Kong Museum of Art [after renovations]. Ideally, these new large art spaces will not just be the first place tourists head upon landing, but also places that Hongkongers put on their agendas every month. That would be a watershed for our entire city.’

Find out more at taikwun.hk ‭ ‬

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book