頂級酒店

摩登驛站:煥然一新的新加坡萊佛士酒店

新加坡萊佛士經過接近兩年的翻新整修後,保留了傳統特色和服務外,還有令人期待的新酒吧、餐廳和聯誼區

新加坡傳奇酒店萊佛士於2019年8月重新啟業。改裝工程由紐約設計公司Champalimaud Design的室內設計師Alexandra Champalimaud領導,並同時為酒店度身設計了一系列家具、裝潢和燈光。萊佛士始創於1887年,上一次翻新已經是1991年,酒店被列為國家文物,維修中每一個步驟都必須得到政府批准,因此整修過程絕不簡單。

翻新後的成績有目共睹,甫踏進大堂,便感覺到較以往光潔明亮,這全賴Champalimaud所說的「焦點」,就是偌大的水晶燈,盛放的蓮花垂吊著8,000粒水晶,瑰麗閃亮,令大眾禁不住仰望樓高三層的天花和天窗。而雲石地板亦回復昔日的潔淨亮白,並重新塑上稱為「萊佛士白」的象牙色,帶來通風送爽的效果。

大堂的氛圍亦與全新裝潢相輔相成:昔日較疏離冷漠的環境,換上了愉快愜意的空間。僵硬的個人扶手椅也換來其他座椅,賓客可在此享受更豐富的下午茶服務,包括為萊佛士獨家入瓶的限量版Billecart-Salmon香檳,還有Mariage Frères紅茶和滋味的三文治。入住時亦無須再在大堂辦理登記手續,改為在套房內處理。

說到酒店最大的變動,要算是把客房細意地翻新,以保留萊佛士忠誠顧客的熟悉感。現在共有九種豪華套房,從103間增至115間,仍然保留了 故時故地的情懷,但配備多項現代化裝置,包括床畔USB插口、漂亮的特製皮質飲品箱,以及雙層玻璃窗和門。賓客可利用新添的iPad自調套房的氛圍、召喚萊佛士著名的管家服務,或是在「睡枕餐單」和較高樓層的「寢具餐單」中選擇自己所需。

酒店的餐廳亦經過一番復修整裝,選擇更多元化。自1892年起便提供印北美食的Tiffin Room,現在換上人字形的木地板、漂亮玻璃和鋼水晶燈,高聳的架子則放上本地製的午餐盒。以往提供豐富午餐的The Raffles Grill改為以桃紅和金色裝潢的La Dame de Pic,由法國米芝蓮三星餐廳Maison Pic的名廚Anne-Sophie Pic主理, 她以淋漓創意炮製各式滋味,如以伊朗魚子醬伴黑加侖子釀青瓜清湯,以及Pic的招牌薄餅——以本地臭草作餡料的糕點。還有由著名大廚梁子庚主理的,這位新加坡籍的中國內地節目《頂級廚師》評判帶來現代演繹的創意中國佳餚;以及德高望重法國大廚BBR by Alain Ducasse的地中海風味和扒房Butcher’s Block

此外,位於大堂舒適一隅的作家酒吧兩旁放滿書籍,向以往曾下榻酒店的傑出作家如Pico Iyer和毛姆致敬,吸引了不少年輕的品味之士。而歷史悠久的長樂酒吧,即使是遐邇聞名的原創雞尾酒新加坡司令也帶來全新口味,以鮮榨的石榴汁取代傳統的石榴糖漿。但請放心,你還可以繼續把花生殼扔到地板上的傳統,這是新加坡唯一鼓勵大家隨地拋垃圾的地方。

新加坡萊佛士酒店概覽

氛圍

在歷史經典中注入「現代殖民」美學

住客

酒店常客和新一代追求時尚的本地人及旅客

客房

摩登中不失舊日氣派,包括矚目的四帷柱床、亞洲情懷的黑木書桌和椅、柳木面板衣櫃和Carrara雲石浴缸配鉻質沐浴設施

酒店消閒

由服務了45年的資深酒店專家Leslie Danker帶領,展開趣味盎然的歷史之旅;參觀「星光大道」照片廊,緬懷過去曾在酒店入住的名人紅星,包括David Bowie、Elizabeth Taylor、Michael Jackson、Charlie Chaplin和英女皇

