三亞

海南歷奇之旅:衝浪,高爾夫,單車

三亞早已成為中國的海灘度假勝地,但現在更將成為追求動感刺激的旅遊熱點。撰文:MARK JONES,圖片:TIM GERARD BARKER

下午1:15︰來到三亞清水灣的雅居樂萊佛士酒店登記入住。

下午1:47︰前往海灘。南中國海的海浪懶洋洋地拍打著我雙腳,幾位來曬日光浴的泳客在淺水處載浮載沉。艷陽高掛,海風輕拂,婆羅洲與我之間可謂相隔了一個數千公里闊的璀璨藍海。這真是個永恆不變的世外桃源,我願意一直長留於此。

下午1:59︰我悶了。

下午2:06︰我對這個海灘生厭了。 有說小孩子的專注力極低。他們搞錯了對吧?孩童時我可是能在海灘玩上一整天呢!就算是少年時,我也喜歡花數小時躺在太陽椅上享受日光浴。不過現在,我確實很想離開這裡,找—點—事—做!

旅遊業一定是看準我這種常常瞎忙的人其實充滿商機,所以都在提倡那些「活動 + 體驗」假期,而非以往的「飛航 + 憩息」假期精選。

體驗假期是一門大生意。假如你是荷李活大亨,或是倫敦對沖基金鉅子,海灘度假哪裡配得上你?只有在假期中與大魚搏鬥、游繩降落火山,或是在亞馬遜森林尋找失落的歷史古城,才能令你度假完畢回到辦公室時贏盡面子吧。儘管我的目標沒有那麼偉大,

但我仍想找點事做!那海南島能否滿足我呢?

China Sanya Adventure

這問題其實很有趣。海南島的旅遊業完全建基於三個「F」及三個「R」之上:三個「F」是指飛機(flying)、盡情休憩(flopping)及家庭樂(families),而三個「R」則指休息(rest)、放鬆(relaxation)及度假酒店(resort)。那這裡又如何能讓一個極想逃離這片優美風景、不安於室的浪子盡情向外探索呢?

首先,他們將我送到衝浪學校。

我們駕車到日月灣的衝浪俱樂部。這裡不但有水泥地、凹凸不平的磚牆、啤酒樽、舊汽車坐椅及在太陽下暴曬的舊潛水衣,還有一群膚色黝黑、髮色被海水泡得發白、渾身曬得通紅的衝浪狂迷。這裡就是海南島,是個新潮前衛的地方,可沒太多人會用這詞語來形容海南島。

中國沒什麼衝浪文化可言,就算擁有,大致上就如你在這海灘所見。這裡已經辦過好幾次國際衝浪賽事,而衝浪俱樂部的營運者都是衝浪狂熱分子,更不時會為村裡的小孩提供免費課程。我的衝浪技術是沒救的了,但當我在水裡看著(以及躲避著)在巨浪中猶如活力過人的海豹般穿梭的小孩時,已讓我感到渾身是勁。我接著認識了25歲的湖南人Ivy。她擁有市場推廣學位,一年前決定於此落腳,更成為一名衝浪導師。到達海南之前,她幾乎沒有去過沙灘,更遑論碰過衝浪板了;所以不妨給衝浪一點時間吧。

翌日我則以別的方式沉浸在水中。我不再站於俱樂部粗糙的沙礫上,反而在清水灣遊艇會的光滑雲石地面上滑行。除了部分以馬賽克砌成的指示和重要藝術作品之外,整個地方都是以雲石建成。

但遊艇會的新加坡籍創辦人陳志達的目標,跟那些衝浪好手其實沒有什麼大不同;大家都不外乎想請遊客(中國人佔多數)從海灘移玉步到水裡/水上去吧。

陳志達接著邀請了我們登上他的豪華遊艇。我們先將船頭調向蜈支洲,左右兩邊都能飽覽萊佛士酒店的海灘。起初沒什麼特別,但後來他卻著我嘗試駕駛遊艇,讓我緊張起來,畢竟我正驅動著一艘價值百萬的遊艇呢!

陳志達認為身處水上非為捕魚謀生,而只是為乘坐遊艇玩樂,這樣的概念在亞洲依然相當陌生。當我們駛回港口,經過空盪盪的船泊區及空無一人的住宅大樓時,我終於明白他的意思了。如果這裡是奧克蘭、法國蔚藍海岸、美國佛羅里達州甚至是香港,這片水域早就被白色船身的遊艇和一身健康膚色的尋樂者佔據了吧。

