節日和活動

台灣的天燈

中秋佳節,不少人前往平溪放天燈,最近這個美麗的傳統活動迎來了環保的變奏。撰文 張盈華

還記得我與三個好友一起從台北市中心乘兩小時火車到平溪,在那裡放天燈許願,甫下車,只見一列傳統台式老建築的零食店、紀念品店與懷舊小吃攤沿著火車路軌而立,令人宛如置身1950年代的台灣,這幅美麗的構圖讓相機快門按個不停;不過,這些都比不上放天燈帶來的震撼。

平溪有不少天燈店售賣天燈,並提供墨水讓客人在天燈寫上願望,有時更可幫客人在放天燈時拍照留念。天燈由四張宣紙黏成燈籠狀,用圓形的竹條圍出底部,竹條中央再以鐵絲綑綁浸泡煤油的金紙製成。燃點金紙後,天燈便緩緩上升,當一盞盞天燈同時升起,瞬間猶如夜空中出現數以百計的閃亮星點。迷人又壯觀的景致讓我們移不開目光,天燈彷彿把我們的心願都傳達到天神處,讓人感覺踏實,至今和朋友聊起,依舊津津樂道。

平溪的天燈習俗源自清朝,當地因為位置偏遠又富庶,成為盜匪覬覦之地,村民在冬至收成過後,便需循入山林避難,直至元宵派人回家確認安全,釋放天燈向居民報平安,他們才會重返家園。後來雖已治安太平,習俗卻依然延續下來,漸漸演變成平溪最重要的文化活動。

近年平溪天燈節定於每年的元宵(來年2月19日)與中秋(今年9月24日)舉辦,雖然全年均可放天燈,但論規模當數這兩次天燈節。不過,燒盡的天燈殘骸可能會掉落山谷與河床間,造成環境污染;隨風飄盪的天燈亦可能會引發火災,而大量光線亦可能干擾夜行動物生活。雖然新北市政府環保局會派人與觀光協會義工合作進行清理,也以獎勵方式鼓勵民眾回收天燈,不過成效始終有限,環保與傳統文化之間的輕重,實難拿捏。

本地組織「文化銀行」於去年研發出第一款環保天燈,並於今年改良推出第二版,以回收紙漿替代原本竹條與金紙,讓天燈在升空期間能完全燃燒淨盡,免卻留下殘骸和支架掉落引發火災的可能性。到平溪放天燈,絕對是浪漫、壯觀又難忘的體驗,不過因此而犧牲自然環境又令人婉息;也許目前還在集資準備量產事宜的環保天燈,能成為解決天燈環保問題的良方。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

The story of the Pingxi Lantern Festival

During Mid-Autumn Festival, many flock to Pingxi for its sky lanterns – a beautiful tradition seeking an eco-conscious update. By OFFY CHANG

I’ll never forget my first sight of Pingxi. Rows of traditional shophouses ran parallel to the rail that brought me there, the retro snack stores, bric-a-brac shops and food stalls transporting me back to 1950s Taiwan. But the most dazzling scene came later, when my three friends and I released a sky lantern with our wishes written on it. This is the main reason tourists come to Pingxi, located about two hours by train from central Taipei.

Visitors just have to buy a lantern from one of the many shops specialising in them, and the shopkeepers provide ink to write a message and even help you take pictures as you send it to the skies. Each standard lantern, almost the height of a person, is constructed with four rice paper sheets glued to a bamboo hoop at the bottom. Paraffin-soaked brown paper is attached in the centre. It gets lit, the heat propelling it upwards to join the other lanterns glowing in the velvety darkness. It’s a mesmerising scene, and there’s also the warm and fuzzy feeling knowing the lanterns are carrying your wishes.

The tradition dates back to the Qing dynasty, when Pingxi was a remote but affluent district that had to deal with bandits. Villagers often took to the mountains to escape these dangers in winter. When the worst of the winter had passed, sky lanterns were flown to signal that it was safe for them to return. This became the Lantern Festival, now Pingxi’s most important cultural event, held on the 15th day of the first lunar month (19 February next year). Although you can release sky lanterns any day of the year, Lantern Festival and Mid-Autumn Festival (24 September this year) are the most popular periods for the tradition.

But there are downsides to the ritual: burnt-out lanterns come down as litter to pollute the hills and rivers, while the lit lanterns are fire hazards and can be dangerous for nocturnal animals. Although community groups and volunteers head out to retrieve the lanterns for small rewards, it’s not a perfect system.

A local group called Bank of Culture has developed an eco-friendly sky lantern. It replaces the bamboo frame and brown burning paper with recycled pulp that burns out completely in the air. The goal is to reduce residue and lower fire risk caused by smouldering lantern skeletons. Perhaps the project, now seeking funding for mass production, is the answer to helping this beautiful and fun tradition continue safely.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book