餐飲美食

令人倍感輕鬆寫意的瑞士咖啡館

冬天最宜享受蛋糕、咖啡,當然還少不了愜意閒適的溫馨氛圍

在瑞士多個大城市內,都可以找到堪稱歐洲最雅致的咖啡館。咖啡館外,舉目可見浪漫的拱廊、高低起伏的中世紀民房屋頂和鵝卵石廣場;回望室內,則可見裝飾精美的櫥窗裡盡是美味的糕點。

如今,歷史悠久的老字號難免要與光鮮時尚的潮人聚腳點爭一席之地。然而不論新舊,各家咖啡館均落力營造gemütlichkeit這種歡暢舒適的氣氛。只需於瑞士的zvieri下午茶時段到訪,自可看見茶客悠閒讀報、閒話家常,偶爾還能聽見人們玩桌上遊戲發出的歡笑聲。

以下為你精選幾家位於瑞士不同城市、氣氛一流的咖啡館。建議你點一杯香濃的頂級heisse schoggi熱朱古力,找個位置安坐,然後盡情觀察眾生相。

蘇黎世: Conditorei Peclard Im Schober

新巴洛克風格的牆飾、錯視壁畫、大理石櫃檯上的糖果罐、典雅的水晶吊燈,以及華麗精緻的收銀機,令這家創於19世紀的蘇黎世老字號咖啡館帶著《愛麗絲夢遊仙境》的童話氛圍。Schober的schoggi mélange鮮忌廉濃稠熱朱古力最受當地人歡迎,而灑滿糖霜、以酵母發酵的gugelhupf蛋糕或香脆的hüppen榛子味威化卷同樣教人難以抗拒。於冬季,咖啡館的氣氛格外迷人,花環和聖誕彩燈為這裡增添奇妙魅力。

日內瓦: Les Recyclables

想避開擁擠喧鬧的聖誕購物人潮,可躲進這家氣氛隨和輕鬆的小巧咖啡館裡享受寧靜一刻。從天花板垂下的燈飾,均配上顏色形狀各異的燈罩,絲綢飾帶懸垂於黑板上方,檯上還放滿了平裝書,洋溢著書香氣息。Les Recyclables並非大型連鎖咖啡店,而是可持續發展咖啡館兼二手書店,其美味的自家製麵包、公平貿易咖啡、以本土食材入饌的創意菜式,處處流露出小店的獨有魅力。咖啡館有逾11,000本從世界各地精選得來的書籍,吸引書迷埋首其中;此外,晚上還有爵士樂或巴西啼樂樂手前來表演,令客人如癡如醉。

巴塞爾: Café Frühling

想要在巴塞爾享受一杯香濃咖啡,Café Frühling是不二之選,難怪會吸引許多充滿書卷氣的文人雅士聚集。店內調製的濾泡式咖啡及意式特濃咖啡所選用的咖啡豆,全部向附近的小型供應商採購,並由咖啡館自家烘焙。有香濃咖啡,當然少不了相配的美食。咖啡館亦供應以時令食材烹調的有機早餐和午餐菜式,以及數款本土製作的布朗尼甜點、蛋糕和酥皮點心,當中的瑞士鮮果批更是香甜健康的大熱之選。Frühling一詞在德語中雖意指春季,但咖啡館的搖曳燭光、輕快爵士樂和沖泡咖啡時發出的嘶嘶聲響,在冬季亦同樣教人陶醉不已。咖啡館位於萊茵河畔洋溢藝術氣氛的小巴塞爾區,附近新潮精品店林立,不妨抽點時間去探索一番。

伯恩: Apfelgold

在瑞士,伯恩被譽為朱古力的發源地,因為一位名為Rodolphe Lindt的企業家於1879年在這裡發明製造朱古力絲滑質感的精煉技術。如今,瑞士蓮朱古力於全球各地均可買到,但Apfelgold咖啡館的Schoggibombe蛋糕,卻是只有在伯恩才能品嚐的特產,同時也是城中朱古力迷的至愛。這款造型考究的蛋糕,由朱古力杏仁海綿蛋糕、朱古力扭紋條和70%可可忌廉炮製而成,以鍍金邊瓷碟盛載來奉客,是「邪惡」而美味的小確幸。咖啡館坐落校園區,木桌子上以鮮花作點綴、放滿蛋糕的櫃枱和堆滿硬皮書的書架,洋溢著傳統茶室風味。