給遊艇一點時間吧。

China Sanya Adventure
China Sanya Adventure

至於高爾夫球,倒已在中國發展了一段時間,但近來亦似乎面臨不少挑戰。經過高球熱潮和那些倉卒建成的球場過後,這個極為資本主義的運動面臨了官方的猛烈抨擊。話雖如此,高爾夫球仍是海南島旅遊業的核心。這裡的球場較一般的寧靜,尤其海南清水灣高爾夫球會更是環境清幽。球場壯麗遼闊,經悉心打理,由棘手的沙坑和怡人又難以應付的果嶺組成。別誤會,我可不是有什麼不滿,反正整個球場全由我和球僮Yang Caiyi獨享。

21歲的Yang Caiyi身形嬌小,來自附近的小鎮,頭上頂著一個類似防撞頭盔面罩的裝備。她和Ivy一樣,學習能力都強,只花一年時間便學會了這運動。現在她的工作主要是:每當看到像我一樣的固執中年人在找五號鐵桿時,便從旁提醒三號木桿比較適合。(她亦當然沒錯了。)

接著,我們為了解一下島上的文化和風景,便朝三亞北面的山嶽而上。

我走進熱帶雨林,順道探訪了當地的黎村原住民。我這樣說,大家聽起來可能會以為我踏上了一場充滿挑戰的探險旅程,並於森林的空地發現了千百年來始終如一的傳統生活模式。

但事實並非如此。

China Sanya Adventure
China Sanya Adventure

當你進入呀諾達雨林文化旅遊區,迎面而來的是一群年輕人揮動著旗幟列隊歡迎。在旅程的首段,大家唯一能看到的綠色景致,就只有呈洞穴狀的入口的上色樹枝和塑膠葉子罷了。即使你已入閘,並乘坐旅遊巴士往山上進發,也不用奢望自己能夠在森林獨處。因為這裡到處都是一間間油漆明亮的小攤檔,售賣著風扇、帽子和自拍桿。除此之外,還有大型塑膠卡通人物、吊索設施,以及一股濃濃的主題公園氣息。如果你是專程來觀賞樹木的話,這裡的環境恐怕會令你大出意外。

我們對現代黎家村的真實面貌極有興趣,於是第二天便離開了公路,小心翼翼地駛往離呀諾達以北兩小時的地方,經過稻田和山上的顛簸小路,向村落進發。

這裡是五指山市市郊的五指山,而我們跟越野單車公司唯樂單車假日的創辦人Frank Yi碰面。 離開柏油路後,我們發現這裡到處盡是泥濘及佈滿碎石的山路。

不信的話,我有水蛭的咬痕可作證明呢! Frank目前專為工作沉重的高層服務,讓他們在崎嶇小路和泥徑上盡情馳騁,釋放內心疲憊,同時希望鄉民也能領略單車探險之樂。給越野單車一點時間吧。

我們終於來到了真正的黎家村,感覺的確比文化旅遊區實在多了。這裡不但有提著塑膠桶的老婦、水泥牆、波浪形鐵屋頂、安坐舊桌球檯上的男孩外,還有無數雞隻!

最後,我們驅車返回三亞,登上鹿回頭公園,眺賞海港上充滿未來感的建築射出的耀目燈光。我在大東海音樂酒吧狂灌澳洲啤酒後,好好地睡上了一覺。我當初要找點事做,總算如願了。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往三亞的航班,每周有四班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Sanya

Surf, golf, bike: Adventures in Hainan

Sanya has long been China’s destination for sun and sand, but now, it’s starting to get active. Words by MARK JONES, photography by TIM GERARD BARKER

1:15pm. Check into the Raffles hotel at Clearwater Bay.

1:47pm. Go to the beach. The South China Sea laps sleepily at my feet. A couple of bathers float in the shallows. The sun is high, the breeze is gentle, there’s nothing between me and Borneo but several thousand kilometres of sparkling sea. It’s blissful, timeless. I could stay here forever.

1:59pm. I’m bored.

2:06pm. That’s enough of the beach.

They say children have a short attention span. That can’t be right. As a kid I could play on a beach all day. Even as a young man I was happy to lie for hours on a sun lounger. Now I need to be out doing stuff.

The travel industry realised there’s money to be made out of fidgety people like me. That’s why they talk about the rise of ‘active + experiential’ holidays as opposed to what they call ‘fly + flop’.

There is big money in experiential. If you’re a Hollywood mogul or London hedge fund tsar there’s no status in beach holidays. You can only hold your head up when you return to the office if you’ve spent your vacation wrestling big fish, abseiling into volcanoes or discovering lost cities in the Amazon.

My sights were set a bit lower: but I still needed to do stuff. Could Hainan provide?

China Sanya Adventure

It’s an interesting question. Hainan has built its tourist economy on the three Fs – flying, flopping and families – and the three Rs – rest, relaxation and resorts. How could it cater for a single RNFP (restless non-family person) desperate to flee this lovely compound and explore?

First, they sent me to surf school.