入住原因

沒有任何一個地方較萊佛士更能體會新加坡的歷史歲月,從馬車在鄰街踏踏而行的情景,到現在時尚堂皇的全新面貌,一覽無遺

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Stay Here: Raffles Singapore Is New and Improved

Fresh off a nearly two-year makeover, the Raffles Singapore promises the same exceptional heritage and service, plus exciting new bars, restaurants and social spaces

Singapore’s grande dame reopened in August 2019 after an overhaul led by New York-based Alexandra Champalimaud of Champalimaud Design, who also custom designed an array of furniture, decor and lighting. No small feat, considering the Raffles – which debuted in 1887 – was last refreshed in 1991, and its designation as a national monument meant government approval was needed for every step of the renovation process.

The results are immediately evident as you enter the lobby, which feels even lighter and brighter than before, thanks to what Champalimaud calls a ‘focal point’ – an enormous chandelier topped with lotus flowers and dripping with 8,000 crystals, which draws the eye irresistibly upwards to the triple-storey ceiling and skylight. The marble floors were also restored to their former brightness, creating a feeling of airiness that’s further enhanced by the fresh coat of ivory ‘Raffles White’ paint.

The lobby’s vibe matches its new look: its formerly cool froideur has been jettisoned to create a more inviting space. Stiff, solitary armchairs have given way to pockets of seating where guests can enjoy an upgraded afternoon tea service – limited-edition Billecart-Salmon champagne bottled exclusively for the Raffles, along with Mariage Frères teas and gourmet tea sandwiches. The front desk has been replaced by in-suite check-ins.

Perhaps the biggest changes can be seen in the Raffles’ guestrooms, which have been sensitively restored to avoid alienating the hotel’s bastion of devoted regulars. Comprising nine suite categories, the 115 suites (up from 103) still retain a sense of time and place, albeit with several modern updates: bedside USB ports; smart, custom-made leather drinks trunks; and double-glazed windows and doors. New iPads allow guests to manage suite ambience, summon Raffles’ famed butlers or choose from the pillow menu (and at higher suite levels, a bed linen menu).

The hotel’s restaurants have also been revamped. Tiffin Room, serving northern Indian food since 1892, has been redressed with herringbone wood floors, striking glass and steel chandeliers and towering shelves displaying locally made tiffin carriers. The Raffles Grill – the site of numerous power lunches – is now La Dame de Pic, a blush-and-gold accented collaboration with chef Anne-Sophie Pic of France’s three-Michelin-starred Maison Pic. Expect highly imaginative creations, such as oscietra caviar with blackcurrant-infused cucumber consomme and Pic’s signature Berlingots – pasta parcels with chou cao, a local herb. Also new are Yi by Jereme Leung, showcasing the Singaporean and Masterchef China judge’s take on modern Chinese cuisine; the Mediterranean-inspired BBR by Alain Ducasse; and steakhouse Butcher’s Block.

The book-lined Writers Bar, which pays tribute to notable past guests such as Pico Iyer and Somerset Maugham, is a cosy addition to the lobby and already pulling in younger tastemakers. At the historic Long Bar, even the hallowed Singapore Sling has been given a modern update, with freshly squeezed pomegranate juice replacing its signature grenadine syrup. Not to worry, though: you can still chuck a peanut shell or two onto the bar floor – the only place in Singapore where littering is encouraged.

Raffles Singapore at a Glance

The vibe

The ‘modern colonial’ aesthetic at its most iconic

The clientele

Long-time Raffles regulars and a new generation of stylish locals and travellers

The rooms

Contemporary with a nod to the past – smart four-poster beds, Asian-styled dark wood writing desks and chairs, wicker-panelled cabinets and Carrara marble bathrooms with vintage-style chrome fittings

What to do on site

Take an anecdote-filled tour led by Leslie Danker, the hotel’s historian for more than 45 years; stargaze along the Walk of Fame, which features photographs of past guests such David Bowie, Elizabeth Taylor, Michael Jackson, Charlie Chaplin and Queen Elizabeth II

Why stay?

There’s no better base from which to imagine Singapore through the ages, from when horse carriages rattled down the adjacent streets to the sleek incarnation that stands today

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book