健康與保健

旅遊時如何保持健康

多位著名的健身、營養、睡眠和皮膚護理專家分享旅遊保健的建議和程序

每次在飛行前都要應付眾多費時的繁瑣程序,如匆匆執拾行裝、在機場排隊等候,還要走漫長的路到登機閘口,即使飛行常客也難免感到身心疲憊。還未算飛行旅程的低氣壓、封閉空間和時差,足以令四肢、氣息、消化系統和身體時鐘經歷一場生理勞動。

我們出門的次數越趨頻密,幸好航空公司已開始提供更多有關舒展身心的保健之道。旅客亦可以自助不求人,跟循以下在起飛前、飛行途中和落機後的保健貼士,保持精神煥發,身心舒泰。

旅遊保健貼士:放鬆心情

身兼健康養生顧問、生物黑客和營養師的Samantha Foster,對飽受出門瑣事困擾的人士甚有共鳴。她提供一套簡單而有效的方法應付飛行前的準備:「預留大量時間。飛行緊張大師最不需要的就是製造額外的壓力。」

安坐機上時,她認為可利用其他事情分散壓力,包括機上娛樂。看電影是有效方法,不少航空公司如國泰和國泰港龍推出的Headspace靜觀和冥想練習也是不錯的選擇。

Foster說:「靜觀可說是目前發展最迅速的健康練習,大家逐漸明白修習靜觀不但能夠啟發心靈,對身體健康和表現也大有裨益。」

旅遊保健貼士:伸展筋骨

pure yoga

根據香港Joint Dynamics的訓練總監Andrew Cox表示,任何動作如搖擺、伸展或者跳舞,都有助舒展筋骨。他建議在出行當天,先來一次高強度的運動,令身體感到疲倦,在機上自然可以酣睡。如果沒有機會做運動,何不趁候機時間在機場多走動充作運動。

更可喜的是,可享用機場貴賓室的旅客,便可到香港國際機場玉衡堂商務貴賓室的「瑜逸閣」舒緩放鬆一番。在這個廣達700平方呎的瑜伽及冥想天地,乘客可安坐椅上,依照指引舒展及放鬆筋骨,當中不少動作也適合於機上座位照做。國泰與Pure一直緊密合作推行多項保健養生計劃,包括推出六段機上影片,協助乘客於飛行期間練習簡單的瑜伽式子和冥想。

機上的瑜伽及伸展活動成效昭彰,特別是對缺乏運動導致血液循環不順的乘客,因為他們久坐機上可能會出現深部靜脈栓塞,在極罕有情況下會有嚴重後果。每年也會出門約十次的Cox說:「血液流動時可把氧氣、營養素和荷爾蒙輸送到身體,大大減少深部靜脈栓塞的風險。如果配合充足水分,效果更是相得益彰。」

即使下機後,這些舒筋活動的功效仍然持續,雖然及不上運動般明顯,但也的確有助舒緩肌肉繃緊,促進血液流通,令身處他方也可以享受一席安睡。

旅遊保健貼士:皮膚護理

當然,我們都希望經過長途的機程後,看起來仍然容光煥發。即使未達最佳狀態,但也不至於臉容憔悴。Environ護膚品發行商Protea總經理Karen Aleksich表示,只要懂得自我護理,可令肌膚有天淵之別。

她說:「機上的空氣乾燥清涼,容易抽乾皮膚的水分和油分,特別是臉部和雙手。如果你屬於乾性及敏感肌膚,在數天後後果便會浮現。」因此Aleksich的首要護膚妙方便是補充水分,並且應該在起飛前先進行輕柔磨砂,同時敷上面膜補濕。

她每次出門都會帶備一套機上護膚法寶,當中包括Environ的抗氧化維生素補濕水分膠囊、護手霜及Jane Iredale潤唇膚。她每三至四小時便會分別塗抹一次,加上服用月見草油丸或多種維他命補充丸,增強免疫能力抵抗機上的病菌。