We drove to Riyue Bay, also known as Sun and Moon Bay. Here was the surf club: concrete floor, exposed brick walls, beer bottles, old car seats, old wetsuits steaming in the sun and a resident population of tanned, bleached-hair, sunburnt, hardcore surfies. This was Hainan; and this was highly hipster. These are not words you see in the same sentence very often.

China has no surfing culture to speak of. What there is you’ll find on this beach. It has already hosted international competitions. The guys who run this place, evangelical about their sport, have been offering free lessons to the village kids. I’m a hopeless surfer, but just watching (and ducking) as pre-teens whizzed among the breakers like supercharged seals was energising enough. I met Ivy, a 25-year-old from Hunan with a marketing degree who fetched up here a year ago and is now one of the instructors. Before she arrived here she’d hardly been to a beach, let alone picked up a surfboard. Give surfing time.

The next day I was out on the water in a rather different style. Instead of the gritty, sandy floor of the surf club I found myself sliding on the polished marble floors of the Clearwater Bay marina. Pretty much everything here is marble apart from some directional mosaics and important art works.

But the mission of Alan Chan, the Singaporean founder of the marina, is not very different from the surfing guys’: get the (predominantly Chinese) visitors to Hainan off the beaches and into/onto the water.

Chan took us out on his luxury yacht. We pointed the prow towards Wuzhizhou Island with the Raffles beach on starboard and on the portside, nothing much. Chan let me take the wheel, and a slightly unnerving experience that was, as a million dollars worth of boat quivered underneath me.

Chan thinks yachting, the idea of being on the water for pleasure not because you’re a fisherman, just hasn’t taken root in Asia yet. And as we coasted back to harbour past the empty moorings and silent, immaculate apartment blocks I could see what he meant: in Auckland, the Riviera, Florida, even Hong Kong, this water would be thick with white hulls and tanned pleasure-seekers.

Give yachting time.

China Sanya Adventure
China Sanya Adventure

Golf in China has had time; and lately times have been harder. The initial explosion of enthusiasm and the too-hasty building of new courses were followed by an outbreak of official disapproval for this most capitalist of games. But golf is core to the tourism industry offering in Hainan. The courses are quieter than they should be – or deserve to be, in the case of the Clearwater Bay golf club, a magnificent, long, immaculately kept course of epic bunkers and picturesque, if tricky, greens. I wasn’t complaining. My caddy, Yang Caiyi, and I had the place to ourselves.

Yang, a diminutive 21-year-old from a nearby town, wore a kind of crash helmet visor. Like Ivy, she’s a quick learner. It’s taken her a year to pick up the game. Now she is telling pig-headed middle-aged golfers like me to take a three wood as I went searching for a five iron. (She was right.)

Next, we wanted to get some idea of the culture and landscape of the island. So we headed north of Sanya into the mountains.

I went on a rainforest walk followed by a visit to the villages of the indigenous Li people. When I say that, you may have images of an intrepid trek ending at some clearing in the jungle where I encountered a way of life unchanged in centuries.

It wasn’t really like that.

China Sanya Adventure
China Sanya Adventure

You enter Yanoda national park past a line of welcoming young people waving flags. For the first part of the journey the only green you see are the painted branches and plastic leaves of the cavernous entrance hall. Even when you go through the turnstile, get into the coach and go up the mountain, you can forget any thoughts of being alone with the majesty of the forest. You are never more than a short walk away from a brightly painted stall selling fans, hats and selfie sticks. There are large plastic cartoon characters, a zip line and a theme park atmosphere, which are a bit surprising when you’ve come to look at trees.

Keen to see what a real modern day Li village looks like, the next day we did so as we drove carefully through the paddy fields and rutted tracks of the highlands off the main highway two hours’ north of Yanoda.

This is Five Finger Mountain, just outside the town of Wuzhishan, where we met Frank Yi. Yi runs Velo China, a mountain biking company.

As the tarmac disappeared we found ourselves in proper sludgy, rocky, off-track territory. I’ve got the leeches to prove it.

For now, Yi caters for stressed executives who want to bomb around these high roads and dirt tracks working off their frustrations on the landscape. Frank wants his countrymen to discover the joys of two-wheeled, self-propelled adventure. Give mountain biking time.

And here were the real Li villages, looking a lot less spick and span than those in the cultural heritage park. Here were old ladies with plastic buckets, concrete walls, corrugated iron roofs, boys sitting on old pool tables and lots of chickens.

We drove back via Sanya, climbed up to Deer Turning Head Park and surveyed the light show on the futuristic buildings that line the harbour. Then there was some necessary swigging of Australian beer in a Dadong Hai music bar and even more necessary sleep. I’d asked for active and I’d got it. 

Cathay Dragon flies to Sanya from Hong Kong four times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book