盧加諾: Grand Café Al Porto

自1803年以來,這間當地人稱為「沙龍」的咖啡館吸引許多政客、藝術家和影星前來光顧,紅星Clark Gable和Sophia Loren均曾是座上客,亦深受當地潮人圈子歡迎。其木格子天花板和菠蘿造型的吊燈,散發維也納咖啡館的情調。在絲絨面長沙發找個位置坐下,打開報章,呷一口以茶葉新鮮沖泡的熱茶,何其愜意。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Switzerland’s cosiest cafes

Winter was made for cakes, coffee – and gemütlichkeit. By EMILY ROSE MAWSON

Swiss cities are home to some of Europe’s loveliest cafes. Outside, it’s romantic arcades, tangled medieval rooftops and cobbled squares. Inside: ornate window displays of patisserie.

Inevitably, glass-fronted hipster hangouts now jostle for space with the historic grandes dames. Whether old or new, gemütlichkeit comes to mind – a sense of comfort infused with good cheer. Drop in for zvieri (Swiss teatime), and you’ll find people perusing the paper, gabbing with friends and sometimes getting rowdy over boardgames.

Here is our pick of the most charming cafes in Switzerland’s cities, where we recommend you order a grand cru heisse schoggi (hot chocolate), snuggle into a chair and people watch to your heart’s content.

Zurich: Conditorei Peclard Im Schober

Neo-baroque stuccowork, trompe-l’oeil murals, jarfuls of bonbons atop marble counters, crystal chandeliers and an exquisitely extravagant till give this 19th century Zurich institution an Alice in Wonderland aesthetic. Schober is most loved by locals for its schoggi mélange (gooey hot chocolate with whipped cream), though it’s futile trying to resist the sugar-dusted gugelhupf (yeast-based cake) or hazelnut-flavoured hüppen (crispy wafer rolls). The mood is particularly lovely in winter, when evergreen wreaths and fairy lights add to the magic.

Geneva: Les Recyclables

Duck out of Christmas shopping in this convivial pocket-sized cafe, where mismatched lampshades and ceiling silks dangle above chalkboards and paperback-laden tables. Part sustainable cafe, part secondhand bookshop, Les Recyclables is the antithesis of the big chains: it charms with delicious homespun baking, fair trade coffee and creative dishes made with local produce. Jazz musicians and Brazilian choro players have been known to serenade visitors – that is if you can be tempted away from the 11,000-strong selection of books from around the world.

Basel: Café Frühling

Basel’s best address for coffee is Café Frühling, so there’s little wonder it’s often bustling with newspaper-armed sophisticates. The cafe roasts its own coffee, and sources all of it – filter and espresso – from small nearby suppliers. For accompaniments, there are seasonal, organic breakfast and lunch menus, and a small selection of locally made brownies, cakes and pastries – try the Swiss fruit flan for a sweetly wholesome hit. Although frühling means ‘spring’ in German, the cafe’s flickering candles, tumbling jazz soundtrack and the hiss of brewing coffee are equally irresistible in the winter. Make time to explore the excellent independent boutiques that pepper the surrounding area on the arty Kleinbasel side of the Rhine.

Bern: Apfelgold

In Switzerland, Bern is known as the birthplace of chocolate, because it was here in 1879 that a certain Rodolphe Lindt devised the conching method for creating silky textures. You can now buy Lindt chocolates anywhere, but Apfelgold’s schoggibombe cake is a when-in-Bern exclusive and a favourite among the city’s chocoholics. An arty explosion of chocolate-almond sponge, chocolate spirals and 70 per cent cocoa cream, it is naughty-but-nice happiness on a gilt-edged porcelain plate. The cafe in the student quarter feels like a traditional tearoom, with its flower-adorned wooden tables, counter full of cakes and bookshelves piled with hardbacks.

Lugano: Grand Café Al Porto

Since 1803, Lugano’s locally dubbed ‘salon’ has attracted politicians, artists and film stars including Clark Gable and Sophia Loren. It’s also popular with a stylish Luganesi set. Wood-panelled ceilings and pineapple chandeliers create the mood of a Viennese coffee house. It’s lovely to take a seat on one of the long plush banquettes and read the paper with a pot of fresh leaf tea.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book