即使是搭機的衣著,也有助令身體更舒適自在。國泰航空企業醫療團隊的職業健康專家Lara Murison提議,在機上最好穿天然纖維布料的寬鬆衣服,而久坐可能會令雙腳腫脹,因此要挑選舒適的鞋。

Aleksich則指出,抵埗後先洗洗臉,不但可稍為提神,還可清洗臉上污垢。然後敷上含有維他命A和C、肽或抗氧化劑的補濕面膜,為肌膚注入深層營養,同時多吃含豐富抗氧化元素的食物和飲品,讓身體內部吸收更多營養。

旅遊保健貼士:吃得有道

德國的Fraunhofer建築物理研究所的調查指出,當人身處三萬呎高空,空氣壓力會降低味蕾的敏感度。我們八成的味覺都是來自嗅覺,而乾燥的環境加上機艙內約85分貝的引擎聲音,會令味蕾對鹹和甜的感覺變得遲鈍。有趣的是,我們感覺鮮味、酸、苦及辣味卻沒有影響。

因此在上機前24小時,乘客和同伴應該避免吃導致水腫(如椒鹽卷餅和其他鹹點)和發炎(糖及麩質)的食物,又或是令關節疼痛、腸胃飽滯和漲氣的食品(豆類、扁豆、洋蔥和椰菜)。

不妨預訂輕盈的素菜餐,並自備大量健康小吃,如無加工的堅果、香蕉和複合式碳水化合物如燕麥,根據美國國家睡眠基金會指出,這些食物都有助入睡。再配合大量水分,每小時約飲用八液盎士(235毫升),效果便更加理想。

Foster每年都會乘搭三至四次長途航班,她說:「我會選訂靠近通道的座位,可以每小時也站起來走動。我還會前往喝水,因而多去洗手間,也表示更頻密地再喝水,形成良性循環。」

至於酒精飲品則可能令你精神亢奮,隨之昏昏入睡,但睡眠質素卻欠佳,抵埗時惡果漸漸呈現。在機上服安眠藥亦會帶來反效果,讓你在抵埗首天或隨後兩天也變得委靡不振。

旅遊保健貼士:睡得更好

訂機票時盡可能選擇較新型的飛機,因為機上可提供更理想的濕度和舒適度,噪音亦可大為降低。國泰航空擁有最年輕的長途客機機隊(至2018年止只服務了5.9年),並於2018年7月開始推出更寧靜和快捷的A350-1000客機。

光線可以讓我們的身體自動辨識白天和黑夜,我們的身體會在夜間製造褪黑激素,白晝製造皮質醇,而其他器官就會按照這個時間表進行調整,因此日夜顛倒時,就會打亂身體的規律,然後出現時差。睡眠專家Michael Breus博士指出:「當生理時鐘與當地時間不一致時,身體就會像是發生第三次世界大戰一樣痛苦不堪。」

他建議出發前最好先休息一下,並且逐步調整至新的時區。若是向西飛行,可連續三天提早一小時入睡和清醒;如果向東飛行,則每天延後一小時。下載Timeshifter這類應用程式,可為你計算何時該醒來、出去曬曬太陽,或何時該上床小憩和就寢。

上機之後,請立即將手錶調整為目的地的時區,然後根據新時區進食和入睡。取出放在隨身行李的「睡眠法寶」,包括耳塞、眼罩和頸枕,以及牙刷和牙膏,一如平常就寢前的習慣。

如果白天抵達目的地,建議走出室外,在陽光下活動一下身體,有助生理時鐘更快適應新的時區。如果飛機降落的時間是晚上,那就應該盡量避免過亮的燈光;若覺得毫無睡意,可嘗試靜坐冥想。倫敦大學國王學院睡眠醫學教授Adrian Williams博士說:「冥想可以幫助身心平靜。相反地,感覺睏倦時,則可幫助你保持專注,克服睡意。」

最後,不要低估小睡的作用。它能提高創造力、專注力、決策、記憶、情緒,並且可以減輕壓力。秘訣在於時間的掌握。根據生理循環,我們的身體到了中午時分體力會自然下降,並非純粹因為「飯氣攻心」。起床約七小時後午睡可恢復精神和體力,小憩片刻之後七小時則是就寢的最佳時機。午睡時間可選擇少於25分鐘,以避免因沉睡中斷而精神不振,或是睡足90分鐘以完成整個睡眠周期。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Health and wellness

How to Stay Healthy While Travelling

High-flying experts in fitness, nutrition, sleep and skincare share their recommendations and rituals for healthy travel.

The pre-flight rigmarole of rushed packing, traffic, airport queues and a long march to the gate is enough to frazzle even frequent flyers. Then comes the journey itself, with low air pressure, close quarters and shifting time zones that put our limbs, complexion, digestive system and internal clock through a kind of biological gymnastics.

With more of us flying more than ever, thankfully, airlines have begun rolling out more wellness-related offerings. Travellers can do their part, too, by adopting the following self-care strategies for before, during and after a flight.

Healthy travel tips for… easing your mind

Samantha Foster, wellness consultant, biohacker and nutritionist, empathises with those who find the logistics of travel stressful. Pre-flight, she offers a simple and effective solution: ‘Allow plenty of time. The last thing a nervous flyer needs is additional stress triggers.’

Once on the plane, she encourages making good use of distractions, including the inflight entertainment. Movies work, as do episodes of Headspace’s mindfulness and meditation exercises, found on airlines such as Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon.

‘Mindfulness is arguably today’s fastest growing wellness practice as we learn more about its ability to improve not just mental health, but also physical health and performance,’ says Foster.

Healthy travel tips for… staying limber

Pure yoga, meditation

Shaking, stretching, dancing – any kind of movement helps, according to Andrew Cox, director of training at Joint Dynamics in Hong Kong. He recommends fitting in a high-intensity workout the day you fly, as it pays back with fatigue that will make you more likely to rest well during your flight. If a workout isn’t realistic, why not use any down time at the airport to rack up steps while waiting to board.

Better yet, flyers with lounge access can take advantage of The Sanctuary by Pure Yoga, a 700-square-foot yoga and meditation space in The Pier Business Class Lounge at Hong Kong International Airport. It includes instruction boards to guide people in body stretches done while sitting down – many of which can be easily replicated in the air. Cathay Pacific’s ongoing wellness partnership with Pure also includes six inflight videos with instruction on how to perform easy yoga poses and meditations.

Inflight yoga and stretch programs are effective, especially for sedentary passengers with compromised circulation who may be at risk of deep-vein thrombosis (DVT), a serious if extremely rare condition. ‘Blood flow brings with it the gifts of oxygen, nutrients and hormones, which greatly decrease the likelihood of DVT, especially when coupled with adequate hydration,’ says Cox, who flies about 10 times a year.

The benefits of exercise continue to pay off once you arrive. It may not feel like your best workout, but it will do wonders to release muscle tension, get the blood flowing and help you sleep better at your new destination.

Healthy travel tips for… pampering your skin

Naturally, we all want to look – well, if not our best then something close to it – even after a long-haul journey. Self-care can make huge differences to your skin, according to Karen Aleksich, general manager of Protea, distributors of Environ skincare.

‘Plane air is dry and cool, depleting the skin’s natural water and oil,’ she says. ‘Your face and hands are most affected, and if you have dry and sensitive skin you’ll feel the effects for a few days afterwards.’ As a result, Aleksich’s number-one recommendation is to hydrate, beginning pre-flight with a gentle exfoliating and hydrating facial mask.

She also packs an inflight kit that includes Environ Vita-Antioxidant Hydrating Oil Capsules, hand cream and Jane Iredale Lip Balm. Aleksich applies these products every three to four hours in addition to taking evening primrose or multivitamin supplements to keep her immunity strong against inflight germs.

Even selecting your outfit for the plane presents an opportunity to be a little kinder to your body. Lara Murison, an occupational health specialist in Cathay Pacific’s corporate medical team, suggests loose-cut clothes made from natural fibres and comfortable shoes that can accommodate possible swelling.

Once you’ve arrived, washing your face is refreshing and removes any pollutants on your skin, says Aleksich. Pop on a hydrating mask (look for vitamins A and C, peptides or antioxidants) to feed your skin with intensive nutrients and focus on consuming antioxidant-rich foods and drinks to fortify the body internally.

Healthy travel tips for… eating wisely

A Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics study found that the air pressure at 30,000 feet dulls the sensitivity of taste buds. Up to 80 per cent of taste comes via our sense of smell, which is challenged in low humidity, lessening our perception of salty and sweet, which are also affected by the approximately 85 decibels of in-cabin engine noise. Interestingly, umami, sour, bitter and spicy remain mostly unchanged.

At least 24 hours before flying, for you and your fellow passengers, it’s a good idea to avoid foods that trigger fluid retention (pretzels and other salty snacks), inflammation (sugar and gluten) or excess gas leading to joint pain, bloating and flatulence (legumes, lentils, onions, cabbage).

Try to pre-book the lighter, vegetarian meal option and bring an arsenal of healthy snacks, such as raw nuts, bananas and complex carbs like oatmeal, all of which help promote sleep, according to the National Sleep Foundation. Pair it all with plenty of water – around 8 fluid ounces (235 millilitres) an hour.

“I book an aisle seat so I can move every hour, and I create a virtuous circle of getting up for water, meaning more trips to the loo and more chances to get water,” says Foster, who takes three-to-four long-haul flights annually.

As for alcohol, it may help pick you up and then get you snoozing, but the quality of your sleep and subsequent wellbeing on arrival will suffer. Taking medication on the plane can also be counterproductive and leave you feeling drowsy the first day or two in your new destination.

Healthy travel tips for… sleeping better

When possible, it pays to book flights on newer planes for improved humidification, comfort and noise reduction. Cathay Pacific has one of the youngest long-haul fleets around (5.9 years as of 2018) and began rolling out service on the quiet, efficient A350-1000 in July 2018.

It’s also strategic to schedule daytime arrivals for that natural jolt of light and vitamin D. Light tells our bodies when to make melatonin at night and cortisol in the morning, and our other organs chime in with this schedule, so when light exposure takes a U-turn, confusion – and jetlag – sets in. ‘When your internal clock doesn’t match the external clock, it can be, and feel, like World War III in your body,’ says Dr Michael Breus, aka ‘The Sleep Doctor.’

He suggests making a point to rest up before a trip and adjust incrementally to your new time zone. When flying west, wake up and go to sleep an hour earlier each day for three days; if flying east, an hour later each day. Download apps like Timeshifter, which handily takes over the calculations of when to wake, get out into light, or retreat to nap and sleep.

Once onboard, reset your watch and take your eating and sleeping cues from your new time zone. Bring out a ‘sleep kit’ you’ve packed in your carry-on, with ear plugs, eye mask and neck pillow, plus toothbrush and paste to simulate bedtime.

If you arrive during the day, get out into the sun and exercise to help your internal clock synchronise faster. If you land in the evening, keep away from bright lights and, should sleep evade you, try a bit more meditation. ‘It can help bring calm to the body and mind,’ says Dr Adrian Williams, Professor of Sleep Medicine, King’s College, London. ‘Conversely, when sleepiness invades, it helps you with the mindful acceptance that it will pass.’

Lastly, don’t underestimate the value of naps. They can increase your creativity, concentration, decision making, memory, mood and reduce stress; the secret is to time them well. It’s our biology – not just a heavy lunch – that slows the body down in the middle of the day. This is the perfect time for a power nap, roughly seven hours after waking (and seven hours before sleeping). Choose either less than 25 minutes to avoid interrupting deep sleep with the resulting grogginess, or go for a full 90-minute cycle.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book